The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

DTAC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby DTAC » October 18th, 2011, 11:33 am

Anyone want to hazard a guess as to if local iPhone 4 prices will drop with the introduction of the iPhone 4S for sale here or if the iPhone 4S will be priced extra premium VVIP to the iPhone's VIP.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2011, 12:05 pm

iDynamic wrote:about the siri on ipad 2 , i think the only way to get siri working would be to have access permission to the root filesystem which require jailbreaking.
figures

Siri on the iPad would be kinda lame though since you can't say "Call Fred" or "Message Suzy" unless it was via facetime and imessage which is pretty restrictive. The iPad has no phone to call or sms ppl, or even check voicemail.

iDynamic wrote:So these kids bought 2 iPhone 4S at launch and sent it to space while recording !!

check the video out !
cool!

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 18th, 2011, 12:52 pm

iDynamic wrote:about the siri on ipad 2 , i think the only way to get siri working would be to have access permission to the root filesystem which require jailbreaking.
figures

Siri on the iPad would be kinda lame though since you can't say "Call Fred" or "Message Suzy" unless it was via facetime and imessage which is pretty restrictive. The iPad has no phone to call or sms ppl, or even check voicemail.

iDynamic wrote:So these kids bought 2 iPhone 4S at launch and sent it to space while recording !!

check the video out !
cool!

+1

Check this also :

Watch the iPhone 4S Shoot Video Almost as Well as a $3000 DSLR (Updated: More Amazingness)

The iPhone 4S has a mighty and great 8 megapixel camera which can defeat a $3000 Canon DSLR camera. That’s astonishing !

the iPhone 4S’ camera, With no doubt, is really a killer camera and yes, its price is so good in compare to a $3000 canon DSL camera.

In the video below between the iPhone 4S camera and Canon EOS 5D Mark II, you will note no big difference and yes, if you look closely, the 5D wins.

Below (For those who have any doubt) is another video proves that the iPhone 4S is capable of shooting some incredible video:

source : http://gizmodo.com/5850493/watch-the-iphone-4s-shoot-video-pretty-much-as-good-as-a-3000-dslr

Postby M_2NR » October 18th, 2011, 2:20 pm

src1983

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby src1983 » October 18th, 2011, 2:36 pm

I keep getting this error when I try to share stuff from tapatalk......

Anyone getting the same??

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2011, 3:18 pm

^^^why use tapatalk on FB when there's already an app for it???

i think u'll get the error on most of the sites that dont support tapatalk fully yet??? i dunno...just assuming

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 18th, 2011, 3:18 pm

Motorola’s new smartphone Lapdock looks a lot like a MacBook Pro

Motorola's line up sure looks familiar as well

Samsung's got company as it seems.

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2011, 3:20 pm

all dem tryin to ide d wave apple created but they cant...lolz...trying to tief d ppl ideas and innovation FTL!!! :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 18th, 2011, 3:35 pm

src1983 wrote:I keep getting this error when I try to share stuff from tapatalk......

Anyone getting the same??

Yup...
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1318966528.245238.jpg

evo_mad

Postby evo_mad » October 18th, 2011, 11:26 pm

So, I updated to IOS 5 and my phone no longer vibrates when the ringer is switched off. I checked in the sound settings and vibrate is set to "on". Anyone else experiencing this problem with their iPhone 4?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 18th, 2011, 11:31 pm

Fine here.

Postby M_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 12:25 am

only time that happens is if you turn one of the vibration settings to off. i use that a lot! comes in quite handy.

ohh and and a follow up to my prox. sensor issue.

The issue happens only when i put someone on loudspeaker and takes off loudspeaker and proceed to put the phone back to my face. It seems that when i take off the loudspeaker the prox. sensor is no longer activated and hence i face dial/touch things :(
oh well.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » October 19th, 2011, 3:30 am

I'm lost. Bmobile uses edge (the really slow one) and wi-fi right, not 4G as they advertise.
Whenever I enable 3G on my iphone, I don't get internet connection.

Postby M_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 7:54 am

Zeroman wrote:I'm lost. Bmobile uses edge (the really slow one) and wi-fi right, not 4G as they advertise.
Whenever I enable 3G on my iphone, I don't get internet connection.

Well don't enable it.
I assume u mean edge stops right? I think that was an issue on iOS 3. I didn't have mobile data back then and for ultrasn0w to work initially it had to be off.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » October 19th, 2011, 7:57 am

I don't have it enabled and my phone is not jailbroken but just saw some posts that seem to indicate that 3G works down here.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 19th, 2011, 8:45 am

Zeroman, yea , u cud either use it prepaid or buy it on a weekly contract or check shana ent. and he will organise it fuh yuh for ah $200 unlimited...

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » October 19th, 2011, 8:48 am

So let me get this straight, it is available but just not with the iPhone plans from Bmobile. Hate to think a paying so much money a month and they limiting what a could use.

evo_mad

Postby evo_mad » October 19th, 2011, 9:04 am

Just an update to my vibration issue. Seems like it was an issue with the vibration motor inside the phone. I read on a forum that all you needed to do was to tap the phone a couple times on the back (not too hard), to "free up" the motor. Works fine now!

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » October 19th, 2011, 9:56 am

I am pretty sure when the improve Siri in the future they will add an avatar or talking face for more personalized touch to it

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 19th, 2011, 10:03 am

you have to configure the proper settings to get the closest to 3G speeds from bmobile ..tunring 3G on and off wouldnt help you

I guess i was wrong , apprently you may not need to install siri via a jailbreak , just simply sync the app through iTunes.

anyone willing to give it a try ??

download siri .ipa - http://www.filesonic.com/file/2391738754/Siri%20Assistant%20%5BSiri%5D%20(v3.3)%20-%20%5BFG%5D.ipa

http://www.iphone4jailbreaks.com/how-to-install-download-siri-on-your-iphone-4-ipod-touch-download-link.html

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 19th, 2011, 10:18 am

mediahouse wrote:I am pretty sure when the improve Siri in the future they will add an avatar or talking face for more personalized touch to it

I doubt it. I think that would look too gimmicky and non-Apple like. The best example from the 1960's then up to now in the 2010's was HAL. HAL wasn't trying to pretend it was human. It was exactly what it is. Artificial intelligence and looked it.

Trying to marry artificial intelligence is still way off, even for Apple, although if anyone get's it, it'll be them. Maybe Siri for iOS7 or 8 or something. The uncanny valley still way too wide to cross yet.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 19th, 2011, 10:19 am

is siri working properly?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2011, 11:37 am

^ remember Siri is still in beta, so there will still be alot of learning and tweaking

mediahouse wrote:I am pretty sure when the improve Siri in the future they will add an avatar or talking face for more personalized touch to it
I'm pretty sure not

it is unlike Apple to do that
I am sure that high up on the list of Siri updates is understanding human language better such as slang, dialects, accents, truncating sentences, inferred meaning, sarcasm etc. This can be done using real heuristics - I think that is where the Siri team will be placing most effort.

Postby M_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 2:43 pm

So what are the proper settings to get 3G speeds idynamic?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 19th, 2011, 7:41 pm

ok so i went to an apple store to find out what going on with the Iphone 4s that was ordered online etc

decide to test out the 4s siri .....damm that thing is really for non trinis lol ...you have to speak perfect english for it to understand what you say especially if you want it to send an email or message .....

so for all those trinis who cant speak proper english , dont bother to waste your time with siri ...other than that the phone is exactly how it is in the reviews ... the video caputre is wow !! and the new A5 processor is pacee !!..

other good news for the Siri fans ........ another guy yet again by the name of jackoplane has siri ready for all ios 5 devices , no jailbreak required ...he is planning on releasing it but has not given any date !!!!.

Postby S_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 8:30 pm

evo_mad wrote:Just an update to my vibration issue. Seems like it was an issue with the vibration motor inside the phone. I read on a forum that all you needed to do was to tap the phone a couple times on the back (not too hard), to "free up" the motor. Works fine now!

that happend to my captivate.
that is not a permanent fix..it going to go again.

Postby M_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 8:50 pm

i still deciding if to update to iOS 5... :( have too much crap to backup

S_2NR wrote:
evo_mad wrote:Just an update to my vibration issue. Seems like it was an issue with the vibration motor inside the phone. I read on a forum that all you needed to do was to tap the phone a couple times on the back (not too hard), to "free up" the motor. Works fine now!

that happend to my captivate.
that is not a permanent fix..it going to go again.

hoss u eh send back the ting to samsung? the amt of issues you had with that.

Postby S_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 9:00 pm

i sold that phone looonggg time bro.. :lol:
the new owner knows about the problem.

bought a nexus s a week after and no problems since.

Postby M_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 9:17 pm

lard. i remember u bought the nexus s. talking about galaxy... saw one today in one of those otterbox type casings... seriously i like a lil protection eh.. but jesus... seriously... is all that needed?

Postby S_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 9:23 pm

they give good protection but otterbox is just overkill on the whole :lol:
when i buy a phone i want to enjoy it not seal it up.