3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby DVSTT » May 23rd, 2013, 12:48 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Allyuh.. primes are nice yunno.

Yes they are, I love my sigma 50 1.4.
If my 18-55 ever goes though, I'd replace it with a 24-70 2.8 VC. But I'm not worried about it going since my cam isnt even 2 years old yet

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 23rd, 2013, 2:30 pm

was considering a cheap prime, like the 50mm 1.8, but I sprang a bit more for range/versatility.

Remember I'm not a pro, I use my camera as a multipurpose. Very satisfied with the shots I took with it.

On the full zoom, the IS seems way better than the 18-55, can't explain how.

Postby RBphoto » May 23rd, 2013, 2:34 pm

IS keeps your shots vibration free for exposure between 1/10 second to 1/125. Most of the improvement should be from vibration reduction handheld.

Postby meccalli » May 23rd, 2013, 6:08 pm

Didn't post for a while. But here's some new stuff!!

L.purpureus by meccalli, on Flickr
Tanked! by meccalli, on Flickr
Sig by meccalli, on Flickr
Flowrfront by meccalli, on Flickr

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » May 25th, 2013, 12:22 pm

Anyone here using extension tubes for macro photography??? I am thinking of purchasing a set but I wanted to know if there is a certain type of lens to be used wth the ext tubes or will any lens work... I currently use a Canon Rebel T3 with a EFS 18-55mm & 75-300mm lens...
This is a photo I just took using a reverse lens technique with the 18-55mm lens...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2013, 12:45 am

^^ nice shot there man, and yes I have a friend who uses extension tubes on a kit lens. Not really a true macro per say, but a great introduction into the world of the tiny!

I found out over the weekend that Flickr has revamped their site, given everyone a free terabyte of space for all their HIGH/FULL resolution images to be displayed for FREE!! (*gasp!*).

So while digging in the archives tonight, I found a few gems I'd like to share that helped me along my journey as a phototakerouter (i.e. sheit I did while messing around and learning)

Rally Trinidad 2011

Manzanilla river mouth, colour vs black and white

England, West Midlands during April 2008 (taken with D40 and 18-55 kit lens)

... and the morning after it snowed.

Private Villa in Barbados

MEssing around in photoshop

backyard, aunt's house in California

Sunset over Verrazano Bridge, NY. The emptiness and tone of the pic reminded me of the mepty and lonely New York city in the Will Smith film, "I Am Legend"

Swan at the waterfront, south Brooklyn NYC (this one won a few awards and was published in a travel magazine)

Did an impromptu photoshoot with the wifey in Central Park, NYC. Inspired by an advertisement I had seen in Macy's the day before.

Penguins at the Dudley Zoo, West Midlands UK

Impromptu birthday shot for a friend, at West Midlands, UK (combination of split-toning and selective colouring done in CS4.)

Practicing with lighting, using Nikon AWLS/CLS to trigger the SB600 flashes, and home-made softbox/tube for key and rim lighting.

Saw an ad in a magazine, decided to try to replicate the advertisement.
Shot with two SB600, one to the background as filler and one directly above as a kicker/highlight. The shiny surface effect is done using a piece of plexiglass to make the tabletop nice and glamourous. No front-lighting, everything is backlight/shinethrough.

Strawberries on an upside down wineglass. Natural window light to the rear, and a single SB600 snooted to the left as a hard kicker to make a nice pinpoint highlight onto the strawberry's surface.. giving in a nice lil pop which was further accentuated in CS4 - bumped the contrast and killed the blacks to make the strawberry jump out at you and catch your eye

... and here's the converse to that shot, with emphasis on the backlighting (SB600 bounced off the kitchen white wall/tiles)

Nikon D40, 50mm f/1.8 prime, manual focused (the D40 doesn't have a manual screw drive to power the older AF-D 50mm lens, unlike the newer 50mm AF-S lens with a silent-wave motor which can work with D40/D3100/D5100)

Watching mih daddy cut/grind some galvanize

Mr Henry chillin' on the beach with his brand new hat

Pupsy wants some coffee!

German food festival at Birmingham Town Center, Birmingham UK
(Nikon D40 18-70mm af-s lens, Handheld/leaning against signpost)

and the creme de' la creme....

Parliament Houses & Westminster Abbey, 2009.
Nikon D40
Handheld shot, no tripod or monopod. Exposure time... 2.5 sec. Was leaning against the railing by the river Thames... put my hand on the railing and placed the camera on my hand.... held my breath and then squeezed the trigger while pressing the camera hard against my forehead. Took about 6 -7 tries to get it just right.

Exif data -

The Houses of Parliament at night

Taken on January 3, 2009 at 6.19PM VET (edit)
Posted to Flickr January 23, 2009 at 11.01AM VET (edit)
Exif data
Camera Nikon D40
Exposure 2.5
Aperture f/14.0
Focal Length 31 mm

Hope you guys enjoyed some of my favourite photos I took over the past few years, sorry if the post was a bit too long or long-winded... but thanks for your attention!

If any of you guys are interested, you can add me as a Flickr friend, just send me a PM
Last edited by lighthammer on May 26th, 2013, 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » May 26th, 2013, 2:10 am

Light got mad photo skills!!!!!
Awesome work bro! One day I'll reach your level!

Postby meccalli » May 26th, 2013, 8:42 am

lighthammer wrote:
I found out over the weekend that Flickr has revamped their site, given everyone a free terabyte of space for all their HIGH/FULL resolution images to be displayed for FREE!! (*gasp!*).

Yep! now I'm throwing all my backlogs to the wind lol.

Kindling by meccalli, on Flickr
Bahhrk by meccalli, on Flickr
Rasss by meccalli, on Flickr
Bloo by meccalli, on Flickr
Ganja/Cassava by meccalli, on Flickr

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 26th, 2013, 9:31 am

lighthammer wrote:
German food festival at Birmingham Town Center, Birmingham UK
(Nikon D40 18-70mm af-s lens, Handheld/leaning against signpost)

I love the warm tones of this photo. And photos like these. IDK what it is but i love the colours.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 26th, 2013, 7:20 pm

Anyone using macro lenses? or only extension tubes?

Postby DVSTT » May 26th, 2013, 11:57 pm

Ordered a new flash! YN560III to add to my collection. Should be here by next week. :D

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 27th, 2013, 12:51 am

fouljuice wrote:Anyone using macro lenses? or only extension tubes?

Yes I have a Sigma 105mm Macro Lens .

Postby r3iXmann » May 27th, 2013, 1:04 am

Dragist wrote:

can we see some samples, if you dont mind :oops:

RWD

Postby RWD » May 27th, 2013, 1:07 am

Taken with iPhone 5 using add on macro lenses.
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » May 27th, 2013, 1:21 am

ImageImage

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » May 27th, 2013, 1:27 am

ImageImage

Postby DVSTT » May 27th, 2013, 2:02 am

r3iXmann wrote:
Dragist wrote:

Ole Red Eyes by dpds68, on Flickr

Beeg Bug by dpds68, on Flickr

Rat Snake2 by dpds68, on Flickr

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » May 27th, 2013, 4:50 am

DVSTT wrote:Ordered a new flash! YN560III to add to my collection. Should be here by next week. :D

Do let us know if it is worth it... thinking about buying one, and the reviews seem ok...

Sent from my GT-P3113 using TriniTuner mobile app

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 27th, 2013, 10:53 am

DVSTT wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
Dragist wrote:

And more here Thanks Dharin .

Poinsettia Macro by dpds68, on Flickr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dpds68/

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » May 27th, 2013, 11:13 am

lighthammer...next time someone using an angle grinder, please don't stand in line with the blade, we want to see more photos from you!

Great photos!

Postby DVSTT » May 27th, 2013, 9:09 pm

streaminhonda wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Ordered a new flash! YN560III to add to my collection. Should be here by next week. :D

Do let us know if it is worth it... thinking about buying one, and the reviews seem ok...

Sent from my GT-P3113 using TriniTuner mobile app

Steups, have to wait 17-28 days for it to ship and my friend shipment leaving before so I'll have to get it in his next shipment in july :(....

Postby r3iXmann » May 28th, 2013, 8:44 am

cactus flowers...not the perfect angle or lighting but i made the best of it with LR :oops:

Postby DVSTT » May 29th, 2013, 8:33 pm

Postby DVSTT » May 29th, 2013, 9:34 pm

So finally had some time to myself after an epic rape from Math exams. Took some pics

Spider! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Postby Trini Hookah » May 29th, 2013, 9:37 pm

Dharin y u do dis

now self mankind cya sleep tonight *shudders

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2013, 2:25 am

luv it!!!

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » May 30th, 2013, 7:32 pm

So I'm in the market for a real nice camera. I've had experience with Canon 60D, 7D, T3, T4 etc.

Been looking at this though:

Can anyone tell me if they've had experience with this?

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-SLT-A77-Digi ... 6V6HEB8Q1T

Postby DVSTT » May 30th, 2013, 11:07 pm

nick639 wrote:@Dharin what lens u used on that spider???

Full manual setup
50 1.8 on extension tubes.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 31st, 2013, 8:08 am

Sony cameras are balls. Just my 2 cents.

Postby DVSTT » May 31st, 2013, 11:18 am

trini mk5 wrote:Sony cameras are balls. Just my 2 cents.

I share this view.

CANON FTW!