Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2022, 11:53 pm

timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:safe? yes, but not safe enough
effective? yes, but not effective enough.
necessary? no.

mind u. if u take the vax, to still benefit from the vax, u have to keep taking the boosters, every 4 months. that immunity wanes.

if u not boosting, u dont have immunity, from the vax.
if u do have immunity, it will be natural immunity from being previously infected.
That's not how it works, but ok

with the covee vax, thats how it works. it doesnt after 4 months, and u HAVE to boost to regain immunity from the covee vax.

natural immunity is longer lasting than the covee vax. hence why u dont see so much covee around much more. omicron immunize most every body

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2022, 1:06 am

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2022, 1:19 am

https://youtu.be/-efHtbWN7Ng

increase in us military diseases, since vax mandates

Postby redmanjp » December 12th, 2022, 10:21 am

i had reduced my mask wearing even in indoor spaces in recent weeks but i'll probably wear it again for the next 2 weeks. why? who wants to get covid for Christmas? would be very inconvenient as u have to cancel your plans like work luncheons and various family gathering and parang fetes. and my colleague at work just called in sick with 'a flu' which makes me the only IT admin here.

so would advise ppl to do the same and not carry covid to vulnerable family members xmas day etc- u can revert back afterwards and get your covid.
Last edited by redmanjp on December 12th, 2022, 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » December 12th, 2022, 10:28 am

sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
necessary? no.

mind u. if u take the vax, to still benefit from the vax, u have to keep taking the boosters, every 4 months. that immunity wanes.

if u do have immunity, it will be natural immunity from being previously infected.

with the covee vax, thats how it works. it doesnt after 4 months, and u HAVE to boost to regain immunity from the covee vax.

natural immunity is longer lasting than the covee vax. hence why u dont see so much covee around much more. omicron immunize most every body
I still don't have any traces of COVID-19 in my body

Postby redmanjp » December 12th, 2022, 10:32 am

sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
necessary? no.

natural immunity lasts only till a new subvariant comes along smash- ppl who got wuhan covid got omicron BA1. and even some who got BA1 got BA5- even in some cases a few weeks apart. but either way vax or infection your T-cells should give u not sterilizing immunity -i.e. from any infection whatsoever, but protection against severe infection. that's the important thing.

Postby timelapse » December 12th, 2022, 10:43 am

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
necessary? no.

natural immunity lasts only till a new subvariant comes along smash- ppl who got wuhan covid got omicron BA1. and even some who got BA1 got BA5- even in some cases a few weeks apart. but either way vax or infection your T-cells should give u not sterilizing immunity -i.e. from any infection whatsoever, but protection against severe infection. that's the important thing.
Smash refuses to acknowledge how vaccines work.It goes against his 'beliefs' that are more accurate than science.

Postby paid_influencer » December 12th, 2022, 8:49 pm

Postby redmanjp » December 16th, 2022, 6:52 pm

Get out of isolation after 5 days if u test negative with either a rapid test or PCR - from a lab. Not home test.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid19-isolation-protocols-amended-6.2.1591472.72a3ae9bbd

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2022, 7:22 pm

timelapse wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
necessary? no.

Smash refuses to acknowledge how vaccines work.It goes against his 'beliefs' that are more accurate than science.

the covee vax only using the spike protein to awares ur body about the virus. there are many more ways that the immune system can recognize a virus.

the weak forms of the virus will allow the immune system to many other ways other than just the spike protein, to recognize the virus.
so , u chances of being immune to subvariants are way better, with a previous infection that a stream lined mrna vaccine.
thats why the chinese vax was a safer bet for long term immunity than the mrna.

dont conflate traditional vaccine/virus/immune system relationships with this mrna technology. it doesnt work the same way.

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2022, 7:55 pm

sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote:
necessary? no.

the covee vax only using the spike protein to awares ur body about the virus. there are many more ways that the immune system can recognize a virus.

the weak forms of the virus will allow the immune system to many other ways other than just the spike protein, to recognize the virus.
so , u chances of being immune to subvariants are way better, with a previous infection that a stream lined mrna vaccine.
thats why the chinese vax was a safer bet for long term immunity than the mrna.

dont conflate traditional vaccine/virus/immune system relationships with this mrna technology. it doesnt work the same way.

That certainly does not seem to be an accurate assessment.

"If 85% of the population gets a fourth dose of a vaccine other than the inactivated-virus vaccines most people in the country have received, it could slow the rise in infections and reduce the number of severe infections and deaths."

“There’s no doubt that China is in for a bad couple of months,” says James Wood, an infectious-disease modeller at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia.

However, two studies find that the number of deaths could be reduced by giving most of the population a fourth vaccine dose, combined with a high level of adherence to masking and reimposition of temporary restrictions on social interactions when death rates surge. These measures could also ease the burden on hospitals.

But these estimates include only deaths due directly to COVID-19, and do not take into account excess deaths because of delays in treating people with non-COVID-19 diseases, says Ewan Cameron, a modeller at the Telethon Kids Institute in Perth, Australia.

The study suggests that if 85% of the population gets a fourth dose of a vaccine other than the inactivated-virus vaccines most people in the country have received, it could slow the rise in infections and reduce the number of severe infections and deaths. Pushing fourth vaccine doses, combined with giving antiviral drugs to people aged 60 and older and to other individuals at high-risk of developing severe disease, could reduce deaths by up to 35%.

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-022-04502-w

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2022, 8:46 pm

just let the omicron spread... and who wants to vax, let them vax.

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2022, 8:56 pm

pressure for them as they have little semblance of herd infections and sinovax probably aint so hot against 0micron
in the meanwhile a padna just got covid for second time
which is about right, 6 months or more since we have had big infection wave.

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2022, 9:25 pm

Omicron (A) is less lethal than the ancestral strain (B) but still kills 8 to 10 times as often as the flu.

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2022, 9:28 pm

that 8-10 times as deadly, have bodies strewn all over the roads in trinidad and africa... its a catastrophe

Postby redmanjp » December 19th, 2022, 9:42 pm

what about delta? was that more lethal than ancestral? based on our record number of deaths a year ago especially xmas eve i would say yes.

but how come that diagram showing original covid having a 68% hospitalization rate? is that due to lack of testing (which did occur in the early stages) for mild cases?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 19th, 2022, 9:43 pm

As usual people are getting over dramatic over another covid strain again. :roll:

Postby redmanjp » December 19th, 2022, 9:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:As usual people are getting over dramatic over another covid strain again. :roll:

i am still cautious if im indoors with a big crowd- otherwise no mask. i say cautious simply as getting covid now 6 days b4 xmas would be a big inconvenience- cyah visit family and friends for xmas, cyah go out to lime etc. imagine we having ppl over for xmas lunch and i hadda eat in my bedroom alone :roll:

once xmas done the mask getting fling away

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2022, 10:17 pm

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 20th, 2022, 12:12 am

DMan7 wrote:As usual people are getting over dramatic over another covid strain again. :roll:

Tripledemic

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2022, 7:36 am

https://youtube.com/watch?v=fgVpVHL8nkY ... IECMiOmarE

a talk about 'absolute risk reduction' and 'relative risk reduction'.

when people want to say it 8x higher and 20x higher than the alternative. but dont want to talk about how the both the promoted measure and the alternative measure compares to the whole population.

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2022, 7:46 am

when was the last tiem we get a covee health post?

so it move from once a week to once a month?
are we still in a pandemic? that we need the declaration of the health emergency to still be active?
can u accept the virus is now a flu season virus now? as expected?

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2022, 8:40 pm

This vid puts furward three things;
- the mRNA vaxes are more dangerous than protective
- the deaths due to first jabs, went in reported as it was categorized as undervaxed or not fully vaxed covee deaths.
- that the influence of pharmaceutical companies on policy makers needs to be examined

https://youtube.com/watch?v=-MSKzoI72eU ... IECMiOmarE

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2022, 8:43 pm

maj. tom wrote:Tuberculosis? But I now remember how "masks don't work" anyway.
Cloth masks wouldn't work, but n95 may... Depending on the viral particle Size.

Cloth masks only good fur dust and splash protection. When the droplet dry out in the fabric, the viral particle will pass through the fibers normel normels.

Postby paid_influencer » December 20th, 2022, 8:49 pm

it had some bad saharan dust weekend gone. sore throat and respiratory infection will happen with all the dust

a cloth mask even woulda protect a bit from the saharan dust. n95 protects from dust better and is more comfortable to wear but is expensive.

Postby adnj » December 20th, 2022, 9:47 pm

sMASH wrote:

Cloth masks only good fur dust and splash protection. When the droplet dry out in the fabric, the viral particle will pass through the fibers normel normels.

Before the invention of melt blown polymer electret fabrics in the 1950s, there was fine-woven fabric.

The filtration effectiveness of cloth masks is generally lower than that of medical masks and respirators; however, cloth masks may provide some protection if well designed and used correctly. Multilayer cloth masks, designed to fit around the face and made of water-resistant fabric with a high number of threads and finer weave, may provide reasonable protection.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7510705/

Postby redmanjp » December 20th, 2022, 9:54 pm

Even if the droplets dry out later u would have limited spread if for instance u coughed or sneezed close to ppl while wearing it.

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2022, 10:21 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Before the invention of melt blown polymer electret fabrics in the 1950s, there was fine-woven fabric.

The filtration effectiveness of cloth masks is generally lower than that of medical masks and respirators; however, cloth masks may provide some protection if well designed and used correctly. Multilayer cloth masks, designed to fit around the face and made of water-resistant fabric with a high number of threads and finer weave, may provide reasonable protection.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7510705/

All the test u do, if u try to put a 15" rim in a 20" tire, it gonna fall rite tru.

Common frickin sense,

The fabric only creates a maze for the particles to go tru, merely delays the passage.

Anybody working with n95 for long periods would see the eventual break tru.

And, here in Trinidad, from when masks were not mandatory, to mandatory, not mandatory, had little effect if any, on the covee spread.

Tjem tests not reflecting real world performance. Covee trends proved that

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2022, 10:22 pm

redmanjp wrote:Even if the droplets dry out later u would have limited spread if for instance u coughed or sneezed close to ppl while wearing it.
Limited was not enough to say it made a difference. It was still too kuch spread.

Postby adnj » December 21st, 2022, 6:54 am

Large, real-world study finds Covid-19 vaccination more effective than natural immunity in protecting against all causes of death, hospitalizations

In one of the first large, real-world studies comparing the effectiveness of COVID-19 vaccines versus natural immunity in protecting against death, hospitalizations and emergency department (ED) visits, research-scientists from Regenstrief Institute, Indiana University School of Medicine and Vanderbilt University Medical Center report that people of all age groups benefited significantly more from vaccination than natural immunity acquired from a previous COVID infection. The lower death rate of vaccinated individuals was especially impressive for adults ages 60 years or older.

Significantly, the all-cause death and hospital admission rates for vaccinated individuals were 37 percent lower than the rates for those with natural immunity acquired from previous COVID infection. The rate of ED visits for all causes was 24 percent lower for vaccinated individuals than for the previously infected.

https://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/e ... 022.307112
Last edited by adnj on December 21st, 2022, 4:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.