The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

iamblessed

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby iamblessed » May 15th, 2013, 11:55 pm

Who here owns a nexus 4?I am so loving this phone.just wanted to post that....lol

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » May 15th, 2013, 11:57 pm

iamblessed wrote:Who here owns a nexus 4?I am so loving this phone.just wanted to post that....lol

I do, lol, its a great device

Possibilities are endless

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » May 16th, 2013, 12:11 am

Yup its just right.I love it.my battery life is awesome also.:-D

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 16th, 2013, 7:42 am

BrandoHD wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:That s4 from the play store is not the 8 core model. (do not want)

The 8 core model can only use a maximum of 4 cores at a time, so it's basically a quad core phone, four A15 cores for max performance at the cost of battery and four A7 cores for max efficiency and battery savings at the cost of performance.

The true performance of this big.LITTLE design may not be seen in the S4 though, from what I have read, Samsung's implementation of the core switching is messed up

Would not want to rule out that a custom ROM/Kernel would fix that. At least to enable use of all 8 cores when necessary.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 16th, 2013, 8:29 am

ZeroOne wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:That s4 from the play store is not the 8 core model. (do not want)

The 8 core model can only use a maximum of 4 cores at a time, so it's basically a quad core phone, four A15 cores for max performance at the cost of battery and four A7 cores for max efficiency and battery savings at the cost of performance.

The true performance of this big.LITTLE design may not be seen in the S4 though, from what I have read, Samsung's implementation of the core switching is messed up

Would not want to rule out that a custom ROM/Kernel would fix that. At least to enable use of all 8 cores when necessary.

Whenwould the need for all 8 be necessary?

I can't see ever needing that amount of power on my mobile.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 16th, 2013, 8:56 am

Gaming would be one time when 8 cores would be great.

Matter of fact any resource intensive app would benefit from 8 cores.

Bill gates once said that 256MB of RAM would be enough.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 16th, 2013, 9:19 am

ZeroOne wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:

if it was that easy y didnt the manufacturer do it? i suspect there may be overheating issue once all 8 cores are activated. plus ur warranty will be void. android devices have just nailed 90% perfection imo. the 10% will be different for each user and their requirements per device. but by next year we should have tegra4i and full 8 core operations. tho i have no idea what id do with such power. i guess i find something to do with it lol

something im really looking forward to is upgradeable memory. up to at least 4gb. that would make just about any device fly. fingerprint scanners and infrared port should also be made a standard. but i guess universal remote companies will end up going out of business.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 16th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Can the Blu Studio 5.3 Bmobile selling be updated to the newest Android os?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 16th, 2013, 1:05 pm

I never said that having all 8 cores in use was easy. Heat wise the phone is designed to withstand high temps.

IDK why samsung didn't do it, that is not proof that it cannot be done.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 16th, 2013, 1:40 pm

nothing 'cannot be done'. that wasnt my point. was just speculating on downside to running all 8 at the same time on resource intesive apps. once the bootloader is unlocked anything is possible. extra heat will definitely shorten the life of the processor tho. still they could just downclock the processors to ensure temps dont go overboard. im waiting for the devices coming out in the next half of the year. already stoked about some of the coming features and still not sure what id use 8 cores to do since i dont really play games. maybe dualbooting with windows or something or it might run xp real nice within a virtual environment. my phone actually suits all my needs currently except i wouldnt mind more memory, dual sim, higher res camera, infrared port and fingerprint scanner. so im looking out for a device to come out that meets that with a physical qwerty keyboard.

Postby S_2NR » May 16th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Turbotusty, why all ur posts always so long? I always read half and then say fack this tl:dr

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 16th, 2013, 2:23 pm

lol - one paragraph long hoss? [insert morgan job commentary here]

Postby pete » May 16th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Nothing 'cannot be done'. That wasnt my point. I was just speculating on downside to running all 8 at the same time on resource intesive apps. Once the bootloader is unlocked anything is possible. Extra heat will definitely shorten the life of the processor tho. Still they could just downclock the processors to ensure temps dont go overboard.

Im waiting for the devices coming out in the next half of the year. already stoked about some of the coming features and still not sure what id use 8 cores to do since i dont really play games. Maybe dualbooting with windows or something or it might run xp real nice within a virtual environment.

My phone actually suits all my needs currently except I wouldnt mind more memory, dual sim, higher res camera, infrared port and fingerprint scanner. So I'm looking out for a device to come out that meets that with a physical qwerty keyboard.

That would be much easier to read.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 16th, 2013, 2:35 pm

yeah usually paragraph topics but was intentionally 'energy efficient', that whole thing wasnt all that long to make 3 para's lol

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 16th, 2013, 2:43 pm

Almost bought the SIV then saw the Google SIV. Can't wait for that.. I know I can remove all the bloatware myself but instant updates from Google are gonna be the best.

Postby nemisis » May 16th, 2013, 2:47 pm

Most men will just flash that rom on existing s4

Postby ismithx » May 16th, 2013, 3:11 pm

^^ exactly

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 16th, 2013, 7:22 pm

Rumors mount for white Nexus 4, may launch with next version of Android

The white Nexus 4 is stuff that dreams are made of, and the lucky son of a gun at Android and Me, Taylor Wimberly, has one in hand. According to Wimberly's description, it'll be a "carbon copy" of the black Nexus 4, with the same specs and hardware wrapped into the sparkly, snow white casing. That's not the only juicy detail to emerge from Google I/O, however, as Wimberly reports that the smartphone will debut in the Google Play Store on June 10th with Android 4.3. We're currently unable to confirm the rumor, but a growing number of server logs add to the speculation that Android 4.3 could be around the bend. With less than a month to go, it won't be long to know whether this one pans out, but you can be sure that we'll be dreaming of unicorns in the meantime.

Engadget

Postby Greypatch » May 16th, 2013, 8:02 pm

Swisha wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:
Swisha wrote:Nexus 5 and Key Lime Pie won't be announced at I/O

Ah well. I hope its sometime soon tho. At least a hint or something. I want a Nexus 4 but really dont want to buy that and then the 5 comes out. Would rather wait a while, should be worth it if the rumors are true.

Usually announced at its own event later in the year and available around October/November

Don't forget the Google X phone in addition to the N5

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » May 16th, 2013, 8:04 pm

ZeroOne wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:

Impossible with the design, each A15 core is paired with an A7 core, and they pass work off to each other, never are they 'on' at the same time

What custom kernel developers can do is probably give control of the cores to the user, but the user would have to choose to use either an A7 or an A15, never both

I haven't finished the reading as yet, but it seems that Samsung may have messed up the proper implementation of the core switching, I'll post the link to the thread here when I find it, for those who are actually interested on how big.LITTLE is supposed to work

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » May 16th, 2013, 8:21 pm

Straight to the point

Exynos Octa and why you need to stop the drama about the 8 cores

Don't bother with battery comparisons on the i9500, the phone is unfinished

And a short video for those who won't bother going to the thread to read

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 16th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Huh, didn't expect that from sammy. Why rush a device out the doors when the market isn't calling for it?

Postby Trini Hookah » May 16th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Guys what good multiplayer games you all recommend? Beside the usual ruzzle, words with friends etc

Postby M_2NR » May 16th, 2013, 9:59 pm

BrandoHD wrote:Straight to the point

Exynos Octa and why you need to stop the drama about the 8 cores

Don't bother with battery comparisons on the i9500, the phone is unfinished

And a short video for those who won't bother going to the thread to read

stop making sense na :lol: yuh go cause a uproar.

---

I wonder when google going to make a music app for iOS :| I war it. I missing my google music during the day.

Postby stev » May 17th, 2013, 11:33 am

LF:

Postby stev » May 17th, 2013, 4:05 pm

well i see i have one update pending....Hangouts (replaces Google Talk)

anyone upgrade yet?

Postby RASC » May 17th, 2013, 4:13 pm

Postby Stephon. » May 17th, 2013, 4:26 pm

I get my S4 today finally
It's been a long lonely road seeing my peers with theres as I cower in a corner with my S3
But tonight my friends, tonight I would be able to pull out my phone in public once more.
No more would I need to leave my phone on silent as I leave the house
No longer would I be ignoring whatsapp messages from friends when I'm too ashamed to whip out my prehistoric phone to reply.

The sun is just a cloud away!

Postby RASC » May 17th, 2013, 4:33 pm

Stephon. wrote:I get my S4 today finally
It's been a long lonely road seeing my peers with theres as I cower in a corner with my S3
But tonight my friends, tonight I would be able to pull out my phone in public once more.
No more would I need to leave my phone on silent as I leave the house
No longer would I be ignoring whatsapp messages from friends when I'm too ashamed to whip out my prehistoric phone to reply.

The sun is just a cloud away!

HAHAHA
...what colour?
Case or no Case?
Size memory?

Postby M_2NR » May 17th, 2013, 4:56 pm

stev wrote:LF:

Parvin got a similar one. You can probably PM him about it.