3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby pete » April 7th, 2013, 11:38 pm

How good is that flash? I want to get a flash for my camera and don't really have a huge budget.

Postby maj. tom » April 7th, 2013, 11:55 pm

Hey DVSTT, great work! How about some long exposure experimenting with colors in motion? Water, cars, stars, birds, airplanes, dust, oil, oil film on water while flowing, even a large high end speaker coil?

I am amazed and awed at Hipgnosis photography and art.

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 12:09 am

pete wrote:How good is that flash? I want to get a flash for my camera and don't really have a huge budget.

It's pretty awesome for the price. You should get the YN565 as a main flash though, the 560II doesn't have as much features as the 565. However if you just want a basic flash the 560II is very hard to beat.

Postby pete » April 8th, 2013, 7:37 am

My camera's not on the compatibility page for the 565 so don't know if it'll work with the TTL. It's also about $90 more than the 560.. maybe I'll just wait for later in the year before I decide.

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 8:48 am

pete wrote:My camera's not on the compatibility page for the 565 so don't know if it'll work with the TTL. It's also about $90 more than the 560.. maybe I'll just wait for later in the year before I decide.

What camera do you have?

@maj.tom, eventually, don't get much time to set up shots now as exams are a month away so busy studying :/

Postby pete » April 8th, 2013, 8:55 am

Canon SX40

On the compatibility site they have the SX30IS listed as compatible with the YN-468 and a ? for the 565. It should work and on their facebook page someone has asked if it works so hopefully they can get an answer to confirm it.

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 11:12 am

pete wrote:Canon SX40

On the compatibility site they have the SX30IS listed as compatible with the YN-468 and a ? for the 565. It should work and on their facebook page someone has asked if it works so hopefully they can get an answer to confirm it.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_ ... sx40+flash

I really can't say if it will work or not. Does it have a hotshoe? If it doesnt support ETTL then you'd be better off getting the yn560II. I don't use the ettl anyway, just nice to have it there in case my dad uses the camera cuz he only uses auto lolz

Postby pete » April 8th, 2013, 11:18 am

Yeah it has a hotshoe. You can't see it in the pictures on amazon because it has a cover.

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/S ... 0HSDAT.HTM

Ext Flash Connection: Hot-Shoe (E-TTL)

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 1:07 pm

The hot shoe is identical to what is on my t2i. The YN560 only has one prong which fits on the big circle on the hotshoe, making it a manual flash. The YN565II has 5 prongs fitting it into all the circles on the hotshoe, this is for ettl. I am not 100% sure it will work, but more than likely it will.

Check these links
http://www.canonistas.com/foros/ilumina ... -sx40.html

riulian83 says:

I've had mine for two weeks, but I'm having some strange problems when using it with Canon SX40. If set my camera to M mode the flash doesn't fire at all. In any other camera modes it's working (manual or ETTL, with full control from camera). I've tried to set the flash in manual mode or in ETTL, but nothing. Has anyone have any suggestion? Thanks.

aka_ituner says:

I tested the Canon PowerShot SX40 HS with YN-622C and YN-568EX

flash works equally well on the camera and on the transmitter and receiver
I found only one oddity
AF-assist YN-622C was not working, but worked built-in camera AF assist light

Before he test, I did reset the custom settings in the camera, and as well as reset the settings of the flash and trigger
Reset better to do with the camera mounted on the flash.

Flash release date 08.2012

Unfortunately I do not have more opportunities to test

http://www.flickr.com/groups/strobist/d ... 997033592/

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 1:08 pm

Hope this helps you out. :)

Postby pete » April 8th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Thanks, I did a couple searches after you mentioned the 565 and it seems it might work. Really want to get an external flash some time this year. The stock flash really doesn't give good results.

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 2:17 pm

pete wrote:Thanks, I did a couple searches after you mentioned the 565 and it seems it might work. Really want to get an external flash some time this year. The stock flash really doesn't give good results.

once the ettl, af assist etc are supported by the cam then go for it. If it's not, you might as well go yn560ii.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 8th, 2013, 2:20 pm

DVSTT-what those flashes cost you landed?

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2013, 5:58 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:DVSTT-what those flashes cost you landed?

My dad brought the 565 for me. The 560II was about 75USD and it cost my $550TTD total I think.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 9th, 2013, 11:14 pm

Taken with my Tamron 70-300mm VC using a Nikon D300 body.

Postby DVSTT » April 9th, 2013, 11:45 pm

^^^Nice
How is Tamron glass? Looking at getting the new 24-70 2.8 VC that they released. Is it good?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 9th, 2013, 11:46 pm

^^ got that

along with the 17-50 2.8

awesome glass..

i even take better pics that my friend with the nikon equivalent.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 10th, 2013, 12:19 am

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2013, 8:17 am

evening blush by sMASHsound, on Flickr

same evening, just a bit lower

nearer to he stoney ground by sMASHsound, on Flickr

our sun is actually white in color, this time it shone that way.
sun down by sMASHsound, on Flickr

Postby DVSTT » April 10th, 2013, 6:08 pm

Actually I know a guy with the 17-50 tamron for sale, if anyone interested.

anyhow, 240zx

240zx Edited by DHARIN, on Flickr

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » April 10th, 2013, 7:20 pm

^^Nice as usual.

You doh have IAs and thing to do boy? :P

Postby DVSTT » April 10th, 2013, 7:23 pm

KiD09 wrote:^^Nice as usual.

You doh have IAs and thing to do boy? :P

Boy I suffer through my IAs, finish the math one today :D. Now to do some hardcore studying :?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 10th, 2013, 7:34 pm

I also have a Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 non VC that I love .

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 10th, 2013, 7:53 pm

I have the Tammy 25-75 f/2.8 XR Di LD, no VC but really who cares , as sharp as the 50mm 1.8 with zoom , comparable and in some instance better than the Canon Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM Lens. Have not tested against the 50mm 1.4 .

Four tack sharp lenses in that write up

Postby DVSTT » April 11th, 2013, 6:22 pm

cornfused wrote:I have the Tammy 25-75 f/2.8 XR Di LD, no VC but really who cares , as sharp as the 50mm 1.8 with zoom , comparable and in some instance better than the Canon Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM Lens. Have not tested against the 50mm 1.4 .

Four tack sharp lenses in that write up

You mean tamron 28-75?

Postby DVSTT » April 11th, 2013, 7:06 pm

CASSIE! She actually jumps much higher than this

Postby foss » April 11th, 2013, 7:54 pm

he's getting on worse than the rott ! hahaha

good ole pothound :)

Postby DVSTT » April 11th, 2013, 8:06 pm

foss wrote:he's getting on worse than the rott ! hahaha

good ole pothound :)

Her dad is a pure bred rott and mom a Rott/ Shepherd mix, don't know how she came out blonde :lol: .

Postby DVSTT » April 12th, 2013, 8:25 am

Postby pete » April 12th, 2013, 8:37 am

If you upgrading from the 560II I'll take it off your hands.. :)