Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 193

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2022, 4:23 pm

The TTCG really get put in a shitty position. But they were doing their job at the end of the day. They realistically couldn't do it any other way after the boat try to ram their inflatable.
Last edited by Chimera on February 8th, 2022, 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 8th, 2022, 4:23 pm

alfa wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:If this 9 month old baby was such a threat, how did the boat pull up alongside the cg boat and they take the mother to grande hospital??? All that money they spend on that boat and a pirog could ram it???

You need to read over the coast guard official release. The ship tried to intercept the pirogue and failing to do that they released a boat to try to do same. It was probably one of those inflatable zodiac type things. Anyway the release continued to say the immigrant boat tried to ram them and then shots were fired. All this happened after sirens and flares were deployed from the bigger ship to no avail. If we were to take this release as fact what is there to argue again as to using deadly force?

Take the release as fact. Good joke.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 8th, 2022, 4:24 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:The TTCG really get put in a shitty position. But they were doing their job at the end of the day. They realistically couldn't do it any other way after the boat try to ram their infatable.

Doing there job? I rather they do there job when drugs and guns coming in.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 8th, 2022, 4:25 pm

MaxPower wrote:This baby was murdered.

Well max, it look like we could expect a decrease in crime now that that dangerous, criminal baby didn't enter the country. Smh

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2022, 4:31 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:The TTCG really get put in a shitty position. But they were doing their job at the end of the day. They realistically couldn't do it any other way after the boat try to ram their infatable.

Thats what they were trying to do and the child end up as collateral damage though.

Postby alfa » February 8th, 2022, 4:35 pm

[list=][/list]
Phone Surgeon wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Thats what they were trying to do and the child end up as collateral damage though.

The ridiculous part is if one of the CG men were killed instead there wouldn't be one ounce of sympathy for them. But then again if people could constantly say the police too wicked then this isn't surprising at all. Some of you are sounding like the people who say that a police officer should be able to disarm a gun toting bandit with one hand tied behind his back and if he even reaches for his gun it makes him racist :roll:

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 8th, 2022, 4:51 pm

The fact that the pnm going all out to defend this should tell us all we need to know.

Postby j.o.e » February 8th, 2022, 5:22 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:The fact that the pnm going all out to defend this should tell us all we need to know.

Put politics aside …. I don’t care who in power I want the coast guard to stop people from entering our borders illegally.
What PNM, UNC, COP, NJAC, PDP have to do with that ? Steups
Swear allyuh love party more than country yes. That is why we so

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2022, 5:45 pm

Mmoney is max in disguise?

Postby 88sins » February 8th, 2022, 7:10 pm

:evilbat:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Sins you comparing going to rob a house with escaping a country where you and yours are starving and suffering?

Yup
Both are criminal actions, and in either scenario it's them themselves that are responsible for the outcome.

It doesn't matter that much for the reason of your willingness to engage in criminal activity, what matters is that you chose to commit the offense, and did commit the offense. So what you saying? Is because is a woman and child that claim to be starving so that makes their criminal trespass ok? If the father and son were homeless and hungry, that'd make their actions any less criminal or them any less deserving 9f the outcome?

People let emotions play too much of a role in their thinking. Yes, a kid died, and yes, that was unfortunate. But that kid had no business being where he was in that situation, and it's his mother's fault first and foremost that he was there. She chose to expose her child to the risks involved, and ttcg were simply doing their duty and that's that.

Where was all this emotion when a group on a pilgrimage was detained for months? When Trini fishermen were being killed in T&T waters by venezuelan pirates? Where was the emotional cries for humanity for these people Max? Where are the pleas for humanity and compassion for the children of parents murdered by the illegal firearms that come in from venezuela?

All I saying is, be objective and unbiased and leave emotions out of your processes, and you will usually come to a logical rational undestanding and conclusion

Postby MaxPower » February 8th, 2022, 8:24 pm

88sins wrote:Max? Where are the pleas for humanity and compassion for the children of parents murdered by the illegal firearms that come in from venezuela?

Can’t give you wrong in most of your comments.

Your example with the father and son, hungry or not…they must be put down if necessary. Padna, if someone enters your yard armed and threatening and you shoot them dead, you walk free. But if someone comes in your yard, unarmed and begging for food and you shoot them dead, you could be in some hot water. I not saying it is right to trespass, im saying the situation could make things swing differently.

But illegal firearms from Venezuela has been going on for decades and both Trinis and Venes involved must feel the brunt of the law or put down.

Vene pirates killing our fishermen has also been going on for decades and these are NOT the same ppl trying to enter our country. If that was the case, crime from the Venes who recently came would be high but it is NOT and NO ONE here can prove me wrong. Think back a few years ago before the wave of Venezuelans…what was the crime THEN to now? It is NOT a significant increase.

The woman and child were fleeing from an economic crisis. This is a far less crime than the above, and harmless. So yes, their criminal trespass should be ok based on their situation. Ok meaning deadly force is not necessary. Almost everyone seeking asylum does this and we as a society must ASSESS and help them as necessary, not murder.

How many people have attempted to enter illegally in Trinidad? You ever returning from abroad and you see people sitting in immigration? They aint tired, most have false documents and are trying to enter illegally. Do we rain bullets on them? No, there is a process to assess, detain and deport, not murder.

Anyways, really happy to see the amount of locals in support of the Venezuelans in this unfortunate event.

Postby hover11 » February 8th, 2022, 9:24 pm

Listen there's no way in which illegal migrants / intruders can convince me they were in the right... You did not utilise any of the approved vessels of transport and wasn't en route to any of the approved points of entry. You want to enter the country do it the right way...

Postby 88sins » February 8th, 2022, 10:50 pm

Simple as that

Postby matr1x » February 9th, 2022, 1:42 am

Yesterday, there was a "bilingual language sensitzing" seminar at financial organization in town. The employees walked out 1/4 way through. Ppl are not going to bend over backwards anymore. They realize the venes are on sheit.

Postby MaxPower » February 9th, 2022, 6:59 am

matr1x wrote:Yesterday, there was a "bilingual language sensitzing" seminar at financial organization in town. The employees walked out 1/4 way through. Ppl are not going to bend over backwards anymore. They realize the venes are on sheit.

Sure they did.

How many employees? Two xenophobic Trini trouble makers?

The Venes are here to stay and most are not “on sheit” and doing wayyy better than you. Stop the jealousy and work harder na.

I will agree with you that some are on shiet, but a mere fraction.

Ease up on the fairytales and your imaginary seminars Balcon lover,

Postby timelapse » February 9th, 2022, 9:51 am

Yeah fack Spanish.We speak bush English ova hyar.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » February 9th, 2022, 10:09 am

Was the Venezuelan/Ketan Jewelry victim here illegally?
Is that why he had to be shot and killed?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 9th, 2022, 10:23 am

Allyuh who fraid a lil covid virus with a less than 2% death rate supporting bullets for hungry migrants. Hummm.

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 10:24 am

I feel plenty of the vennies still risking coming across because they feel it have a chance the government will run a next legalization program.

Postby The_Honourable » February 9th, 2022, 10:30 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Was the Venezuelan/Ketan Jewelry victim here illegally?
Is that why he had to be shot and killed?

Don't think it had anything to do with xenophobia. If it was a local running away, it would have been the same outcome with a bullet to the back.

He was legal, actually had dual citizenship. Vene father, Trini mother hence the vene-indo mixed name.

Altho based in Venezuela, he travelled to Trini occasionally long before the situation with Maduro. He was a university lecturer and finalizing accreditation here locally before resuming to teach. In the meanwhile he was doing security work.

Postby hover11 » February 9th, 2022, 10:57 am

The authorities need to clamp down drastic with ZERO tolerance on people harbouring illegal immigration.

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 11:24 am

How you suppose to know if someone illegal? By law you have to ask to see their passport and their entry stamp? Or the card they gave them when they were legalized?

Landlords hadda ask for that?

Besides that.

Are we also cracking down on illegal Guyanese, Jamaicans, Nigerians?
Or just venes

Postby MG Man » February 9th, 2022, 11:29 am

should crack down on ppl renting out properties and not payig taxes, not adhering to building codes etc

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 11:35 am

MG Man wrote:should crack down on ppl renting out properties and not payig taxes, not adhering to building codes etc

property tax forms suppose to fix all that

Postby MG Man » February 9th, 2022, 11:38 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
MG Man wrote:should crack down on ppl renting out properties and not payig taxes, not adhering to building codes etc

yup
but the powers that be still need to find a way to have minimum standards for rental properties. There's one by my in-laws, where parking is in he street....it's a nightmare to get in and out of a narrow side street, with between 6 and 8 cars always parked on the side of the road

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 11:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

yup
but the powers that be still need to find a way to have minimum standards for rental properties. There's one by my in-laws, where parking is in he street....it's a nightmare to get in and out of a narrow side street, with between 6 and 8 cars always parked on the side of the road

standards for rental properties?

end businesses on the whole suppose to have a certain number of parking for customers?

why most of the businesses in Trinidad especially on main roads only have parking on the road?
even banks have limited parking and then everybody else you have to park on the road or find a paid car park

Postby MG Man » February 9th, 2022, 11:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

yup

standards for rental properties?

end businesses on the whole suppose to have a certain number of parking for customers?

why most of the businesses in Trinidad especially on main roads only have parking on the road?
even banks have limited parking and then everybody else you have to park on the road or find a paid car park

yup, correct
Good example is bars. You supposed to have parking, but everybody put tables in the yaad and customers park in the street...yet every mc year, men getting their license renewed

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 12:01 pm

even government buildings dont have parking for customers though.

library, courts, police head quarters, police stations, plenty ministries , embassies

most of it is road parking or paid parking

cant enforce on rental properties when they not enforcing on anyone

Postby hover11 » February 9th, 2022, 12:12 pm

You can't expect government buildings especially the ones in urban areas like pos to provide parking for employees and customers let's be a little realistic , they offer the service is your choice how you choose to access it.

Postby MG Man » February 9th, 2022, 12:15 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:even government buildings dont have parking for customers though.

library, courts, police head quarters, police stations, plenty ministries , embassies

most of it is road parking or paid parking

cant enforce on rental properties when they not enforcing on anyone

bs tho....different guidelines apply to different businesses...you can't just put a rental property any old where without approvals, just like bar licenses are not granted for certain areas such as residential areas etc