Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby DMan7 » August 21st, 2023, 7:27 pm

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2023, 9:58 am

pugboy wrote:my kitchen normally around 28.5c
was minimum 31 all day

Just curious do you have any radiant barriers under the roof? My upstairs doesn't and usually is between 31-32 but these days reaching 33C.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2023, 10:02 am

i do but was installed badly plus kitchen doesn’t have much airflow so fridge generated heat which stays

radiant barrier always makes a huge difference if properly installed
redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:my kitchen normally around 28.5c
was minimum 31 all day

Just curious do you have any radiant barriers under the roof? My upstairs doesn't and usually is between 31-32 but these days reaching 33C.

brickman

Postby brickman » August 22nd, 2023, 10:40 am

Gonna be the same today :(

killercow

Postby killercow » August 22nd, 2023, 11:31 am

brickman wrote:Gonna be the same today
Car thermometer saying 34° in POS but it feels way hotter!

brickman

Postby brickman » August 22nd, 2023, 2:22 pm

Seeing 36/37°C on the app &i believe it.

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2023, 2:54 pm

brickman wrote:Seeing 36/37°C on the app &i believe it.

What location?

Im home in Arima today and it's 33C upstairs but looks like the max temp went to 34C at some point.

Temp 20230822_142846.jpg
Last edited by redmanjp on August 22nd, 2023, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

death365

Postby death365 » August 22nd, 2023, 2:58 pm

Wow
Screenshot_20230822_145729_Weather.jpg

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2023, 3:04 pm

^ heat island effect exists in POS. It often is 4C hotter than what's measured in Piarco.

That said I wonder if there are any OSHA guidelines for outdoor workers like construction workers for these extreme temperatures? They shouldn't have to work in direct sun at that temperature. Once i was trying to change a tyre with the nut stuck and I stayed outside for about 2 hrs. Got a headache afterwards and had to drink plenty water and take a long cold shower. This was despite drinking water every 30 mins outside.

I also wonder about the local UPS and other carriers. In the states they didn't even have AC in their vehicles. Some workers got heat related illness.

Postby st7 » August 22nd, 2023, 4:45 pm

this rain is most welcome

*chaguanas

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2023, 5:53 pm

Got some rain in San Juan just now too, but the heat still remains unfortunately...

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2023, 6:54 pm

rain make it even more humid and steamy now

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2023, 11:47 pm

Would u believe just a few minutes ago i check the temp monitor in my room and it's still 31C! At 11:30pm in the night!

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2023, 6:23 am

I feel like I going and drill a set of holes in a few pvc pipe to soak down the roof when it real hot yes.

Old school thing to give the ac a little assistance

killercow

Postby killercow » August 23rd, 2023, 7:16 am

redmanjp wrote:Would u believe just a few minutes ago i check the temp monitor in my room and it's still 31C! At 11:30pm in the night!
Last night was the first night in years I sleep with the AC on the lowest for the whole night. The place just too damn heated. The ACs feel like they struggling to work sometimes.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 23rd, 2023, 9:27 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I feel like I going and drill a set of holes in a few pvc pipe to soak down the roof when it real hot yes.

Old school thing to give the ac a little assistance

This ran through my mind a few years ago. A pipe on the roof than sprays water on it and collects and recirculates repeatably during the day.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2023, 9:41 am

a ceiling extractor fan would be better

Postby j.o.e » August 23rd, 2023, 10:38 am

pugboy wrote:a ceiling extractor fan would be better

Yea this and better ceiling to prevent heat coming in is the way. Remember how long time used to have the row of ventilation blocks high up ? That did wonders but now we all building for ac and not actually running ac 24/7

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2023, 10:45 am

pugboy wrote:a ceiling extractor fan would be better
Yea I looking into that as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2023, 10:46 am

Putting soffit vents in the eave of the roof helps to dissipate some heat too.

IMG_4302.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 23rd, 2023, 10:51 am

Any implication of soffit vents in high wind scenarios (gusts, thunderstorms etc) that can contribute to high internal pressures inside and threaten roof?

Postby MaxPower » August 23rd, 2023, 10:54 am

Allyuh wearing deodorant and sunblock right??

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2023, 11:06 am

Like this?
Screenshot_20230823-110441_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2023, 11:28 am

Fellas dont be embarassed in using umbrella in the sun. The sun different these days.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2023, 11:34 am

them vene and chinese doing that long time

aaron17 wrote:Fellas dont be embarassed in using umbrella in the sun. The sun different these days.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2023, 11:35 am

the solar fan i have is attic breeze
was a couple hundred several years ago
much more now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2023, 11:40 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Any implication of soffit vents in high wind scenarios (gusts, thunderstorms etc) that can contribute to high internal pressures inside and threaten roof?

Yes too much and it can add lift
https://consensus.fsu.edu/FBC/soffit/20 ... Prsntn.pdf