COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby maj. tom » February 28th, 2020, 7:52 pm

Alright people, so brace for cases to start being detected in TT within a week or two. It seems to be inevitable now seeing how the entire of Europe just break out overnight. Cases in USA and CAN. Do not panic. Follow the CDC rules. There will be deaths but it won't get out of control. Do not cause panic with Whatsapp assholery spam.

Observe the rules: masks and hand sanitizer at every human contact point, everywhere. Buy a few small bottles for the car and stock a few large ones at home. Pennywise has had a large 40 oz. bottle for about $25.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2020, 8:08 pm

^ europe has any travel restrictions?

Postby paid_influencer » February 28th, 2020, 8:10 pm

I disagree this won't get out of control. SFGH and POSGH will quickly become overloaded and themselves become outbreak cases. Our heathcare system will fail, badly, and we will be in for a very bad year.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2020, 8:19 pm

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/world/who-upgrades-global-risk-covid-19-coronavirus-highest-level-12483164

WHO upgrades global risk of COVID-19 spread to highest level
World Health Organization (WHO) Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus
World Health Organization (WHO) Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus attends a daily press briefing on COVID-19, the novel coronavirus, at the WHO headquaters on Feb 28, 2020, in Geneva. (Photo: AFP/Fabrice Coffrini)
29 Feb 2020 12:21AM
(Updated: 29 Feb 2020 06:54AM)

GENEVA: The World Health Organization on Friday (Feb 28) raised its global risk assessment of the new coronavirus to its highest level after the epidemic spread to sub-Saharan Africa and financial markets slumped.

The virus has proliferated around the globe over the past week, emerging on every continent except Antarctica, prompting many governments and businesses to try to stop people from travelling or gathering in crowded places.

It has killed more than 2,800 people and infected over 84,000 worldwide - the vast majority in China - since it emerged apparently from an animal market in the central Chinese city of Wuhan in late December.

But it is its rapid spread to new zones that has authorities concerned - in the past 24 hours, it has affected nine new countries, from Azerbaijan to Mexico to New Zealand.

"We have now increased our assessment of the risk of spread and the risk of impact of COVID-19 to very high at global level," WHO chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus told reporters.

"We do not see evidence as yet that the virus is spreading freely in communities. As long as that's the case, we still have a chance of containing this virus."

"The key to containing this virus is to break the chain of transmission," he said, emphasising the importance of individuals taking precautions to stop contagion.

"Our greatest enemy is not the virus itself, it's fear, rumours and stigma and our greatest assets are facts, reason and solidarity," he said.

READ: China says COVID-19 vaccine trials to start around late April
Global investors nevertheless ran scared, with world markets suffering their worst week since the 2008 financial crisis.

The chair of the US Federal Reserve, Jerome Powell, said the central bank stood at the ready to intervene if needed, given the "evolving" risks to the world's largest economy posed by the deadly outbreak.

New drastic measures were put in place: Switzerland cancelled all gatherings of more than 1,000 people, and Saudi Arabia banned Gulf citizens from its holy cities of Mecca and Medina.

"This is not a time for panic. It is time to be prepared - fully prepared," UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said.

'STRUGGLING WITH CONTAINMENT'

Those efforts come as the number of deaths and new infections has been tapering off in China, following unprecedented quarantine efforts locking down tens of millions of people in the worst-hit cities.

But infections elsewhere have started to surge, with Iran, Italy and South Korea becoming the major new hotspots and cases being confirmed in around 50 countries

"We see a number of countries struggling with containment," said Michael Ryan, head of the WHO's health emergencies programme.

The WHO has voiced particular concern about Africa's preparedness, warning that the continent's health care systems were ill-equipped to respond to a COVID-19 epidemic.

Cases had previously been reported in Egypt and Algeria, but not in the sub-Saharan region until Friday when Nigeria reported its first case: an Italian man in densely populated Lagos.

In Iran, unnamed health system sources told the BBC that at least 210 people had died of the coronavirus - far beyond the official death toll of 34, but a health ministry spokesman angrily denied that figure.

SCHOOL CLOSED, EVENTS CANCELLED

The coronavirus crisis is affecting everything from global production to schools to sporting events, with FIFA warning on Friday that international football matches could be postponed.

READ: Japan PM Abe asks schools to close for most of March to contain COVID-19 spread
Several companies have said they expect the virus to hit their earnings because of weaker demand.

Oil prices also slipped again, with Brent oil for April delivery sinking as low as US$50.05 a barrel.

Analysts have warned that China, the world's second-largest economy, will see a major cut in growth this quarter as the country remains largely paralysed by quarantines and containment measures.

CHINA HOPE

Still, signs in China offered hope that the outbreak could be contained.

China reported 44 more deaths on Friday, raising its toll to 2,788, with 327 new cases - the lowest daily figure for new infections in more than a month.

The virus has mostly killed the elderly or people with pre-existing health conditions.

South Korea also now has the most cases outside China, with more than 2,000 infections and 13 deaths.

The virus has had wide-ranging impact, even forcing K-pop megastars BTS to cancel four Seoul concerts scheduled for April.

BRITISH CRUISE SHIP PASSENGER DIES

In Japan, the health ministry said a British man who was on board a coronavirus-stricken cruise ship quarantined near Tokyo had died. More than 700 others on the ship have tested positive.

The governor of Japan's rural northern island of Hokkaido urged people to stay at home this weekend in a desperate effort to contain the outbreak.

In Europe, the largest epicentre is Italy with 650 cases and 17 deaths - mostly in cities in the north.

Wide-ranging measures to halt the spread of the virus have affected tens of millions of people in northern Italy, with schools closed and cultural and sporting events cancelled.

Experts said the virus had probably "circulated unnoticed for several weeks" before the first confirmed cases - possibly since January.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » February 28th, 2020, 8:24 pm

Screenshot_2020-02-28-20-23-39.jpeg

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2020, 8:47 pm

wickedtuna wrote:.Screenshot_2020-02-28-20-23-39.jpeg

it's our parents that have to worry, but of course if you get sick (or not but infected) you can spread it to them. And the death rate is ome thing but the chance of serious complications at that age could be 50%
Last edited by redmanjp on February 28th, 2020, 9:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » February 28th, 2020, 8:53 pm

^
1 in 30 chance of dying if you are in you are 60+
1 in 12 chance of dying if you are 70+
1 in 7 chance of dying if you are 80+

(based on chinese heathcare, which may be better or worse than T&T heathcare).

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2020, 10:36 pm

i now saw a bbc on fb that it have a confirmed case in wales. if that is so, then its in the uk, which most likely is via heathrow, and that woudl mean lax and therefore trini...

thats it there.

Postby Kenjo » February 28th, 2020, 10:53 pm

sMASH wrote:i now saw a bbc on fb that it have a confirmed case in wales. if that is so, then its in the uk, which most likely is via heathrow, and that woudl mean lax and therefore trini...

thats it there.

LAX on the west coast of the USA has what relation to Heathrow?

Postby paid_influencer » February 28th, 2020, 10:59 pm

LAX is on the pacific coast and a transit hub to large asian airports. any flight I checked going to Hong Kong involved going through LAX.

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2020, 11:14 pm

which ever it is that comes from miami to here. the large international terminals. because of the large number of people moving in and out so quickly, it woudl be difficult to track in those places. once it pass through a big air port, it could go any where from there.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 28th, 2020, 11:35 pm

What allyuh predict would happen when the virus is confirmed locally?How do you think businesses would react like fast food outlets,malls,bars etc?Definite hike in food prices?

Postby Gladiator » February 29th, 2020, 12:06 am

supercharged turbo wrote:What allyuh predict would happen when the virus is confirmed locally?How do you think businesses would react like fast food outlets,malls,bars etc?Definite hike in food prices?

Grocery, Pharmacy, Hardware etc would use it as an excuse to raise prices
PNM would use it as an excuse for their failure
Watson Duke would tell all Public Servants to stay home
Trinis would panic and full up gas in they car
Everybody go buy out pricesmart
Rowley would get "invited" to some far off country to go and hide
Trevor Sayers would make a facebook video with the cure
Tobago people go continue to catch ass

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 29th, 2020, 4:02 am

the end is near. enjoy allyuh life while you can.eat drink an b merry. run down hoes or who very allyuh want, eat drink d best cause after the stock market crash we aint go know what hit we, prices will go crazy, so enjoy it while you can.

we have all kinda bush medicine here in TT so i sure someting go wuk. from fever grass to zabbapique we will make it.

Postby pugboy » February 29th, 2020, 5:38 am

panama also for those who dont have US visas

sMASH wrote:which ever it is that comes from miami to here. the large international terminals. because of the large number of people moving in and out so quickly, it woudl be difficult to track in those places. once it pass through a big air port, it could go any where from there.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 29th, 2020, 7:10 am

Seeing reports of a dog testing positive for it, wtf

Postby nemisis » February 29th, 2020, 8:14 am

Not a thing really especially fast food because persons on both sides of the counter nasty. Haven't been subway for a bit and when I gone the woman taking the order killing herself coughing over her shoulder so I cancel my order, you cant ve serving food and sick. You figure the person before me or behind me had any concern? So with that breakfast idea squashed and feeling like I wasted my time driving there I stop to get some doubles. The dude retired his east Indian cook's for two vene and he wrapping and handling money.

Disgusting. Will collect money, give change and with same hand hold the bara with his thumb so that it doesn't slide off the paper. Have people in the line sneezing into their hands and paying. I just walked away.
supercharged turbo wrote:What allyuh predict would happen when the virus is confirmed locally?How do you think businesses would react like fast food outlets,malls,bars etc?Definite hike in food prices?

Postby nemisis » February 29th, 2020, 8:19 am

Any suggestions on kid friendly masks. Looking for something comfortable a 6 year old can wear during the school day. Once again reiterating people nasty if you child seems not well keep that MFer home but when you ask why the f*%$ I'm hearing about a child in the class sneezing their brains out for most of the day with runny nose are they allowed to be there. ... well it's not the flu eh is allergies with all that Sahara dust nah......

Postby aaron17 » February 29th, 2020, 8:35 am

Is it ok to wipe the car door handles with rubbing alcohol or wet wipes or would it damage the paint?

Postby hydroep » February 29th, 2020, 10:07 am

New countries confirming cases: Iceland, Azerbaijan, Mexico...:|

sr20

Postby sr20 » February 29th, 2020, 10:27 am

Postby supercharged turbo » February 29th, 2020, 11:11 am

Link not working
sr20 wrote:https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07TS68H8H/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o08_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 29th, 2020, 11:20 am

Postby Gladiator » February 29th, 2020, 4:25 pm

the US reported its first COVID-19 death. Uncle Sam entering panic mode...

Postby aaron17 » February 29th, 2020, 7:43 pm

I expect the corona virus to be handled like the crime rate in the country.ppl would not go to hospitals unless it is affecting them badly...bad hygiene... Etc

Postby paid_influencer » February 29th, 2020, 7:58 pm

if you have coronavirus, do not go to a public hospital.

you will spread the infection and many, many patients in the hospital will die.

Postby aaron17 » February 29th, 2020, 8:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:if you have coronavirus, do not go to a public hospital.

What about going by a doctor first?

Postby paid_influencer » February 29th, 2020, 8:13 pm

aaron17 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:if you have coronavirus, do not go to a public hospital.

What about going by a doctor first?

there is no treatment or cure for coronavirus. there is no point of care testing for coronavirus. If you go by a doctor, they cannot help you. They will give you panadol and tell you to stay home.

If it develops seriously in pneumonia (difficulty breathing), I would get someone to call a doctor over the phone, explain the severity of symptoms and either have a house visit or ministry of health visit. The bed in the Caura hospital would be prepared and waiting with appropriate personnel, equipment and precautions.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » February 29th, 2020, 9:30 pm

If there is a confirmed case in Venezuela, that's when we need to panic. They don't have the facilities to treat a grazed knee, you think they have infrastructure to contain and control Covid-19? They'll have 1,000 cases before anyone figures out it's there. And we give out free health care to every migrant.

And those in authority are bump gum to "show" they working for their salary but nothing substantial behind the talk. "Fake it 'till you make it" should be on the coat of arms.

Postby redmanjp » February 29th, 2020, 10:30 pm

just receive a package from amazon- i spray it with some lysol. not taking chances in case it have unknown clusters in Miami including the freight forwarders