Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 27th, 2023, 4:01 pm

Time to load up d salt bucket fellas

Postby MG Man » April 27th, 2023, 4:08 pm

I does just sprinkle the blue pellets everywhere
Problem is I din cut mih grass (no rain nah) and now with a week of rain, yaad is a forest and too wet to wacker, so them lil bigers prob in their glee dropping eggs -__-

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2023, 4:24 pm

why allyuh do put the thiovin beer trap thing
they would have been hibernating with the dry season so looking to roam now that rain fall

Postby j.o.e » April 27th, 2023, 4:38 pm

pugboy wrote:why allyuh do put the thiovin beer trap thing
they would have been hibernating with the dry season so looking to roam now that rain fall

I hadda find a neat way to do that. I eh want to deal with all that stinkness

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 27th, 2023, 7:32 pm

Is like dem stinkers playing houdini ... disappear then magically appear...

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2023, 7:43 pm

they know how to burrow and hibernate just like slugs

Postby *KRONIK* » April 28th, 2023, 8:06 am

Pressure

The 4 big ones i find the other day, i sprinkle some chloring granules on them, cuz i didnt have time to go look for the "snail container" and tongs.
All missing, so i feel the rain wash away the chlorine and they get away.

Now it have 4 monsters out dey lurking

I vex with myself now

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2023, 8:10 am

Lordddddddddd oyeeeee

If you see the size of them 2 i now pick up by the road, both filled a 8" pot.

A lil rain fall last night and they come out boi

Gave them a nice soak in some chlorine water

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2023, 8:29 am

we still ain’t find a way to cook them tasty?
i saw one in chancellor saturday
the foot wide like my hand

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2023, 8:44 am

pugboy wrote:we still ain’t find a way to cook them tasty?
i saw one in chancellor saturday
the foot wide like my hand
Well i wasnt trying to eat them
So no progress on that front from me

I feel i gonna spray down that whole area on thiovin, cuz thats where i find majority of them

Postby j.o.e » July 12th, 2023, 9:00 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Pressure

The 4 big ones i find the other day, i sprinkle some chloring granules on them, cuz i didnt have time to go look for the "snail container" and tongs.
All missing, so i feel the rain wash away the chlorine and they get away.

Now it have 4 monsters out dey lurking

I vex with myself now

I find this batch more resilient. Gf would salt them and they would be stunned and then move a lil later.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 12th, 2023, 9:12 am

Got an infestation. Collected them with a shovel and put in a container, then salted them. Amazingly some survived the salting and was climbing out the container. Bought some liquid slug and snail poison sprayed the entire yard and put some in the container. Bought granules and spread them along the boundary lines. Voila no more snails in the yard. Found some dead at the boundary line

When hitting, hit hard

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2023, 9:18 am

you ain’t try the bait method with beer and veggies ?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 12th, 2023, 9:35 am

I wanted a fast action could not wait for experimental stuff . After 3 days all had disappeared or was killed

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2023, 9:45 am

pugboy wrote:you ain’t try the bait method with beer and veggies ?
I still wanna try this one

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 12th, 2023, 10:18 am

Ok cool but these things bring disease and multiply rapidly . Move fast and move hard
*KRONIK* wrote:

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2023, 10:36 am

PariaMan wrote:Got an infestation. Collected them with a shovel and put in a container, then salted them. Amazingly some survived the salting and was climbing out the container. Bought some liquid slug and snail poison sprayed the entire yard and put some in the container. Bought granules and spread them along the boundary lines. Voila no more snails in the yard. Found some dead at the boundary line

When hitting, hit hard

take a walk with a torchlight in the night after 10pm and see if the infestation really stop

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2023, 10:45 am

PariaMan wrote:Ok cool but these things bring disease and multiply rapidly . Move fast and move hard
*KRONIK* wrote:
I have been treating my area,
Bait pellets
Picking up and chlorine soaking the live ones

There is a church on the main road of my street, if you see how much does be on the wall, and nobody is attending to them.
I feel them crawling down the street in the night

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 12th, 2023, 10:49 am

Yes I have been doing that every night

For the first three days I saw a few and put them in the container .

Since then nothing
Phone Surgeon wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Got an infestation. Collected them with a shovel and put in a container, then salted them. Amazingly some survived the salting and was climbing out the container. Bought some liquid slug and snail poison sprayed the entire yard and put some in the container. Bought granules and spread them along the boundary lines. Voila no more snails in the yard. Found some dead at the boundary line

When hitting, hit hard

take a walk with a torchlight in the night after 10pm and see if the infestation really stop

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 12th, 2023, 10:01 pm

Had a mole cricket problem as well . That got dealt with at the same time. Two birds one stone.

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2023, 11:37 pm

The boy down the road by me does put them in a barrel and light them up….

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 13th, 2023, 7:51 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

When hitting, hit hard

Yeah I start night hunting dem mofos now

I realise dem blue pellet does rellll work boi. I could just drop ONE pellet on the meat and they does be dead by the next day. Dry up fast fast

(although im wondering if this pellet harmful to my plants and if it'll come thru in the crops, does anyone know offhand?)

Postby j.o.e » July 13th, 2023, 10:09 am

I have two empty Lots on either side of me. It’s a new development and the developer cuts the grass. But all my snails come from those lots. Since the bait attracts the snails as well as kills them. Would it make sense just to set up some big bait stations on those lots? I was thinking to buy the big bait stations and fill them with blue pellets so they can just stay on their side and die.

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2023, 10:46 am

It's better u put a little bit of bait every few days than a whole set one time

What works great for me is taking food scraps and soaking in beer and thiovin and putting in the abandon land next to me...cuz them thing does smell stink when rottening

Every now and then I gas and light up the pile of bodies

Postby Rovin » July 13th, 2023, 11:34 am

j.o.e wrote:I have two empty Lots on either side of me. It’s a new development and the developer cuts the grass. But all my snails come from those lots. Since the bait attracts the snails as well as kills them. Would it make sense just to set up some big bait stations on those lots? I was thinking to buy the big bait stations and fill them with blue pellets so they can just stay on their side and die.

i sure u heard d ole ppl local saying : yuh asking answers ... & ... : take in front b4 front take u ... aka prevention better than cure or treatment as in this case