Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 25th, 2017, 7:58 am

3.5% for vacant land....WTF....

so if the current market value is $400,000....how much would the tax be??

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 25th, 2017, 8:48 am

^^Plant some citrus on it and say is agriculture land???

MADMAN1

Postby MADMAN1 » April 25th, 2017, 9:00 am

Vision 20/30 - Tax us into Prosperity......

hahahahahaha

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 25th, 2017, 9:02 am

So this approved in Parliament already? Photo of your property and all?

Postby Mark! » April 25th, 2017, 9:05 am

jus hoping they dont start to tax fry chicken

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 9:13 am

Mark! wrote:jus hoping they dont start to tax fry chicken

The evaluators might come in our houses and eat it out!

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 9:15 am

novastar1 wrote:So this approved in Parliament already? Photo of your property and all?

I thought they said its not mandatory to send pics but for sure the evaluators would definitely come to check the property. If correct papers are attached, they may not come.

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 9:19 am

Not sure if you all seen this already.

abducted

Postby abducted » April 25th, 2017, 9:42 am

Mark! wrote:jus hoping they dont start to tax fry chicken

Feed mill will pass on their property increase to the Poultry farmers who will pass on the feed mill and their agricultural property tax to the processing plant who will pass on the feed mill, poultry farmer and processing plant property taxes to the food outlet who will pass on all that to the consumer.

So the consumer paying feed mill property tax + poultry farmer property tax + processing plant property tax + food outlet property tax. Because obviously none of them will absorb it nor is there a refund.

This does not work like VAT.

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 10:14 am

Quick question: Why they don't tax cars on the road per year? Too many unnecessary cars on the road.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 25th, 2017, 10:26 am

aaron17 wrote:Quick question: Why they don't tax cars on the road per year? Too many unnecessary cars on the road.

Sssshhhhh nah bai!!!
I hope Imbutt eh reading this forum.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 25th, 2017, 10:43 am

aaron17 wrote:Quick question: Why they don't tax cars on the road per year? Too many unnecessary cars on the road.
aaron.png
aaron.png (84.46 KiB) Viewed 3970 times

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 10:47 am

ADONI wrote:

Haha! * clears out desk like a madman

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 25th, 2017, 10:49 am

^^LOL!!! Couldn't get the gif in...

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » April 25th, 2017, 11:40 am

Do the valuations officers have the right to come into your house or are they limited to only the exterior to take perimeter measurements of the house and land?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 25th, 2017, 11:55 am

^^Nah they wah come in, so they could see what yuh have in your house and then rob you later.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 25th, 2017, 12:02 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:Do the valuations officers have the right to come into your house or are they limited to only the exterior to take perimeter measurements of the house and land?

Read up the laws they quoted on the website giving the information about the right to enter your premises. There are two parts they quoted.

Postby zoom rader » April 25th, 2017, 12:26 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Don't get me wrong if this Tax was going towards properly fixing my community, I won't have an issue.

What assurance do we have that they will start fixing roads, drains, schools, payvements etc?

This is the big problem I have with this, for all we know it could be going into the pockets of crooked politicians, we are ranked as one of the most corrupt countries on earth incase you fellas didn't know.

Your tax will be spent in PNM gettoes. NON PNM areas will suck salt.

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 1:03 pm

“Sect. 15. (1) Subject to subsection (2), the Commissioner, or any officer authorised by the Commissioner in writing for that purpose, shall for the purpose of ascertaining the value of any land have power to enter, at all reasonable hours during the daylight, in or upon any land without being liable to any legal proceedings or molestation whatever on account of the entry.”

The last part means that they don't need ID or permit?

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Wait. They said that the officers will not be liable for any damages or molestation which occurs if they have to enter the premises.

That can be interpreted the wrong way, but no redress regardless.

Again, the 3cxc crew and the PNMites will say that they will not exceed the side bounds allowed to them, but u should not trust people to exercise discretion, u should have a strict regime of rules to guide them.

Because as we all know, our police and regiment are world class at integrity and morals

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2017, 1:07 pm

got the just now

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2017, 5:18 pm

Them laws like be 1969 ..needs updating.

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2017, 6:01 pm

hold on, something just clicked.
with this new invasion of private property avenue they have here, and the fact that u have to state that u have some sort of business going on on your property, be it renting, parlour, mechanic, etc.
according to the laws, u supposed to be paying VAT and a business levy as a business. the long standing complaint is that doubles vendors dont pay taxes.

so with this new laws, could they now be in a position to enforce the VAT and business levy on the businesses they take note of?

im not discussing if its right or wrong, just that if it is that they use this to start tightening up on people, that would mean they would have their profits eaten into again, and as is the norm, that extra cost will be passed onto the customer.

*rise little inflation birdie, rise!!*

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 25th, 2017, 7:48 pm

^is exactly that go happen

car

Postby car » April 25th, 2017, 7:53 pm

What kinda verification we getting if and when we drop of our documents? They can easily loose your doc and then hit you a $500 charge and say u didn't drop it off.

car

Postby car » April 25th, 2017, 7:55 pm

And what if I say when they come to look at my place, somebody already came last week. Allyuh have fake badge because they come last week already.

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2017, 8:09 pm

ask for a receipt..

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 25th, 2017, 8:13 pm

car wrote:And what if I say when they come to look at my place, somebody already came last week. Allyuh have fake badge because they come last week already.

Feel i go try dat when they reach by me lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 25th, 2017, 8:22 pm

Lets just hope the country will rise up and stop this insanity, hopefully businesses will shut down the country even though this won't include the Syrians but still.

I see Tim Gopeesingh send a mic by my area he asking us to come out and start a protest against this tax. Have the government considered how many people are being put on the breadline in this country? Why do they need this tax now why not wait until they have provided a real pathway to diversifying this country?

Their incompetence and illiteracy with no fckuing plan whatsoever cannot provide anything to those on the breadline you can't even get a foodcard or unemployment benefits in this place. Look at what going on with Water in this country you mean to tell me people still have to cry for water in 2017?

And nobody eh saying nothing, everybody quiet. Everybody love c0ck in they ass it look like, useless fcking Trinis all they know is to do the donkey wine. And doh say is only PNM people doing the donkey wine because that famous Trini Indian model on instagram does be wining half naked on vagrant for carnival more than anything.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 25th, 2017, 8:40 pm

I reach my breaking point I rather put up with that nasty UNC cabal than the PNM. Atleast the Cabal was just thiefing Oil money and they left us alone. The PNM has gone too far.