Re: AG’s alleged witness tampering

Postby UML » February 10th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Power you feel I do not have, I have!
February 9, 2015 at 12:59pm
Dear Editor,

I write in response to Kenneth Lalla's commentary, headlined "West issue more political" and published in the Newsday on February 9th 2015 (http://newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,206706.html). The article has to be incomplete: the relevant clauses in the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) Act were omitted. Therefore, readers weren't able to verify Lalla's argument that West cannot be fired for shortchanging the President and Prime Minister. Permit me to fill in the blanks by quoting what the Act says.

"12. The President, acting in his discretion, may revoke the appointment of a person as Director or Deputy Director where he (the President) is satisfied that the person—
"(b) is unable to discharge the functions of his office, whether arising from infirmity of mind or body or any other cause, or for misbehaviour."

"In his discretion" and "any other cause" give President Carmona power some feel he doesn't have to call David West to account. Polls indicate 500,000 citizens ---maybe more--- have lost confidence in West directly as a result of his actions subsequent to being offered the post at PCA.

Citizens are waiting to see if the President will use those powers to establish the one thing Lalla seems to fear: that the principle of utmost good faith applies when someone is offered any publicly-funded job, particularly an awesome one as head of the PCA.

West was appointed by the President to the office of Director and he can only be removed by the President for the reasons set out in the Police Service Complaint Authority Act. The Act provides that the Director is not subject to the direction and control of any one. Accordingly the PM could lodge her complaint with the President but the President can only remove or dismiss West for the reasons set out in the Act
Lalla omitted some key facts, therefore his conclusion was wrong.

Submitted by Richard Wm Thomas

Postby UML » February 10th, 2015, 1:31 pm

UML wrote:
Judge: Rowley must pay Ramlogan $30,000
For failing to file witness statement in defamation suit...

By Rickie Ramdass rickie.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Feb 9, 2015 at 9:26 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 9, 2015 at 9:26 PM ECT

OPPOSITION Leader Dr Keith Rowley was yesterday ordered by a High Court judge to pay $30,000 in legal costs to former attorney general Anand Ramlogan after he previously failed to file his witness statement in one of five defamation lawsuits brought against him by Ramlogan.

The order was made yesterday afternoon by Justice Andre Des Vignes when the lawsuit again came up for hearing at the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain.

Ramlogan is seeking damages for slander allegedly contained in statements Rowley made at a public forum at City Hall in Port of Spain, on November 1, 2011, relating to the hiring of attorneys in private practice for State briefs.

At the hearing, attorneys representing Rowley also made an application to include in their defence the pending police investigation that Ramlogan allegedly attempted to pervert the course of justice in another defamation claim after he allegedly sought to have director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West withdraw his witness statement.

On January 19, when the matter was last called, Justice Des Vignes granted Rowley an extension of time to file his defence in the matter.

Both sides were given until January 26 to exchange witness statements before the matter could be set for trial.

Des Vignes yesterday set January 19, 20 and 21, 2016, as the dates on which the trial will proceed.

Ramlogan is accused of hiring attorneys from his former law firm to handle cases for the State, so as to receive reward, or pecuniary benefit, from them.

The ex-AG is represented by senior counsel Avory Sinanan, Gerald Ramdeen and Varun Dabideen, while attorneys Michael Quamina and PNM Senator Faris Al-Rawi are seeking the interest of Rowley.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jud ... 40921.html

Postby Habit7 » February 10th, 2015, 2:28 pm

Ramlogan still relevant? He could win all the defamation cases he wants, he still facing 20 years in jail and $100,000 fine. Rowley facing PM1 and 1 La Fantasia Road.

Postby DVSTT » February 10th, 2015, 2:33 pm

Habit7 wrote:Ramlogan still relevant? He could win all the defamation cases he wants, he still facing 20 years in jail and $100,000 fine. Rowley facing PM1 and 1 La Fantasia Road.

Still don't think Rowley winning though.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 10th, 2015, 2:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:Ramlogan still relevant? He could win all the defamation cases he wants, he still facing 20 years in jail and $100,000 fine. Rowley facing PM1 and 1 La Fantasia Road.

Anand is forgotten now .
Roll out the red carpet for Rowley :P

Postby 88sins » February 10th, 2015, 2:36 pm

DVSTT wrote:

Still don't think Rowley winning though.

& he still has a better shot at winning than this Preposterous Partnership

Postby UML » February 10th, 2015, 2:42 pm

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 10th, 2015, 5:10 pm

UML wrote:
Power you feel I do not have, I have!
February 9, 2015 at 12:59pm
Dear Editor,

I write in response to Kenneth Lalla's commentary, headlined "West issue more political" and published in the Newsday on February 9th 2015 (http://newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,206706.html). The article has to be incomplete: the relevant clauses in the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) Act were omitted. Therefore, readers weren't able to verify Lalla's argument that West cannot be fired for shortchanging the President and Prime Minister. Permit me to fill in the blanks by quoting what the Act says.

"12. The President, acting in his discretion, may revoke the appointment of a person as Director or Deputy Director where he (the President) is satisfied that the person—
"(b) is unable to discharge the functions of his office, whether arising from infirmity of mind or body or any other cause, or for misbehaviour."

"In his discretion" and "any other cause" give President Carmona power some feel he doesn't have to call David West to account. Polls indicate 500,000 citizens ---maybe more--- have lost confidence in West directly as a result of his actions subsequent to being offered the post at PCA.

Citizens are waiting to see if the President will use those powers to establish the one thing Lalla seems to fear: that the principle of utmost good faith applies when someone is offered any publicly-funded job, particularly an awesome one as head of the PCA.

West was appointed by the President to the office of Director and he can only be removed by the President for the reasons set out in the Police Service Complaint Authority Act. The Act provides that the Director is not subject to the direction and control of any one. Accordingly the PM could lodge her complaint with the President but the President can only remove or dismiss West for the reasons set out in the Act
Lalla omitted some key facts, therefore his conclusion was wrong.

Submitted by Richard Wm Thomas

Steupsssssss, which poll? the tuner poll or the one by d rumshop in Penal?

Postby eliteauto » February 10th, 2015, 5:15 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 10th, 2015, 5:15 pm

UML wrote:
UML wrote:

OPPOSITION Leader Dr Keith Rowley was yesterday ordered by a High Court judge to pay $30,000 in legal costs to former attorney general Anand Ramlogan after he previously failed to file his witness statement in one of five defamation lawsuits brought against him by Ramlogan.

The order was made yesterday afternoon by Justice Andre Des Vignes when the lawsuit again came up for hearing at the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain.

Ramlogan is seeking damages for slander allegedly contained in statements Rowley made at a public forum at City Hall in Port of Spain, on November 1, 2011, relating to the hiring of attorneys in private practice for State briefs.

At the hearing, attorneys representing Rowley also made an application to include in their defence the pending police investigation that Ramlogan allegedly attempted to pervert the course of justice in another defamation claim after he allegedly sought to have director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West withdraw his witness statement.

On January 19, when the matter was last called, Justice Des Vignes granted Rowley an extension of time to file his defence in the matter.

Both sides were given until January 26 to exchange witness statements before the matter could be set for trial.

Des Vignes yesterday set January 19, 20 and 21, 2016, as the dates on which the trial will proceed.

Ramlogan is accused of hiring attorneys from his former law firm to handle cases for the State, so as to receive reward, or pecuniary benefit, from them.

The ex-AG is represented by senior counsel Avory Sinanan, Gerald Ramdeen and Varun Dabideen, while attorneys Michael Quamina and PNM Senator Faris Al-Rawi are seeking the interest of Rowley.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jud ... 40921.html

The same Gerald Ramdeen who had confidential High Court documents relating to prisongate in his possession?

The same Varun Debideen who was driving the AG Range Rover?

doh worry, jail nice....

Postby 88sins » February 10th, 2015, 7:39 pm

you actually takin on UML

Leave the him to his delusions

Postby De Dragon » February 10th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Don't let your blind hatred of the UNC/PP blind you to Rowley's obvious shortcomings. The man simply cannot control his outbursts and utterances.

Postby De Dragon » February 10th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Don't let your blind hatred of the UNC/PP blind you to Rowley's obvious shortcomings.

Postby Habit7 » February 10th, 2015, 10:56 pm

Don't let your blind hatred of the UNC/PP blind you to Rowley's obvious shortcomings. The man simply cannot control his outbursts and utterances.

Making informed criticisms of a party is not "blind hatred." I would vote PP if they were a viable alternative but their inability to chart a national course for the future, inability to deal with endemic corruption, failure to create new revenue streams and other issues for me justifies my view.

You however might never be persuaded about Rowley, but who cares? Every person has shortcomings, but if by "outbursts" you mean the time he put party before country and spoke out against impropriety in his own party, then I guess I can see you don't like him.

Let me also guess, you think the PM was right to fire Gary Griffith too?

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 11th, 2015, 12:26 am

Habit7 wrote:

Making informed criticisms of a party is not "blind hatred." I would vote PP if they were a viable alternative but their inability to chart a national course for the future, inability to deal with endemic corruption, failure to create new revenue streams and other issues for me justifies my view.

You however might never be persuaded about Rowley, but who cares? Every person has shortcomings, but if by "outbursts" you mean the time he put party before country and spoke out against impropriety in his own party, then I guess I can see you don't like him.

Alway entertaining comments to the South of the Caroni bridge inhabitants ! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So sad words like "blind hatred" are used . We are so polarized and therefore "blind" to see there is
a viable alternative . Too caught up in the past with froth on cheeks. Too pessimistic .

"They" prefer no direction in the future , pessimism and even a new highway will still keep them in their burrows. Tuner Effective claims Tuners are Trini Society . I told him "no way" ; the thinking is too blind.

Captain Gary Griffith is a prime example of how one night the "girls" went wild.

More Habit7 !

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2015, 12:40 am

Habit7 wrote:

What I detest is hypocrisy. Rowley sat there while the PNM, himself included, raped the Treasury through Calder Hart, Landate, UTT guest house, ETeck, Guanapo etc. Only when he ran afoul of Manning, and his own space at the trough was threatened, did he suddenly "see" corruption in the PNM. This is why I wait with bated breath to see why West waited until AFTER the Express report, to run to the CoP. He is also being held up as "ethical" and "courageous" but has yet to say why he did not immediately bring the AG's alleged misconduct to the attention of the relevant authorities at the time of the incident He has not sufficiently explained this as yet. Gary Griffith paid the price for going against the PP, plain and simple, and this is wrong, as a different view should be welcomed. The reasoning of the PM is highly suspect on GG.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 11th, 2015, 12:44 am

See "blind hatred" in action !

If Treasury was raped it should of been reported to the DPP.

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2015, 12:51 am

^^^ When your pee start frothing, I will get in a discussion with you.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 11th, 2015, 1:02 am

De Dragon you talking nonsense and maybe uneducated for debate. All you refer to is the propaganda of the yesterday. You living in the past old-man. Do you not see how this can affect your children ?

Your "blind hatred" must stop. Why ? It does no good to my young educated generation. We are optimists.

Are you happy or content with your or the PM ?

The direction this pippy stocking dictator is embarking our young country ?

If you do, then I guess it is your pee frothing.

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2015, 5:45 am

orangefox wrote:De Dragon you talking nonsense and maybe uneducated for debate. All you refer to is the propaganda of the yesterday. You living in the past old-man. Do you not see how this can affect your children ?

Your "blind hatred" must stop. Why ? It does no good to my young educated generation. We are optimists.

Educated? You? You would certainly not glean that from your puerile, attention seeking posts. Are you happy with where we are after 30 years plus of governance, mainly PNM?

Postby 88sins » February 11th, 2015, 7:10 am

De Dragon, blind hatred is definitely a bad thing

But blind loyalty is definitely just as bad, if not worse

All I saying is that ALL of them are politicians & humans, thus they are all inherently corrupt at one level or another.

Postby UML » February 11th, 2015, 7:35 am

UML wrote:
UML wrote:

The ex-AG is represented by senior counsel Avory Sinanan, Gerald Ramdeen and Varun Dabideen, while attorneys Michael Quamina and PNM Senator Faris Al-Rawi are seeking the interest of Rowley.http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jud ... 40921.html

why so late? So this allegation will be hanging over his head during elections or it may be another defeat and disappointment for Rowley and the PNM? After elections and someone else is in govt? What sense is a win FOR the AG if the PNM is in power? No one cares if he wins if PPG not in govt!!!!

Postby Habit7 » February 11th, 2015, 8:46 am

Habit7 wrote:

What I detest is hypocrisy. Rowley sat there while the PNM, himself included, raped the Treasury through Calder Hart, Landate, UTT guest house, ETeck, Guanapo etc. Only when he ran afoul of Manning, and his own space at the trough was threatened, did he suddenly "see" corruption in the PNM. This is why I wait with bated breath to see why West waited until AFTER the Express report, to run to the CoP. He is also being held up as "ethical" and "courageous" but has yet to say why he did not immediately bring the AG's alleged misconduct to the attention of the relevant authorities at the time of the incident He has not sufficiently explained this as yet. Gary Griffith paid the price for going against the PP, plain and simple, and this is wrong, as a different view should be welcomed. The reasoning of the PM is highly suspect on GG.

Rowley spoke out against Calder Hart when the issue arose. Did you want him to speak out when the UNC first hired him? The Integrity Commission cleared Rowley of any wrong doing in Landate. The contractor Emile Elias shared material between the hospital and Landate at no extra cost to the gov't. The UTT guest house was outside his purview, in fact he was fired not to long after the lease began. Eteck was bad investment and Guanapo still has not proof of govt funding.

I respect Gary Griffith and Keith Rowley for their stance against corruption and I condemn their leaders for firing them for their stance. You however, want me to re-elect the leader who did that?

Postby pete » February 11th, 2015, 9:12 am

So Landate was a kickback?

Postby Habit7 » February 11th, 2015, 9:57 am

No, Landate was plan to build a base for some sleeper cell extraterrestrials for their imminent evasion of the earth...

Since we going down the line of unsubstantiated claims on a concluded investigation.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 11th, 2015, 2:16 pm

orangefox wrote:De Dragon you talking nonsense and maybe uneducated for debate. All you refer to is the propaganda of the yesterday. You living in the past old-man. Do you not see how this can affect your children ?

Educated? You? You would certainly not glean that from your puerile, attention seeking posts. Are you happy with where we are after 30 years plus of governance, mainly PNM?

Blind hatred again :shock: . It seeking discussions and debate you hater not posts. This is a political ched.

Yes, PNM took on all the major projects. Old Dragons are very vindictive as seen recently with Stacy,West and Gary.

Blind hatred continues in politics with the likes of old Dragons, even in academia and the successful.
The young educated ( yes I am very travelled and educated ) do not submit to your rants ; the old ways.
The rant and raves are all on a propaganda foundation.

If you have evidence on your rants and insanity. Let us see it.

Otherwise shut up curmudgeon.

Postby zoom rader » February 11th, 2015, 10:01 pm

orangefox wrote:

Blind hatred again :shock: . It seeking discussions and debate you hater not posts. This is a political ched.

Yes, PNM took on all the major projects. Old Dragons are very vindictive as seen recently with Stacy,West and Gary.

Blind hatred continues in politics with the likes of old Dragons, even in academia and the successful.
The young educated ( yes I am very travelled and educated ) do not submit to your rants ; the old ways.
The rant and raves are all on a propaganda foundation.

If you have evidence on your rants and insanity. Let us see it.

Otherwise shut up curmudgeon.

Traveling from Guyana to Trini does not mean well traveled.

University of Guyana is not a real learning centre

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2015, 11:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Rowley spoke out against Calder Hart when the issue arose. Did you want him to speak out when the UNC first hired him? The Integrity Commission cleared Rowley of any wrong doing in Landate. The contractor Emile Elias shared material between the hospital and Landate at no extra cost to the gov't. The UTT guest house was outside his purview, in fact he was fired not to long after the lease began. Eteck was bad investment and Guanapo still has not proof of govt funding.
I respect Gary Griffith and Keith Rowley for their stance against corruption and I condemn their leaders for firing them for their stance. You however, want me to re-elect the leader who did that?

When exactly did the issue"arise"?Calder Hart ran Trinidad with Manning's (and Rowley's) tacit approval for years! Rowley uttered not a word. He was "cleared" by the Integrity Comission because he was not afforded due process in being informed of the charges against him. ETeck was outside his purview, but was it outside of his vision and knowledge as well? Even now when it is widely known, has he ever condemned it? Or any other corrupt act? He knew that Manning's Achilles heel was Calder Hart so that is the only thing he sought to highlight, but that was by no means the only corruption taking place under PNM at the time.

Postby Habit7 » February 12th, 2015, 12:21 am

At what point in time did Calder Hart became an issue? During his time under the UNC, his 1st 2nd 5th 6th year under PNM? Rowley privately took issue with Hart until it came to head and became public, I see no tacit approval. Unless you have new information on Landate, it is no more than a rumor. To attribute blame to Rowley for a bad investment by the Eteck board, is like saying Vasant Bharath is guilty for LifeSport.

To use your own standard, did you support KPB for PM? Did she speak out on the confirmed corruption with the airport? Did she organise a march at the prison in support of accused and later convicted Panday? Did she ascend a man with many allegations over his head to MoNS but fired Griffith for not being willing to compromise to speak the truth if called upon by a judge?

Keith Rowley isn't perfect, but he has demonstrated he is man of principle. I can't say the same for Kamla?

Postby De Dragon » February 12th, 2015, 2:39 am

Principles are not like cake, to be pulled out only on occasion but like bread for everyday use. Privately took issue? That doesn't mean a thing. If you have an issue you bring it up, and yes both sides are equally guilty of this. They sit there while all sorts of corruption takes place, but Rowley, Jack, Volney etc only find their voice when out of favour with the party.