Diversification! Oil prices falling!

COROLLA KID

Re: oil prices falling

Postby COROLLA KID » January 26th, 2015, 9:11 pm

All I know is when the price of fuel drops, it's time to celebrate!

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=82 ... =2&theater

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 27th, 2015, 1:25 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:http://www.forbes.com/sites/realspin/2014/11/24/why-are-oil-prices-dropping/2/

Habib Al Mulla said it right on Forbes.

Falling Oil Prices are deliberate to stop ISIS because their vast income comes from Oil. But like he also say, its win win for ISIS because this will cut welfare support for Middle East countries and encourage more people to join ISIS.

This will not last, Russia is moving serious military hardware into the Arctic, Russia knows Oil demand isn't going anywhere so hence the huge military budget to secure the Arctic for where over 15% of the world's oil reserves are located. All this talk about how the world is moving to renewable energy is hog wash, oil is here to stay for another 100 years and Putin knows this.

Who knows how much oil Russia really has? The Russian Arctic stretches from Norwegian Border all the way to Alaska, its practically endless and untouched. The size of Russia is insane.

this is just an opinion article like any one of ours here can post. as u can see earlier i provided the reference to isis regarding oil prices and political landscape. i didnt go too detailed into my analysis but the same assertion was there. showing that lower oil prices will lower their income and thus their ability to recruit and fund their expedition. it could be viewed this way but i think usa wants lower priced anyway.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 27th, 2015, 1:44 am

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:not dead as in dead.. but the future outlook is that there is no reason for demand to grow. sure we have a long time of using oil for energy still but technology can change that. solar and other forms of energy may be expensive now, but in 10 yrs we may have 10x efficiency at 1/10th the price. and in that time oil could slide back to $10 a barrel. this country should have a plan to be sustainable in the event oil prices keep declining within that time. stop prolonging the inevitable. in other countries, government right now is providing incentives for ppl to install solar power by paying a significant percentage of the cost, providing tax breaks and then buying electricity from consumers to supply the power grid. for every kw a new user produces that is demand falling off the market. so naturally we can expect steady decline with small spikes and level trading in between. but overall.. decline unless something significant were to happen.

But demand has in fact been growing, and thats at much higher prices- comments about the lower PACE of growth mix the two.

Alternatives will be pushed in the developed world-and depending on many factors MAY replace some demand

but historically developing countries expand their per capita use of energy exponentially.

They make the choice to the most expedient access to the fastest growth for the most people.

On the dmd side the denser population centers are expanding their energy usage as they develop their economies-India/China use on average 8% of the oil per capita but have 6 times the population
With Africa finding its legs add 1B people to that list and you have half the world population still being introduced to OIL.

On the supply side most of the growth in production has come from the US-which has the highest cost of a marginal barrel, and higher depletion rates on their production. .

these are good points.. but what if africa and other developing nations enstate solar power grids.. like they are doing. i postulate the reason for the rise in price of oil was due to falling production rate and a market of oil investors. but now investors are leaving oil so the price falls even while production falls constantly. the reality of supply and demand for a 'mined' commodity arent the same for a static supply of shares regarding the psychology of traders and investors. also germany and other countries are enstating full power grids of solar panels with the aim of powering the entire country. any way you look at it, oil is losing investors and not in a 'plan to come back' kind of way. observe the market over time and im sure ull see my assertions continually coming to existence as they have been since i joined this thread. the price will just keep slipping slowly with small spikes to create the atmosphere of an active trading market while large investors main goal is to bail at a profit all that they dont need.

oil and gas getting cheap is NOT a good thing for trinidad. as i said.. u might be smiling driving out of np. but crying to pay rent, bills and get food and water if our dollar loses value or inflation re-enters double digits. with current salaries, price of goods and services and the relation to purchasing power of our dollar, things will be real sad if we come and lose value on our currency or increased inflation untop that

being scared is a good course of action. fear is a defense mechanism. if you have a reason to be afraid..then you have a reason to prepare a solution for the event of your fear materializing. u take a reactionary 'wait and see' approach to this and sheit hits the fan and u have no plan in action to mitigate the effects and trinidad will quickly turn into hell.
Last edited by bluesclues on January 27th, 2015, 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 27th, 2015, 8:24 am

allyuh dont hate me cuz im always right. i cant help it if my holistic study of how various compartments of the world's systems interact and affect eachother over the years has led me to be able to read the butterfly effect of individual actions with very rigid accuracy.

have a read and ull see what the plan for oil is.. this was just released and shows the goal of pushing the whole caribbean to renewable and sustainable forms of energy to lower carbon emissions.

www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/201 ... -statement

Caribbean Energy Security Summit Joint Statement

The Governments of Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Colombia, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States, together with the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat, Caribbean Development Bank, European Union, Inter-American Development Bank Group, International Renewable Energy Agency, Organization of American States, and the World Bank Group:

1. Recognizing that energy security, access to energy, economic development, environmental and climate goals benefit from and contribute to sustainable, modern, clean and diversified energy sectors;

2. Reaffirming our commitment to support access to sustainable, reliable, and affordable energy services, with a particular focus on cleaner alternative energy resources , for all citizens in the region;.....

i am never the bearer of bad news tho. its only bad news if you sit and wait to see what happens without doing anything. but if you put a good plan in place it wont be bad news, but good news. so i bring limbo news and u decide if it turns out to be bad or good by your choices to believe and act or not believe and shrug off. the rest of the caribbean will love this idea, but for trinidad it shows a plan to reduce the value of our most valued export commodities. presha!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2015, 7:16 pm

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 28th, 2015, 5:04 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2015 ... ustainable

" T&T Energy Conference at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port-of-Spain ... "

" Ramnarine, who was out of the country along with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar ... "

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 30th, 2015, 7:31 am

http://www.bbc.com/news/business-31057333

it appears that lower fuel costs, are driving i suppose, lower shipping costs etc and lowering prices across europe. but will the same be able to be said for trinidad when lower revenues are also a result? as Dr. Farrell pointed out the government injection of USD into the economy lowers the exchange rate but he doesnt like that basically because even though it means we get cheaper usd.. it means we increase our imports which is not what we need to be doing. so basically there is literally an incentive to keep exchange rates high to reduce import expenditure so we can collect revenues. i only partially agree with this perspective but some contingencies have to be ironed out. naturally i dont like the idea of raising the exchange rate as i would have the objective of empowering our dollar against the usd. but for that to be sustainable we need to be generating more revenues.

right now trinidad is in the position of almost what we would call a mexican standoff. cordoned off from 2 angle,s we risk trinidad facing negative gdp growth this year and years following until the island has been reduced back to the level of caribs and arawaks living in tepee huts if something is not done about collecting more revenues from foreign investors.

creating a fund begging for money is one way. but will not take us the whole way nor last long either. foreign investors can come in many forms and they dont have to be corporate contractor based investments. making unprofitable government business profitable is essential but does the government have the faculty to get this done? or will we still see the sale of assets to recover cost? removal of the subsidy and new tax schemes. yeah 45% tax if you working for $200,000 or more per year.. property tax etc could all come out of the woodwork over the next year or 2. but it would still be futile if we dont have an efficient wealth redistribution system and Trinidad will just deteriorate and deteriorate constantly until both the issue of alternative forms of revenue and efficient management of resources for wealth distribution in a balanced economy is achieved.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 30th, 2015, 9:10 am

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » January 30th, 2015, 9:27 am

We need to stop the chopping and changing of bus manufacturers, stick to one or two manufacturers, be a strategic partner from a replacement and maintenance perspective. certified technicians with a ratio of manpower:fleet to ensure uptime.

This is not rocket science.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 30th, 2015, 9:37 am

bluesclues wrote:

We are the "rich people" in Caribbean with Oil and Gas .
So how come Kamla not on the podium with Biden ?

The message is clear .

Postby j.o.e » January 30th, 2015, 10:01 am

Biden is a PNM

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 30th, 2015, 10:16 am

j.o.e wrote:Biden is a PNM

Or Biden vex that Kamla not purchase the used OPV he offered to her.

So he blank her American style.

Postby pioneer » January 30th, 2015, 12:16 pm

All these big summits and big sawatee stats/talk yet not a single one will mention the impact of the narco economy in the caribbean.

Prices will continue to go up on everything and people go say ah well wha we go do bai?

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 30th, 2015, 12:21 pm

pioneer wrote:All these big summits and big sawatee stats/talk yet not a single one will mention the impact of the narco economy in the caribbean.

Prices will continue to go up on everything and people go say ah well wha we go do bai?

That is the plan.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 30th, 2015, 1:06 pm

j.o.e wrote:Biden is a PNM

He is a liberal so yes he is a PNM.

Postby sMASH » February 2nd, 2015, 5:10 am

attention. And when it is in the public they would have to do sumting bout it.

Postby The_Honourable » February 3rd, 2015, 8:31 pm

Oil Is on a Gigantic Tear
Bloomberg

One of the big stories in the market right now: Oil is on a tear.

After plunging for months, the price of oil has boomed over 20 percent in just the last three trading days. Last Friday it was just over $44 per barrel. Today it's selling at nearly $54 per barrel.

There are various theories for why oil is moving so hard: Short covering is one possibility, meaning bearish traders have been caught in a squeeze by the turnaround. There's also hope that supply will rapidly come offline, bringing the market into balance. Last Friday saw a big drop in the number of active U.S. oil rigs.

Regardless of what's driving it, this is a major turnaround.

Source: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/ ... antic-tear

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 3rd, 2015, 8:56 pm

already 500usd in profit from trading last 2 days

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 4th, 2015, 1:52 pm

jm3 wrote:already 500usd in profit from trading last 2 days

Small money. Try Forex.

Postby zoom rader » February 4th, 2015, 1:57 pm

Name of chead should change to oil prices raising

Postby nervewrecker » February 4th, 2015, 1:58 pm

zoom rader wrote:Name of chead should change to oil prices raising

is pnm fault too?

Postby toyolink » February 4th, 2015, 2:07 pm

Acceptable price point which balances impacting market conditions on demand and supply looks like US$65.
What is of major concern remains natl gas numbers.
When the latter offers a better target then and only then can comprehensive assessment be untaken.
Things just still too volatile.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 4th, 2015, 3:17 pm

its been falling like a stone today took a little hit but now switched to selling.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 4th, 2015, 4:18 pm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 4th, 2015, 5:33 pm

jm3 wrote:Image

u mean u didnt profit take? small spikes are expected. they wont last.

Postby Redman » February 4th, 2015, 7:43 pm

Own NBR at sub 11 prices so I'm cool

If it comes back to 10 I will buy more.

Postby UML » February 18th, 2015, 11:01 am

Crude Oil (WTI) USD/bbl. 52.36

oil price seeing some improvement

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 10th, 2015, 9:41 pm

In light of the US running out of storage space for their oil and they having to put the excess on the market how badly do you think the oil price will drop?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 16th, 2015, 6:42 pm

oil still falling $43.88 WTI

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 17th, 2015, 8:39 pm

Yeah I know...but back to my original question...

How low do you think it will go?
When will we see the bottom?
What will it look like?