look eh,

2 weeks again!!...i sure u could amp up ur workout on the holidays

btw, u ever used the pre-workout?

Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 26th, 2012, 8:31 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:What do you guys use to track body fat and lean mass? I just got myself a Withings smart scale and it told me I have 206.4 lbs lean mass, 34.2 lbs of fat @ 6ft 1in. Is that bad? Average?

i don't trust those online averages AT ALL. it more caters for the small frame white boy average. judge by the mirror how yr clothes fit, not even the scale so much.

seen.

By the way the withings measures body fat along with total weight. I am not sure how accurate it is but it also gives you lean mass as well so I intend to try to lose the fat while keeping or increasing the lean mass in general. I got the scale to prevent tricking myself into thinking I'm losing weight when it is I am actually losing muscle and not fat.

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 27th, 2012, 12:22 am

X_Factor wrote:^ lol
look eh,

2 weeks again!!...i sure u could amp up ur workout on the holidays

btw, u ever used the pre-workout?

holidays is P90X....hopefully.....I never tried the pre-workout yet because I usually crack some coffee when I awake, sheit and then start my routine....I just don't know how the pre-workout would mesh with the coffee...don't wanna over amp up meh ole self.....but once holiday start I'll be taking them.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2012, 1:02 pm

Did a weigh in this morning after about 4 weeks on a changed diet. Lost 5 lbs. I consider that good as I haven't hit any physical training at all due to time constraints.

Hopefully once exams finish in a few weeks time I can start gym and boost weight loss to 8-10lbs for the month.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 16th, 2012, 6:02 pm

hey guys, where can I get turkey breasts fillets to buy? Tried Hilo Arima, Xtra Foods so far

Postby sharkman121 » July 16th, 2012, 6:05 pm

^ u can try Superstore, Omeara industrial estate. I know they have chicken, not sure about the Turkey breasts.

On another note i looking to buy a case of chicken breasts from the same place and i need someone to share it with. Case is about $400 and its 40+ lbs. I knew some of u guys expressed interest in this before so let me know who wanna split a case.

Postby De Dragon » July 16th, 2012, 6:05 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:hey guys, where can I get turkey breasts fillets to buy? Tried Hilo Arima, Xtra Foods so far

You may have to do with wings/legs

Postby Redman » July 16th, 2012, 6:27 pm

AllTrac wrote:please update us in a month on how this routine works for you wrt to weight loss, tone and energy

Well I had some challenges in terms of the flu in the middle of the second week -so the intensity just wasnt there for week 3 - didnt miss any work outs but was dragging from the start-so I just lightened the weight and did what I could

Im weighing in at 255-7 lbs so Im happy there being down from 275 at the start.
The reduction in the volume and better quality of food has worked

Im continuing for the next 2 months -the workout is a TOUGH circuit and Im getting stronger-especially on the squat and deadlift days-
The bench press day is my challenge
I enjoy the variety and the challenge of the circuit and the heavy lifts keep it challenging

A ton more energy and my wife for the first time in 10 + years has commented on the love

handles :oops:

Ah well,Rome wasnt built in a day I hear.

Later

Postby M_2NR » July 16th, 2012, 7:55 pm

Since the past two months I've been eating "better" food. I'm trying to stay away from anything overly processed. If I am, I'm eating it in small amounts. I basically cut down the carbs, so half the amount of rice I'd eat etc. and amped up the fiber, so more greens with every meal or beans and for breakfast, raisin bran flakes. I have not even exercised as yet and already i noticed my stomach is reduced. Problem is, I have to drink a lot of water etc. So in the afternoon what seemed like a flat stomach when i wake up, it's now bulged.

I must say eating healthier food is hard at first but eating properly surely is the way. I suffer enough from not eating right :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 21st, 2012, 8:03 am

Hey trac.

can you pm me the links you used to research glycemic index, balancing *protein, complex carbs and fast carbs, gd fats vs bad* portion sizing, and any other gd links. trying to push myself now. thanks

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 8:23 am

Started taking apple cider vinegar daily after hearing about all it's benefits. Been taking it diluted for the past week and wow. Appetite cut in half. No gas anymore and overall I have more energy. I'm using the Bragg unfiltered organic one.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » July 25th, 2012, 12:43 pm

S_2NR wrote:Started taking apple cider vinegar daily after hearing about all it's benefits. Been taking it diluted for the past week and wow. Appetite cut in half. No gas anymore and overall I have more energy. I'm using the Bragg unfiltered organic one.

that's good stuff...

Postby AllTrac » August 14th, 2012, 10:48 am

S_2NR wrote:Started taking apple cider vinegar daily after hearing about all it's benefits. Been taking it diluted for the past week and wow. Appetite cut in half. No gas anymore and overall I have more energy. I'm using the Bragg unfiltered organic one.

I used to use this alot long ago, really helps with inflammation

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » August 14th, 2012, 11:43 pm

Can you go into a little more detail on this? Dosage, times etc?
How long did it take for you to see tangible results?

Been reading about the benefits of apple cider vinegar for a while but didn't know anyone who actually tried it.

Postby AllTrac » August 15th, 2012, 6:47 am

apple cider is not a quick cure/results, you need to be taking it over a period of time to see any changes

Postby crazybalhead » August 15th, 2012, 9:05 am

I just eat a three egg omelette, two slice a toast and a coffee. Healthy like dat! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 15th, 2012, 11:01 am

Corollaman wrote:

Can you go into a little more detail on this? Dosage, times etc?
How long did it take for you to see tangible results?

Been reading about the benefits of apple cider vinegar for a while but didn't know anyone who actually tried it.

Two teaspoons diluted in an 8oz glass of water twice a day.
From the moment i started appetite reduced. I was fuller for longer. Also improved digestion after two weeks. And no acid reflux. Appetite is reduced since it regulates your blood sugar levels. Was taking it for a few weeks then stopped. The acidity from it was affecting my teeth - increased tooth sensitivity.

I'll just use it when I get acid reflux now.

Loads of benefits to be had from taking this daily tho. Google it.
If ur teeth can handle it, why not. Ull surely lose weight with the appetite suppression alone.

Postby dougla_boy » August 15th, 2012, 1:38 pm

havent posted in this ched for a while

took a lil walk/jog yesterday for the 1st time in a while. due to circumstances, i have made changes to a healthier lifestyle.

(1) no alcohol, of i do, vodka and carib pilsner
(2) no eating late or right before going to bed
(3) i try to drink more tea especially chamomile and peppermint
(4) fcuk soft drinks or anything with gas or like that, water for me
(5)i have cut down my portions for my meals also
(6) i have stayed away fro, certain foods like kfc, japs, pizza hut, doubles etc etc etc. if i do eat from them it will be like once every 2 - 3 months or so. IF so much

i am going to start gym soon, wanna get myself to a cool 185 lbs.....

currently i weight about 225 or so, not weighing myself because i know the results would get me depressed...lol.....i already have a program to use when starting gym

anything yall wanna add feel free to do so!

comments are appreciated!!

Postby S_2NR » August 15th, 2012, 1:49 pm

^^do rellll cardio and keep up ur dieting. and ull see results.
important thing is not just losing the weight but keeping it off. alot of people forget that last part.

Postby dougla_boy » August 15th, 2012, 1:59 pm

S_2NR wrote:^^do rellll cardio and keep up ur dieting. and ull see results.
important thing is not just losing the weight but keeping it off. alot of people forget that last part.

correct....i plan to keep it off...gf has plans for meh... :oops: :oops:

but yeah, i was looking at HIIT, High Intensity Interval Training. that is some serious weight losing power there for my off days.

trac would know about this, because i saw him post about it in a ched already...

Postby M_2NR » August 15th, 2012, 5:12 pm

Cut down the excessive carbs. Unless u really need them. I had to replace it with greens in my diet. Also cut down if not remove all processed things. Try to keep things simple. Up to now I'm still not exercising (plan to start after ramadan) and I'm still slowly losing weight.
I like what u eating now Dougla, all the soft drinks, snacks etc I cut out as well. Keep it up! It will come a time where your body will realize it needs certain foods and stuff you'd hate to eat will become so tasty! (I'm talking food here eh)
The only snack I'm eating is chocolate. Like a block or 3 a night.

Postby dougla_boy » August 15th, 2012, 7:57 pm

M_2NR wrote:Cut down the excessive carbs. Unless u really need them. I had to replace it with greens in my diet. Also cut down if not remove all processed things. Try to keep things simple. Up to now I'm still not exercising (plan to start after ramadan) and I'm still slowly losing weight.
I like what u eating now Dougla, all the soft drinks, snacks etc I cut out as well. Keep it up! It will come a time where your body will realize it needs certain foods and stuff you'd hate to eat will become so tasty! (I'm talking food here eh)
The only snack I'm eating is chocolate. Like a block or 3 a night.

agreed on the chocolate tho....cant keep away from it, especially dark chocolate. to be honest, i dont hate healthy foods tho, i love veges, fruits, and "jamaican steroids". lol.....but in terms of snacks, will be sticking to 1 scoop of ice cream once a week IF so much tho......cant help it, where i buy my ice cream, it tastes boss.....best homemade i have ever eaten........i am probably biased cuz i know the person who makes it...LOL.....

anyways, in terms of my diet, i will try my best to keep away from the carbs, or at lessen the amount. i did some exercise to day, made a walk/jog around la horquetta, but i started late, so i only made about 1 lap. when i came back i did some push ups (20, do laugh nah) and some biceps and triceps work with a resistance band. i really wanna lose about a 3-5 lbs by the end of the month.......

and continue the weight loss till december. i need to take the water intake a notch, just that the water in my area isnt the best tasting, so it does be a real pain to drink it sometimes.

but other than that, things looking good. pants fit slacker, jerseys dont fold up on meh, and my skin feels a little tighter!

hoping to mop a drop wit d forum rasta to the football match in uwi one of these days soon!!!

Postby M_2NR » August 15th, 2012, 8:12 pm

dougla_boy wrote:agreed on the chocolate tho....cant keep away from it, especially dark chocolate. to be honest, i dont hate healthy foods tho, i love veges, fruits, and "jamaican steroids". lol.....but in terms of snacks, will be sticking to 1 scoop of ice cream once a week IF so much tho......cant help it, where i buy my ice cream, it tastes boss.....best homemade i have ever eaten........i am probably biased cuz i know the person who makes it...LOL.....

anyways, in terms of my diet, i will try my best to keep away from the carbs, or at lessen the amount. i did some exercise to day, made a walk/jog around la horquetta, but i started late, so i only made about 1 lap. when i came back i did some push ups (20, do laugh nah) and some biceps and triceps work with a resistance band. i really wanna lose about a 3-5 lbs by the end of the month.......

and continue the weight loss till december. i need to take the water intake a notch, just that the water in my area isnt the best tasting, so it does be a real pain to drink it sometimes.

but other than that, things looking good. pants fit slacker, jerseys dont fold up on meh, and my skin feels a little tighter!

hoping to mop a drop wit d forum rasta to the football match in uwi one of these days soon!!!

boy i watch ice cream every time i go in the grocery.. HARD. :lol: If i only buy that, that is it. I could control my chocolate though but sometimes yuh just have to eat a extra block.

You hadda see what works with u though wrt food/water. I didn't do enough research on how exercise will affect my eating but AFAIK you do still need some carbs. may be the others, (trac?) could correct me but i think eating provisions (not much though) to replace rice/roti etc. is better. As you mention that, I afraid to see how much I can do now wrt push ups. I had cut off any exercising for a few months so you might laugh if i say i could probably only do 15! But yuh hadda start somewhere.

We use a Brita filter. I dunno what is ulyuh views on that is but it helps out in terms of taste I think at least for us so you could probably try one?

Good luck man! And yea boy, I went a notch or two down in my belt, is time i really start to do some exercise yes. :lol:

Postby A172 » August 15th, 2012, 8:26 pm

lawl so much broscience

pm me if you guise srs about losing weight

Postby sharkman121 » August 15th, 2012, 8:29 pm

A172 wrote:lawl so much broscience

true..

Postby AllTrac » August 15th, 2012, 8:35 pm

hey guys, i eat carbs, just that its more complex carbs, the other stuff i cut out like breads, processed foods, pasta etc was just to take a more healthy approach to hopefully steer clear from some illnesses that plagued my family like diabetes, heart diseases etc. So far ive gotten a green light by my doc so its working and my sugar levels is great i now have increased sensitivity to insulin.

Listen lets not complicate things. If You need to lose weight, maintain a calorie deficit. Thats it. If you maintenance is 2000cals, eat 1400-1500 cals a day and u WILL see an improvement every week or 2.
Basically if weight loss is your main goal and u want to eat snickers bar all day and your maintenance is 2000cals, eat 1400cals worth of snickers bars daily and you WILL lose weight, but good luck with your diabetes and a body like richard simmons.

If you are looking to lose weight with body composition and overrall health (cholesterol etc) in mind, swap out some of your simple carbs with complex carbs, high quality proteins, TRACK WHAT YOU DO AND HOW MUCH YOU LIFT also please include RESISTANCE TRAINING.

My last weight since June was about 178lbs. July i started a new routine, hoping to post some pics before and after about a month or 2 down the line, cant really recommend it until ive tried it on myself a solid 2-3 months.

Postby AllTrac » August 15th, 2012, 8:46 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

dan, what are you doing? u just doing stuff willie nillie just so? create a routine, map your starting points, choose your days you gonna do it, set your expected goals (reps, weights etc) plan when you want to increase those parameters, stick to it and go with it. Thats the only way you gonna see improvement in yourself. If you dont do that then you would get demotivated, you wont have a schedule so you would keep putting off doing it as you were never prepared for it and before you know it, you off the train.

Postby dougla_boy » August 16th, 2012, 7:35 am

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

dan, what are you doing? u just doing stuff willie nillie just so? create a routine, map your starting points, choose your days you gonna do it, set your expected goals (reps, weights etc) plan when you want to increase those parameters, stick to it and go with it. Thats the only way you gonna see improvement in yourself. If you dont do that then you would get demotivated, you wont have a schedule so you would keep putting off doing it as you were never prepared for it and before you know it, you off the train.

lol i know eh, i actually have a schedule.........but just that yesterday i had some sheit to do and i didnt get time to go do it, so i did that pack of ass...lol....

Postby AllTrac » August 16th, 2012, 12:57 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

lol i know eh, i actually have a schedule.........but just that yesterday i had some sheit to do and i didnt get time to go do it, so i did that pack of ass...lol....

lol ok, just so you know, Cardio to lose weight is bullshiet, even worst is intense cardio.
Ive stopped doing cardio a couple months now.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 16th, 2012, 1:10 pm

Three-four months without soft drink or any carbonated beverage and loving it.

Also cut down on fast food and doubles. Never felt better.