National Strike updates/ watch/ News

d spike

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby d spike » September 13th, 2012, 10:48 pm

Of all a teacher's tasks, assessment is one of the toughest. It is too easy to bias one's assessment in favour of what (due to your teaching style) the student has been exposed to most. If you are doing a proper job of schooling, then you have nothing to fear from CAP... however, most parents who considered home-schooling did so based on the fact that their own schooling covered the same material that their kids are expected to know. This new stuff can derail the wanna-be home-schoolers: throw a ball in a specific manner, dance a specific folk-dance, etc.

Postby X_Factor » September 13th, 2012, 10:59 pm

heard that the creative writing component is gonna start on a different date than the math/grammar
also heard that the entire writing process is being marked therefor a folder will have to be kept on each child to put the writing pieces....since this is somewhat continuous assessment and must be done in class, home schooling will be difficult to do

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 14th, 2012, 12:05 am

seemed as though the majority of kids stayed home today....

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 14th, 2012, 3:13 pm

any strike next week?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 15th, 2012, 3:18 am

Cross Blood wrote:any strike next week?

didnt hear about anything yet....

Postby Dizzy28 » November 15th, 2012, 9:10 am

Saw on Facebook Teachers planning strike tommorow and next week.

Full Excerpt:

Dear Comrades/Colleagues,

I hereby inform you that at the General Council Meeting dated 14th November 2012, the following action was decided upon:

1. FRIDAY 16TH NOVEMBER 2012- A day of Rest and Reflection. Staff reps and other interested persons are also
invited to a picket at the CPO's office.

2. THURSDAY 22ND NOVEMBER 2012- A day of Rest and Reflection.

3. FRIDAY 23RD NOVEMBER 2012- A day of Rest and Reflection. Staff reps and other interested persons are also

4. THURSDAY 29TH NOVEMBER 2012- MASS DEMONSTRATION -Port of Spain.

This action has become necessary in lieu of the total disrespect meted out by the CPO to teachers of our nation in offering a 4.7 % salary increase.

This is totally unacceptable and we call on you to show your disgust.....

Bring this to the attention of all concerned......
Last edited by Dizzy28 on November 15th, 2012, 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » November 15th, 2012, 9:36 am

Daiz how they organizing strike now?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » November 15th, 2012, 9:53 am

bout time they catch up with technology! i sure the stay home stats gonna be much better now :]
what to do with the chirren now :/

apple109

Postby apple109 » November 15th, 2012, 10:44 am

Confirmed! no teachers in school tomorrow.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 15th, 2012, 3:46 pm

people ....especially UML.......organise yur babysitter one time bro.......

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 15th, 2012, 4:26 pm

heard the CPO offering between 4 and 6%

shemadorwha :lol:

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » November 15th, 2012, 4:30 pm

1 out of 8 classes the day before a public holiday and the same week they need a day of rest and reflection!!! Frig man - cant you see these teachers don't give a rats arse about our children's education! It's not a profession anymore, it's just a job!

Postby rfari » November 15th, 2012, 4:39 pm

I could sleep a bit late tmmrw. Less traffic. FY!

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 15th, 2012, 4:48 pm

Yorkshirelass wrote:1 out of 8 classes the day before a public holiday and the same week they need a day of rest and reflection!!! Frig man - cant you see these teachers don't give a rats arse about our children's education! It's not a profession anymore, it's just a job!

when u have to deal with the kind of animals teachers have to..u'll understand better.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2012, 6:09 pm

dem blasted teachers eh have no shame??? steups....only want increase increase and doh care about the children....man if only Rowley was in charge everything would definitely have been sorted out for them and so our kids would not have to suffer!!!!!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 15th, 2012, 6:23 pm

me eh know y them lazy teachers who only lookin for ah day off doh find ah next wuk!!!

Postby X_Factor » November 15th, 2012, 6:33 pm

^ent...

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 15th, 2012, 6:42 pm

so basically, during these times, these people still getting an increase (be it ever so humble) and it's still not good enough right? I think some of them need to just toss in the towel down here and move to any one of the dozens upon dozens of countries which are absolutely flourishing today :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2012, 6:48 pm

ah hear the increase is between $370 and $474 before tax...depending on their position on salary scale....dat not enough for them?

Postby X_Factor » November 15th, 2012, 6:59 pm

so much?...and they complaining

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 15th, 2012, 7:35 pm

True that some teachers don't care about the children,

KURMAman wrote:when u have to deal with the kind of animals teachers have to..u'll understand better.

^^^ but I think this is more accurate x99999

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 15th, 2012, 11:57 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TTU ... 92701.html

TTUTA to rest and reflect today
By Camille Bethel camille.bethel@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Nov 15, 2012 at 10:02 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 15, 2012 at 10:09 PM ECT
The Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) is advising parents to make alternative arrangements for the care of their children today as teachers rest and reflect, in defiance of the most recent wage offer made by the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO).
In an interview yesterday, TTUTA's general secretary Peter Wilson said the union's general council met in an emergency session that ended at 10 p.m. on Wednesday over a four to six per cent wage increase being offered to teachers.
"At the end of that meeting it was decided that offer had to be rejected. It was an insult to teachers and so teachers would show that disgust and utter rejection by resting and reflecting...and therefore it would be advisable for parents to make arrangements for the safety and care of their children tomorrow (today) and possibly next week.
"According to what comes out of that meeting with the CPO today, we may well have some further action next week. Things may not be normal for some time," he said.
Wilson said TTUTA has been meeting with the CPO for negotiations and in the last three sessions they finally completed the labour market survey, after two years and nine months of asking the CPO to do so.
He said it was agreed that from the survey they would try to get the new salaries for the teachers.
"But the salaries being proposed to teachers are really an insult. And in fact that is what we were saying before. The CPO was trying to manipulate the process to generate these small increases so we have rejected that outright...after taking two years and nine months to come with a proposal which amounts to four to six per cent is a total disrespect."
Wilson said others have been able to achieve increases which are more than what they are being offered, but the CPO still seems to be caught in that ten per cent salary check mode.
"There will also be a picket of the CPO's office at 10 a.m. tomorrow by the members of the general council and also other interested teachers," he added.
Responding to TTUTA's call for teachers to rest and reflect today, Minister of Education Dr Tim Gopeesingh said it was their right to engage in action, but "we will be monitoring the schools and see how many teachers come out and we are going to try and rationalise the teacher-to-student ratio to make sure there is normalcy within the school composition".
Speaking at yesterday's post-Cabinet news briefing, Gopeesingh added that he hopes that a settlement will come very shortly, but that it is a matter for the CPO and TTUTA.
"I believe the first part is completed and we are looking forward to a speedy resolution

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 16th, 2012, 7:36 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Saw on Facebook Teachers planning strike tommorow and next week.

Full Excerpt:

Dear Comrades/Colleagues,

I hereby inform you that at the General Council Meeting dated 14th November 2012, the following action was decided upon:

1. FRIDAY 16TH NOVEMBER 2012- A day of Rest and Reflection. Staff reps and other interested persons are also

2. THURSDAY 22ND NOVEMBER 2012- A day of Rest and Reflection.

3. FRIDAY 23RD NOVEMBER 2012- A day of Rest and Reflection. Staff reps and other interested persons are also

4. THURSDAY 29TH NOVEMBER 2012- MASS DEMONSTRATION -Port of Spain.

This action has become necessary in lieu of the total disrespect meted out by the CPO to teachers of our nation in offering a 4.7 % salary increase.

This is totally unacceptable and we call on you to show your disgust.....

Bring this to the attention of all concerned......

Oh how CONVENIENT that these days of reflection be chosed to give themselves LONG weekends and Longer Xmas vacation.......... its NOT at all about protesting, its all about selfishness and ignorance, they should be FIRED!

Postby Hook » November 16th, 2012, 10:24 am

:lol: What if you went to a job interview and right there and then they tell you "Well your salary's supposed to be $**,*** monthly with an annual raise because the price of everything increases all the time, right. But since three people in your department don't really work, nobody deserves a raise, even if the other 97 of you think you do. No, we don't care how hard YOU work, we only use broad brushes here. Go protest or something. "...makes sense right?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 16th, 2012, 12:07 pm

Hook wrote::lol: What if you went to a job interview and right there and then they tell you "Well your salary's supposed to be $**,*** monthly with an annual raise because the price of everything increases all the time, right. But since three people in your department don't really work, nobody deserves a raise, even if the other 97 of you think you do. No, we don't care how hard YOU work, we only use broad brushes here. Go protest or something. "...makes sense right?

Are you suggesting the ministry do appraisals and based on results demote teachers or give them a pay increase? :lol:

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Amazing how how every tom, dick and harrypersad trade unions are striking under the PP. When under PNM they were all like mouse.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » November 16th, 2012, 12:16 pm

zoom rader wrote:Amazing how how every tom, dick and harrypersad trade unions are striking under the PP. When under PNM they were all like mouse.

x10..

and during all de oil/natural gas boom as well eh...

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 12:23 pm

KURMAman wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Amazing how how every tom, dick and harrypersad trade unions are striking under the PP. When under PNM they were all like mouse.

x10..

You see we have to look at all these so-called goverment trade unions, most of them are run by PNM and would do anything to strike or make any goverment but PNM look bad.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 16th, 2012, 12:42 pm

KURMAman wrote:

x10..

You see we have to look at all these so-called goverment trade unions, most of them are run by PNM and would do anything to strike or make any goverment but PNM look bad.

Crock of mess, several union President Generals actually encouraged staff to vote in favour of the PP especially as the PNM were making moves to reform local government.

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Conrad wrote:
KURMAman wrote:

x10..

Crock of mess, several union President Generals actually encouraged staff to vote in favour of the PP especially as the PNM were making moves to reform local government.

Well tell me why they did not strike/protess under PNM?
where does that leave Aniset and the other half of the PNMs PSC . Dont forget teachers union are pro PNM.