:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Sanctifier

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Sanctifier » November 11th, 2012, 10:13 am

Galleyoda wrote:great info....will check out ebay....i will be using the compressor to try my luck with media blasting :)

Sanctifier wrote:media blasting... CAUTION: DO NOT MEDIA BLAST WITHOUT APPROPRIATE SAFETY GEAR!!!
CANCER and Silicosis are NO JOKE!!!

I postponed ALL three car projects for a couple YEARS, until I could afford a SAR (Supply Air Respirator) and supporting accessories. (Google: BreathCool.)

At the very least buy a 2-cartridge 3M Respirator or similar... (Application specific!!!)
IMHO "pressure blasting" is the only way to go. You have to exercise caution (always use a "test piece" first) but it's MUCH faster than "syphon feed" and uses less media (in the long run) for the same results.

IMHO also use (make) a cabinet for smaller items. Blasting makes one hell of a mess!
I posted a link for a DIY cabinet a while ago. Zorce is down at the moment.
Post/PM in a few days to remind me for the link when they are back up.

For BIG stuff (cars?)... you MUST build a temp booth. Here's a quick "bought-out" alternative...
Link--> Toollab Curtain Wall.

Here's another (DIY) alternative... (Click on the pix.)
Image Image Image Image

gt4tified wrote:Good brands = Husky, PorterCable
Better brand = Quincy
I wouldn't put Husky in the same category as SpeedAire/Dayton etc.
Sanctifier wrote:It might be a good idea to check the eBay link from my earlier post.
Looks like a GREAT compressor for a GREAT price.

EDIT: Forget it. It's a three-phase motor.

Another $0.02¢ :)
Last edited by Sanctifier on November 13th, 2012, 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Shio

Postby Shio » November 11th, 2012, 1:27 pm

where allyuh get pegboards to buy ?
Last edited by Shio on December 23rd, 2012, 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » November 12th, 2012, 4:15 pm

so i got the 4ft level today cost a bit more than i expected since the weight on amazon is wrong...they weighed it at 3lbs and i didnt expect customs to charge vat since i was never charged vat for anything under 15USD but i believe the size caused it

paid 101 to clear so in total it probably cost about 170
dunno how much it costs locally to know if i buss on it

this burning my eyes sooo bad eh
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0052M ... PDKIKX0DER

the ultimate in cordless drills/drivers presently!

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 13th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Sears Black Friday deals

http://toolguyd.com/sears-black-friday-2012/

A lot more at the site ^^^

Coupon code SEARS2012 for an extra $5 off $50 online orders.

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 13th, 2012, 12:26 pm

And if you're a Lowe's fan or ACE fan.

Amazon has not posted their deals yet, just their "Countdown to Black Friday" and "Christmas Deals"

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?ie=UTF8&docId=1000842381&tag=toolguyd-20
http://toolguyd.com/lowes-black-friday-2012/
http://toolguyd.com/ace-hardware-black-friday-2012/

Postby X_Factor » November 14th, 2012, 12:49 pm

ft. farfan in san juan having a 40% off woodworking tooling and accessories and 20% of woodworking tools on the 15,16,17th
might be a good time to snag some blades and router bits at a decent price

saw an Industrial AIR compressor i believe its a 2 stage they wanted 6700 and the sales clerk told me u can get a 5 or 10% off that

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 15th, 2012, 2:33 pm

Amazon lightning deal on right now for another 30 mins. Good price $149.99.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0052T ... PDKIKX0DER

Also had this for $289 which just expired about 1/2 hour ago
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001UH ... PDKIKX0DER

Postby X_Factor » November 15th, 2012, 5:00 pm

passed by ft farfan and most common items were already sold out
if u guys want router bits u should check them, they have the freud brand and it selling for about 80$ after discount which is an excellent price

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » November 15th, 2012, 6:25 pm

folks where can i get an ENGINE HOIST at a reasonable price? Pricesmart is sold out :cry:

Postby pioneer » November 15th, 2012, 8:04 pm

check all pricesmark...I saw them in chag saturday gone

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » November 15th, 2012, 9:18 pm

pioneer wrote:check all pricesmark...I saw them in chag saturday gone

i went today...they checked the other branches...all gone...they will get stock in 2 weeks but i need one for use immediately :oops:

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2012, 10:11 am

had this in my cart for sometime and the price isnt too bad(it dropped 4us i think) for those who interested
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000NJ ... PDKIKX0DER

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2012, 8:13 pm

tuner tool lime at the auction on the 24th in fernandes compound?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 18th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Auction? What auction?

Postby X_Factor » November 20th, 2012, 5:13 pm

anyone seen an arc welding plant for less than 3200?

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2012, 10:25 pm

boy I went to an auction like that once,
it was real crowded and everything was in large lots
it looked like a lot of people from outside of port of spain came to buy wholesale and sell outside

Postby X_Factor » November 20th, 2012, 10:39 pm

yeah, i thought the sales will be in large amounts
i might go for the kiks jus for the experience

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 23rd, 2012, 9:51 am

i see in d express today that bhagwansings have a 10% off everything store wide for d next 3 days starting from today ....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 24th, 2012, 10:54 am

buh ay ay like nobody eh see my post oar .... :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 24th, 2012, 11:51 am

pioneer maybe saw it, notice he not here? he all up in it :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 24th, 2012, 12:02 pm

Black Friday eh help nothing.

Everything in my cart went UP. Discounts my a$$.

Maybe Monday will be better.

I went Bhags last week and buy a setta thing. Fcuk man !!!

Yes i am bitter.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 24th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Lolo loll thought it was me alone who noticed things went up.

Postby X_Factor » November 24th, 2012, 2:13 pm

the 3ah 20v dewalt drill/driver combo went from 299 to 250.00 usd
when i saw it i was now leaving the house, by the time i come back it went back up...lol

i was at the ft farfan sale and it had some pretty good deals on freud router bits
a pitty i dont have a router, though i was gonna buy a couple and put down
they had the propane torch for 100.00 after discount and some other small items for about 20-25$ less than retail price in any other hardware

got some decent swiss made jigsaw blades for metal and wood, couple screwdrivers
and the high end stabila 4ft and 2ft levels for 250.00 for both!!

Next week we have the Kelvin Ghany sale starting from the 30,1,2nd
and Home Mart 1 and 2nd

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 24th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Chain saw for your grinder

King Arthur's Tools 45814 Lancelot 4" Chain Carver Wheel for Angle Grinders $31.60

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000224SK/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B0000224SK&linkCode=as2&tag=protoorev-20

Postby DVSTT » November 24th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Dansteel had sale today, bought a new drill, Dewalt. Seems well made

Postby pioneer » November 24th, 2012, 7:04 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Black Friday eh help nothing.

Everything in my cart went UP. Discounts my a$$.

Maybe Monday will be better.

I went Bhags last week and buy a setta thing. Fcuk man !!!

Yes i am bitter.

Not really, I been eyeing this table saw for MONTHS...cheapest I saw was $360 then it held price around $370 for months

Last week I noticed it dropped to $299

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW745-10-I ... +table+saw

It's coming via Raptor

I may order the stand for it...maybe next year

brb building boxes

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 1st, 2012, 8:16 am

Pios, ah putting in a order for 2 headrest box.

Anyone knows who (need to invoice) sells decent quality screwdriver and tool sets (eg. Klein) down here?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 1st, 2012, 8:40 am

Tool store sells Klein screwdrivers, pliers etc and Allen spanners.

Postby X_Factor » December 1st, 2012, 11:38 am

imo if u want good stuff like snap on, klein, greenlee, order online and have someone bring it in for you
cause those are a sh!t load of $$ locally
the run of the mill stanley sets work fine and is alot cheaper and less stress if/when they get loss
ft farfan has sale on the crescent tool kits (15% off) dunno for how long

btw, i felt sorry for all those ppl who bought those refurbs in home mart this morning
i wish them best of luck with the tools, but when someone offers 14days warranty...im walking the next direction

the best local tool sale thus far was Ft farfan last week

Postby X_Factor » December 1st, 2012, 11:38 am

,,,,=
Last edited by X_Factor on December 1st, 2012, 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.