Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Razkal » September 29th, 2009, 12:36 pm

SMc wrote:My disabled fish 'Blackie' died on Sunday after a year-long battle with swim bladder disease.

After futile attemts to keep him afloat (the tying a string around him with the other end tied to a wine cork does not work)

He was a friend, confidant and a true entertainer...he always brought looks of surprise, smiles and exclamations 'that peice of sh1t still alive' whenever I had people over.

He will be missed by all including his tank-mates The Whiteish One/Meanie, Sam and Greedy.

RIP blackie :(

one of my half-moon bettas died from swim bladder disease a week ago...had that dude from an egg...pretty gnarly colours as well...
swim bladder ftl :?

slow323

food

Postby slow323 » September 29th, 2009, 12:42 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Anybody knows where sells this locally?

peakes home store sells it and the pet store upstairs in movie town also sells it thas where i get mine

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2009, 9:24 am

Ok Guys need some help
I built a above ground pond for my father- its 6x3 foot and about 3 feet deep.
I built it against a wall and put flagstones etc to get a water fall thing going.
I have a Tetra barrell fillter that recieves water pumped up to it and then it cascades into the waterfall

However hes terrible at the maintainence and the original pumps etc are a mess.

I would like to replace everything and need some advice as to the type of pumps, the brand,capacity of the pumps and how much filtration needed to keep the water clean

The tanks etc show here are pretty impressive and the info quite helpful
Thanks

Later

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » October 1st, 2009, 9:53 am

Redman wrote:Ok Guys need some help
I built it against a wall and put flagstones etc to get a water fall thing going.
I have a Tetra barrell fillter that recieves water pumped up to it and then it cascades into the waterfall

I would like to replace everything and need some advice as to the type of pumps, the brand,capacity of the pumps and how much filtration needed to keep the water clean

Thanks

Later

Get the New Pondmaster PRO-HY-DRIVEâ„¢ Pumps.
That's what I am using in me 4000g and it working good.
I doh even have to clean it.
Also for filters you could try the Tetrapond that Pantin does sell.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2009, 9:57 am

Redman wrote:Ok Guys need some help

Thanks

Later

Dude, PondMasters Pumps are fairly good and last about 2-3 yrs non stop. When sizing a pump u need one that can turn over the water in 1hr,So if you got a 500 gallon pond u will need a pump that can turn over 500 gallon in 1hr.
As for filters dont bother buying Barrels filters. It is cheaper to buy a Plastic Barrel and make your own filtter with matting. You will also need to size the filler to suit the pond volume. Normarly its 10% of the volume.This means that if u have a 500 gallon pond u will need a filter of 50 gallons, which is a normal plastic barrel. Those Tetra barrell fillters dont do much for real ponds.
Also in order for clear water ponds you need to change the water from time to time. Its normaly about 10% a week,meaning you must change 10% of the water a week.
There are lots of other tricks to keep a pond clear, but its takes alot of work and sceince. In fish keeping you dont keep the fish, you keep the water !. The water is the key in fish keeping.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2009, 9:59 am

Have a look at my pond water. Its 4ft deep and the water is clear.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=20

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2009, 4:37 pm

Thanks guys,
Im gonna be picking up everything this weekend-

The barrel filter is one of 3 that we have-the other 2 are the box filters with their own pumps-I thought this would be sufficient-we also have a UV light again with its own pump/filter.
But the water quality is not stable at all and

Im looking at the pond having a max of 400 gallons so I will wine to suie

Thanks for the info I will update the thread ASAP

Later

Postby zoom rader » October 2nd, 2009, 8:02 am

Redman,
Its a waste of money to have a UV light for a small pond.Its not needed. You have green water, which means you filters are not working and to much sunlight is affecting your water. A simply trick to cure green water is to use a sponge filter as your first stage.Your gonna have to clean the sponge everyday for a about a week untill the water clears. What the sponge does, is that it traps the tiny plantons.This only removes Plantons but u still gonna have to find root that is causing it to grow. Normaly its excess fish waste and what they call "new pond sydrome". Your pond needs to" cure'.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » October 2nd, 2009, 9:51 am

True talk.
UV is ah waste of time in a pond.
You need to get some Water plants like Water Hyacinth.
Plants is the best way to filer yuh pond.
Also you could try a settling tank.

I use a combination of both and it works boss.

Postby Redman » October 2nd, 2009, 6:27 pm

Well the kois lick up the water hyacinth fass fas

The water fall has developed a layer of moss etc-Should I remove this? The corner seems to have developed its own micro eco system and I eh really want to screw with it

Zoom the pond is about 4 years old-My old man is supposed to keep it going but he have a habit of walking off work when it half way done-leaving the filters to bake in the sun, etc

So I decide I will have to swing past every week and sharpen up everything cuz he is destructo the invincible :D

I will be replacing everythingthat looks like it needs replacing tomorrow(he in Fla ) and just need some good info and not a sales pitch from a clerk

Whats Best place in south to get these things???

Later

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » October 3rd, 2009, 3:13 pm

i agree with all the points given above. esp building ur own filter. you can save a lot of $$ this way and get a better result. for plants you can use papyrus(sp) and water lilies. i have those with koi. the kois can't eat them.
you should make sure ur pond doesn't get too much sun. this would cause the green water. try putting shady plants around it or something. this would also keep the water cooler. my pond is about 800g. i have a 750gph pump and made a filter out of a 5g bucket. i clean the filter about every 5 mths. my water is crystal clear. my pond used to be really dirty before i put in the bucket filter. i had a fish mate filter rated for a size bigger than my pond but it was a waste of time and $$. i also have a UV light but that is really for disease prevention. it wont clear ur water up. it will kill the algae in the water but u will still need to filter it out.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » October 3rd, 2009, 3:14 pm

anyone know where i can get power compact lights for a saltwater tank?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 3rd, 2009, 8:23 pm

kss2801, wen yuh find out let me no too...

CHARLES55

Postby CHARLES55 » October 4th, 2009, 12:41 am

you can get talapia in the fish farm in centeno.

Postby zoom rader » October 4th, 2009, 8:34 am

Redman,
Moss on the walls of koi ponds are good to have.The moss helps to keep the "chemisry of the water going" plus the kois feed of the moss.
Water hyacinth dont last long with kois, Kois love these . It is also a part of their diet, so do grow some in a tub and give them some once a week.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » October 4th, 2009, 11:19 am

kss2801 wrote:anyone know where i can get power compact lights for a saltwater tank?

I have a 96W X 2 Ballast (Powers two 3 Ft Bulbs), a four foot reflector, and end caps for sale. All you will need are the bulbs which you can get from Santoo. I actually have one actinic bulb for it but it is over a year old and so needs to be changed. If you are interested let me know.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 4th, 2009, 11:51 am

fellas i know ive been neglecting this thread awhile now & tho i created it (how bad of me)
My escision is to sell everybody in my tank & do over my entire tank, this time im going all plants & tetras, maybe a discus or two.....
so everybody is up for sale now.....
check em out & see who you want:
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jdTAXuXwzZ0&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 4th, 2009, 12:01 pm

wat allyuh think of this? came accross & i like it:
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/i1eL1hjOrE4&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » October 5th, 2009, 11:05 am

Brand New Sequence Pump still available for sale.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=239496

Great for ponds and large aquariums.

Postby Redman » October 5th, 2009, 6:19 pm

Ok guys

I went to Pantins on Sat-

I replaced the pumps-Installed new pond masters a 250 and 350-theyre attached to 2 box filters-
I emptied the pond down to 20% -and cleaned the barrel and the pump-its connected to pretty large pump-not sure the capacity-but much larger than the 350-
I let the thre pumps run for about 20 minutes with 20% of the volume-
We have a tank I solated for the pond and I refilled with the 'aged water' and cleaned out all the filters.
SO I have a a 250 and 350 connected to their own box filters, a macco sized pump connected to the barrel filter and the UV light connected to a 250-well it was till I cracked the intake connection(allyuh goatmouth the ting)
All the filters are new and the pumps have new sponge filters
I will pass and clean the filters and see how it looking tomorrow. Will take some pics if it looking good
My mother is the plant guru-she is organising the plants.

Thanks for the info It was extremely helpful

Later

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 9th, 2009, 6:18 pm

WTB Submersible Pump for small fish tank/ pond

PM me detail of a store that I can purchase it from

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 10th, 2009, 8:17 am

I have used little giant for "small" scale containers 3 ft x 2 x 2 and they work very vell

your choices would be

1. A magnetic drive pump

2. A direct drive pump (oil encapsulated)

I have used both , in fact i have a direct drive little giant pond-works, and it being doing the job for more than 3 yrs outside

ce tan yuk it think is the authorized local distributor for this brand

http://www.lgpc.com/Product/ItemDetail. ... uctID=1889

the draw back i have seen with the direct drive is that after more than a few years they my let off some oil, but since oil floats on water i have screened the water when that happened with another pump.

i have also used magnetic dive pumps but not for more that a few months , but when i did my search for an adequate pump , many were to big (volume ) for may application, chai's is where i purchased that one

any magnetic drive pumps that flow around 150 to 200 lph/ ?

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2009, 7:49 pm

Redman,
Dont forget to "salt the pond". U need to add 1lbw of rock salt (not table salt) for every 100gallon of water. The salt helps to keep the slime on the fishes and kill off unwanted germs.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 11th, 2009, 8:21 am

where is the best place to purchase salt

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2009, 8:07 am

Well
the issue was that the barrel filter was leaking-I think th epump was too big and the fecking pond emptied out-Mom filled it with normal water(she thought the tank was isolated for that purpose but my father destructo the invincible never closed the valve) so hald the blasted Kois and all the angels died. 15 in total.

But the water was clear so it was easy to pick them out. :oops: :oops:

We have abou 13-16 kois remaining and it might be a good time to get some advice on how much is suitable for the pond-6x3x3 foot.???

Zoom I will organise the salt for the survivors-thanks

Later

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2009, 10:27 am

Redman,
small Kois for ur size pond is ok, But the very large kois will not last. Kois need lots of oxygen. Larger kois aslo need a deeper pond . All in all everything affects kois, water,lights,oxygen,too much food and the list goes on.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 12th, 2009, 5:20 pm

k guys i got all sold....
I'm in the process of settin up a new tank....will keep updating....

link

Postby link » October 12th, 2009, 7:42 pm

francis1979 wrote:where is the best place to purchase salt

Trinidad Chloride Ltd, Savonetta. The same road leading to IGL (Industrial Gases Ltd) & Phoenix Gas Processors.
The building opposite Phoenix gas........it's about $129 per 50lb bag (I think).
rgds

link

Re: food

Postby link » October 12th, 2009, 7:49 pm

slow323 wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:Anybody knows where sells this locally?

peakes home store sells it and the pet store upstairs in movie town also sells it thas where i get mine

I have 4.6lb bags Koi growth (2 remaining) $325/bag
pm if interested
rgds

link

Postby link » October 12th, 2009, 7:58 pm

Razkal wrote:^half tank? tilapia? they breed pretty quickly, eat almost anything offered to them and grow at a substantial rate compared to regular hobby fishes....half tank imo, is NOT the best bet...

btw, what's the intention for this venture? i did alot of work and research in marine and aquatic farming /integrated aquaculture so i can help with some advice :)

I need to get PURE BRED RED FEMALE tilapias.........(my breeding project).everywhere I go has mixed silver/red (marbled) 'reds'........
any leads ?? & DON'T TELL ME Sugarcane feeds centre.......I will not buy anything from there....anything.......
tks adv