PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

2NR Smurf

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2013, 5:16 pm

Nasrallah wrote:Time to upgrade the WLAN. What are wireless routers you all using?

Thinking of purchasing:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005B111II

But I have my eyes on this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006QB1RPY/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

I'm currently using this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005KG ... UTF8&psc=1

Running about a year now with zero issues.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 9th, 2013, 6:54 pm

smurf you got that case locally? or amazon?

Postby ismithx » September 9th, 2013, 6:56 pm

Nasrallah wrote:Time to upgrade the WLAN. What are wireless routers you all using?

Thinking of purchasing:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006QB1RPY/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-Linksys-WRT ... s+wrt+160n

using this with the DD-WRT firmware. rock solid. only downtime is when power goes out. excellent coverage, i could stream youtube all in my neighbor yard (20m away through at least 2 walls)

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2013, 6:57 pm

ru$$ell wrote:smurf you got that case locally? or amazon?

amazon. everything else in the build was between amazon and ppc

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 10th, 2013, 2:00 am

fellas looking for a gpu upgrade wanna go for a powerful single gpu to replace my 5870's with the intention of crossfiring it later,
right now i'm looking at a 7970 but nvidia gtx 780 looks interesting.
is it even worth me upgrading? should i wait for 8000 or 9000 series or whatever there gonna call it?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 10th, 2013, 7:10 am

^ id spring for the 780 if i had the $.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 10th, 2013, 7:39 am

Thinking of purchasing:

I'm using the Linksys E4200 v2 for about a year and change with tomato firmware and it has been absolutely perfect even excellent range and consistent speeds. I usually have about 14-16 devices connected at any point in time and it just takes them. Wish I purchased it on Amazon would of been cheaper (Circuit Zone).

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-Performan ... ksys+e4200

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 10th, 2013, 9:26 am

jm3 wrote:fellas looking for a gpu upgrade wanna go for a powerful single gpu to replace my 5870's with the intention of crossfiring it later,
right now i'm looking at a 7970 but nvidia gtx 780 looks interesting.
is it even worth me upgrading? should i wait for 8000 or 9000 series or whatever there gonna call it?

When your current cards can't keep up with the games/apps you using then upgrade.

The radeon hd 5970s i have very old model-wise but still keeping up with the latest games. Wouldn't upgrade them till either they die or can't keep up.

If i had to choose i'd go with two gtx 760s over a single gtx 780 - cheaper and more performance.

A Radeon 7970 good too if you can get one cheap. This one for $290us is a great deal:

http://www.amazon.com/HIS-Radeon-Graphi ... words=7970

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 10th, 2013, 10:54 am

^yeh 2 760s will outperform a 780 with change in pocket. But he say he wants a single gpu solution so 780 would keep him in the game for quite a while. Could always sli a 2nd 780 later on when prices drop. Its what i did with my 680.

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » September 10th, 2013, 2:20 pm

Looking to upgrade my old gpu.... evga GT430

Anyone selling their cards?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 10th, 2013, 9:18 pm

^^ If you serious I'll sell you one of my 680s. Give you a good deal if you taking both

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 10th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Prototype-Tuner wrote:Looking to upgrade my old gpu.... evga GT430

Anyone selling their cards?

EVGA Titan 6GB used for 1 week 4700.00

Have a total of 4 of these 3 installed 1 for sale.

Also have a brand New 3970X for sale bought an extra chip 4500.00.

Have a 3960X for 3500.00

Thanks.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 10th, 2013, 11:04 pm

if any of ya guys preordering...i wanna see a demo in real or summm...tempting

http://www.oculusvr.com/

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 11th, 2013, 10:34 pm

EXODUS wrote:if any of ya guys preordering...i wanna see a demo in real or summm...tempting

http://www.oculusvr.com/

Looking cool

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » September 12th, 2013, 8:07 am

Prototype it have a few things you have to consider before yuh upgrade yuh card 1 power supply 2 board specs meaning if pcie gen3 can work and 4 and most important what resolution you would be playing at, if it is low meaning under 1080p ,gtx680 ,titan and 7970 is a waste of money and you would not reap the benefits and power of those cards, then the question of if the cpu would be a bottle neck to the system so do some research before purchase

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » September 12th, 2013, 5:27 pm

How much for the Gtx 680?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 12th, 2013, 6:13 pm

Dont worry to much about upgrading the psu,heck,i was running a Gigabyte 760GTX Windforce rev 2.0 up to a couple days ago with a Thermaltake 500W psu.Thats with a I7 3770k Ivy (77w CPU) 3 Hdd's,1 230MM case fan,3 120MM case fan, Zero issues whatsoever.Only reason i upgraded to a 850w Smart Power (wanted Corsair,but say what) is i wanna go dual 760gtx's soon.

This should help those guys who think their psu aint man enough :

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psuc ... orlite.jsp

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 12th, 2013, 6:45 pm

Also Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs game,sheit your pants scary.gawd damn!

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 15th, 2013, 8:16 am

ru$$ell wrote:Also Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs game,sheit your pants scary.gawd damn!

i loved amnesia dark descent, hiding in cupboards is particularly scary lol

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 17th, 2013, 6:24 pm

hey guys, I purchased the humble origin bundle a while ago and got a Battle Field 3 key. However, I already on BF3 premium and have no use for the key. I don't know if it will work for anyone but they can try. If it works well good for u, here is the key:
9P3T-J76S-X92B-WN6K-VXSD

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 17th, 2013, 7:16 pm

^works perfect,thanks :D

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 17th, 2013, 7:19 pm

nice!!!

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » September 19th, 2013, 10:31 pm

I'm looking to get a 5.1 or 7.1 pc gam8ng headset.. anybody have one to sell ? Need it new doh.. or anyone know where it sells locally?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 20th, 2013, 12:55 am

thermaltake wrote:I'm looking to get a 5.1 or 7.1 pc gam8ng headset.. anybody have one to sell ? Need it new doh.. or anyone know where it sells locally?

see if u can get the tactic 3d rage. i have the wireless version. it's a perfect headset. gives a 3d directional sense for sounds in game and can be very loud. battery life per charge is extremely good too.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » September 20th, 2013, 1:06 am

Whats rhe average cost of it? And where you buy yours?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 20th, 2013, 12:00 pm

Some of those gaming headsets kinda lack on the sound quality, I'd advise getting a quality 5.1 headphone instead. Audio Technica, Ultrasone, Beyer Dynamic to name a few, sound quality is wayyy better than any of those usb sets. A good quality one can be had for around $100-150 US which is what those gaming sets cost around anyway.

Not saying gaming headsets is a waste of time tho but if you spending around the same amount you might as well get a better quality product. If you bent on getting one still check out logitech G930 / Corsair Vengeance series.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 20th, 2013, 12:33 pm

thermaltake wrote:Whats rhe average cost of it? And where you buy yours?

amazon $80 usd. would work out to around 7-$800ttd total imported.

been using it near a year with no complaints.

www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B008Y1KLME/ref=m ... SY165_QL70

in game i always get accused of wallhacking because i hear footsteps, enemy noises properly and which direction they coming from.. behind, left, above, coming from around the corner towards or away from me. noone can sneak up on me lol. i was kinda suprised that the claims on the technology actually worked so accurate. provides a full sphere of sound as though u actually in the gaming environment.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 27th, 2013, 10:33 pm

I have a Tactic3D Sigma. It was about $90usd on amazon but I kept checking everyday and one day saw it for $50 usd during a sale. Is virtual 5.1 surround but it does a good job if you use it with the usb sound card/dongle.

If I have to get a new one, I might consider the Roccat Kave/XTD (with true 5.1 surround)

and in other news

http://store.steampowered.com/livingroom/

VLDS

Postby VLDS » September 28th, 2013, 12:23 pm

someone linked me to this thred so thought i would share my rig.
jus to show it off a bit but more to show whats possible, and i can offer advice if you need any

pics below,
some of the major components

Intel Core i7-4930K processor (watercooled)
Corsair Dominator 4 x 4Gb Ram Sticks
Dual GPU, GeForce GTX780 3GB GDDR5, SLI bridged (both watercooled)
180 gb intel SSD for boot drive, programs etc
1tb Caviar black WD HDD for mass storage etc.
samsung Blu Ray Drive
gallery_22422_528_18843.jpg
gallery_22422_528_18843.jpg (22.54 KiB) Viewed 2914 times
gallery_22422_528_1923.jpg
gallery_22422_528_1923.jpg (13.46 KiB) Viewed 2914 times
gallery_22422_528_1507.jpg
gallery_22422_528_1507.jpg (19.91 KiB) Viewed 2914 times
gallery_22422_528_577.jpg
gallery_22422_528_577.jpg (8.11 KiB) Viewed 2914 times

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 28th, 2013, 12:55 pm

VLDS wrote:someone linked me to this thred so thought i would share my rig.
jus to show it off a bit but more to show whats possible, and i can offer advice if you need any

pics below,
some of the major components

Intel Core i7-4930K processor (watercooled)
Corsair Dominator 4 x 4Gb Ram Sticks
Dual GPU, GeForce GTX780 3GB GDDR5, SLI bridged (both watercooled)
180 gb intel SSD for boot drive, programs etc
1tb Caviar black WD HDD for mass storage etc.
samsung Blu Ray Drive

yes! ah love it!!

welcome!