The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » April 27th, 2013, 1:28 pm

turbotusty wrote:nice phone, nice specs. dont know why digicel have it cheaper than bmobile.. i mean i know, but ill pretend i dont. will wait till thee end of the year to see what devices motorola is bringing to the table while i wait to see what the guinea pigs say about the durability/reliability of the s4.

Get with a good brand nah

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 27th, 2013, 1:58 pm

turbotusty wrote:nice phone, nice specs. dont know why digicel have it cheaper than bmobile.. i mean i know, but ill pretend i dont. will wait till thee end of the year to see what devices motorola is bringing to the table while i wait to see what the guinea pigs say about the durability/reliability of the s4.

The durability of the S4 is gonna be the same as Samsung's past devices, after all, this is the fourth one

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 27th, 2013, 2:02 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

i am with a good brand.. motorola- masters in communication technology. just wait.. i am certain the releases from motorola in the last quarter are going to blow minds. they will be the first of their kind to hit the market.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 27th, 2013, 2:34 pm

turbotusty wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

i am with a good brand.. motorola- masters in communication technology. just wait.. i am certain the releases from motorola in the last quarter are going to blow minds. they will be the first of their kind to hit the market.

Hearing this yrs now, seen nothing to back it up tbh

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 27th, 2013, 2:59 pm

well the only thing i can say to back it up is that motorola was one of the pioneers of communication and were the leaders at one point. then the competition came with different specializations and motorola fell within the crowd.

but other than that.. my 1st $5000 fone ever was a motorola.. this one i use for trinituner.. its a droid 4. and i have no complaints with the device whatsoever. do u know what that feels like? everything just works.. i actually get bored with it sometimes cuz i have nothing to do or fix. all the world's info comes to me without me having to search for it. but besides the boredom.. no complaints whatsoever is priceless.

and i consider myself to have rather demanding standards. so im happy so no problem in giving them a vote for +1. a lil word of mouth marketting. i prefer that than companies that saturate the market with advertisements.

Postby DFC » April 27th, 2013, 4:48 pm

The target market for Apple Products. >>>>>>

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2013, 5:00 pm

motorola needs to stick to making these.

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 27th, 2013, 5:30 pm

Samsung Galaxy S4 first impressions

http://techtt.hassantt.com/2013/04/sams ... s.html?m=1

Postby stev » April 28th, 2013, 1:02 am

ent they workin on a rugged version?

http://mashable.com/2013/04/26/rugged-samsung-s-4/

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 28th, 2013, 3:50 am

So who went in digicel an got the new s4?

casper

Postby casper » April 28th, 2013, 9:45 am

Compared the s3 and the s4 side by side yesterday and must say the s4 is really a gem and worth d upgrade...

Saturation, color vibrancy, brightness, screen sharpness etc is farrrr more superior on the s4 than on s3 with same exact brightness settings (max brightness)

The metal bezel makes d phone feel alot sturdier and more premium than the s3 and also the back plate made out of a kinda texturized plastic unlike the flat glossy plastic on d s3...the front screen boarders have this same kinda ruff finish ...it looks really rich and less cheap than previous versions of the galaxy phones by Samsung

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 28th, 2013, 9:48 am

casper wrote:Compared the s3 and the s4 side by side yesterday and must say the s4 is really a gem and worth d upgrade...

Saturation, color vibrancy, brightness, screen sharpness etc is farrrr more superior on the s4 than on s3 with same exact brightness settings (max brightness)

The metal bezel makes d phone feel alot sturdier and more premium than the s3 and also the back plate made out of a kinda texturized plastic unlike the flat glossy plastic on d s3...the front screen boarders have this same kinda ruff finish ...it looks really rich and less cheap than previous versions of the galaxy phones by Samsung

Nice. I like taking lots of photos...one reason why i'd like to upgrade.
still quite satisfied with my s3 though....being tempted to try windows phone just for the experience though...but just not fully convinced yet...

Postby Trini Hookah » April 28th, 2013, 9:54 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
casper wrote:Compared the s3 and the s4 side by side yesterday and must say the s4 is really a gem and worth d upgrade...

still quite satisfied with my s3 though....being tempted to try windows phone just for the experience though...but just not fully convinced yet...

Where did he talk about the camera tho :|

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 28th, 2013, 9:55 am

The S4 does have the same smooth plastic as before. The pattern is just that a pattern not textured. ..

Sent from my GT-I9500 using TriniTuner mobile app

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 28th, 2013, 11:59 am

Guy some assistance please. I cant seem to get any flask apk to work on the s4. They install fine but websites still state that its not installed. It worked fine on the s3.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 28th, 2013, 12:25 pm

sentraman wrote:Guy some assistance please. I cant seem to get any flask apk to work on the s4. They install fine but websites still state that its not installed. It worked fine on the s3.

may be a symptom of early adoption users as i mentioned before..

s4 uses html5 if im not mistaken which isnt fully implemented across the web to replace flash yet. adobe also stopped supporting flash for android to assist in pushing the industry towards html5. so basically, ull have to wait until html5 is properly implemented. u may not be able to view flash websites if there is no fallback embedded.

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2013, 12:31 pm

http://www.cnet.com/news/install-adobe- ... s/57554629

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1774336

Ideally you'd have to use the dolphin browser linked in xda. It's a bit buggy but it works.

I had to do this yesterday on my touchpad. I finally put cm10 on it. For a beta it works superb. Project Butter really smooths things up on android.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 28th, 2013, 12:32 pm

Hopefully this will be sorted out because it was said just like the s3 that the s4 stock browser not chrome will support flash.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 28th, 2013, 12:51 pm

just did a comparison of the droid4 vs the s4 with the highest spec. just for the heck of it..the result was amusing.

http://geekaphone.com/compare/Samsung-G ... la-Droid-4

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 28th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Where did he talk about the camera tho :|

Based in my own review of the device and the feature of it that attracts me most.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Trini Hookah » April 28th, 2013, 2:59 pm

turbotusty wrote:just did a comparison of the droid4 vs the s4 with the highest spec. just for the heck of it..the result was amusing.

The droid 4 won one category and that was the physical keyboard :|

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2013, 3:16 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
turbotusty wrote:just did a comparison of the droid4 vs the s4 with the highest spec. just for the heck of it..the result was amusing.

boy right now i cornfused. It's a tie :|
I dunno if to buy a droid 4 or a s4 now...

Postby S_2NR » April 28th, 2013, 3:42 pm

Finally found a stable, battery friendly 4.2.2 aokp rom. Life is complete

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 28th, 2013, 3:54 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

not quite
it does have fm radio and is upgradable to jellybean 4.1.2 which im running now. as well as ota update capability. droid 4 also has hdmi out to connect to the tv a couple more points there.

but i just found it amusing that the d4 held its own to the new s4 in many categories.

but to be fair i know they wouldve missed a couple things about the s4 too. i read somewhere it has an infrared port. dont know how true. but would be cool to control ur tv with ur fone.

s4s major advantages are speed and memory plus the higher pixel camera. but the d4 is still relevant even tho it came out last february.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 28th, 2013, 3:54 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

I hope m doh stand for Motorola in yuh username :|

Give it a little more time for the s4 to work out launch bugs etc

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 28th, 2013, 3:54 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

:lol::lol::lol:

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

I hope m doh stand for Motorola in yuh username :|

Give it a little more time for the s4 to work out launch bugs etc

I was being sarcastic hoss :|
My first GSM was a motorola... I don't want to see another one for the rest of my life.

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 28th, 2013, 4:03 pm

turbotusty wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

not quite
it does have fm radio and is upgradable to jellybean 4.1.2 which im running now. as well as ota update capability. droid 4 also has hdmi out to connect to the tv a couple more points there.

but i just found it amusing that the d4 held its own to the new s4 in many categories.

but to be fair i know they wouldve missed a couple things about the s4 too. i read somewhere it has an infrared port. dont know how true. but would be cool to control ur tv with ur fone.

s4s major advantages are speed and memory plus the higher pixel camera. but the d4 is still relevant even tho it came out last february.

Well they left the radio out of the S4, tunein would fix that if someone really finds it necessary

But your comparison is unfair, to the Motorola, ota compatibility??? That's a feature now, (S4 has that BTW)

HDMI Out, are you gonna really compare that to Samsung's MHL implementation, not to mention AllShare capability

What categories does the Droid 4 hold its weight against the S4, text input, maybe, but what else, the humidity sensor, the barometer, the screen, a current generation CPU against a dated OMAP, where exactly

I think this comparison is very crazy

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 28th, 2013, 4:10 pm

well there's still stuff to fill in. im in no way claiming the d4 is better than the s4. but in my case the physical keyboard and waterproof is enough for me, plus native flash support even in opera. if the s4 had a keyboard however.. id most likely be singing a different tune. tho id miss the waterproof feature.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 28th, 2013, 4:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:Finally found a stable, battery friendly 4.2.2 aokp rom. Life is complete

which one did you decide on? i still cant make up my mind one which one to go for