PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

-Roach-

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby -Roach- » August 27th, 2013, 5:34 pm

Jus tried the monitor on my laptop AND my old cpu and it refuses to connect... Jus says No Signal for both laptop and cpu.... Could probably be the monitor.... I`ll try my new cpu on my 32" LG LED TV via Hdmi and see if it works...

Edit: Just ran Windows Memory Diagnostics Tool and it showed NO ERRORS... Im using 16GB Kingston DDR3 1333Mhz Ram... So phase 1 complete... I now know that my ram is working perfectly...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 31st, 2013, 8:47 pm

HAF Stacker
me eh know bout all dat nah.

I find these cases looking hard, but 2x usb 2.0 /1 usb 3.0 on the front panel? :? :? :?
Circle CC 830

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 31st, 2013, 8:50 pm

CM Coming out hard as usual...The stacker fully stacked kinda reminds me of one of those Azza cases.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 31st, 2013, 10:45 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:CM Coming out hard as usual...The stacker fully stacked kinda reminds me of one of those Azza cases.

Yeah it similar to the Azza Fusion 4000 case.

Wanna see the price of this new CM still.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 1st, 2013, 4:16 am

Time to retire my TT armor+ mx and get me a new case as well yes.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 1st, 2013, 4:38 am

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:CM Coming out hard as usual...The stacker fully stacked kinda reminds me of one of those Azza cases.

Yeah it similar to the Azza Fusion 4000 case.

Wanna see the price of this new CM still.

That's the case self...

Being Cooler Master it will be reasonable 8-)

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 1st, 2013, 9:34 am

Anyone know of a good double chambered case?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 1st, 2013, 3:27 pm

that haf stacker reminds me of those case labs merlin cases...

Good news for my 630 too...dunno why nzxt didnt release it like this in the first place :|

http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/125- ... ition.html

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 1st, 2013, 6:24 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:that haf stacker reminds me of those case labs merlin cases...

Good news for my 630 too...dunno why nzxt didnt release it like this in the first place :|

http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/125- ... ition.html

Simple fix:

http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/135- ... ssory.html

A couple case manufacturers offer the windowed side panels for purchase as well.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 1st, 2013, 9:05 pm

^yeh i know. That link was at the bottom of the page i posted. Will order it in october when its available.:D

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 1st, 2013, 11:41 pm

got a logitech c615 webcyam cuz my phone camera conk out so I cant use it as a webcam

it can zoom up on my face really good, will upload black head pics shortly

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 2nd, 2013, 7:12 pm

Let the fun start....

livewire

Postby livewire » September 6th, 2013, 3:15 pm

-Roach- wrote:Hey guys... I just installed a Nvidia 660ti Graphics card in my machine... I have an AOC 19" Widescreen LCD monitor (917sW) - Its VGA btw and im using a DVI - VGA adapter... Whenever i boot the PC for an hour or 2 the pc shows signs of sticking (mouse sticking) and then all of a sudden the monitor goes black and says 'No Signal'... The CPU remains on and running smooth (no overheating etc)... Then when i leave the PC off for another hour or 2 it comes back on normal and the monitor works... The monitor is about 3 - 4 years old... What could be the cause of this?...

Did you get this sorted out...Im having similar problems with a Nvidia 780, the older 460 works fine on the same system.

System specs are: i7 3770k processor, 16gd Corsair Vengeance 4No @ 4gb each ram, Asus p8 z77-v lk motherboard, and the nvidia gtx 780, corsair hx750 power supply. I originally had a 660ti that exhibited similar problems and returned it and went for the 780 but now this to is doing the same thing. Am i that lucky to have gotten two bad cards?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 6th, 2013, 3:46 pm

livewire wrote:
-Roach- wrote:Hey guys... I just installed a Nvidia 660ti Graphics card in my machine... I have an AOC 19" Widescreen LCD monitor (917sW) - Its VGA btw and im using a DVI - VGA adapter... Whenever i boot the PC for an hour or 2 the pc shows signs of sticking (mouse sticking) and then all of a sudden the monitor goes black and says 'No Signal'... The CPU remains on and running smooth (no overheating etc)... Then when i leave the PC off for another hour or 2 it comes back on normal and the monitor works... The monitor is about 3 - 4 years old... What could be the cause of this?...

Did you get this sorted out...Im having similar problems with a Nvidia 780, the older 460 works fine on the same system.

System specs are: i7 3770k processor, 16gd Corsair Vengeance 4No @ 4gb each ram, Asus p8 z77-v lk motherboard, and the nvidia gtx 780, corsair hx750 power supply. I originally had a 660ti that exhibited similar problems and returned it and went for the 780 but now this to is doing the same thing. Am i that lucky to have gotten two bad cards?

Did you check the temps on the card before it cut off ?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 8th, 2013, 9:11 pm

A lil update on the build

Some cable management (or lack thereof)...

Made a lil last minute addition to the loop

I forgot to save the screen shot, but...while testing the 2nd 680, i would get temps during benchmarking of around 76-80C on the air cooled gpu...and 45-49C on the water cooled gpu. :shock:

So i guess the build is finished...for now. Will wait patiently on that new side panel to release... :(

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 8th, 2013, 10:30 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
livewire wrote:

Exactly. Download "EVGA Precision X" and check the temp on the card. Sounds like it's overheating and shutting down to protect itself. Either the fans on the card are not spinning or it's in a case with no proper airflow in a room that is hot already.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 8th, 2013, 10:34 pm

DTAC wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
livewire wrote:

Exactly. Download "EVGA Precision X" and check the temp on the card. Sounds like it's overheating and shutting down to protect itself. Either the fans on the card are not spinning or it's in a case with no proper airflow in a room that is hot already.

Try setting the speed on max and run the program so you can see your temps card usage on top.

Postby ismithx » September 9th, 2013, 8:36 am

woiiii smurf dat setup looking real hard hoss!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 9th, 2013, 9:54 am

2NR Smurf wrote:I forgot to save the screen shot, but...while testing the 2nd 680, i would get temps during benchmarking of around 76-80C on the air cooled gpu...and 45-49C on the water cooled gpu. :shock:

45-49c on the liquid cooled gtx kinda high.

You overclocked it?

Was expecting it to be lower since it's just a single gpu newer generation card.

What the idle temps are?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 9th, 2013, 10:13 am

^^^ I have to agree that's a little high, my air cooled machine my card idles at 36c-38c tops at load 69c- 80c depending,it does have 10 180mm fans in case (thermaltake v4 black).

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 9th, 2013, 11:04 am

My Titans run at 1125 and temps does be 27C to 44C fan on max. 3 Delta intake.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2013, 11:44 am

HCCA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:I forgot to save the screen shot, but...while testing the 2nd 680, i would get temps during benchmarking of around 76-80C on the air cooled gpu...and 45-49C on the water cooled gpu. :shock:

You overclocked it?

Was expecting it to be lower since it's just a single gpu newer generation card.

What the idle temps are?

Hmmm....Idle is 30-32. I figured it was acceptable as the room the pc is kept in is actually quite warm. No ac and windows closed up.

The 49c was the peak temp during benchmarking for 4hrs. 45c was the avg.
Played metro last light all day sunday with peak temp of 44c.

Card runs 1100mhz core clock.

Let me know what i should be getting, bearing in mind higher than normal ambient temps.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 9th, 2013, 12:42 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
HCCA wrote:

You overclocked it?

What the idle temps are?

Hmmm....Idle is 30-32. I figured it was acceptable as the room the pc is kept in is actually quite warm. No ac and windows closed up.

Let me know what i should be getting, bearing in mind higher than normal ambient temps.

Those temps are similar to mines when I not running A/C, you all good. On another note the tubing got discolored really quickly, what brand is that?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 9th, 2013, 1:12 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:
HCCA wrote:

You overclocked it?

What the idle temps are?

Those temps are similar to mines when I not running A/C, you all good. On another note the tubing got discolored really quickly, what brand is that?

Actually my comment was more of a question but your temps seem fine i guess since u not using a/c.

Was comparing it to my old a$$ radeon 5970 which runs abt 37-38 idle and 60/62 max oc 960/1300mhz.

You can always install better fans to get better temps later on if u eh mind noise.

And yeah ur tubes looking discoloured, my xspc tubing got discoloured after a few months of use.

You shoulda buy the blue primochill tubing instead.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2013, 1:27 pm

Im glad u guys noticed.
i used primochill advanced lrt.
That there is after 2 weeks of use and yeh im alarmed at how quickly it turned. When i drained the loop to add the 2nd gpu my water was clear with no particles either. Using straight ro/di water with a silver bullet and pt nuke-phn.

Im gonna monitor the new piece of tubing to see if it changes like the rest. Ive also found no info online of cases similar to mine.

The case did spend a few days near a window with the panels off while leak testing. Idk if its sunlight caused it?
Might do some experiments later an leavr some tubing in a bottle of water and see.

Postby ismithx » September 9th, 2013, 3:00 pm

hoss do not and i repeat DO NOT use wasa water in your loops. use battery water. wasa water quality can be horrible and can permanently stain a good few materials

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » September 9th, 2013, 3:09 pm

Time to upgrade the WLAN. What are wireless routers you all using?

Thinking of purchasing:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005B111II

But I have my eyes on this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006QB1RPY/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 9th, 2013, 3:48 pm

Nasrallah wrote:Time to upgrade the WLAN. What are wireless routers you all using?

Thinking of purchasing:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005B111II

But I have my eyes on this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006QB1RPY/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Go with the Asus, heard nothing but good things about it.

ismithx wrote:hoss do not and i repeat DO NOT use wasa water in your loops. use battery water. wasa water quality can be horrible and can permanently stain a good few materials

Not only that, it's advised to not use tap water because of the minerals in it which can leave deposits in the blocks and pumps. Plus if u get a leak u will definitely damage something because of its conductivity.

I used the Track battery distilled water in my loops and no problems/staining yet.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 9th, 2013, 3:48 pm

@ ismithx He using distilled water

I using the same tubing, it suppose to fix the clouding issues but I can't tell with mines tho cause it colored. All I using is distilled and the silver bullet. Small ting tubing easy to replace.

@ Nasrallah I using a refurbished E3000 going on 2yrs I think, works great never had a problem with it. That 2nd link you posted, the newer version will be my replacement if anything start to go wrong with it, marking that mehself.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2013, 4:57 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:@ ismithx He using distilled water

I using the same tubing, it suppose to fix the clouding issues but I can't tell with mines tho cause it colored. All I using is distilled and the silver bullet. Small ting tubing easy to replace.

Yupp. Though this isnt plasticizer, thats white-ish build up that you could scrape off the walls of the tube. I cut open the piece of tubing i removed for the 2nd gpu...the colour would not come off with dish wash liquid nor vinegar, so its the actual tube has turned colour. :?

Its not noticeable with pc running and the leds in action so i wont replace it any time soon. Infact i might try my luck with the primochill acrylic next couple months.