Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby 1UZFE » July 8th, 2014, 6:28 pm

Long time since ah see ah guppy...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 8th, 2014, 6:51 pm

Yea, they are brackish but can live in fresh for periods of time...

Postby meccalli » July 8th, 2014, 7:45 pm

ImageDSC_8608 by meccalli, on Flickr

Father caught this guy on sat on some cut squid that i brined. I'm finding its a great technique for keeping soft bait, including soft stuff like shrimp and herring.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 8th, 2014, 8:00 pm

I've been brining all bait for quite ah few years now...really keeps the bait stiffer and last longer...

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » July 8th, 2014, 8:16 pm

How yall duz brine shrimp n stuff

Postby meccalli » July 8th, 2014, 9:26 pm

I don't use the regular method since i don't have a blast freezer to make the most of it. Since we know expanding water within the flesh causes the destruction of tissue during the freezing process. I thought, why not try a super saturated solution? Since it can't freeze in regular freezer temps, i dissolve salt in a pan(on heat) until it can't take anymore. At that point, its a supersol, then i cool dump the fresh bait in and let it soak for a few hours in the freezer. Some I bottle with the solution, others i just ziplock em. The bait never gets hard, i throw in some aji no moto and baking soda to retain the color/shine and enhance the scent trail. I'll see if I can post up some shrimp i have brined for over 5 months currently. Only thing is, I does hardly get time to fish to try the baits on good fish.
Oh and i must stress the importance of starting with very fresh bait, bait thats a day old and lost its slime won't stay like the fresh stuff. And never let freshwater touch your bait before brining.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 8th, 2014, 10:02 pm

We use ah special grade salt and blast freeze it...will get the name of the salt wen i get ah chance...is the salt the commercial long liners use...

Postby meccalli » July 9th, 2014, 5:48 am

Yeah, i know mankee sells it, saw them fellas order by the buckets. That's the best way with a blast chiller, this diy method i adapted seems to be working pretty well though. You guys can probably try it and see how it stacks up against other prepared baits.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2014, 5:49 am

Mankee also has bait scents that u can add to the bait and it increases the natural scent of the bait....really works

Postby meccalli » July 9th, 2014, 5:56 am

Yeah the pro cure, that's why i added aji no moto lol, some guys add garlic as well- as you would know in the reef world how garlic apparently has some compounds that encourage fish to eat. Strange stuff lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2014, 8:15 am

And hence the saying wen u blight put ah head of garlic in yuh pocket...lol

Postby meccalli » July 9th, 2014, 8:17 am

LOL :mrgreen:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 9th, 2014, 8:52 am

Thinking if time permits tomorrow to take a line or 3 to Icacos... Anyone have experience fishing down there?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » July 9th, 2014, 10:49 am

ryan yuh throwing dat for somebody owa.lol

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 9th, 2014, 10:20 pm

I thinkin about heading up manzan sat, it's gonna me my 1st time inshore fishing. Any quick advise,

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 9th, 2014, 10:24 pm

http://www.okumafishing.com/product/vie ... /tundra-hd

Ended up ordering this combo online.

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2014, 11:29 am

Okuma's are good budget gear. That one on the low end but it should hold up.
Doggies biting :) nothing too big, pushing 4lbs.
ImageDSC_8670 by meccalli, on Flickr

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 11th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Thanks

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 11th, 2014, 12:32 pm

Mecalli, wat cam u use?

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2014, 12:47 pm

nikon d5000, same cam I use all the time. The difference depends on how much time I spend in photoshop lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 11th, 2014, 12:49 pm

We cud use u to do some of our shots for the tarpon thunder...lol

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2014, 12:59 pm

Haha, i won't complain.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 11th, 2014, 2:10 pm

Team done decided and uniform ordered...lol

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2014, 3:06 pm

I would suspect so lol..if you need anything processed, i'm always up for retouching.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 11th, 2014, 3:32 pm

Icacos was nice yesterday.. went out late as my wingman was suffering the Holland's loss hangover. We ended up getting there around 9:30 when I was aiming to get there 8ish. Anyway after doing some work, i convinced the boat man to show us a bank... i didn't expect a redfish bank but thats what we hit. tides were wrong and it was almost 1 pm so we left after catching 7 1-2LB reds, an eel and a cro cro.

Will be heading back next week for work again, the boat man said we'll try his net next time...

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2014, 3:53 pm

Nice.

reelman

Postby reelman » July 12th, 2014, 6:18 am

guys any new lures we can try for rock casting or trolling...... need something new

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » July 12th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Went manzanilla a lot of seaweed and pressure catch 3 cat fish, and sea was very ruff

Postby meccalli » July 13th, 2014, 6:32 am

^You did well if the water in manzan bad lol.
reelman wrote:guys any new lures we can try for rock casting or trolling...... need something new

Only thing I can think of that you don't see often are hogy's. More popular for spreader bars and tarpon though.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 14th, 2014, 10:47 am

Was out sat practicing for the tournament...tarpon bite wasnt too hot...got one about 220-240 and one bout 100...broke one rod on the 220...so we decided to do some sight fishing an went for some cavali...met the school an got a triple hookup on poppers...one was lost...bottom fish was not there at all...too much freshwater out there rite now and cu also be the weather...