Report: Minister did not withdraw $143,800 cash
Police probe into Robinson-Regis’ 2016 bank transaction now at standstill...
In a release sent to the media, Fixin' T&T quoted Robinson-Regis as saying she withdrew the money from her RBL account, which was corroborated by the AG, who said a letter written by executive director Derwin Howell verified the transaction.
However, a media report on Sunday claimed that a report compiled by police revealed she did not withdraw the money from the bank. The media report also revealed details of an internal report in First Citizens Bank – the bank in which the money was deposited – which said she made a cash deposit and a cash loan payment for $93,800 and $50,000, respectively.
When asked to declare a source of funds, she claimed it came from an “account at Republic Bank and savings.” Newsday attempted to reach Al-Rawi for a comment on the media report on Sunday but our efforts proved futile as calls to his cellphone were not answered. Newsday also reached out to Robinson-Regis over Waithe's release but while she answered our call, she declined to comment.....
So tax payers funds are used to give hampers to PNM ppl only?sMASH wrote:
may may, papayo.....
is a personal hamper, not a public one, so it was only for PNM massive
Rovin wrote:when kamla was in charge d minute u hear anything like this glenda & camel issues come up public outcry wud be fire dem & call election now
pnm in charge so is different strokes for different folks
public like dise small ting , cause this is pnm country ....
sMASH wrote:Rovin wrote:when kamla was in charge d minute u hear anything like this glenda & camel issues come up public outcry wud be fire dem & call election now
pnm in charge so is different strokes for different folks
public like dise small ting , cause this is pnm country ....
that is a problem with the opposition, not the PNM. if they want to let it slide then go ahead.
UNC on PNM scandals: Time for Rowley Govt to go
Julien Neaves
THE UNC says allegations of possible misconduct against two government members, Arouca/Maloney MP Camille Robinson-Regis and Toco/Sangre Grande MP Glenda Jennings-Smith, are the latest indications that the current administration must go.
The UNC said in a media release that a report that a sitting MP is discriminating against people in need, on the basis of political affiliation "is reprehensible, and a flagrant violation of citizens’ constitutional rights."
It charged, "The silence by other members of the Rowley administration, implies tacit approval of this approach, indicating that this is not the actions of one errant MP but rather PNM policy."
The party was referring to a report of a leaked recording of Jennings-Smith allegedly discussing with one of her constituents a food card or Christmas hamper and questioning the woman's political affiliation.
"The UNC reminds all PNM Members of Parliament that they are elected to serve all constituents. The practice of using access to state resources to force citizens to support a failing PNM must be resoundingly condemned. The PNM must not be allowed to demand political support in exchange for assistance. It is clear now that they intended to starve the nation for four years and in the election year to trade services for votes. Like her PNM colleagues, the Member of Parliament for Toco/Sangre Grande has shown a lack of care or concern for the well-being of people in her constituency."
The UNC said the second issue, of a government minister’s questionable bank deposit raises more questions, for which the Prime Minister has failed to provide answers or take decisive action. This was a reference to Social Development Minister Camille Robinson-Regis and the police probe into a $143,800 bank transaction on January 8, 2016.
The UNC said, "While this matter is the subject of an ongoing police investigation and we await the findings of that probe, Keith Rowley should have acted when the details of the dubious transactions were first raised four years ago. The Prime Minister’s responses to questions raised by one concerned citizen on this issue are unacceptable and unbecoming of the office which he holds. His attacks on anyone who has queried this matter or any allegations surrounding members of his Cabinet highlight his poor leadership and clearly show that he is not concerned about transparency and accountability."
The party was likely referring to a WhatsApp exchange between Dr Rowley and Fixin' T&T head Kirk Waithe which was published in a newspaper.
The UNC said the population needs no reminder of the clouds hanging over multiple members of this government, which, in one case, led to charges being laid, a reference to former minister Marlene McDonald.
"This, coupled with their utter incompetence, arrogance and inability to govern, are reasons why this Rowley Government must be removed from office, and the people be given the chance to elect a leader and team with the vision and plan to get our country working again. The people of TT have suffered for more than four years of PNM rule, and after hundreds of billions of taxpayers’ dollars were spent, the Government has nothing positive to show. Keith Rowley and his team have spent their time in office looking after their friends, families and financiers, and have failed to improve the lives of the people.
"This Rowley regime is unfit for office, and it is time for them to go."
zoom rader wrote:PNM prime minister serving only the 1%
PNM MPs serving only PNM ppl
Rovin wrote:hmmm like d unc suddenly wake up , they cud talk what they want rowly eh wait patiently nearly 30yrs to become PM then to give it up b4 its constitutionally due
pnm supporters will be like boi hdmc is we time now leh dem wait .....
How you think HDC houses is given out you have to be on the PNM or CJ list.rspann wrote:zoom rader wrote:PNM prime minister serving only the 1%
PNM MPs serving only PNM ppl
PNM people happy, doh get involved in we business. Get allyuh hampers from UNC. PNM for PNM people alone.
The woman had no right to tape Glenda and put it up, that's immoral..and unethical.
Growlers clear Camille already , Glenda is going to be cleared. You never hear about the investigative team?
1% is massa , they put we there and we have to please them. Doh beat up.
Grate is de PNM, Grate is shitkickers.
sMASH wrote:we forget bout the cj....
zoom rader wrote:sMASH wrote:we forget bout the cj....
well that just proves he PNM as with the DPP and other top officers .
If you don't look like Morgan Job then you cant be on the list
Right here in San Do east the same nonsense goes on as the less fortunate non PNM ppl receive nothing from PNM.
Waithe: PM learned nothing from Marlene
Julien Neaves
HEAD of lobby group Fixin TT Kirk Waithe said the Prime Minister's handling of the situation involving Social Development Minister Camille Robinson-Regis and a police probe regarding a $143,800 transaction showed he learned nothing from the Marlene McDonald case.
"We have been down this road before, and a minister is now before the courts."
McDonald, MP for Port of Spain South, is charged with conspiracy to defraud, money laundering and misbehaviour in public office. She was fired by Dr Rowley as public administration minister after her arrest.
Fixin TT, in a social media post, called for Robinson-Regis, who is also Arouca/Maloney MP, to be immediately fired in light of revelations made after a police probe into a 2016 bank transaction. According to media reports, it was revealed that Robinson-Regis did not withdraw $143,000 from Republic Bank Ltd (RBL) as she had previously claimed. Waithe also called for Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi to make public, the letter used to previously verify the banking transaction.
Attempts to contact the Prime Minister, AG and Robinson-Regis on Monday were unsuccessful.
In a release sent to the media, Fixin T&T quoted Robinson-Regis as saying she withdrew the money from her RBL account, which was corroborated by the AG, who said a letter written by executive director Derwin Howell verified the transaction. However, a media report on Sunday claimed that a report compiled by police revealed she did not withdraw the money from the bank. The media report also revealed details of an internal report in First Citizens Bank – the bank in which the money was deposited – which said she made a cash deposit and a cash loan payment for $93,800 and $50,000, respectively. When asked to declare a source of funds, she claimed it came from an “account at Republic Bank and savings.”
Robinson-Regis, in a media release Sunday, called Waithe a "mischief-maker" and told him to stop sullying her name and reputation.
In one media report, Rowley replied to the issue by revealing part of a WhatsApp conversation between himself and Waithe about the issue in which he accused Waithe of being politically biased. Asked about the exchange on Monday, Waithe told Newsday that he has been in communication with the Prime Minister since 2015 "and most of it is him ranting." He said, however, the Prime Minister and others wanted the public to get distracted with the release of the exchange.
"We need to stay focused that Camille Robinson-Regis is not telling the truth."
Fixin TT also responded to Robinson-Regis in a Facebook post.
"There is no attempt to sully anyone’s good name or professional reputation. We’re simply speaking the truth, stating the facts and insisting on transparency. Minister Robinson-Regis cannot, I repeat, cannot point to a single word in anything that we’ve said or stated regarding this matter that is untrue. It is noteworthy that she has not denied a single thing we have said or called a single thing we said untrue."
Waithe said he did not find it strange that Robinson-Regis made no threat of legal action against him in her release.
"She cannot do it. Everything that was said is one hundred per cent true."
He said the $143,800 in cash which Robinson-Regis walked into First Citizens was separate from $142,000 which she withdrew from RBL in the form of four manager's cheques. He added there was an attempt to conflate the two transactions but the source of the $143,800 was still unknown.
zoom rader wrote:^^^
Waithe is more PNM that than some PNM representatives.
During UNC term he was more active than ever before.
He's just showing face and doing window dressing. These hidden Pnm clowns are very embarrassed as more dirt is coming out.
Had she not been exposed that tax payers money would have been written off as goverment expenses.De Dragon wrote:Robinson-Regis, in a media release Sunday, called Waithe a "mischief-maker" and told him to stop sullying her name and reputation.
The minute you stole money from the citizens of T&T to buy sperm and wigs using a GORTT credit card was the day you surrendered your "name and reputation" Then you tried to take all of us for arses (well you did succeed with Redman, elitecorolla, Tokesy, one eye, Zitty and wing) and said you didn't know it was wrong to do even though YOU crafted legislation
zoom rader wrote:Had she not been exposed that tax payers money would have been written off as goverment expenses.De Dragon wrote:Robinson-Regis, in a media release Sunday, called Waithe a "mischief-maker" and told him to stop sullying her name and reputation.
The minute you stole money from the citizens of T&T to buy sperm and wigs using a GORTT credit card was the day you surrendered your "name and reputation" Then you tried to take all of us for arses (well you did succeed with Redman, elitecorolla, Tokesy, one eye, Zitty and wing) and said you didn't know it was wrong to do even though YOU crafted legislation
It would have been all under the carpet same as miss piggy Shamfa $59000 cell phone bill.
These cows have no shame
De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:Had she not been exposed that tax payers money would have been written off as goverment expenses.De Dragon wrote:Robinson-Regis, in a media release Sunday, called Waithe a "mischief-maker" and told him to stop sullying her name and reputation.
It would have been all under the carpet same as miss piggy Shamfa $59000 cell phone bill.
These cows have no shame
Don't forget Marlene and Jennings. It seems the more unattractive, and sloppy looking you are, the more prone you are to corruption and theft.