The Religion Discussion

turbohead

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby turbohead » May 18th, 2011, 10:50 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
d spike wrote:
16 cycles wrote:m.doc - those vids show only one side of an argument....i don't think that is fair....

Though I have no idea what the video clips said (as my stone-age PC with jumper cable connections is unable to run dem t'ing) it is quite normal in a debate to only project one side of an argument, leaving the rebuttal to be done by those who support a differing view.
(And, after all, do you actually think that megadoc would take a balanced view in a religious argument, based on all that he has said?)

Megadoc, is it possible for you to summarize what was said on the video clips?

I can summarize it

God God God, Jesus is god, the one and only God, but he is three also.,everyone else going to hell, even those who believe in Jesus, because they dont believe in MY version of Jesus. God God God, sinners,hell hell hell, Jesus Jesus Jesus.

*please note i didn't actually watch the video*

fixed left out crucial particulars

d spike

Postby d spike » May 19th, 2011, 7:42 am

turbohead wrote:
if your God according to the bible could be disrespectful by calling out to his mother as "woman" when she wanted him to help out the situation a bit with the low on stocks and when he went in the temple and beat the priest out of it, that doesnt sound like a God of love and affection for sinners...

Of course it doesn't - but that is because you do not understand what was written (just like megadoc!)
I have said many times before, that one needs to understand the idiom of the language that was originally spoken. "Woman" was (and still is) a term of respect. You are making the common mistake of attempting to translate a foreign idiom by using the modern, local one you use - the only time this is acceptable in literature is in comic writing (read Mark Twain's "The Jumping Frog of Calveras County" - I think that was the title). I might also point out to you (again) that if you wish to make remarks about a piece of writing, perhaps you should read it first. Jesus never chased or beat any priest out of the temple, but it was the money-lenders and vendors who were turning his "Father's house into a market-place".

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 19th, 2011, 10:56 pm

d spike it was a sacarstic approach at mega, i stop being serious.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 21st, 2011, 1:04 am

turbohead wrote:d spike it was a sacarstic approach at mega

Really?

Oh...

Then I must congratulate you on your literary ability to cleverly disguise sarcasm as deluded ignorance.

pandu

Postby pandu » May 22nd, 2011, 1:35 pm

d spike, title of twain's book was "the celebrated jumping frog of calaveras county." Quite a good read.

Oh just btw, your tone of condescension in each of your posts probably is what causes more responses here than anything else. :D

d spike

Postby d spike » May 22nd, 2011, 1:45 pm

pandu wrote:d spike, title of twain's book was "the celebrated jumping frog of calaveras county." Quite a good read.

Thanks! That read was decades ago... but most of it is still fondly recalled from time to time.

pandu wrote:Oh just btw, your tone of condescension in each of your posts probably is what causes more responses here than anything else. :D

:lol: The condescension is always strictly applied in direct proportion to the arrogance, ignorance and presumption to which it responds...

pandu

Postby pandu » May 22nd, 2011, 2:04 pm

Everyone has an opinion. Doesn't make it right, but if every post requires that you be condescending to them, then maybe you should lighten up and leave them be.

(I realise this is my opinion)

d spike

Postby d spike » May 22nd, 2011, 4:49 pm

pandu wrote:Everyone has an opinion. Doesn't make it right, but if every post requires that you be condescending to them, then maybe you should lighten up and leave them be.

(I realise this is my opinion)

You are right, quite right... that is your opinion.

Perhaps you should pay more attention to the substance of my posts, rather than their tone - that way you will more easily understand what I am saying. This discussion has been going on for quite some time, and there were other threads in which some of us held similar discussions... if you go back and read what was said there, you would understand my position. However, life has shown that many of us prefer to hold an opinion and voice it rather than quietly ensure it is the right one.
One is entitled to an opinion... but that same entitlement carries an oft-ignored obligation, a responsibility, to verify such an opinion.

Religion is the relationship man has with his God... whatever concept of God he has doesn't matter, it could even be just an inflated sense of Right being better than Wrong...
We are all free to find our way along this journey of life... and to tell others about what we find, how we found it, and to encourage others to try our pathway.
My beef is with people who tell you that your way is wrong, and theirs is the ONLY way.

An old lady once described the multiplicity of religions in this way, "We are all climbing a mountain. Finding our way to the top. Some walk along an easy, cleared path... some struggle upwards through the brambles. But we all are striving upwards."
There is nothing wrong about showing others your chosen pathway, and certainly, by all means help those who fall, or cease to climb.
But for those who thump their chests, falling prey to pride, rather than the seeking of that which we are here for:
d spike wrote:The condescension is always strictly applied in direct proportion to the arrogance, ignorance and presumption to which it responds...

(Unless, of course, you see arrogance, ignorance and presumption as being perfectly acceptable virtues of the religious life. :wink: )

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2011, 8:42 am

thanks mega and qg for the condolences.

in re-reading my posts, i may seem a bit high strung, but it is not so the tone is more inquisitive rather than condemning. i cannot understand the christian concept of godhead, and thought i could get a different answer that what i had encountered before, but no. so i would now leave that be,,,, to each his own, in peace.

spike asked for my intention if i were given a satisfactory explanation of the triune god. if i could understand it, maybe i may at least not be so confufled, because compared to what i already have, it seems contradictory, in my head at least.
if the explanation is so good that it describes a path that is better than what i have, then i would be compelled to follow that, as it would then be an improvement. but it does not seem better than what i have, and what i have seems far superior (fanatical much...) so i would remain with this.

really and truly, this is an exchange of ideas and explanations of theologies. the name calling and condescending tone need not be here.

i explained my views as best i could, i explained why i am cornfused about the triune god. i did not get an answer which satisfies me. i am content with that, because when asked about my own theology, other people may not get a good enough answer from me, but that is the best i can do, and they may think i am mad. stalemate is reached and so we move to something else.

an example of that is with the version of jibra'il that mega is purporting. he reads it and believes it describes a demon. i read it and see an amazing encounter so different it is frightening.
we have a difference of opinion on the same matter. so, i put forward my ideas on the subject, he puts forward his, and if nothing else, knowledge is gained, so move on from there.
my rational is insufficient to convince him and his is insufficient to convince me.
so i not going to argue about jibra'il being an angel. if asked my perception of the information i would venture my interpretation.

QG

Postby QG » May 23rd, 2011, 8:27 pm

I know what you are saying Smash, i understand!!

Also in Islam, Jinn can be a good or bad spirit! My islam brother saw several Jinns in his mirror that appeared like a smoke. He asked if I ever expereinced that, but I never did.
Smash, have you ever experienced that??

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2011, 9:28 pm

well, normal culture all over the world tells of god, angels and demons, and spirits, where spirits are from dead people and demons are from fallen angels.

the islamic perspective on this is different. god made the angels, who do stuff as commanded. they are made of light and have no choice, they cannot choose past disobedience to god. they can think enough to formulate questions, but cannot disobey. this would mean that they cannot fall. they are like robots that u can instruct to reach a certain place but they can choose how to reach there, but they must reach there as that is the overall command.

god created man, out of clay, with choice to obey god and worship him or not. we cannot do any thing which god can benefit from so the main article of doing what he intends is how we treat his other creations like the other people or animals and the environment. being obedient to god would be judged on judgement day, and only god would judge on that day, so no one is certain of their destiny until that day.

before god created man, he created the jinn. this is where the story differs along a tangent to the normal concepts of the spirit realm. it is so different that it is not even opposite, it is too different.
the jinn were created after the angels, and they were made of smokeless fire. they are not robots as the angels are, they also have choice. they have although been commanded to stay away from humans. they live in the dark, far away, lonely desolate places like deserts and forests. they live in holes, they have varying number of legs or wings. but the thing is, the description we get of them physically, we may not be able to understand because to me it seems they exist in another manner than us, so legs and wings may not resemble what we are accustomed to be seeing.

they have choice like us humans. they would also be judged on the final day, they have families, homes, animals, communities just like us. the stronger ones can materialize into forms we can perceive, like black dogs, donkeys, snakes etc. the really strong ones torment people.
they have religions, and some of them are even muslim. the obedient ones stay away from humans as commanded, but the wicked ones disobey and come around.

we believe that when a person dies, their soul departs and does not reactivate until the day of judgment. so when every u see something like a deceased that would be a wicked jinn. all the voodoo and obeah, are information obtained from wicked jinn. we are told that they spy on the angels, and get some information, then feed that to the obeah people with lies. the persons soliciting the witchdoctors get a piece of truth which entices them, and then led to do wrong things thinking that what they do is also good.

jinns are all around, as they exist in the same physical space, but in a different way. we are always never alone.

understanding this has modified my fear of the unknown somewhat. in that i do not fear so much as i avoid. just like avoiding bad companies of humans and avoiding place where they do their wickedness, i avoid things associated with utilizing spiritual forces.

i believe that the jinns were commanded to stay from humans, and the good ones obey while the wicked ones disobey. therefore, if any body utilizes spiritual forces or accesses them, then they would be from the jinns, but not the good ones. if those sources are the bad guys then they would only intend bad, so i stay away as much as i can.

all these things about la 'diables, and soucouyant and vampires and stuff, is not i dont believe that they exist, is just that i dont believe they are as normal people think. i believe that they are wicked forces, i.e. jinn, fooling humans, terrorizing them, and at the same time perpetuating the system of belief of other worldly forces of power.

the problem is, that all those nancy stories distract people away from understanding that god is the ultimate power, and him alone is to be sought for help. the normal people go to see witchdoctors, who interact and depend on the same evil forces u want to get rid off. so is like seeking protection from the mob from the gyanstahs.

there are episodes which maybe, like the one involving my padnah and a ouija board, but they may be coincidental, but weirdly coincidental though.
the real thing that i have noticed is that i get correction every now and then. some thing i may be doing, which is not so good, but then i get a lil 'slap on the wrist' which makes me stop. after some time, when looking back, if i had continued, i would have been very badly off.

i do not dismiss the tales i hear as false or fantasy, but in doing so, i try not to encourage dwelling on it, as that is a form of inviting them to continue.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 23rd, 2011, 9:43 pm

another misconception of many ppl is they say that satan was an angel but was he really, when commanded to prostrate to Adam(as) he defied an said that God created him from fire and he is far superior than man who was created from clay. from this we can deduce that satan wasnt an angel as they were created from light of the purest form, and he from smokeless fire.

ppl have asked me on occasions about jinns and their existance and i tell them that i believe in it as i had encounters with them already but ppl would pass the stories i relate to them as nancy stories and ppl playing the a$$ but in actuality far from it.

QG

Postby QG » May 24th, 2011, 12:07 am

sMASH wrote:well, normal culture all over the world tells of god, angels and demons, and spirits, where spirits are from dead people and demons are from fallen angels.

the islamic perspective on this is different. god made the angels, who do stuff as commanded. they are made of light and have no choice, they cannot choose past disobedience to god. they can think enough to formulate questions, but cannot disobey. this would mean that they cannot fall. they are like robots that u can instruct to reach a certain place but they can choose how to reach there, but they must reach there as that is the overall command.

god created man, out of clay, with choice to obey god and worship him or not. we cannot do any thing which god can benefit from so the main article of doing what he intends is how we treat his other creations like the other people or animals and the environment. being obedient to god would be judged on judgement day, and only god would judge on that day, so no one is certain of their destiny until that day.

before god created man, he created the jinn. this is where the story differs along a tangent to the normal concepts of the spirit realm. it is so different that it is not even opposite, it is too different.
the jinn were created after the angels, and they were made of smokeless fire. they are not robots as the angels are, they also have choice. they have although been commanded to stay away from humans. they live in the dark, far away, lonely desolate places like deserts and forests. they live in holes, they have varying number of legs or wings. but the thing is, the description we get of them physically, we may not be able to understand because to me it seems they exist in another manner than us, so legs and wings may not resemble what we are accustomed to be seeing.

they have choice like us humans. they would also be judged on the final day, they have families, homes, animals, communities just like us. the stronger ones can materialize into forms we can perceive, like black dogs, donkeys, snakes etc. the really strong ones torment people.
they have religions, and some of them are even muslim. the obedient ones stay away from humans as commanded, but the wicked ones disobey and come around.

we believe that when a person dies, their soul departs and does not reactivate until the day of judgment. so when every u see something like a deceased that would be a wicked jinn. all the voodoo and obeah, are information obtained from wicked jinn. we are told that they spy on the angels, and get some information, then feed that to the obeah people with lies. the persons soliciting the witchdoctors get a piece of truth which entices them, and then led to do wrong things thinking that what they do is also good.

jinns are all around, as they exist in the same physical space, but in a different way. we are always never alone.

understanding this has modified my fear of the unknown somewhat. in that i do not fear so much as i avoid. just like avoiding bad companies of humans and avoiding place where they do their wickedness, i avoid things associated with utilizing spiritual forces.

i believe that the jinns were commanded to stay from humans, and the good ones obey while the wicked ones disobey. therefore, if any body utilizes spiritual forces or accesses them, then they would be from the jinns, but not the good ones. if those sources are the bad guys then they would only intend bad, so i stay away as much as i can.

all these things about la 'diables, and soucouyant and vampires and stuff, is not i dont believe that they exist, is just that i dont believe they are as normal people think. i believe that they are wicked forces, i.e. jinn, fooling humans, terrorizing them, and at the same time perpetuating the system of belief of other worldly forces of power.

the problem is, that all those nancy stories distract people away from understanding that god is the ultimate power, and him alone is to be sought for help. the normal people go to see witchdoctors, who interact and depend on the same evil forces u want to get rid off. so is like seeking protection from the mob from the gyanstahs.

there are episodes which maybe, like the one involving my padnah and a ouija board, but they may be coincidental, but weirdly coincidental though.
the real thing that i have noticed is that i get correction every now and then. some thing i may be doing, which is not so good, but then i get a lil 'slap on the wrist' which makes me stop. after some time, when looking back, if i had continued, i would have been very badly off.

i do not dismiss the tales i hear as false or fantasy, but in doing so, i try not to encourage dwelling on it, as that is a form of inviting them to continue.

Very informative deh pal! In Christianity we just call it spirits :lol: :lol:

So in general, you never saw a Jinn?
I think not all muslims can see them, well my pal is a scholar in islam and he saw them just a few times! Rare occassions.

Postby sMASH » May 24th, 2011, 9:08 pm

if i did, i did not know. but then, i try to avoid those things, like Halloween, games of chance like play-whe, lucky charms like rabbit foot, and throwing salt over ur shoulder or walking indoors backwards late at night.

instead of all those things, we say a pray to god directly, cause that is all we really need.

QG

Postby QG » May 25th, 2011, 5:51 pm

Okay man...no scene!!

Postby bluefete » May 26th, 2011, 8:09 am

turbohead wrote:
this here is the ending of surah maida ch5 v110-120. very beautiful words of Allaah. we muslims have sound proof where Jesus would deny such accusations of Godhood. where's the contradiction there? the link for the entire chapter

http://www.muslimconverts.com/quran/Nob ... urah5.html

110. (Remember) when Allâh will say (on the Day of Resurrection). "O 'Iesa (Jesus), son of Maryam (Mary)! Remember My Favour to you and to your mother when I supported you with Rûh­ul­Qudus [Jibrael (Gabriel)] so that you spoke to the people in the cradle and in maturity; and when I taught you writing, Al­Hikmah (the power of understanding), the Taurât (Torah) and the Injeel (Gospel); and when you made out of the clay, as it were, the figure of a bird, by My Permission, and you breathed into it, and it became a bird by My Permission, and you healed those born blind, and the lepers by My Permission, and when you brought forth the dead by My Permission; and when I restrained the Children of Israel from you (when they resolved to kill you) since you came unto them with clear proofs, and the disbelievers among them said: 'This is nothing but evident magic.' "

Very interesting: Take a read here -

The Infancy Gospel of Thomas
Latin Text
From "The Apocryphal New Testament"
M.R. James-Translation and Notes
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1924

IV. What Jesus did in the city of Nazareth.

It is a glorious work for Thomas the Israelite (Ismaelite) the apostle of the Lord to tell of the works of Jesus after he came out of Egypt unto Nazareth. Hear (understand) therefore all of you beloved brethren, the signs which the Lord Jesus did when he was in the city of Nazareth: as it is said in the first chapter.

1 Now when Jesus was five years old there was a great rain upon the earth, and the child Jesus walked about therein. And the rain was very terrible: and he gathered the water together into a pool and commanded with a word that it should become clear: and forthwith it did so.

2 Again, he took of the clay which came of that pool and made thereof to the number of twelve sparrows. Now it was the Sabbath day when Jesus did this among the children of the Hebrews: and the children of the Hebrews went and said unto Joseph his father: Lo, thy son was playing with us and he took clay and made sparrows which it was not right to do upon the Sabbath, and he hath broken it. And Joseph went to the child Jesus, and said unto him: Wherefore hast thou done this which it was not right to do on the Sabbath? But Jesus spread forth (opened) his hands and commanded the sparrows, saying: Go forth into the height and fly: ye shall not meet death at any man's hands. And they flew and began to cry out and praise almighty God. But when the Jews saw what was done they marvelled and departed, proclaiming the signs which Jesus did.

WRITTEN AROUND 140-170 A.D.

http://www.earlychristianwritings.com/t ... james.html

This is taken from one of the apocryphal books not contained in the bible.

QG

Postby QG » May 26th, 2011, 12:18 pm

Hmmm very interesting!!!!!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 26th, 2011, 5:49 pm

bluefete wrote:
turbohead wrote:
this here is the ending of surah maida ch5 v110-120. very beautiful words of Allaah. we muslims have sound proof where Jesus would deny such accusations of Godhood. where's the contradiction there? the link for the entire chapter

http://www.muslimconverts.com/quran/Nob ... urah5.html

110. (Remember) when Allâh will say (on the Day of Resurrection). "O 'Iesa (Jesus), son of Maryam (Mary)! Remember My Favour to you and to your mother when I supported you with Rûh­ul­Qudus [Jibrael (Gabriel)] so that you spoke to the people in the cradle and in maturity; and when I taught you writing, Al­Hikmah (the power of understanding), the Taurât (Torah) and the Injeel (Gospel); and when you made out of the clay, as it were, the figure of a bird, by My Permission, and you breathed into it, and it became a bird by My Permission, and you healed those born blind, and the lepers by My Permission, and when you brought forth the dead by My Permission; and when I restrained the Children of Israel from you (when they resolved to kill you) since you came unto them with clear proofs, and the disbelievers among them said: 'This is nothing but evident magic.' "

Very interesting: Take a read here -

The Infancy Gospel of Thomas
Latin Text
From "The Apocryphal New Testament"
M.R. James-Translation and Notes
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1924

IV. What Jesus did in the city of Nazareth.

It is a glorious work for Thomas the Israelite (Ismaelite) the apostle of the Lord to tell of the works of Jesus after he came out of Egypt unto Nazareth. Hear (understand) therefore all of you beloved brethren, the signs which the Lord Jesus did when he was in the city of Nazareth: as it is said in the first chapter.

1 Now when Jesus was five years old there was a great rain upon the earth, and the child Jesus walked about therein. And the rain was very terrible: and he gathered the water together into a pool and commanded with a word that it should become clear: and forthwith it did so.

2 Again, he took of the clay which came of that pool and made thereof to the number of twelve sparrows. Now it was the Sabbath day when Jesus did this among the children of the Hebrews: and the children of the Hebrews went and said unto Joseph his father: Lo, thy son was playing with us and he took clay and made sparrows which it was not right to do upon the Sabbath, and he hath broken it. And Joseph went to the child Jesus, and said unto him: Wherefore hast thou done this which it was not right to do on the Sabbath? But Jesus spread forth (opened) his hands and commanded the sparrows, saying: Go forth into the height and fly: ye shall not meet death at any man's hands. And they flew and began to cry out and praise almighty God. But when the Jews saw what was done they marvelled and departed, proclaiming the signs which Jesus did.

WRITTEN AROUND 140-170 A.D.

http://www.earlychristianwritings.com/t ... james.html

This is taken from one of the apocryphal books not contained in the bible.

what are you proving here, similarities between both narrations or differences. if its the latter then i still done see where Jesus is God....

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 27th, 2011, 1:06 am

what are you proving here, similarities between both narrations or differences. if its the latter then i still done see where Jesus is God....

what this had to do with anything blufete posted?
it didn't occur to you that he was merely pointing out an instance of plagiarism?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 28th, 2011, 1:06 pm

plagiarism? plagiarism is when four guys copy wholesale from eachother an claim divine inspiration.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 28th, 2011, 2:24 pm

ok cool

Postby bluefete » June 15th, 2011, 7:00 pm

"Science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind.” -
Albert Einstein

The time cometh.

Postby MG Man » June 15th, 2011, 7:16 pm

blue and megadoc
it may please you gentlemen to know I have started reading the bible
so far, Genesis........I am trying to keep an open mind
so far.........why does it say god created this and that, and HE was pleased, but when it was time for man, it says 'we' shall create him in 'our' image........I found that a bit weird

and when abel killed cain (or did i get the names wrong), why did god curse him, rather than forgive him for his jealousy over his brother making a nicer offering? and why did god put a curse severny times worse on anyone who would spill abel's blood? Why did god dish out these curses? what about redemption and asking for forgiveness on judgement day etc? if on judgement day abel is unrepentive, does it mean he will be punished twice? once via the crops and beasts refusing to bend to his will, then damnation in hell?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 15th, 2011, 10:43 pm

mg as for the we an out part of it, in the quran if you read english versions you would see it also, but this is termed in th arabic language as a plural of respect not of quantity.

d spike

Postby d spike » June 15th, 2011, 11:20 pm

turbohead wrote:mg as for the we an out part of it, in the quran if you read english versions you would see it also, but this is termed in th arabic language as a plural of respect not of quantity.

This is called the "majestic plural"... rather like how the Queen was quoted as saying, "We are not amused."

However, as I had pointed out in a much earlier post in another thread with megadoc, the early Hebrew translations make it quite clear that this is not the case with that particular post - something many Christians don't know. Confusing the use of the plural in this particular quote as being an example of the majestic plural is a quite common mistake.

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2011, 4:24 am

MG Man wrote:blue and megadoc
it may please you gentlemen to know I have started reading the bible (Good.)
so far, Genesis........I am trying to keep an open mind
so far.........why does it say god created this and that (Because He did.), and HE was pleased, but when it was time for man, it says 'we' shall create him in 'our' image (This is to drive home the point that there was more than one being existing at the time of creation.

The Book of John in Chapter 1 states that

"In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

2The same was in the beginning with God.

3All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.

4In him was life; and the life was the light of men.

5And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not."

14And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. (John 1:1-5;14)

I think Duane mentioned the concept of the "majestic plural" to explain the "Us" concept. However, it does not fit with the cross-references mentioned many times in the Bible.

Humans were not created like monkeys. We were created in the image of God. We were given choice. What choices does a monkey have to make? Why are humans superior to everything else in the world?)
........I found that a bit weird

and when abel killed cain (Actually, Cain killed Abel)(or did i get the names wrong), why did god curse him, rather than forgive him for his jealousy over his brother making a nicer offering? (We could also ask why did God not institute capital punishment here? He was sending the message that sometimes it can be more terrible to live than to die. That is why life in prison for murder (not like the 20 years we call life here in T&T) can be very difficult for the murderer. This murder was premeditated and Abels blood was crying out from the ground to God. Remember, this was the first recorded murder.) and why did god put a curse seven times worse on anyone who would spill abel's blood? (Again, to send a message. Back then, people lived for many hundreds of years so anyone who killed Cain would have ignored the mark God put on him and thus must suffer the consequences.) Why did god dish out these curses? what about redemption and asking for forgiveness on judgement day etc? if on judgement day abel is unrepentive, does it mean he will be punished twice? once via the crops and beasts refusing to bend to his will, then damnation in hell?

(Hebrews 9:27 And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment:

We have to ask God's forgiveness while we are alive. We do not know if Cain ever did that thus only God knows what will happen to Cain on judgment day.

These are all very good questions.)

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 16th, 2011, 10:41 pm

came across this the other day.

it says 'we' shall create him in 'our' image (This is to drive home the point that there was more than one being existing at the time of creation.

in the Quran there are many instances of this but we still worship one God, wat is there so complicated in it, there is no proof of the trinity as the trinity concept never existed in the old testament as ppl pre Jesus was lookin forward to a messiah(annointed one) not a God on earth, as explained before, when you attribute human qualities to God he ceases to be God because it is understood we cannot imagine anything that is similar to God as it will never be God.

to megadoc on the devil theory through angel gabriel to Muhammed(saw) i was giving it long thought on how to show his great rank amongst the Prophets, he was so immensely blessed that we regard Moses(as) as a great prophet and yet still when the ppl asked Moses to ask God to produce a sign for them to reveal himself and God directed His light unto the mountain it crumbled, therein again when Moses was to be given revelation he was told to fast for 40 days and then proceed to the mount on which he had been given and audience with God, for Muhammed(saw) it was so, he was given the words of God at any given time through different means as recorded in authentic ahadith. the Quran was proven truth over and over by many scholars muslim's an none muslm's and yet still ppl refute it as the final message.

QG

Postby QG » June 19th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Hmm......

Postby bluefete » July 31st, 2011, 7:06 pm

The end of evolution? Scientists say human brain may have reached full capacity

By Daily Mail Reporter

Last updated at 12:16 PM on 31st July 2011

The human brain may have reached the limit of its intelligence because it would be too tiring to become even smarter.

A brain accounts for two per cent of the body's mass but needs 20 per cent of our energy to use, and any increase in brainpower could exhaust us completely, new research claims.

Experts say that after millions of years of evolution, which has seen the human brain become bigger and cleverer, it may not be able to improve its capacity any further.

As well as the amount of energy needed to use it, the scientists have also said the miniaturisation of brain cells, and the increase in links between them, may have also reached its natural limit, which also has a direct impact on intelligence.

'We have demonstrated that brains must consume energy to function and that these requirements are sufficiently demanding to limit our performance and determine design,' professor of neurobiology at Cambridge University, Simon Laughlin, told the Observer.
Shrinking? Experts claim over time the brain could reduce in size, back towards our our Neanderthal ancestors, to reduce the energy it consumes

'Far-reaching powers of deduction demand a lot of energy because, for the brain to search out new relationships it must correlate information from different sources. Such energy demands mean there is a limit to the information we can process,' he said.

Laughlin has been describing this idea in a new book called 'Work Meets Life', in which he explains the exact energy needed by brain cells.

In it he claims brain cells require the same energy as the heart muscle, and that grey matter, the cells that help the brain with reasoning, are the most energy draining.

He also claims that the brain could even shrink in the future if the human body thinks it best to have less brain power and use energy elsewhere.

Academics say evolution has already used several techniques to make humans cleverer, particularly by increasing the brain's actual size and improving the organisation of brain cells.

This has had a direct impact on IQ, according to Dutch professor of psychiatry at Utrecht medical centre, Martijn van den Heuvel has said.

'Increasing the power of the brain would take a disproportionate increase in energy consumption. It is risky to predict the distant future but it is clear that there are tight constraints on intelligence.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/ ... z1Tj62bgYI

REVERSE EVOLUTION FTW!!

Ah yes. These scientists who think they are greater than God.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2011, 8:13 pm

^ can you bring better evidence than that other than a dailymail.co.uk tabloid story?

dailymail reported today that "Caribbean Airlines" crashed in St Barthelemy - Caribean Airlines does not even fly to St. Barts
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... crash.html

you should not blindly believe everything you read
you should also not think something must be true just because you want to believe it is :idea: