COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 107 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 17th, 2020, 10:32 pm

hydroep wrote:Image

Kevin is a loss cause

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2020, 11:42 pm

pnm die hards is a loss cause

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 107 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 18th, 2020, 5:20 am

Once again folks...it was pure luck that saved T&T.

We can safely say that the virus was never here.

So unfair for a country that is so irresponsible to get away from pandemics and natural disasters.

A wake up call is needed....it wont be funny and i will not like it, but allyuh really need something.

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2020, 5:27 am

MaxPower wrote:Once again folks...it was pure luck that saved T&T.

So unfair for a country that is so irresponsible to get away from pandemics and natural disasters.

A wake up call is needed....it wont be funny and i will not like it, but allyuh really need something.

EHH??? :? :?

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 5:34 am

we didnt get SARS cov-2.
we got SA/CJAG pnm-2 (Severe Acute/Chronic Jack ASS Government pnm-2)

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2020, 5:53 am

Is how men does be bitter we didn’t suffer the worst .... allyuh hate this country yes.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 6:04 am

j.o.e wrote:Is how men does be bitter we didn’t suffer the worst .... allyuh hate this country yes.

just the malicious government.

Postby MaxPower » May 18th, 2020, 6:08 am

Harsh eh?

No one likes to hear the solution for change.

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2020, 6:09 am

sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Is how men does be bitter we didn’t suffer the worst .... allyuh hate this country yes.

Thanks for confirming. People dying and suffering is worth it because it will make the govt you hate look bad. Such a patriot

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 6:14 am

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Thanks for confirming. People dying and suffering is worth it because it will make the govt you hate look bad. Such a patriot
since when does the government equate the country? just want them lying bastards out of there for more honest competent people to run the show.

pnm is NOT trinidad. they started it and was in charge for the majority of the time, but are not synonymous with this place.
get PNM out, this place will run better.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 6:21 am

u make me forget what i come to type.

we have a problem. the conditions that 'supposedly' helped us not get hit as hard as other places, will not be be in place much any more.... rainy season. the weather will be cool and wet. perfect conditions to sustain the virus particles between persons.

it might last longer outside the body now, and when in another body, might not be as weakened.

if we can do antibody testing to estimate what part of the population has it, we could know if to lock back down or if to keep on opening up.

Postby MaxPower » May 18th, 2020, 6:25 am

Hello j.o.e,

You do know that IF the virus was here we would have more than likely suffered the worst in the Caribbean right?

You do know that the majority of citizens did NOT comply with SD and hygiene measures?

Have you any idea how many innocent abiding citizens would have been affected because of the irresponsible actions of YOUR countrymen?

T&T continues to play the ASS and has proven that they do not give a damn even in a pandemic. People are dying and suffering all over the world and life goes on as normal in T&T.

Btw,

Patriotism - the quality of being patriotic; devotion to and vigorous support for one's country.

Don’t sell yourself dreams my brother.

Allyuh dont deserve to be in this comfortable position.

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2020, 6:31 am

Harsh eh?

No one likes to hear the solution for change.

It probably inflaming your chest that given your ad nauseam attacks on "allyuh Trinis" and their unhygienic practices, that the outbreak wasn't worse, and we didn't end up like Venezuela ent?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2020, 6:40 am

You does worry me yes...with thinking like yours, no wonder Trinidad the way it is

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2020, 9:02 am

paid_influencer wrote:On vaccines and herd immunity - we have reports from all around the world of people being re-infected after they have recovered. If the science supports re-infection, herd immunity as a concept no longer exists. Vaccines are promising but do not come with any guarantee on effectiveness or ready date. It is possible coronavirus will become like the seasonal flu, only with a far more gruesome annual death toll.

No place on Earth is anywhere close to herd immunity for the coronavirus

Morgan McFall-Johnsen 

May 16, 2020, 2:42 PM

Countries hit hard by the coronavirus, like Spain, France, and the US, are finding that even devastating waves of coronavirus infections haven't gotten their populations anywhere near the threshold of herd immunity.

An estimated 5% of these countries' populations have coronavirus antibodies — a far cry from the 50-70% required to stop the virus's spread.

This week, studies in Spain and France suggested that no more than 5% of those populations have developed COVID-19 antibodies. Each country has reported more than 27,000 deaths from the virus as of Thursday.

Spain's evidence shows that "large outbreaks and excess mortality do NOT produce meaningful herd immunity," William Hanage, an epidemiologist at Harvard, said on Twitter.

Until a vaccine becomes widely available, experts recommend closely monitoring the virus through widespread testing and contact tracing, then isolating infected people and anyone with whom they came into contact. Governments may also need to re-close businesses and put restrictions back into place if infections threaten to surpass local hospital capacities again.

"A very low proportion of the people that have been tested have evidence of antibodies," Maria Van Kerkhove, a WHO epidemiologist, said at a press conference on Monday. "We have a long way to go with this virus, because the virus has more people that can be infected."

https://www.businessinsider.com/nowhere ... rus-2020-5

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 18th, 2020, 9:18 am

^ I thought Sweden was said to have herd immunity?

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2020, 9:49 am

elec2020 wrote:^ I thought Sweden was said to have herd immunity?
I don't believe that anything was ever reported about achieving it. Sweden did not close businesses but did observe social distancing practices.

Sweden has one of the highest Covid-19 related mortality rates in the world. Their economic contraction has been similar to neighboring countries (Finland and Norway) that closed business sectors and had a much lower mortality rate. There was never a mention of achieving "herd immunity."

-----------

Swedish Prime Minister Defends COVID-19 Response

By VOA News

May 15, 2020 10:38 AM

Other European nations have expressed concern about Sweden's relatively "soft approach" to fighting the coronavirus. While they did ban large gatherings, restaurants and schools for younger children have stayed open. The government has urged social distancing, and Swedes have largely complied.

https://www.voanews.com/europe/swedish- ... 9-response

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2020, 10:12 am

Simply requesting businesses to implement safety, mask wearing and social distancing protocols might not be enough.
How will it be enforced?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2020, 10:16 am

Simply requesting businesses to implement safety, mask wearing and social distancing protocols might not be enough.
How will it be enforced?

We have to police ourselves.
If we incapable of that then we have to let the chips lie where they fall.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 10:19 am

sweden's mortality is twice that of ours, an ours is based on our official rate of sampling, which every one will agree was very limited. sweden limited gatherings to no more than 50, masks and social distancing were recommendations as opposed to hard enforced rules. they do acknowledge that a significant portion of their deaths occurred in the old age homes.
they also have their borders open.
last i know they haven't acheived herd immunity, but it is their target, and they say u get that from 40 to 60% of the population getting anitbodies, and thus enough of the population woudl not be able to transmit it again.

their economy slowed down because citizens were choosing to reduce their activity as well as their trade partners not trading as much. contrasting our lock down, and maintenance of such.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2020, 10:37 am

sMASH wrote:sweden's mortality is twice that of ours, an ours is based on our official rate of sampling, which every one will agree was very limited. sweden limited gatherings to no more than 50, masks and social distancing were recommendations as opposed to hard enforced rules. they do acknowledge that a significant portion of their deaths occurred in the old age homes.
last i know they haven't acheived herd immunity, but it is their target, and they say u get that from 40 to 60% of the population getting anitbodies, and thus enough of the population woudl not be able to transmit it again.

their economy slowed down because citizens were choosing to reduce their activity as well as their trade partners not trading as much. contrasting our lock down, and maintenance of such.

what do you mean Sweden's mortality rate is twice that of ours?
Sweden has suffered 3,698 deaths in a population of 10 million as of today
T&T has suffered 8 deaths in a population of 1.4 million as of today
What are you checking? percentage of those infected?

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2020, 10:52 am

Rowley too busy reposting letter of praise

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 10:58 am

sMASH wrote:sweden's mortality is twice that of ours, an ours is based on our official rate of sampling, which every one will agree was very limited. sweden limited gatherings to no more than 50, masks and social distancing were recommendations as opposed to hard enforced rules. they do acknowledge that a significant portion of their deaths occurred in the old age homes.

based on confirmed cases. they had like 29,600~ cases.

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2020, 11:20 am

I won't trust some trinis to self isolate unless they were guarded outside their house. Several weeks ago a student who came back from some country who was supposed to be doing that left her home to do a CNC3 interview.
Even if most comply, all it takes is one person who 'feels fine' but is an asymptomatic spreader to spoil it for all of us.
As for borders, only allow nationals in but state quarantine them and only allow in as much as we have the capacity for at the quarantine facilities.

Postby hydroep » May 18th, 2020, 11:35 am

At the press conference this morning The Express finally challenged the Government on border porosity - specifically the continued inflow of Venezuelans possibly undermining the progress made so far.

Ah never see Minister Ding-a-ling run away from a question so fast. He instructed the journalist to take that matter up with the Minister of National Security.

However, he did mention their access to primary health care continues and COVID-19 has been added to the list of infectious diseases falling under that remit...:|
Last edited by hydroep on May 18th, 2020, 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2020, 11:35 am

Herd immunity can only be considered in terms of a vaccine which over 60% get. Not as 60% of the population getting the virus. How much ppl are u willing to kill to reach herd immunity? In New York, the epicentre of this pandemic they estimate about 20%~ of the population has gotten it. That is still far from the 60 to 70 % needed. Once you reach it the damage is already done! And you probably would have a vaccine by then so why have thousands of bodies piling up and thousands of families in mourning?
Sweden may end up regretting not taking action.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2020, 11:36 am

hydroep wrote:At the press conference this morning The Express finally challenged the Government on border porosity - specifically the continued inflow of Venezuelans possibly undermining the progress made so far.

Ah never see Minister Ding-a-ling run away from a question so fast. He instructed the journalist to take that matter up with the Minister of National Security.

However, he did mention their access to primary health care continues and COVID-19 has been added to the list of infectious diseases that falling under that remit...:|

He's not wrong, though.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 18th, 2020, 11:38 am

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:^ I thought Sweden was said to have herd immunity?
I don't believe that anything was ever reported about achieving it. Sweden did not close businesses but did observe social distancing practices.

Sweden has one of the highest Covid-19 related mortality rates in the world. Their economic contraction has been similar to neighboring countries (Finland and Norway) that closed business sectors and had a much lower mortality rate. There was never a mention of achieving "herd immunity."

-----------

Swedish Prime Minister Defends COVID-19 Response

By VOA News

May 15, 2020 10:38 AM

Other European nations have expressed concern about Sweden's relatively "soft approach" to fighting the coronavirus. While they did ban large gatherings, restaurants and schools for younger children have stayed open. The government has urged social distancing, and Swedes have largely complied.

https://www.voanews.com/europe/swedish- ... 9-response

Thanks for the information

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2020, 11:44 am

sMASH wrote:

Yes it's over 30,000 now. But I am trying to understand your maths when you say "sweden's mortality is twice that of ours".

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 12:06 pm

sMASH wrote:

Yes it's over 30,000 now. But I am trying to understand your maths when you say "sweden's mortality is twice that of ours".

probably outright mortality is incorrect to use. but was comparing it according to infected, not sure what term to use for that.

just seeing how deadly the virus is to those who contract it. is it a death sentence or is it escapable. so if u can risk some infection because its somewhat survivable, and let the majority continue, until herd is achieved.