The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 2:37 pm

eliteauto wrote:As is my right, remember, people like me eh too bright, I'm just a taxi driver dat eh require no passes yuhnno. This thinking out the box thing too hard I does leave that for edumacated fellas like yuhself
Yup a typical police proffesion with a PBR pass .

dem passes is a perk of meh PNMness, I eh no poleese fadda, is not you self say I issa failure poleese? Last I heard the word on tuner is I issa sufferer, doh begrudge me meh lil PBR pass nah is all ah have

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2020, 2:39 pm

teems1 wrote:Is the finger in ink process going to remain the same?

Also the stamp which is used. Is that going to be sterilized between votes?

good questions, I've been wondering the same. I won't be surprised if all we get is a wash station/ hand sanitizer before entering the polling station or voting booth

Postby maj. tom » July 6th, 2020, 2:42 pm

That will definitely be a must. And they should also provide masks as a backup for those who come in to vote and don't have one. They can't deny a vote because a person forgot their mask.
I think the population has had good training for all those big groceries and government institutions to know the drill.

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » July 6th, 2020, 2:45 pm

bluefete wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:What is Philip Edward Alexander's qualifications? What does he do for a living?

Check The Jericho Project. You might learn some VERY interesting things about lack of accountability.

But that is the same thing with PNM and UNC.

That sounds serious. Do you have specifics to share? What are the VERY interesting things we will learn? How is it you guys keep popping up with supposed secret info but could never say it plain? Where can we find this info on the Jericho Project? Please help the voters out and share the wealth.

The time for beating around the bush with vague accusations is over. Put the information into the public domain and let the chips fall where they may. The election date has been set and now is the time to expose any wrong doing by these people presenting themselves to lead at any level.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 6th, 2020, 2:47 pm

eliteauto wrote:
teems1 wrote:Is the finger in ink process going to remain the same?

Also the stamp which is used. Is that going to be sterilized between votes?

good questions, I've been wondering the same. I won't be surprised if all we get is a wash station/ hand sanitizer before entering the polling station or voting booth

The ink question was asked at Saturday's press conference and Deyalsingh passed it on to Roshan for answering as he said as a candidate he will not answer any election related questions.

Can't remember what the CMO said as I was just passing the TV at the time.

Postby MG Man » July 6th, 2020, 2:49 pm

put on a plastic glove and then dip :mrgreen:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2020, 3:15 pm

reboot2020 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Should I vote for PEP?

You should vote for the organization that has a coherent plan you can get behind, is willing to answer questions about it in a straightforward manner when challenged, and publicly shows the will to implement it. Who ever that is.

Functional democracy requires citizens putting in the work to evaluate the plans being put forward by all parties and their ability to get it done in a realistic manner before making a decision.

I am a fan of progressive alternatives which is why I like PEP and previously CoP.

Although PEP won't win cause of the binary system, to me if I vote for them and if enough people vote for them, for the very least it will send a strong message to people of UNC and PNM that people want change and we are tired of corruption. I think everybody has to start somewhere, start from the bottom. PEP has by far the best policies I have seen so far

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2020, 3:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:
eliteauto wrote:As is my right, remember, people like me eh too bright, I'm just a taxi driver dat eh require no passes yuhnno. This thinking out the box thing too hard I does leave that for edumacated fellas like yuhself

dem passes is a perk of meh PNMness, I eh no poleese fadda, is not you self say I issa failure poleese? Last I heard the word on tuner is I issa sufferer, doh begrudge me meh lil PBR pass nah is all ah have

Since you is a police can you answer why the police grants "paper" which allows music trucks to break the law and disturb the peace? and why the EMA doesn't hold the police accountable for granting license to break the law?

Genuinely curious.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 3:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:

I never say you a sufferer.

PNM contracts have you fat and living it up from tax payers.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2020, 3:42 pm

ZR would you vote for PEP if they had a real shot at winning?

Postby redmanjp » July 6th, 2020, 4:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:That will definitely be a must. And they should also provide masks as a backup for those who come in to vote and don't have one. They can't deny a vote because a person forgot their mask.
I think the population has had good training for all those big groceries and government institutions to know the drill.

true- but they should be strongly urged to do it- just like wearing it in public is not law- can't get fined for not doing it but it is strongly recommended- and everyone should be 6 feet apart

apparently u can vote in quarantine

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/cmo-no-mask-no-vote/article_6f77988e-be65-11ea-8a1a-1bdd5bebb643.html

Quarantine voting

As for people who may be in quarantine come election day, they will be allowed to vote, ­Parasram assured.

It will require a special process and ballots will have to be sanitised before going in for counting.

“There are a few persons who would have been in quarantine that would have had to sign personal documents, for instance, pension, while they were in quarantine.

“How we manage that is, we have something called a hot zone and a cold zone. There’s a way that we treat the actual piece of paper, taking it from the hot zone to the cold zone. We have them sign or stamp the necessary paper.

“This will be a function of County Medical Officer of Health overseeing the particular quarantine stations or stations that the persons have to vote from within.

“We will get those things operationalised, but the process has been used before. It’s just a matter of ensuring that the actual ballot is properly sanitised before it goes in for counting.”

Concerns were raised about the potential for electoral ink to become contaminated, as voters traditionally are required to dip their finger into the same container of ink.

A member of the public claimed she observed a man urinating outside a polling station during the last election before proceeding to vote and dip his unwashed finger into the ink.

Communications Minister Donna Cox said this was a concern she also shared.

Parasram, however, said once hand washing is done, this posed little risk.

“I think the critical part of it is that we would have witnessed hand washing as you enter the polling station. It has to be witnessed by an officer from the EBC, whether hand washing or hand sanitising. And of course, having the electoral stamp being sanitised before and after.

“When we do our mock on Tuesday, we will look at the ink in particular and the application. If there are any changes based on what we see, we can make further recommendations.”

No massive rallies

One important aspect of the election season will be noticeably missing this time around—pre-election rallies.

Massive campaign rallies will likely not be allowed, as the regulations currently allow congregating of no more than 25 people.

Parasram said large crowds ­carry the potential for the virus to be spread, as has happened in ­other countries.

While the 25-person limit may be reviewed, he said political ­rallies will not be a factor in the decision making.

“The decision would be made based on the status of the health of the population,” Parasram said.

“We know what can be the effect of congregating in that large number, and we are very cautious with how we make decisions relating to it.”

Also speaking at the conference, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said the Government will not be pressured into reopening the country’s borders, as ­Covid-19 is still a threat.

“The World Health Organisation (WHO) sent out a very sobering report yesterday which basically said that the world should focus on the first wave of the virus.

“What WHO is saying is that we are now in the second peak of the first wave. This runs maybe counter to what many countries were saying—that we were in the second wave or third wave,” he said.

“If we lose the pluck now by giving into all these pressures and we have uncontrolled community spread—that is why we took the decision last week when we saw the behaviour in bars and pubs, to roll back that, because we have a country to protect.”

Postby Redman » July 6th, 2020, 4:38 pm

If they allowing them to vote in quarantine....the could let people outside vote as well...same process.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 4:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ZR would you vote for PEP if they had a real shot at winning?
Once I see they can or any other party unseat PNM in San Do East then yes

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 4:45 pm

Redman wrote:If they allowing them to vote in quarantine....the could let people outside vote as well...same process.
No we can't allow your hood rat family living in New York to vote.

They don't belong here

Postby Redman » July 6th, 2020, 4:50 pm

I thought this was about people that were stuck outside because of the Covid.

People living outside shouldn’t be voting here.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 4:52 pm

Redman wrote:I thought this was about people that were stuck outside because of the Covid.

People living outside shouldn’t be voting here.
That is correct, we don't PNM ppl living in New York to be voting here.

Postby The_Honourable » July 6th, 2020, 6:59 pm

That's suspicious...

NNV to keep candidates secret

Leader of the New National Vision (NNV) party Fuad Abu Bakr has said he will be keeping his candidates a secret for as long as he can.

He was responding to a request for a list of the party’s candidates for the August 10 general election.

Bakr was speaking at a press conference on Monday to address the charges laid against him for assault and breaching the Public Health Ordinance during a protest against the police shooting of three Morvant men.

The issues are before the court and cannot be reported on until the hearing.

He said the party has 21 candidates and he is still in discussion with more people to join it.

Meanwhile the "secret" candidates have already started campaigning.

He also said, “We are working with other candidates from independent parties: one example is Errol Fabien, whom I give a full endorsement to. We have always said 21, tentatively. We are going to work and focus night and day for the next 34 days.”

Abu Bakr will contest the Port of Spain South seat against PNM’s Keith Scotland and UNC’s Curtis Orr.

In May he announced he was to be screened by the PNM for the seat. The Prime Minister later distanced himself and the party from Bakr’s comments, saying he was not a member of the PNM and hence not qualified to be a PNM candidate.

Dr Rowley said Bakr was never nominated by any party group and they had never discussed his representing the party.

“Keith will lose," Bakr predicted. "I was supposed to represent the PNM in that area until they kicked me out, and with my kicking-out they kicked out the people of Port of Spain South. I represent Port of Spain South.”

He is confident his party will win several seats because, he says, people have reached out to him asking for a “phenomenal change.”

Even without a full slate, Bakr said he needs to win only one seat to change the political landscape.

“We are presenting a political vehicle for the people of TT regardless of creed, race, colour, where they live, social status, or class. We want them to join in and get involved to further the hopes and aspirations we stand by as a party.”

He attributed the recent unity between Rasta City and Muslim gang members to his involvement in last week's protests.

“I walked Nelson Street yesterday (Sunday) and you know what women told me? That their children are playing outside and they don’t have to worry about the shooting. They thanked me because they know I have a part to play in this.”

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/06/nnv-to ... s-secret-2

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 6th, 2020, 7:23 pm

Why do 3rd parties even bother to fight up in strongholds??? Fuad really special yes...

I see kamla make a bs move in cumuto/manzan...that seat could swing easily

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » July 6th, 2020, 7:38 pm

Where the poll at the top for the upcoming elections like this one http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=566487

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 8:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Why do 3rd parties even bother to fight up in strongholds??? Fuad really special yes...

I see kamla make a bs move in cumuto/manzan...that seat could swing easily
Ask elite he's a strong pusher of 3rd parties yet still he won't vote for them

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2020, 8:15 pm

What about Inshan?
Can see him making a dent and splitting votes in St Augustine.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 8:45 pm

Dave wrote:What about Inshan?
Can see him making a dent and splitting votes in St Augustine.
Well he is PNM, a vote for him is a vote for PNM

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2020, 9:07 pm

He's was going as an independent.
Inshan is nothing, he goes with who gives.

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2020, 9:20 pm

Dave wrote:He's was going as an independent.
Inshan is nothing, he goes with who gives.
100 votes maybe from guilable folk

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2020, 9:29 pm

I will never doubt his following. Right or wrong reasons he has his ppl.

NNV has plans to contest 21 seats

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2020, 2:45 am

The NNV hasn’t made any of their candidates public other than its political leader. Abu Bakr said he is guarding his list jealously until it is ready. He says the NNV has plans to contest 21 seats in the election and will focus on a few specific ones. However, he says success for them could mean a win of only two to three seats. “If any party in Trinidad and Tobago has the ability to get two or three seats, God bless this nation. We are going to see a phenomenal change in the way that politicians deal with each other, and also the way they deal with the people of Trinidad and Tobago.”

https://guardian.co.tt/news/bakr-to-con ... fc0e769fa8

Re: OMG !! Let the music play !!

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2020, 2:48 am

" OUTGOING Laventille West MP Fitzgerald Hinds said a growing "army" of idle young men in East Port of Spain poses a danger to TT .. "

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/05/hinds- ... ger-to-tt/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 7th, 2020, 7:15 am

Dave wrote:I will never doubt his following. Right or wrong reasons he has his ppl.

Very easy to gather the bamboo votes...unc could actually loss this seat due to a split. Inshan would be a capital cnut after

Re: OMG !! Let the music play !!

Postby zoom rader » July 7th, 2020, 7:20 am

RedVEVO wrote:" OUTGOING Laventille West MP Fitzgerald Hinds said a growing "army" of idle young men in East Port of Spain poses a danger to TT .. "

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/05/hinds- ... ger-to-tt/

So Hinds blame everybody else for his people downfall ?

How do you solve Hinds people problem ?

Postby zoom rader » July 7th, 2020, 7:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Dave wrote:I will never doubt his following. Right or wrong reasons he has his ppl.

Very easy to gather the bamboo votes...unc could actually loss this seat due to a split. Inshan would be a capital cnut after

Nope he will reap the PNM contracts after if PNM wins .

The few misguided folk will suffer after