Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Re: Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Postby 88sins » April 26th, 2020, 1:15 pm

rspann wrote:He also said people getting paid to stay home . He not in touch with the reality that many, many people home have no income at all . Small business owners and their workers , employees all over home without pay , only a section , mostly govt employees home with pay . THAT is a hateful statement .

no it's not, it is a jackass statement. Seems he was only looking at it from the standpoint of gov't workers, and too dotish to remember we have a very large private sector work force that simply won't be able to facilitate that in the long run.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 2:05 pm

All ah we in this together ...but " no salary cuts for nobody right now ". Anybody could tell me who say that ?

Postby Redman » April 26th, 2020, 3:31 pm

All of that other noise ..have nothing to do with your response to what he said.
Every business need to show flexibility and compassion now.

It’s a simple call....if you need to bring all kinda other issues into the mix to justify your position....then that says it all.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 4:00 pm

Why single out the last response and ignore the previous ones. How come it's noise when the whole discussion was about sharing responsibility ?

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 4:09 pm

Redman , I'm asking you a direct question . If rent assistance was promised to those who find themselves at a position where their salary was reduced or cut off , why is there a need for landlords to forego the rent or take less ? He spoke about tenants being evicted and as a result no place to stay and no food. What does the landlord have to do with the food ? If he kept the promise they would have food and a place to stay. What did I say that you consider noise ?
Last edited by rspann on April 26th, 2020, 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 4:24 pm

He said different things . I'm responding to all. Canadian citizens got their cheques in the mail. Many other countries helped their citizens . When other countries have disasters we run right away with both money and troops but our people suffering to get help. People crying and begging Inshan for food to feed their children. He's doing the best he can but the govt has a responsibility to it's citizens .

Postby Redman » April 26th, 2020, 4:49 pm

rspann wrote:Redman , I'm asking you a direct question because it seems as though you twist everything anybody says. If rent assistance was promised to those who find themselves at a position where their salary was reduced or cut off , why is there a need for landlords to forego the rent or take less ? He spoke about tenants being evicted and as a result no place to stay and no food. What does the landlord have to do with the food ? If he kept the promise they would have food and a place to stay. What did I say that you consider noise ?

I rendered my opinion to your response....I took your response at face value.
No Twisting.
Your position is lucid.

A general call to show compassion where needed and where possible is a good thing.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 4:53 pm

It is a good thing . Can't argue that his statement has merit and should be heeded . What I have an issue with is talking the talk and not walking the walk .

Postby Redman » April 26th, 2020, 4:59 pm

rspann wrote:It is a good thing . Can't argue that his statement has merit and should be heeded . What I have an issue with is talking the talk and not walking the walk .

Um...he is a fakin politician.
This is TNT.

So landlords avoiding taxes.
Tenants ducking out, and looking to make money.
Public Service slow AF.
Politicians talking sheit.

None of which impacts my ability to work with people that need help.
Or yours.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 5:00 pm

Say no more !

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 5:05 pm

I admire that contractor (Ali) from South who comes out for any disaster and uses his warehouse to distribute necessities . He is giving assistance in a big way . And I won't leave out Inshan too. Living waters and the other organizations who rose to the occasion all need to be complimented and supported too.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 26th, 2020, 9:42 pm

have two apartments, one occupied for the past 5 years and one vacant, last tenant was here for 4 years.

i really have to admire the last tenant who was here, she was a guyanese. She worked and paid her rent on time, till sometimes she had to skip rent for 2 months or so due to her helping out her grandson in private school, but when she collected her sue-sue she used to pay in full, age able person. She said she was leaving and left 30 days notice, sold her stuff and paid out all her remaining rent, collected her deposit and left. Redid alot of stuff and have the place lockup at the moment.

damn good tenant.

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2020, 12:40 am

rspann wrote:He said different things . I'm responding to all. Canadian citizens got their cheques in the mail. Many other countries helped their citizens . When other countries have disasters we run right away with both money and troops but our people suffering to get help. People crying and begging Inshan for food to feed their children. He's doing the best he can but the govt has a responsibility to it's citizens .

The Govt is totally useless in disaster relief... unless they can score political points by putting two bag ah crix and some sardine in a red PNM bag is the only way they willing to help. Otherwise it's private people that really assist the poor and underprivileged.

I mean people trash Inshan and Ian Alleyne all the time, but its men like them that can really pull resources together and make something happen...

BTW anybody get any relief money yet, COVID would finish just now and nobody might see any financial assistance from the Govt... They will backpedal like with the Pandemic leave

Postby matr1x » April 27th, 2020, 3:05 am

Money was used, just no one see. Typically pnm theiving

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 28th, 2020, 10:55 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 2nd, 2020, 9:35 pm

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2020, 10:06 pm

Upwards of 35000 applications for salary relief, catering for 50% rejection rate, and less than 1500 disbursed a month later.

And this bald idiot asking landlords to hold strain, and talking about the full brunt of the law.
If you have tenant that can't pay their rent, work it out with them if you can, but don't hold your breath while you wait for that rent assistance payment. Yuh go resemble a smurf before you get it.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 2nd, 2020, 10:25 pm

What is she wearing?

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2020, 12:23 am

abducted wrote:What is she wearing?

LOL... was my reaction too... :drinking:

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2020, 1:18 am

88sins wrote:Upwards of 35000 applications for salary relief, catering for 50% rejection rate, and less than 1500 disbursed a month later.

And this bald idiot asking landlords to hold strain, and talking about the full brunt of the law.
If you have tenant that can't pay their rent, work it out with them if you can, but don't hold your breath while you wait for that rent assistance payment. Yuh go resemble a smurf before you get it.
1% have to get paid

Postby adnj » May 3rd, 2020, 3:15 am

People trying to defraud state; rent to be paid directly to landlords

Loop News  Created : 2 May 2020

Several citizens have been found attempting to defraud the state and, as such a new mechanism will be in place for rental assistance from Monday.

Social Development Minister Camille Robinson-Regis made the revelation while speaking at the Ministry of Health's daily virtual media briefing on Saturday.

Referring to a particular case, the Minister said one applicant stated they were living at a location for a period of 10 years.

However, the person who gave a recommendation on the applicant's behalf said the person was living at the address for seven years, while the landlord stated that the applicant has only been at the location for six months.

The Minister announced that rental assistance payments will now be made to landlords.

"In reviewing the applications of many persons who requested the rental assistance grant, the Ministry unfortunately identified several persons who were attempting to commit fraudulent acts. In keeping with the need for accountability and to ensure the most judicious use of the state's resources, at this time a mechanism will now be implemented from Monday to ensure only valid claims are entertained and payments to such persons will therefore commence during next week," she said.

https://www.looptt.com/content/people-t ... -landlords

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2020, 4:36 am

This is so good. Now landlords who were not otherwise known as landlords just announced who they are and what they are doing!
Revenue authority working already.
Have to love this.

Postby hydroep » May 3rd, 2020, 8:18 am

Good move by the Ministry.

There was also a story about well-off people collecting/hoarding hampers.

I would have suggested publishing the names of the fraudsters but some people eh have no shame...:|

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2020, 8:22 am

Dave wrote:This is so good. Now landlords who were not otherwise known as landlords just announced who they are and what they are doing!
Have to love this.
They would have known this when they came to scope folk property for the PNM house tax

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2020, 8:23 am

hydroep wrote:Good move by the Ministry.

There was also a story about well-off people collecting/hoarding hampers.

I would have suggested publishing the names of the fraudsters but some people eh have no shame...:|
Nearly all these are PNM ppl

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2020, 9:01 am

Dave wrote:This is so good. Now landlords who were not otherwise known as landlords just announced who they are and what they are doing!
Have to love this.
They would have known this when they came to scope folk property for the PNM house tax

True
But that is only to tax people on what they have for as long as they have it.
Now they can additionally demand 25% of all rental income these landlords received, that is of course if they weren't already paying income taxes on said rental incomes.
No worries tho, soon as landlords that weren't paying taxes have to start paying taxes, rent going up.
Tenants, stock up on your preferred lube, you gonna need it.

Great as foreign used toilet paper is the pnm.

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2020, 9:05 am

That effort of collecting data earlier wasn't as much of a success as they had hoped so their database is very small. Any effort to be able to make a dent and launch the Revenue authority they would do seeing they have the bill passed.

Postby Redman » May 3rd, 2020, 9:36 am

Pay all taxes due....on all income.

Paying your due shouldnt be a political football

7B per year.........in unpaid taxes.

ZR you should support this- ent you say you pay all your taxes?

pfffffft

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2020, 10:23 am

Redman wrote:Pay all taxes due....on all income.

Paying your due shouldnt be a political football

7B per year.........in unpaid taxes.

ZR you should support this- ent you say you pay all your taxes?

pfffffft
I can't pay if I don't make a profit from my rents.

In the corporate world you pay taxes on your profit, not your looses.

There are ways around paying taxes which all weathy folk do and cover their tracks which is all legal.

You can split up your properties in to shell owned companies and collect rents below the corporate tax charging rate. Lots of paper work and some legal & lawyer fees involed, but it will be way cheaper than giving PNM my money.

Postby Redman » May 3rd, 2020, 10:35 am

Not shell companies but Holding companies.

Shell will cause problems.

So what you unravel everything when UNC was in power?