Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 5:45 am

gastly369 wrote:De man say temps and casual is 21k ah month ....defuq

According to refinery staff, for the operations department operator salaries range from 21000 for grade 1 to 29500 for grade 9. Managers are in private payroll starting from grade 10 . A Senior Operator is grade 7 , a senior engineer is grade 8 and The shift team leader( STL) is grade 9.

No where close to the $45K/month ppl are quoting for even lower positions.
Sounds about right.

I think its BU1 and BU2.
BU1 is junior operator and BU2 is senior.
BU1 is approx $21k and that's what my. Customer works for.

Postby Redman » September 5th, 2018, 6:02 am

They said anything about Hassanali and his golden parachutes?

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 6:06 am

alfa wrote:
IMG_20180904_220617_1 (Small).jpg

So smiley face saying temporary man getting 21 thousand a month. This is what I got per week when I got promoted a few years ago which by the way is the highest position a temp can reach. With the recent 5% increase it's slightly more today but not even close to the 21 grand he claiming. You hear lie, that is PNM lie. Makes you wonder what else is this propaganda government is lying about. And read the bullet points on the bottom carefully to see what benefits I'm getting as a temp while everyone saying petro men getting send home fully top up.
All this talk about overtime, what they won't say is that is confined to the refinery. In E&P on the rare occasion you are required to work overtime you sometimes get a day off instead of pay but smiley face won't say that.And by the way shortly after I got this letter the company stopped all promotions so there are God knows how much people making less than that but this nasty liar talking about 21 thousand and 45 thousand :roll:
Temp A class? Should be around $3k to $3300.00 iirc.
And transmission is hard work.
Have a pic of men going in what is more or less jungle to troubleshoot lines.
Fall down in river clearing bamboo.
Close fuse only to realise fault on line. Squatters dig, find underground cable, cut and join their home power supply into it and cover back everything. Most men in here will mess themselves if they hear a fuse blow. Dont know what it is like to lift a 100A fuse with 5 lengths of the hot stick.
Vid with if you ever see a hot stick run is funny as hell till its you on the next end.
Bet most never saw fire come down a wet rod from 6kv line. Close abs swith in knee height of water or troubleshoot and repair in the pitch dark. Lights? Whats that? On top a 4 pole tower on a hill where you kneeling over it and hanging over the edge to pull back a 6kv line and make back the connection. Pitch black! Shoulders burning loosening the bolt.
By show of hands how many had to tie unto a pole and leave the ladder to stand on the transformer while it on the truck boom and guide it into the cage?
Two man is a crew, 24 hours straight the shift goes and the work dont stop! From guapo to quinam. Rain, thunder, lightning, holiday, birthday, child birthday, wife birthday, anniversary, father dead, brother dead, wife dead, wuck doh stop!

Postby SR » September 5th, 2018, 6:10 am

Wow its gonna be a hard reality when people getting these salaries go out on the open market expecting similar packages. No wonder the bitterness

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 6:11 am

Last I heard transmission severely understaffed in the refinery area. Trans and AC, met and conversed with both supervisors.

The work not hard, is the responsibility if isolating to work and switching to maintain an uninterrupted power supply.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 6:21 am

SR wrote:Wow its gonna be a hard reality when people getting these salaries go out on the open market expecting similar packages. No wonder the bitterness
TGU salary starts at $19k

Omg, lets close down tgu cuz dey salary too high! 0.o 0.o 0.o

T&tec salary not too far off but how much is a crew in there?

Wasa, seen a wasa crew already, about 7?

Petro is 2, 2 people. Rain thunder or lightning, the work goes on.

Postby alfa » September 5th, 2018, 6:28 am

nervewrecker wrote:Last I heard transmission severely understaffed in the refinery area. Trans and AC, met and conversed with both supervisors.

The work not hard, is the responsibility if isolating to work and switching to maintain an uninterrupted power supply.

In the refinery transmission work is done using a bucket truck. In the fields most poles are located where even a tank cannot go. Just one four man crew with a Cutlass leading the way in places T&TEC lines men may never willing go. Oh and don't forget the mappipere snakes to look out for

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2018, 6:37 am

I honestly don't see the problem with men getting good pay for very high risk jobs in vital sectors. If people making noise about that, they should try to do the job for a day. Not the mention all the professional and physical training these men have to go through.

What the lay person should think is unfair is when a desk jockey sitting at a desk all day making 3 times that kind of money to push paper. Especially women in engineering fields who demand equal pay but can't do equal hard labour. It have plenty of them in Petrotrin.

Postby SR » September 5th, 2018, 6:38 am

Outside of corruption salaries in goverment run agencies are overated and you do not get value for money

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2018, 6:39 am

Ahhhh mappipere ....those dam bastards

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2018, 6:48 am

alfa wrote:
IMG_20180904_220617_1 (Small).jpg

So smiley face saying temporary man getting 21 thousand a month. This is what I got per week when I got promoted a few years ago which by the way is the highest position a temp can reach. With the recent 5% increase it's slightly more today but not even close to the 21 grand he claiming. You hear lie, that is PNM lie. Makes you wonder what else is this propaganda government is lying about. And read the bullet points on the bottom carefully to see what benefits I'm getting as a temp while everyone saying petro men getting send home fully top up.
All this talk about overtime, what they won't say is that is confined to the refinery. In E&P on the rare occasion you are required to work overtime you sometimes get a day off instead of pay but smiley face won't say that.And by the way shortly after I got this letter the company stopped all promotions so there are God knows how much people making less than that but this nasty liar talking about 21 thousand and 45 thousand :roll:
Close fuse only to realise fault on line. Squatters dig, find underground cable, cut and join their home power supply into it and cover back everything. Most men in here will mess themselves if they hear a fuse blow. Dont know what it is like to lift a 100A fuse with 5 lengths of the hot stick.
Vid with if you ever see a hot stick run is funny as hell till its you on the next end.
Bet most never saw fire come down a wet rod from 6kv line. Close abs swith in knee height of water or troubleshoot and repair in the pitch dark. Lights? Whats that? On top a 4 pole tower on a hill where you kneeling over it and hanging over the edge to pull back a 6kv line and make back the connection. Pitch black! Shoulders burning loosening the bolt.
By show of hands how many had to tie unto a pole and leave the ladder to stand on the transformer while it on the truck boom and guide it into the cage?
Two man is a crew, 24 hours straight the shift goes and the work dont stop! From guapo to quinam. Rain, thunder, lightning, holiday, birthday, child birthday, wife birthday, anniversary, father dead, brother dead, wife dead, wuck doh stop!
That's true about those guys

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 6:55 am

Salary posted is a temp salary, one who goes home with everything.
Post a permanent man own nah. Lewe see deductions and lets see if the salary still high.
Mind you, most governemt clerks get about $6 - $7k a month now eh.

Mappapire, dont forget walking in first to scout a fault only to swing the light and meet a centipede at the tip of your nose on a blade of bush. And bush about 7 feet tall.

Temps have to buy their own tools btw. Have no rights and work is not steady.

Men talking in here who sit behind a desk in ac. Come out in the sun for a half day and work non stop nah. Just one, one till you feel like you ready to black out but you have to take a deep breath, wet your face and continue!

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 5th, 2018, 7:10 am

alfa wrote:IMG_20180904_220617_1 (Small).jpg

Hard work no doubt Nerve Boy, but you signed up for it. If the work is unbearable fcuking resign and let someone else do it.It is disgusting when men sulk and whine about their jobs, but like to get pay. AFAIK in most jobs nobody placed a shotgun to your head and forces you to accept.
Last edited by randolphinshan on September 5th, 2018, 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2018, 7:12 am

okay...they deserve the salary.....

but at the end of the day, is petrotrin good for trinidad or bad?

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2018, 7:14 am

those salaries are not too far off from the rest of the industry... in growlers terms, they are par the course.
from powergen to farmland, to pcs nitrogen, to yara to methanex to tgu to even ipsl.

allyuh see the fire that happened to the substation last week, that is part of the job to handle. either in arresting the emergency or just securing the systems. the salaries pay for a lot of training, responsibility ancillary to the core duty.

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2018, 7:32 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:okay...they deserve the salary.....

but at the end of the day, is petrotrin good for trinidad or bad?

for the same reasons it was bought by the govt from the private sector a couple decades ago... the economy as a whole cant take on such an injection in unemployment. u talkng bout groceries, parlors, clothes stores, book stores, hardwares, doubles man, burger crew taxi, car parts place, alll kinda places that used to benefit from the salaries paid there, from permanent workers to the contract workers, to the service companies.

one of the skybox companies had was to pack up a pick up office cuase of the reduction in turn over. when the place used to be jammed pack, now its eaiser to just pack a vehicle and send it out. capacity has dropped. small girls and boys there sent home.

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2018, 7:32 am

randolphinshan wrote:

Hard work no doubt Nerve Boy, but you signed up for it. If the work is unbearable fcuking resign and let someone else do it.It is disgusting when men sulk and whine about their jobs, but like to get pay. AFAIK in most jobs nobody placed a shotgun to your head and forces you to accept.
It's not that sir no one is complaining...it's that how the public say they getting overpaid and clapping hands at them(as kids in school would say it good for yuh) when they loosing their jobs that they genuinely working hard round the clock

Postby Ben_spanna » September 5th, 2018, 8:12 am

Do you think all of Petrotrin workers would be willing to take a 40% salary decrease for the good of the company and the nation????

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 5th, 2018, 8:13 am

Redman wrote:They said anything about Hassanali and his golden parachutes?

Really, Redman? Really?? Of course we won't remember but it was alleged that in 2014(?), when Hassanali was saying the company wasn't in a financial position to increase worker's salaries, that him along with his VP's, signed off on each others increases to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars and to add insult to injury, they gave themselves retroactive payments as well.

They'd never mention Hassanali and Co. because it opens a massive can of worms in terms of political appointees and all the other bad things that happened to Petrotrin, resulting from non-existent accountability from Management and the successive Boards and their components; Malcolm Jones included. Anyone notice in his history lesson he never mentioned the deadly sins of Malcolm Jones? Last night Franklin Khan said a permanent employee makes more than he does and the PNM seeded audience clapped for that.

So it's convenient for him to amalgamate and show the package a permanent employee might be getting and say 'hey, $45,000 is more than I make!!' to wild up the population *insert gasp here* but he conveniently left out the fact that his package consist of significant tax deductions on high end vehicles like a 3.0L Porsche Cayenne, while you and I are greedy for wanting a 2.0L hybrid X-Trail (or even a 1.8L Prius), so tax exemptions on hybrids over 1.6L were removed. He conveniently left out the $275,000 surgery he made us pay for the other day, while you and I have to sit for 275 minutes in a health centre, waiting for someone to attend. And allyuh clap for that. Men don't lie when they say Trinidad isn't a real place, yes.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 5th, 2018, 8:14 am

What ever HAppned to all those MILLIONS and MILLIONS of FAKE oil dollars and the Man in charge???

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 5th, 2018, 8:14 am

Redman wrote:They said anything about Hassanali and his golden parachutes?

Really, Redman? Really?? Of course we won't remember but it was alleged that in 2014(?), when Hassanali was saying the company wasn't in a financial position to increase worker's salaries, that him along with his VP's, signed off on each others increases to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars and to add insult to injury, they gave themselves retroactive payments as well.

They'd never mention Hassanali and Co. because it opens a massive can of worms in terms of political appointees and all the other bad things that happened to Petrotrin, resulting from non-existent accountability from Management and the successive Boards and their components; Malcolm Jones included. Anyone notice in his history lesson he never mentioned the deadly sins of Malcolm Jones? Last night Franklin Khan said a permanent employee makes more than he does and the PNM seeded audience clapped for that.

So it's convenient for him to amalgamate and show the package a permanent employee might be getting and say 'hey, $45,000 is more than I make!!' to wild up the population *insert gasp here* but he conveniently left out the fact that his package consist of significant tax deductions on high end vehicles like a 3.0L Porsche Cayenne, while you and I are greedy for wanting a 2.0L hybrid X-Trail (or even a 1.8L Prius), so tax exemptions on hybrids over 1.6L were removed. He conveniently left out the $275,000 surgery he made us pay for the other day, while you and I have to sit for 275 minutes in a health centre, waiting for someone to attend. And allyuh clap for that. Men don't lie when they say Trinidad isn't a real place, yes.

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2018, 8:17 am

offer vsep first with the balance on 30% cut.

mind u, not one of the directors responsible for the large debts will be prosecuted for those debts

Postby Redman » September 5th, 2018, 10:16 am

sMASH wrote:that is over 20 years service and at a senior position... fleck. that is commensurate with the industry

franklin khan said that the refinery can be sold off, because it can be a profitable venture... not for us, but for someone else.

the still havent said how the debt is going to be paid come next year...

Their theory is that the E and P proposal will convince some one to refinance (as opposed to pay off) the 2 USD bonds.

2B USD refinanced at 5% equates to 100M USD per year in interest. That there is near impossible to get. Rates will probably be higher.

So Eand P production now is starting at 40,000 BOPD

Thats 14.6M BBLs of oil per year.
At WTI 60 it equates to about 800 M USD in oil sales.

The royalty and tax schedule that exists now is that GORTT/Petrotrin take a total of 55% WTI off the top and pay the producer the rest.

So The GORTT will have 440M in that Royalty/tax stream to divert to the financing.
Keep in mind that Petrotrin and Trinmar make up a chunk of that production

That is ignoring the real challenges and costs associated with finding a steady buyer for our crude.

Then if they sell the refinery or get a MANAGEMENT entity and hammer out a deal...it can add some cash to py down the debt AND more importantly find local demand for all the crude we produce.

Getting a management co for the Refinery is what I think they should do.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 5th, 2018, 10:19 am

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:that is over 20 years service and at a senior position... fleck. that is commensurate with the industry

franklin khan said that the refinery can be sold off, because it can be a profitable venture... not for us, but for someone else.

Their theory is that the E and P proposal will convince some one to refinance (as opposed to pay off) the 2 USD bonds.

2B USD refinanced at 5% equates to 100M USD per year in interest. That there is near impossible to get. Rates will probably be higher.

The royalty and tax schedule that exists now is that GORTT/Petrotrin take a total of 55% WTI off the top and pay the producer the rest.

So The GORTT will have 440M in that Royalty/tax stream to divert to the financing.

That is ignoring the real challenges and costs associated with finding a steady buyer for our crude.

Then if they sell the refinery or get a MANAGEMENT entity and hammer out a deal...it can add some cash to py down the debt AND more importantly find local demand for all the crude we produce.

1. Local crude isn’t sold at wti prices. It is sold at a discount.

2. Further discount for shipping the crude.

You basically not getting $800 million usd per year. The government will not have 440 m in royalties.

It costs us about $45 to produce a barrel of local crude.

Postby Redman » September 5th, 2018, 11:05 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Redman wrote:

You basically not getting $800 million usd per year. The government will not have 440 m in royalties.

The royalty and tax schedule that exists now

Yep 800 is a discounted number-at 55wti....current producers get paid based on a matrix that starts at 90% WTI-it ignores quality.
The net result to the producer is that they receive 68% WTI, in the first year which decreases to 45% after the 3rd year of production.
Point being that the local producers already give up 55% of WTI....so the GORTT/Petrotrin have plenty space to redirect

It costs us about $45 to produce a barrel of local crude

It might cost PETROTRIN that.
If that were factual the local private sector would have been losing big money per barrel since 2015....they would all have closed.
If that were the case they would not be drilling....which they have been
The numbers Ive seen indicate lifting cost of about 22.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 4:56 pm

Redman wrote:

Yep 800 is a discounted number-at 55wti....current producers get paid based on a matrix that starts at 90% WTI-it ignores quality.
The net result to the producer is that they receive 68% WTI, in the first year which decreases to 45% after the 3rd year of production.
Point being that the local producers already give up 55% of WTI....so the GORTT/Petrotrin have plenty space to redirect

If that were factual the local private sector would have been losing big money per barrel since 2015....they would all have closed.
You see anything about petrotrin line going in some of them tanks?

No, yea, maybe?

About 2 weeks ago a line outside np in santa flora blow out.
Was a condemned line with the valve locked off.
What they found was a valve stem and a line tapped into it and buried.
Not a word in the news, not a word..

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2018, 4:58 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Nobody complaining.
School teachers clock in almost the same amount, are the working conditions even close?
Right now people pulling gun for petro men saying how they robbing the economy and how this is their land now, pnm promise them it. When men in company vehicle and wearing ppe they are moving targets.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 5th, 2018, 5:31 pm

Redman wrote:

Not sure why you think quality doesn’t matter. It does matter. Local crude that Petrotrin produces is high in sulfur and is heavy. Heavily discounted from wti if it is to be exported. Wti minus 10 to 15 dollars per barrel at least before the discount for shipping is applied.

Also if $45 is the cost for Petrotrin to produce a barrel then that is the model for the new Petrotrin going forward in the near future before any investments can be made to reduce this cost. Gortt not getting 440m in royalties based on your calculation.

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2018, 5:58 pm

Talk on radio now, saying that production at wells was intentionally suppressed to reduce the local supply of raw material.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » September 5th, 2018, 6:45 pm

sMASH wrote:Talk on radio now, saying that production at wells was intentionally suppressed to reduce the local supply of raw material.
This is so true....the government has a plan to ruin this country....i was listen to the radio a lil while ago and most ppl like they missing the point...why is it that the refinery is in this mess...it so simple anyone with common sense would understand why...its totally because of the government they borrow more than they could repay...now the citizen have to pay the price for the government mismanagement it so simple....but people in this country so small minded all they hearing workers in petrotrin make 45g a month and the average citizen vex cause they will never make that salary a month...so they glad to see the refinery shut down...some people would believe everything the government say...but ppl do your research please....see how much lies they feeding the public....the die hard peeNm would only realise this when its to late and they cant afford nothing in this country....