Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

kamakazi

Re: RE: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » May 14th, 2016, 3:20 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
16 cycles wrote:Which highway and what corners being taken at 200+ ???????

Claxton bay sweeping downhill corner, gasporillo sweeping corner 200-220. Freeport corner northbound left lane 170, right lane 150 cuz of that sink in d road. Freeport corner southbound 200. Straights on north and southbound 240. East west highways 200-220 in sections. Kamla new highway heading debe 240. Speaking of which, visibility on that new highway at speed is better than on the old one.

Also Not no switching lane thing either while taking corners. If you have to do that...you're going too fast.

Can you do this in the wet.... Road conditions play a part in speed limit selection....
V, W, Y rated tyres, german built don't count for much when you encounter standing water and a greasy road surface.

Even funnier is that snow tyres work better in the rain than most everything

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2016, 5:59 pm

Obviously not in the wet.

Doh Brakes

Postby Doh Brakes » May 14th, 2016, 8:08 pm

Doh Brakes wrote:This speed gun discussion is a very interesting one. What makes it so contentious is in my opinion is the mentality of us as a people.

For example, statements like driving faster makes one stay up is completely irresponsible. I have not come across any evidence that backs up that way of thinking and I'm very curious to know where it started. A more plausible reason why speed limits are higher in places like the US are because of the longer distances. We as trinbagonians like to think we drive far but we don't. Imagine driving at 110km/h for 3hrs and still not arriving at your destination. This is the reality on these highways, the UBH is no comparison.

People try to compare speed limits in other countries without considering what those countries have in place to allow for such speed limits. In Germany, Denmark & Sweden completion of a first aid course is mandatory. Some countries have mandatory hours of day & night driving practice as part of getting licensed.

In Germany it is against the law to overtake on the right ( which decreases the weaving in and out of traffic), highways are not only patrolled manually but also by cameras. Roadways in Germany are rated to last for 40yrs which is the highest in the world. Police officers are trained in the proper way to execute their duty. In Canada if you are caught racing on the highway your car is impounded and you are charged with a criminal offence.

So many things should have been addressed before introducing speed guns. However the good thing about this is discussion is healthy for us to move forward as a people and we have to start somewhere.

I am part of a new podcast in T&T that in our next episode titled "Yuh Wa Speed" we discuss this issue. If anyone is interested you can like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/dohbrakes or sound Cloud http://www.soundcloud.com/dohbrakes where you can also listen to previous episodes.

That's enough talk from me, if you want to hear more check out the podcast. I leave you with some interesting links on speed.

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/news/desktopne ... n-20-years

http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture ... rivers-do/

https://jeevith20.wordpress.com/2015/02 ... in-norway/

If anyone is interested our "Yuh Wa Speed" Episode launched yesterday. Check it out

YouTube - https://youtu.be/a9oTw9iUf5s

SoundCloud - https://soundcloud.com/doh-brakes/doh-b ... -wah-speed

Let us know what you think, if you agree or disagree. All feedback is appreciated. We can be reached at @DohBrakes, dohbrakesTT@gmail.com & www.facebook.com/dohbrakes.

drchaos

Re: RE: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 8:20 pm

kamakazi wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
16 cycles wrote:Which highway and what corners being taken at 200+ ???????

Claxton bay sweeping downhill corner, gasporillo sweeping corner 200-220. Freeport corner northbound left lane 170, right lane 150 cuz of that sink in d road. Freeport corner southbound 200. Straights on north and southbound 240. East west highways 200-220 in sections. Kamla new highway heading debe 240. Speaking of which, visibility on that new highway at speed is better than on the old one.

Also Not no switching lane thing either while taking corners. If you have to do that...you're going too fast.

Can you do this in the wet.... Road conditions play a part in speed limit selection....
V, W, Y rated tyres, german built don't count for much when you encounter standing water and a greasy road surface.

Even funnier is that snow tyres work better in the rain than most everything

Yeah in the wet on the south runs in the Jetta I would slow down to 90 to 100 from 140 to 160. If is white out rain then round 60 to 70.

The car does automatically apply brakes to the individual wheels to counter wet or greasy patches.
With brake assist, traction control and electronic stability control the car used to feel like it on rails.

ahing6

Postby ahing6 » May 14th, 2016, 10:30 pm

So for the past couple decades our highways were designed for 80kph including all the recent extensions in south?
With no leeway for future vehicle engineering advancements?
In reality does anyone drive on a long highway at 80kph..alllll the time..in a 21st century car?
If 80 saves fuel etc...then does it not make sense to drive a 1.2L diesel/cng car?
Has the public been duped into putting out big $$ for cars that are waaay to powerful and fast for our roads by dealers?
Why has there never been no import restrictions by past Gvts. on vehicles to fast for our 80kph designed highways?
Are passengers crazy to stand in buses? 80...90kph for all those past decades heading south?
Are police immune to seat belt law? What makes them diff...superman uniform? Arrive Alive doh care 'bout police or wha?
Will police fine/ticket their colleagues for 3...4..5 kph over the limit?
Will sport bikes lose value as 80 will be most painful to ride at for long straight line distances vs upright seating motorbikes?
Will 65kph be dreary an boring leading to one off chance zoning off after long tiring day?
Ever experience missing gaps whilst driving....as in mind straying?
If limit is raised to 100kph will the "i always 80kph drivers" transform to new "i always 100kph drivers"?
If 80kph is "da law" then how come Ins Co. pay for vehicle collisions involved in speeding like a 100kph hit?
Is having a say/vote to reasonably raise the limit is being undemocratic/selfish behaviour?
Will licensing office be bribe proof?
Are we in waaaay to deep in the "all ah we thief" corrupt is the norm Trikidadian reality we live in?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 10:46 pm

"If 80kph is "da law" then how come Ins Co. pay for vehicle collisions involved in speeding like a 100kph hit?"

Excellent point!
Again because there is no solid evidence/proof that accidents in T&T are mostly caused by speeding.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 14th, 2016, 10:48 pm

Will Batman escape the Joker's dastardly trap?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 14th, 2016, 11:25 pm

ahing6 wrote:So for the past couple decades our highways were designed for 80kph including all the recent extensions in south?
With no leeway for future vehicle engineering advancements?
In reality does anyone drive on a long highway at 80kph..alllll the time..in a 21st century car?
If 80 saves fuel etc...then does it not make sense to drive a 1.2L diesel/cng car?
Has the public been duped into putting out big $$ for cars that are waaay to powerful and fast for our roads by dealers?
Why has there never been no import restrictions by past Gvts. on vehicles to fast for our 80kph designed highways?
Are passengers crazy to stand in buses? 80...90kph for all those past decades heading south?
Are police immune to seat belt law? What makes them diff...superman uniform? Arrive Alive doh care 'bout police or wha?
Will police fine/ticket their colleagues for 3...4..5 kph over the limit?
Will sport bikes lose value as 80 will be most painful to ride at for long straight line distances vs upright seating motorbikes?
Will 65kph be dreary an boring leading to one off chance zoning off after long tiring day?
Ever experience missing gaps whilst driving....as in mind straying?
If limit is raised to 100kph will the "i always 80kph drivers" transform to new "i always 100kph drivers"?
If 80kph is "da law" then how come Ins Co. pay for vehicle collisions involved in speeding like a 100kph hit?
Is having a say/vote to reasonably raise the limit is being undemocratic/selfish behaviour?
Will licensing office be bribe proof?
Are we in waaaay to deep in the "all ah we thief" corrupt is the norm Trikidadian reality we live in?

Excellent points

Postby RASC » May 15th, 2016, 4:57 am

Hey, any preliminary stats so far for the amount of fatal accidents this month compared to last month?

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2016, 9:28 am

^^ good point. But as more people decided to obey the speed law, they also didn't drive as recklessly.
The higher the speed a vehicle is travelling would increase the severity of the accidents. Driving recklessly would increase the chances of the accident occurring.

A more comprehensive approach would be the use of traffic cameras, as speed guns only detect speed. Traffic cameras can be used to detect speed, observe dangerous driving, record video evidence of ur dangerous driving, used for surveillance in real time.

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 15th, 2016, 9:45 am

You see no correlation with driving recklessly at higher speeds with respect to frequency of accidents too?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 15th, 2016, 10:22 am

sMASH wrote:^^ good point. But as more people decided to obey the speed law, they also didn't drive as recklessly.
The higher the speed a vehicle is travelling would increase the severity of the accidents. Driving recklessly would increase the chances of the accident occurring.

A more comprehensive approach would be the use of traffic cameras, as speed guns only detect speed. Traffic cameras can be used to detect speed, observe dangerous driving, record video evidence of ur dangerous driving, used for surveillance in real time.

A few cutbacks in next years' National Security allocation and it can become a reality. I for that

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2016, 12:28 pm

A good idea would be to implement SPECS

its two or more camera's placed along the highway. You are tagged at one point and when exiting you are tagged again. If you arrive at the second point faster than you should have gotten there while traveling at the speed limit then you are ticketed.

Postby eliteauto » May 15th, 2016, 12:46 pm

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,227823.html

was this a combination of ignorance and arrogance?

Arrow

Postby Arrow » May 15th, 2016, 12:54 pm

ok seriously... would all the people advocating the whole "when i sleepy / tired after a long day at work and i have to drive home @ 80 i more likely to fall asleep so it much safer to let me drive @ 120 in that state" thing... please stop?

you think you helping but really u not.
u just making it worse.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2016, 1:06 pm

Arrow wrote:ok seriously... would all the people advocating the whole "when i sleepy / tired after a long day at work and i have to drive home @ 80 i more likely to fall asleep so it much safer to let me drive @ 120 in that state" thing... please stop?

you think you helping but really u not.
u just making it worse.

Also for all the people that advocating that you cannot safely control a car over 80 kmph needs to stop as well.

If you can't control or safely operate a car/vehicle at 85 or 90 kmph (or even 100) on T&T highways then you are a DANGER to society and you should have your permit revoked.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2016, 1:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,227823.html

Well she did say she was trying to drive at the speed limit in the article .... so people still people still losing control and dying while driving at the speed limit?
“Oh doh study me. I just trying to drive from Sando to Maracas within the speed limit.”

Ohhh dear maybe we should reduce the speed to 60 for regular vehicles and 45 for pickups. Cause it seems that our roads and vehicle not even able to cope with 80 kph.

Postby eliteauto » May 15th, 2016, 1:22 pm

drchaos wrote:

Well she did say she was trying to drive at the speed limit in the article .... so people still people still losing control and dying while driving at the speed limit?
“Oh doh study me. I just trying to drive from Sando to Maracas within the speed limit.”

Ohhh dear maybe we should reduce the speed to 60 for regular vehicles and 45 for pickups. Cause it seems that our roads and vehicle not even able to cope with 80 kph.

was this an attempt at sarcasm?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2016, 1:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:
drchaos wrote:

was this an attempt at sarcasm?

Well thought it would fly over your head :lol: So that's why I made it extra simple.

Arrow

Postby Arrow » May 15th, 2016, 1:37 pm

more info needed.
what make him lose control... speed? poor road conditions? driver error? mechanical fault? any combination of the above?

rip to the departed, though

Postby pete » May 15th, 2016, 4:45 pm

Bicycle slammed into a car and the car driver got minor injuries? What?

Postby rollingstock » May 15th, 2016, 6:32 pm

ahing6 wrote:Are police immune to seat belt law? What makes them diff...superman uniform? Arrive Alive doh care 'bout police or wha?

No its because they're exempted by law you ignoramus.

Postby 16 cycles » May 16th, 2016, 5:42 am

Think that 7 days trini memory thing is true...last night seemed to have no speed limit on the highways..

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 16th, 2016, 6:22 am

I was probably the only mooks driving at 55-60 yesterday morning in the rain. Reached where I was going and heard people talking about "no police ent comin out in de rain, we get a free pass this morning!"

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » May 16th, 2016, 6:51 am

ahing6 wrote:Are police immune to seat belt law? What makes them diff...superman uniform? Arrive Alive doh care 'bout police or wha?

That's why some pigs die or seriously injured after accidents with all the training and driving skills ,chest traping a steering wheel ,head butting the windshield , even with a roll over TTPS loves to do that internal injures we all flesh and bones .Whats up with the dark tint on marked police vehicles now no wait RS it's exempted too ,set a dam example , what's the law about officers with army patrol drinking alcohol on duty wait they exempted too stock? To me TTPS full of $hit

Postby ismithx » May 16th, 2016, 7:18 am

I have no idea what was said in the last post

Postby rollingstock » May 16th, 2016, 7:19 am

ruffrider27 wrote:

That's why some pigs die or seriously injured after accidents with all the training and driving skills ,chest traping a steering wheel ,head butting the windshield , even with a roll over TTPS loves to do that internal injures we all flesh and bones .Whats up with the dark tint on marked police vehicles now no wait RS it's exempted too ,set a dam example , what's the law about officers with army patrol drinking alcohol on duty wait they exempted too stock? To me TTPS full of $hit

You have to be a c.unt!
What one have to do with other? Are you a complete jackass?

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » May 16th, 2016, 7:25 am

While you might be exempted from that law of the land.... The laws of physics and the limitations of the human body are still applicable.

Postby rollingstock » May 16th, 2016, 7:26 am

Is it let's see how stupid I can sound Monday?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 16th, 2016, 7:32 am

kamakazi wrote:

While you might be exempted from that law of the land.... The laws of physics and the limitations of the human body are still applicable.

True...but they also deal with scenarios we, the general public don't have to. Exemptions are for those scenarios.