2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Daran

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 9:56 am

Habit7 wrote:
Daran wrote:Lord have mercy the dunciness of the PNMites show everyday and Imbert and company play allyuh like a flute.

There is no such thing as a full 'turnkey' financed project. So while the hospital project may be financed by the Chinese, allocations have to be made for ancillary costs such as local project support/management and ground support, training, HSE, legal issues, clean up etc.
Well seems like Dr Khan is a duncy PNMite because he gave other reasons

Khan: $239m to start hospital project

Rhonda Krystal Rambally
Published: Monday, October 19, 2015

Finance Minister Colm Imbert needs to learn the details of a government to government loan, Barataria/San Juan MP Dr Fuad Khan said yesterday. The opposition parliamentarian has accused the new adminstration of trying “to stink up” the Couva Children’s Hospital, a flagship project of former People’s Partnership government.

“Imbert makes it look as though we took money and was spending it wildly and so on and I find that to be very dishonest and stupid,” Khan said. He was responding to comments made by the minister during the Standing Finance Committee meeting on Saturday. Imbert said he planned probe $239 million spent on the hospital which was supposed to be a fully-funded project by the Exim Bank of China.

However, Khan said international loans operated on a 15 per cent/85 per cent arrangement, where the lender provides 85 per cent of the total cost. He Exim Bank loaned the T&T government 85 per cent of $1.5 billion for the hospital and “at the end of the day” the project cost about $1.9 billion for construction and equipment.

“When I first entered the ministry, I researched how government to government loans run so I understand,” he said. “They may know we spent $239 million but they don’t know it’s based on the 15 per cent.” Khan said calculations would show that 15 per cent of $1.5 billion was around $240 million and those funds were used up front to get the project underway.

“Loans from China take about a year more to come through, so while it was being processed, the last administration used its 15 per cent to develop the infrastructure around the area,” he explained.

Khan said if he had been at Saturday’s session, he would have dealt with it then.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... al-project

Doesn't change the fact that ancillary costs are TTGOV's responsibility unless otherwise stated. It seems as if I'm partially right as TTGov money was used to start and kickoff the project while probably being refunded by the Chinese loan etc.

Again, this is just politricks to win favorability points. PNM knew about these budget allocations long before coming into power.

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2015, 10:09 am

Investigate. As long as misappropriation of funds happened, gather evidence and prosecute.

Postby j.o.e » October 19th, 2015, 10:40 am

PP defenders on tuner can justify spending .... But KPB and company can't clarify the spending in parliament ? KPB should've taken less days offs

Daran

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 10:50 am

j.o.e wrote:PP defenders on tuner can justify spending .... But KPB and company can't clarify the spending in parliament ? KPB should've taken less days offs

Admittedly this is true, but there's a lot going on internally within the PP. Don't expect Kamla to remain for much longer (well at least till internal elections). Also, it could be a case of PP fully aware of this PNM grandstanding and just sitting back and chilling as nothing will come of it either way (so why waste the effort).

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 11:38 am

Daran wrote:No way PP is losing St Joseph. These are the marginals this election.

Tunapuna
San Fernando West
La Horquetta/Talparo
Lopinot/Bon Air West
Toco/ Sangre Grande
D'Abadie/O'Meara

Postby RASC » October 19th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Y'all stop harassing

Prof. Dr. Daran PhD. MSc QC ORTT MBA (LSE/OXF/UWI) CIMA CFA CGMA

Pls. Thx.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 1:14 pm

Daran wrote:
j.o.e wrote:PP defenders on tuner can justify spending .... But KPB and company can't clarify the spending in parliament ? KPB should've taken less days offs

Admittedly this is true, but there's a lot going on internally within the PP. Don't expect Kamla to remain for much longer (well at least till internal elections). Also, it could be a case of PP fully aware of this PNM grandstanding and just sitting back and chilling as nothing will come of it either way (so why waste the effort).

That result surprise plenty people. But I admit I underestimated the electorate gullibility and forgetfulness of the PNM sh*t governance they got in 2001-2010.

RASC wrote:Y'all stop harassing

Pls. Thx.

As for RASC, it's Daran (BSc, MSc, PMP, MBA).....PhD probably in the cards but later down the road pal.

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 1:23 pm

Hey I didnt notice Suruj and Daran have the same school ring, dais why...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 19th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Daran wrote:

That result surprise plenty people. But I admit I underestimated the electorate gullibility and forgetfulness of the PNM sh*t governance they got in 2001-2010.

Pls. Thx.

As for RASC, it's Daran (BSc, MSc, PMP, MBA).....PhD probably in the cards but later down the road pal.

All them qualifications you have and you be posting so much drivel? That real sad.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 19th, 2015, 1:29 pm

The issue with the Couva Hospital is that the UNC changed the location of the Hospital from the one PNM and the Chinese agreed to. The new location chosen was deliberately bad, requiring grading and filling. and thus requiring funds above what China was providing. That is how the UNC was able to transfer money to their contractor partners.

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 1:30 pm

EmilioA wrote:The issue with the Couva Hospital is that the UNC changed the location of the Hospital from the one PNM and the Chinese agreed to. The new location chosen was deliberately bad, requiring grading and filling. and thus requiring funds above what China was providing. That is how the UNC was able to transfer money to their contractor partners.

PNM proposed a hospital in Couva?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 1:32 pm

Where was the original location? And why should we care if the PNM and Chinese agreed to a different location?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 19th, 2015, 1:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:The issue with the Couva Hospital is that the UNC changed the location of the Hospital from the one PNM and the Chinese agreed to. The new location chosen was deliberately bad, requiring grading and filling. and thus requiring funds above what China was providing. That is how the UNC was able to transfer money to their contractor partners.

PNM proposed a hospital in Couva?

It was in the Vision 2020 Plan. If you google Manning and Couva Hospital you will get articles where in 2008 he announced the Couva Hospital was being delayed until funding could be sourced,

Daran wrote:Where was the original location? And why should we care if the PNM and Chinese agreed to a different location?

500 million dollars. That's why.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 19th, 2015, 1:51 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Daran wrote:

Pls. Thx.

All them qualifications you have and you be posting so much drivel? That real sad.

uwi again.

Postby The_Honourable » October 19th, 2015, 2:05 pm

I would not be surprised that is the case. Also to, the government was informed of a Fault Line in that area and was warned against building a hospital there.

Daran wrote:Where was the original location? And why should we care if the PNM and Chinese agreed to a different location?

I stand corrected but I believe the initial plan was that Couva District Health Facility was supposed to be converted and expanded to a hospital since the lands are already there to do so.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 2:07 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Daran wrote:

Pls. Thx.

uwi again.

Actually, only the undergrad was UWI. MSc and MBA were UK son.

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 2:29 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

I stand corrected but I believe the initial plan was that Couva District Health Facility was supposed to be converted and expanded to a hospital since the lands are already there to do so.

I give the UNC kudos for the location in terms of campaign value. It reminds those journeying to south that this is what your wonderful govt has done for you.

It is a horrible location for the commuting public but since when does that matter?

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

I give the UNC kudos for the location in terms of campaign value. It reminds those journeying to south that this is what your wonderful govt has done for you.

It is a horrible location for the commuting public but since when does that matter?

POS even more horrible to commute to.

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2015, 2:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

wheres a better location than central?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 19th, 2015, 3:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

What I believe Habit is referring to is that Couva Children's hospital is impossible to access without your own vehicle. I believe taxis and buses dont run there ?

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 3:03 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

What I believe Habit is referring to is that Couva Children's hospital is impossible to access without your own vehicle. I believe taxis and buses dont run there ?

Don't worry racket rail will have a stop there. PNM want rail instead of cars so it's a win win

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 19th, 2015, 3:05 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Daran wrote:

Pls. Thx.

uwi again.

The only persons who throw out that uwi again mentality are self wound inflicting low country esteem trinis who probably never attended. UWI isn't perfect but it's arguable that once one passes thru UWI they can then easier succeed in other universities.

As with anything what you get out of an institution depends on what you choose to learn. Aiming to just pass exams is one thing but one can learn a great deal at UWI.

That said Daran's posts really make a case for common sense being greater than book sense. Really makes higher education look bad.

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2015, 3:13 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

it has a highway access and exit not so?

any car heading south would be able to drop you there

really not sure how you getting out of there by travelling though.

Postby pete » October 19th, 2015, 3:15 pm

Take a short drop in an ambulance.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 19th, 2015, 3:55 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Daran wrote:

Pls. Thx.

uwi again.

The only persons who throw out that uwi again mentality are self wound inflicting low country esteem trinis who probably never attended. UWI isn't perfect but it's arguable that once one passes thru UWI they can then easier succeed in other universities.

As with anything what you get out of an institution depends on what you choose to learn. Aiming to just pass exams is one thing but one can learn a great deal at UWI.

That said Daran's posts really make a case for common sense being greater than book sense. Really makes higher education look bad.

yeah well i havent been impressed with the uwi students ive had to interface with in recent years. yeah there is the steady flow of actual scholars in uwi. studying hard and focussing on their future. but uwi full of slackers. and they does graduate too. and then they dont keep studying besides for the exam because they just glad they done. and a man who dind go no class, but study the curriculum home and study much further into real worl application could have a stronger foundation than uwi could provide. sure an institution is for those who need guidance. but believe me, i have no qualms about uwi.
but when we talking about fields like this. u cah come to a debate with 'out of date ideas', failed history regurgitated, and probably a host of other text book regurgitated info. this is real life now. not the classroom or the exam room. so i think uwi has been failing to convey that of late. students think theyre learning the latest thing and a higher level. but it really only teaches u the basics and gives u a foundation to further your own study and research. but i already have learning methods, research and study kills to learn anything i want. so no need for a tutor. the result is i have a much firmer grasp of reality and application of said studies.

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 4:10 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Daran wrote:

Pls. Thx.

uwi again.

yeah well i havent been impressed with the uwi students ive had to interface with in recent years. yeah there is the steady flow of actual scholars in uwi. studying hard and focussing on their future. but uwi full of slackers. and they does graduate too. and then they dont keep studying besides for the exam because they just glad they done. and a man who dind go no class, but study the curriculum home and study much further into real worl application could have a stronger foundation than uwi could provide. sure an institution is for those who need guidance. but believe me, i have no qualms about uwi.
but when we talking about fields like this. u cah come to a debate with 'out of date ideas', failed history regurgitated, and probably a host of other text book regurgitated info. this is real life now. not the classroom or the exam room. so i think uwi has been failing to convey that of late. students think theyre learning the latest thing and a higher level. but it really only teaches u the basics and gives u a foundation to further your own study and research. but i already have learning methods, research and study kills to learn anything i want. so no need for a tutor. the result is i have a much firmer grasp of reality and application of said studies.

Sounds like all these posters on tuner that always posting some newspaper or old research articles to back up their outdated claims .

Where rfari these days?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 4:21 pm

Don't take my posts on 2nr too seriously, half of them are troll like and I think most persons here realize that (mainly RASC, rfari and ZR).

bluesclues,

I surprisingly agree with you (mostly). But UWI's problem is not the staff (at least not in engineering). They've got some brilliant academic persons who've made contributions to the scientific community at large.

You are right if you're alluding to the student slacker culture in UWI. There are lots of great potential students entering UWI. However, the institution does not provide a proper incentive/motivation to excel beyond simply passing exams. Drafts and night before cramming are the modus operandi, which many think is normal. When I went to Manchester Uni to do my MSc I was shocked not just how much more the average engineering student knew, but how much they wanted to learn and understand.

I never said this on 2nd before (at least I don't think so), but I lectured at UWI part time a couple years ago for two MSc courses.

I had to literally take a course from Manchester and remove roughly 75% of the content and dumb down the tutorials, assignments and questions.....for the same credits. I remember once the Head of Department saying a year 1 MSc at top University is equal to 3 MScs (in content) at UWI, and will be more rigorous as well.

Everyone at UWI simply wants to get a BSc or MSc for having the qualification. They give little taught to the actual program and have little to no passion for the subject (most not all). As such, it makes it very very difficult to assess someone who has a UWI BSc or MSc. I've seen 'first class' students who were pure idiots and some absolutely brilliant work from upper-seconds students. However, back in the UK this is defintely much less of a problem, especially resent given the push to eliminate rote learning.

bluesclues, just a piece of advice. Do not fall prey to the arrogant mindset of trinis. We have a culture filled with pseudo-intellects and self acclaimed experts. And I've seen so many people bad talk and put down foreign research/input without understanding it. Granted you must always be critical in your analysis, but it is pointless to delude yourself to think you know better without understanding the deepness of some problems.

For someone who claims they have good research skills, your assessment of GMO's safety leaves a lot to be desired. However, this may be more of an indictment of your own personal bias.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 19th, 2015, 4:35 pm

hardly a personal bias. if u read my gmo post i did mention the potential benefits and mission of gmo research. but i also mentioned i dont like the way theyre going about it. all packaged or fresh food utilizing gmo should be labelled. and allow the population the choice of eating organic or gmo experimental food.

and next, we have to take this to the gmo thread. because the world has no shortage of food. we throw away 1/3 of the food we produce in the world. a whoole 33%. what we have is a risk and constantly growing appearance of an economic famine. where food keeps getting more and more expensive till its totally out of reach to the average consumer. and then allyuh will eat sand diamonds and gold. because is the monetary policies being invoked guiding us there.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 19th, 2015, 7:22 pm

Well hopefully if they reform GATE they would be better able to filter out poor performers, (i.e.low GPAs) and implement a computerized system to track attendance (those with low attendance will not be allowed to sit or may be asked to pay more etc. etc.)

Speaking as a former student of UWI I can say that the issue of cramming is quite common and at times if plays into the culture of liming.....personally I don't cram never have a not my way of doing things. It seems to be a reflection of our culture in general just wait for the last minute and do something intense, excessive and inefficient.

Still even I agree the attitude to the institution seems to be lacking...I came to the conclusion that most were just getting an education to get a job....so you understand...just like what happened with the medical profession, must young folks saw it as a business.....not good (in my opinion).

Very few folks had an sort of zeal and enthusiasm for the body of knowledge, not to mention the fact that when they came out into society/job they were misunderstood/underutilized and in some case put in a corner they don't develop the long term love of the field despite having achieved.

In addition the attitude of some superiors in the workplace also goes to tempering the interest of the graduate in his field, I remember when a young profession introduced himself and where he graduated the senior at the meeting said "....you is one of them alright...."

I have also noticed within the workplace that graduates (UWI & UTT) when they come into the workplace they are not allowed to perform it is almost as if senior folks don't want them to work....

Postby eliteauto » October 19th, 2015, 10:43 pm

:| :|