Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby Slartibartfast » July 22nd, 2015, 4:36 pm

Toyopet wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:
HSA wrote:Ghee dem fayah....would a car wrap around a pole like that if it was travelling at 80km/h and applied brakes as it skidded towards the pole???

I have seen vehicles skid doing 50 km/h and mashing brakes sometimes can make the situation worse than it seems.

Why is this country allowing foreign used tyres to enter our shores?

I disagree with that last comment. What we should not allow are those damn cheap Chinese brands like triangle and nexen and whatever else popping up all over the place (what the hell is a Clear tyre?). What or officers should be doing is checking the amount of thread on the tyres of the cars on our roadway.
Am I the only one that thinks skidding the car is an inadequate way to test brakes while I inspecting the car? I saw them "inspect" a car in License Office un town. I swear the car I saw would have stopped quicker if it applied brakes lightly

Postby gastly369 » July 22nd, 2015, 5:54 pm

Toyopet wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:
HSA wrote:Ghee dem fayah....would a car wrap around a pole like that if it was travelling at 80km/h and applied brakes as it skidded towards the pole???

I have seen vehicles skid doing 50 km/h and mashing brakes sometimes can make the situation worse than it seems.

I disagree with that last comment. What we should not allow are those damn cheap Chinese brands like triangle and nexen and whatever else popping up all over the place (what the hell is a Clear tyre?). What or officers should be doing is checking the amount of thread on the tyres of the cars on our roadway.

Nah easier to charge someone with one blown taillight ,fog lights , led lights.. Dem more dangerous :|

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 22nd, 2015, 8:07 pm

Toyopet wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Fullrun..

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 22nd, 2015, 10:11 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Toyopet wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Fullrun..

Fullrun is another brand I see all them almera men running. Don't trust it. I rather a set of dunlop or michelins with about 70% life that gonna last me at least 30,000 kms safely...for $200 max.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 23rd, 2015, 12:13 am

Foreign "used" tyres, in your opinion, is the best option?
I see.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 23rd, 2015, 12:33 am

Pointman-IA wrote:Foreign "used" tyres, in your opinion, is the best option?
I see.

Not what I said note did I imply that. I said I'd rather foreign used tyres than those Chinese tyres. The best option imo is new tyre versións of said foreign used tyres eg Michelin, Continental, Bridgestone etc.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 23rd, 2015, 12:38 am

Point noted.
The Chinese products are everywhere.
Fullrun, HiFly, etc.

I am looking for Pirelli for the Clio. No luck down here.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 23rd, 2015, 12:55 am

Pointman-IA wrote:Point noted.
The Chinese products are everywhere.
Fullrun, HiFly, etc.

I am looking for Pirelli for the Clio. No luck down here.

I got Pirelli a few years ago from Tyre Clinic. All branches carry the same stock so check any one. Jacks in couva had too but his price was higher. Other than that pm me the size and I'll see what I can do

Postby Chimera » July 23rd, 2015, 6:55 am

Are there actually fake big brand tyres being sold locally as well?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 23rd, 2015, 7:45 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Are there actually fake big brand tyres being sold locally as well?

Well idk if they are fake, but you would find some of the brands have different manufacturing locations. Take for example the Firestone Destinations on my van, they are made in Costa Rica or some South american country. They work very good meaning good grip and even, quiet wear but Firestone is a North American brand. It could mean Firestone has a plant there.

What there is on our market thought are Chinese brands that copy the thread desogn of the higher end tyres. Look at the Event all terrain tyre and the BF Goodrich all terrain tyres and see for yourself.

Postby MG Man » July 23rd, 2015, 10:27 am

pretty much any tyre is ok once you doing sensible speeds, so I wouldn't but the blame solely on cheap chinese manufactured tyres

Postby gastly369 » July 23rd, 2015, 10:37 am

Postby j.o.e » July 23rd, 2015, 10:38 am

While I don't use Chinese tyres I think it might be too much to blame them for accidents..... I think any non defective tyre regardless of brand should perform sufficiently. Unless someone can show that these Chinese brands have manufacturers defects or low quality I can safely say that most accidents in Trinidad are caused by:

Irresponsible speeding(relative to road condition,weather etc)
Sleep/Alcohol
Driver error

Advent

Postby Advent » July 23rd, 2015, 2:52 pm

j.o.e wrote:While I don't use Chinese tyres I think it might be too much to blame them for accidents..... I think any non defective tyre regardless of brand should perform sufficiently. Unless someone can show that these Chinese brands have manufacturers defects or low quality I can safely say that most accidents in Trinidad are caused by:

Irresponsible speeding(relative to road condition,weather etc)
Sleep/Alcohol
Driver error

True most cases its a faulty steering actuator or a loose nut between the steering wheel and the seat :(

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 23rd, 2015, 3:08 pm

Take allyuh tyre debate to another thread please...

daas

Postby daas » July 23rd, 2015, 3:13 pm

and thus began "The official tyre debate thread" :neutral:

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 23rd, 2015, 5:24 pm

Once people get the car they have to show they "reach", so spend the most money on music and bling up, and the least possible they can on foreign used or cheapest (foreign used) tyres.

Music and show more important then what actually touches the road. Tyre showoff too subtle. If Pirelli made chrome rimmed tyres, they'd probably be less accidents on the road!

antlind

Postby antlind » July 23rd, 2015, 5:45 pm

DTAC wrote:
Music and show more important then what actually touches the road. Tyre showoff too subtle. If Pirelli made chrome rimmed tyres, they'd probably be less accidents on the road!

Take win partner.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2015, 6:37 pm

DTAC

geee dem

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2015, 10:10 pm

THis evening about 445PM on the southbound by Brentwood, a pair of koreans doublefcked a german while a jap snuck in from behind.

Kia rearended by Benz rearended by Hyundai rearended by AD.
use imagination since no pics. Was trying to avoid the maccomorons

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 23rd, 2015, 10:19 pm

At least it wasn't a B14.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 23rd, 2015, 11:10 pm

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=283418&hilit=rubber&start=2010

Tyre talk here ^. Just to reply to mg man, most people don't drive at sensible speeds all the time. I myself do not drive below 140km/h at three in the morning, sober of course.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 24th, 2015, 8:19 pm

in other news... Carmona Bike escort - o
3 TOn truck - 1

hope he ok..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2015, 8:23 pm

da fcuk^

TriP

Postby TriP » July 25th, 2015, 4:19 pm

Couva accident just before 3pm Sat25th ..No casualties in Rivulet rd
1.jpg
2.jpg
4.jpg

Advent

Postby Advent » July 25th, 2015, 6:01 pm

Major accident after piarco lights on the highway 2 cars on east bound side and one one right bound side traffic heavy, can't upload pics Tapatalk crashing

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

Advent

Postby Advent » July 25th, 2015, 7:20 pm

nick639 wrote:
Advent wrote:Major accident after piarco lights on the highway 2 cars on east bound side and one one right bound side traffic heavy, can't upload pics Tapatalk crashing

Unconfirmed reports say one of the drivers claimed his brakes locked up and he couldn't control vehicle.. Don't know what kind of vehicle tho

It was a slyphy , ad wagon and the recent Toyota corolla , toyata wrecked off engine flatten to the chassis , ad and sylphy just have front damage,Toyota end up on highway heading west

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 25th, 2015, 11:26 pm

Body on the highway by Price Plaza..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 26th, 2015, 10:47 pm

passed a smash up heading west along the CRH after race track. tiida on crimz was geeing fyaz.....rear ended another vehicle

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2015, 9:53 am

I believe two died in this accident
download.jpg
download.jpg (13.52 KiB) Viewed 3168 times