Re: Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2014, 7:20 pm

16 cycles wrote:There are adapters...
for?

Postby 16 cycles » November 19th, 2014, 8:46 pm

Headphone jack o/p...though i'd queation the DAC on the phone.

There was a harmon kardon version of a phone not too long ago that supposed to have a decent DAC built into it.

How do those wireless flash drives work? Direct comm with phone or over a wireless network?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2014, 10:03 pm

16 cycles wrote:Headphone jack o/p...though i'd queation the DAC on the phone.

There was a harmon kardon version of a phone not too long ago that supposed to have a decent DAC built into it.

How do those wireless flash drives work? Direct comm with phone or over a wireless network?
yes direct wireless connection to the device

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2014, 10:43 pm

I think 1080p is the sweet spot for phone resolution but for bigger screens could do with the 4k.

And yes Duane, FLAC on a headphones jack. Not ideal but a huge step above mp3 for the music I listen to.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2015, 1:50 pm

http://bigstory.ap.org/article/fd0e6374 ... -4q-profit

Samsung forecasts 32% annual profit drop

SEOUL, South Korea (AP) — Samsung Electronics Co. said Thursday its annual profit fell for the first time in three years as its smartphone growth lost steam.

The company's 2014 operating profit is expected to be about 24.9 trillion won ($22.6 billion), down 32 percent from 2013, based on preliminary figures. It will release its full financial results including net profit and a breakdown of business divisions later this month.

For the fourth quarter of last year, Samsung said operating profit was about 5.2 trillion won ($4.7 billion), down 37 percent from a year earlier. The result was still higher than analyst expectations of 4.9 trillion won according to FactSet, a financial data provider, due to robust demand for memory chips.

Analysts said Samsung's smartphone business, which contributed two-thirds of its profit in the last two years, continued to struggle but improvements in its semiconductor division helped the company rebound from the third quarter, its worst quarter in nearly three years.

Postby ismithx » January 8th, 2015, 2:32 pm

ismithx wrote:4k is an issue for everything, the world not ready for it yet
the world not ready for 4K? Or you not ready for 4K?

most movies since Avatar are filmed in higher than 4K resolution.
desktop computers are selling off the shelves with 4K and 5K monitors
4K TV's in pricesmart
Youtube videos are now in 4K

now seeing this...

the bandwidth and processing requirements for 4K are very high, so we really gonna need vastly improved networks, plus making movies in these resolutions is also a headache (in terms of the processing needed for CGI)

Postby Slartibartfast » January 12th, 2015, 3:20 pm

I think most movies are already made in this and higher resolution (at least all that come out in IMAX theaters are). As far as bandwidth goes, why not upgrade the network to fibre optics? It's going to have to be eventually anyway. Do we really need to wait until the last possible moment to do so?

Also, I read something a while back that said even if the eye cannot detect individual pixels (like 1080p on a 5 inch screen), the introduction of more pixels still makes the image look more real (like 4k resolution on a 5 inch screen)

So i take back my previous statement, it would be nice to see how high resolution things can get. But in terms of phones, the biggest improvement I will like to see right now is a longer battery life across the board.

Postby stev » January 12th, 2015, 3:56 pm

ismithx wrote:
ismithx wrote:4k is an issue for everything, the world not ready for it yet
the world not ready for 4K? Or you not ready for 4K?

most movies since Avatar are filmed in higher than 4K resolution.
desktop computers are selling off the shelves with 4K and 5K monitors
4K TV's in pricesmart
Youtube videos are now in 4K

now seeing this...

the bandwidth and processing requirements for 4K are very high, so we really gonna need vastly improved networks, plus making movies in these resolutions is also a headache (in terms of the processing needed for CGI)

dont underestimate the capability of existing network infrastructure....also the processing power of the equipment used in movie production.

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 1st, 2015, 6:50 pm

Await thoughts on removable battery, memory and the innovative design

http://www.businessinsider.com/samsung-galaxy-s-6-video-review-2015-3

Oh and this is a grounded up design

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » March 1st, 2015, 8:23 pm

The new S6 is failure IMO. Tried too much to be an iphone. I actually rather the plastic. Adds durability. Never had to really worry about damage if I dropped my S4. But with this new phone having an all glass back and aluminium sides, just makes it so fragile and susceptible to dents. I mean, most people just slap on a case anyway yet manufactures rather toss out a pretty but fragile phone, where most of the beauty always covered up.

Postby Morpheus » March 1st, 2015, 8:43 pm

I have no problems with my plastic S4. As mentioned most times they're covered up in a case anyway.

I even stopped walking with a charger. Extra battery and a wall charger. 20secs to do a swap and you on full 100% again.

But, remember some associate plastic with cheap.....
Last edited by Morpheus on March 1st, 2015, 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » March 1st, 2015, 9:30 pm

Postby ismithx » March 1st, 2015, 10:18 pm

I dont really like the s6 edge, design is
Polished but gimmicky. Lack of sd card is real failure

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 1st, 2015, 11:08 pm

Lol

Postby Mark! » March 2nd, 2015, 5:51 am

Wtf. Dat video was a joke right?

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 8:57 am

Steups. S4 was the last significant Galaxy upgrade. This one looks way nicer than the "bandaid" S5 (Curved edges, sleek metal design, speaker at the bottom, iPhone S6?) and I could live without the SD card if I get the 64GB or 128GB version once they don't charge you US$100 extra for each minor upgrade. But that no removable battery thing is a deal breaker. A good battery pull solves almost any problem that might crop up.

With no SD card slot and non-removable battery I might as well just buy and iPhone! That's right! I said it!

... oh wait... iTunes... nevermind...

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 2nd, 2015, 9:21 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Steups. S4 was the last significant Galaxy upgrade. This one looks way nicer than the "bandaid" S5 (Curved edges, sleek metal design, speaker at the bottom, iPhone S6?) and I could live without the SD card if I get the 64GB or 128GB version once they don't charge you US$100 extra for each minor upgrade. But that no removable battery thing is a deal breaker. A good battery pull solves almost any problem that might crop up.

With no SD card slot and non-removable battery I might as well just buy and iPhone! That's right! I said it!

... oh wait... iTunes... nevermind...

Whats so bad about iTunes? I find it pretty convenient

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 9:53 am

Not nearly as convenient as not having iTunes. I rather just copy music on and off my device like it was an ordinary hard drive. iTunes is the only reason I won't own an iPhone. It's a shame because the iPhone 6 looks pretty sweet.

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 2nd, 2015, 10:21 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Not nearly as convenient as not having iTunes. I rather just copy music on and off my device like it was an ordinary hard drive. iTunes is the only reason I won't own an iPhone. It's a shame because the iPhone 6 looks pretty sweet.

Using iTunes is just like explorer when the phone is plugged in you can just drag the songs directly to the phone.

iTunes then makes it far easier, buy allowing you to sync with out even having to plug in the phone, this allows your updated playlists to be updated across all devices at once

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 10:57 am

Why use something "like explorer" when I can just use explorer? Sync function is nice but i'll hardly use it. Oh and in terms of wirelessly connecting your phone, Android has AirDroid. You basically use your WiFi network as your "data cable". Sync functions can also be set up using any of a number of free cloud storage programs.

What I really like Android for as well is how easily I can set custom ringtones. Hear a song I like, Shazam it to get the name of the song, download the song, select and click "set as custom ringtone" all done on my phone.

Compare that to the lengthy process with iPhone.

Removable battery, expandable/interchangeable memory and complete freedom with picture, movies and music are the only three things that keep me from buying an iPhone.

Also, sub-HD display is a huge minus and the Plus is just too big. But that's my personal preference that I know a lot of people don't share. S4 is the biggest phone I could handle.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 3rd, 2015, 1:38 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Why use something "like explorer" when I can just use explorer? Sync function is nice but i'll hardly use it. Oh and in terms of wirelessly connecting your phone, Android has AirDroid. You basically use your WiFi network as your "data cable". Sync functions can also be set up using any of a number of free cloud storage programs.
you mean like iTunes wifi sync, AirDrop and iCloud?

Slartibartfast wrote:What I really like Android for as well is how easily I can set custom ringtones. Hear a song I like, Shazam it to get the name of the song, download the song, select and click "set as custom ringtone" all done on my phone.

Compare that to the lengthy process with iPhone.
sounds like piracy

as opposed to buy the song, set it as a ringtone.
Legal and easier.

Slartibartfast wrote:Removable battery, expandable/interchangeable memory and complete freedom with picture, movies and music are the only three things that keep me from buying an iPhone.
Even Samsung just decided the removable battery is unnecessary when there are charge cases. you shut down your phone to change battery?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 3rd, 2015, 8:16 am

I thought that battery removal trick to solve software problems was a blackberry only thing? 2007 was a long time ago.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 3rd, 2015, 8:22 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you mean like iTunes wifi sync, AirDrop and iCloud?
Yeah my argument was it's a nice Apple feature that can be mimicked by Android phones with the right third party apps. Apple's app is an all in one package built right it which is ideal if that is a main selling point for you. It wasn't a main selling point for me but that is just my preference. Those are great features.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:sounds like piracy

as opposed to buy the song, set it as a ringtone.
Legal and easier.
Here is the procedure to setting a custom ringtone on an Android.
1. Select Song
2. Select "Set as Ringtone"
BTW unless it is a cloud service, you will have to download the song after buying it, which I rather for offline use.

Here is the procedure for setting a custom ringtone on an iPhone
http://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/iphone/how-turn-any-song-iphone-ringtone-alert-tone-3460817/
I won't even bother to paste it here but it is unnecessarily complicated.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Even Samsung just decided the removable battery is unnecessary when there are charge cases. you shut down your phone to change battery?
Yup :( and they reduced the size of the battery. Nothing beats a good ole battery swap IMO.

They also removed the expandable memory and the waterproof rating and installed a fingerprint magnet on the back.

I'm not a Android fanboy or anything. As far as I am concerned, all flagship phones have more features than I'll ever need so the one to choose comes down to preference and I prefer removable batteries and expandable memory as I have always used both of those features a lot in the past.
Last edited by Slartibartfast on March 3rd, 2015, 8:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 8:23 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I thought that battery removal trick to solve software problems was a blackberry only thing? 2007 was a long time ago.

Nah man that applies to all phones. Even opening a iphone and removing the battery and putting it back does solve issues sometimes. When apps crashing on samsung its a easy way to fix it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 3rd, 2015, 8:28 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I thought that battery removal trick to solve software problems was a blackberry only thing? 2007 was a long time ago.

Nah man that applies to all phones. Even opening a iphone and removing the battery and putting it back does solve issues sometimes. When apps crashing on samsung its a easy way to fix it.

Software issues or charging issues?

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 9:02 am

Software issues. Sometimes a iphone not restoring for nothing or stuck in dfu mode and you cant get it out of it. Removing the battery for a 5 mins solves the problem.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 3rd, 2015, 9:05 am

5 mins? Normally a few seconds works just fine.

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 9:08 am

Is take longer than a few seconds to install back a iphone battery lol.

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 3rd, 2015, 9:16 am

Since my first iPhone I have never have to shut down or remove the battery. I guess it was a common problem with Android that removable batteries were needed

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 9:35 am

People only bring phones to me that need to be repaired. So i can safely say that all phones do have their fair share of problems. What is the reason for making batteries unremovable tho? Not complaining tho, i glad when people hadda come and pay money just to open their phone and remove the battery.