Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 3:40 pm

[quote="ziggy_dappa"]You check raj?? If he has let me know I me done also.[/quote]

WHAT???????

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » September 22nd, 2013, 3:44 pm

Lol stupid auto correct. I need one also !!

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » September 22nd, 2013, 3:53 pm

I want the shrimp for aptasia for my frag tank. Was successful with them getting rid of aptasia in my nano tank.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 5:04 pm

Think i'll put a few in my frag tank. I aint see none yet but you know they only like the small ones. to eat. I have 5 in my main tank and they sort of keeping them down

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 5:34 pm

Here is a pic some how i am only allowed to post one pic every few days
But the thank doing good did not get the new light as yet and getting a little bit of some kind of black flakes on the rocks
1379885555706.jpg

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » September 22nd, 2013, 5:35 pm

The bigger ones you can inject or kalk paste them and leave the babies to the shrimp.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 5:45 pm

bir123 wrote:Here is a pic some how i am only allowed to post one pic every few days
But the thank doing good did not get the new light as yet and getting a little bit of some kind of black flakes on the rocks

Nice tank. Love the rock work. Where you got them. Were they live rock or dry bleached rock. What you running for filtration, hang-on or canister.
Join photobucket and yuh on for photos. any amount you want
See you got two MP10's for circulation......real good. You wont go wrong with that.

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 6:31 pm

i got the live rock from my friend dad he was rescapeing his tank and those are the few pieces of rock he decided to remove i think it 50 pounds but it's live rock it was in his system .now for filtration i have a hang on filter with polishing pad and also a hang on overflow which leads to a 30 by 15 by 15 sump the sump has a refiugeum a protien skimmer and some filter floss on the under flow areas als have a bulk reef supply gfo and carbon rector 2 chamber that' it
this is where i got my design for the sump

http://www.chucksaddiction.com/sumps.html

and a pic from the site of the sump i built
basicsump.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 7:51 pm

yeah that design sweet. I don't believe in the filter floss (that's just me) cause that just traps uneaten food and stuff which raises your nitrates. I use no kinda filter pads. Early on in my tank I had that and observed that problem.

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 8:11 pm

Or so do you think i should remove it and also where is this raj person located want to buy my fish and coral from

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 8:23 pm

bir123 wrote:Or so do you think i should remove it and also where is this raj person located want to buy my fish and coral from

I never said you should remove it, its just I had problems in the past with running those pads and filter floss. In both my tanks. Try it first and see. If you realize that your nitrates not dropping, that's the first thing to check on. remember a smaller tank is harder to control your parameters with. Corals and shrimp don't like high nitrates. You;ll have to do frequent water changes to conquer high nitrates. If you gonna be running biopellets, sugar or vodka dosing, you better have a DAMN GOOD skimmer. Your skimmate comes out black. Raj lives in pasea, st agustine

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 9:14 pm

Yes it comes out black and fills about every 5 days

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 9:28 pm

hows your phosphates and what type of water you use

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 10:38 pm

I ended up buying the rodi water system and my phosphates are at .5 ppm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 11:21 pm

bir123 wrote:I ended up buying the rodi water system and my phosphates are at .5 ppm

You good to go, remember every time you add some new type of plastic into your tank your phosphates will increase. Plastic has phosphates that leaches into your tank. Anytime you see that all kinda organisms and/or coralline algae growing on it, you know its been removed. Eggcrate is one that takes long. Remember its phosphates what feeds your algae. To much light and the wrong spectrum is another factor. Just throw in the bacteria and the tank will cycle. next 3 wks or so when everything has cycled you maybe can add some green chromis or clowns. Don't use damsels cause you'll regret it trying to catch it after. You might even have to upset the rockworks.

something of interest
http://www.liveaquaria.com/PIC/article.cfm?aid=89

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 23rd, 2013, 3:25 pm

K got this instant ocean bacteria going to add this today

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 23rd, 2013, 7:17 pm

bir123 wrote:K got this instant ocean bacteria going to add this today

Cool......... where you located

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 23rd, 2013, 7:30 pm

Palmiste sando

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 23rd, 2013, 9:13 pm

^^^ you rite there man. I in gasparillo

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 23rd, 2013, 10:22 pm

Yea

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 29th, 2013, 11:04 am

Anybody know anywhere in tnt that have aquariums with those plastic overflows built in .not the hang on ones but the built in one

And this is the progress on the aquarium
1380467046545.jpg

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 30th, 2013, 11:38 am

WOW...lol been a while since ive been on the forum....good to see a man setting up a tank, rock work looking nice.
Update on my tank: Coralline spreading nicely...everything stable...just waiting on Raj to bring in some corals and fish now. will post up some pics this week hopefully.

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 30th, 2013, 7:11 pm

Thanks raj have any coral now

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 30th, 2013, 7:46 pm

I know he has the zoas and a couple Duncans and stuff. .. he got anything new?

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 30th, 2013, 8:11 pm

I went like last week and he only had a few corals and he say he was getting some things soon

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » October 1st, 2013, 7:48 am

Yupp he said this month...

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » October 1st, 2013, 1:54 pm

Hey guys i got an extra Salifert Mg test kit if anyone is intrested in a trade.

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » October 5th, 2013, 10:18 pm

aye fellas i got a prob have a lot of aiptasia in my tank i tried copperband butterfly he didn eat n died had peppermint shrimp the disappear yest i got to banded butterflyfish if this doesnt work do you have any solutions

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 6th, 2013, 9:55 am

I know you've tried everything so far, but Have you tried hyposalinity........... carrying your salinity slowly down from 1.025/6, down to 1.012/4.
Fish can survive in that kind of water. Not shrimp, corals and inverts though. It works great when you have a tank with ich or other deseases. I've had my tubs run for mths like that before.
Try it. Your next option is wipe out everything and start over. Peppermint shrimp don't eat large aptasia like the sizes you have. Other than that, you can also ask raj to bring a filefish for you.
Question: you going to add banded butterfly fish............ when and if they eat out all the aptasia, how you going to get them out. They eat many soft corals.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » October 6th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Even hypo salinty won't kill those damn aptasia. You can try some Red Sea aptasia X or kalk paste for the bigger ones. Then for the real tiny ones try a few more pepermint or another coperband.