*** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread*** (UNC/PP EDITION 2010-2015)

Re: *** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread***

Postby UML » November 13th, 2014, 12:19 pm

I eh know but a PP sheep like myself would look at the positive

less money spent to them?
less operation cost?
less maintenance cost?
availability for pt lisas?
more reliable supply?
more money to invest on equipment, upgrades and connections?

Postby UML » November 13th, 2014, 12:29 pm

‘Lured by land of milk, honey’

Renuka Singh

Published:
Thursday, November 13, 2014

Chairman of the Emancipation Support Committee Khafra Kambon hugs African migrant Gregory Moses following a press conference at committee's office on Bergerac Road, Maraval yesterday. Moses was recently granted refugee status after being detained at the detention centre for three years. PHOTO: JEFF MAYERS

Nigerian detainee, Tine Okodeo Kings, 40, who was just released from the detention centre, is now married to a Trinidadian. Speaking to the media at the Emancipation Centre, Bergerac Road, Maraval, Kings said he came in, undocumented, through a small port in Cedros from Venezuela.

He said he did not know why he came to Trinidad. “I got a ticket to go to Brazil for a job and there I realised that the job I was promised was not actually the way it was explained to me and then I was stranded... so someone comes to me and says there is this land flowing with milk and honey, T&T, there are jobs, you could make some good dollars. That is how I came here,” he said.
Kings said he made a connection with a Trinidadian who owned a boat and paid the man US$250 for a ride “in a fig boat on the high seas” to Cedros. He said it was a small boat that travelled through shark-infested waters.

Back home in Nigeria, Kings was a teacher and was initially supposed to run a restaurant in Brazil. Describing conditions in the detention centre, he said: “The beds are like baby beds, the kind I buy for my six-year-old son and it is a double-decker, so when the man on top is shifting, it shifts. The windows are louvres so at night you get a lot of mosquito bites. Otherwise the place is not hygienic. It is a prison.”

Kings said he was at home last year with his wife of seven years when immigration officers picked him up. He said conditions at the centre were worse for the women and claimed a female detainee had committed suicide. His wife posted a bond for his release and even after it was posted, he was remanded for months. Kings was at the centre for over a year before finally being released into his wife's custody, according to a document signed by the Minister of National Security.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11- ... y%E2%80%99

Postby RASC » November 13th, 2014, 2:44 pm

UML wrote:
RASC wrote:Keep Track on PNM failure?

Thought this was a thread on GOV'T ACHIEVEMENT... Always watching others but not yourself.

u make this so easy eh :lol: :lol:

well the Government Achieving what the PNM FAILED TO DO. :roll:

Ooooo OK.

So looks like it'll be an easy victory come 2015 then 8-)

Postby De Dragon » November 13th, 2014, 4:38 pm

pete wrote:What's going to happen to Powergen with the cut back in how much power is needed from them?

POWERGEN has a take or pay contract with the Government, so they will be basically unaffected financially. They will have to reduce output at their plants though.

Postby UML » November 13th, 2014, 8:03 pm

RASC wrote:
UML wrote:
RASC wrote:Keep Track on PNM failure?

Thought this was a thread on GOV'T ACHIEVEMENT... Always watching others but not yourself.

u make this so easy eh :lol: :lol:

well the Government Achieving what the PNM FAILED TO DO. :roll:

Ooooo OK.

So looks like it'll be an easy victory come 2015 then 8-)

U eh quote meh yet?

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 13th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Crackpot wrote:This naked Propoganda thread is the premier example of why this gov't and its lackees and mouthpieces will soon be gone :| But in the meantime....

Postby UML » November 16th, 2014, 6:59 pm

After decades of polluted drains and rivers, flooding and numerous dengue fever deaths....a government who deals with the issues and not Propaganda!

Postby UML » November 19th, 2014, 9:08 am

Jack, Shaka applaud Govt on grassroot plan

Sean Nero

Published:
Monday, November 17, 2014

Former national footballers Shaka Hislop and Kelvin Jack are today applauding Government’s decision to invest $32.6 million towards the development of grassroot football in T&T.

The athletes who represented this country at the Fifa World Cup Germany in 2006, said once this initiative was sustained, this country would never be in short supply of proven talent from which to draw.

They believed this move would always ensure that the standard of football to be witnessed at varying levels was delivered with the approval of the national community and admired the world over.

Finance Minister Larry Howai, during his 2014/2015 budget presentation, said the state made significant progress in establishing and enabling framework, comprising infrastructure, management and coaching, talent building, welfare of elite athletes and sport tourism.

“We are building on the existing infrastructure: the technical framework to support the development of football throughout the country has been put in place at an annual cost of $36.2 million; the five multi-purpose stadia have been or are now being upgraded; and community sporting groups and national governing bodies are continuing to receive financial assistance,” the minister said.

Jack commended the state for taking the initiative, but believed such a programme needed ten times that amount.

“But if that is what they can allocate right now, so be it. But without a doubt they would need more money than that. That’s only 3.2 million pounds. It’s a lot of money, but it isn’t a lot of money if you know what I am saying; if you want to go the way of development.

He added, “They needed to have the right people running it. That’s the crucial issue here. The right people must be running these programmes; people who understand football; people who (are) qualified in coaching football; people who are good at imparting knowledge. It’s brilliant that the money is there to do it, but they need to put the right people in place to run this programme or else it’s not going to be successful.”

Asked if he believed the time had come for the former Soca Warriors to get involved in the sustained development of T&T football, Jack responded affirmatively.

Depending on which of them would be interested in getting involved, he said, T&T had a lot of knowledge to gain from this type of engagement.

Should these calibre of players be approached and accede to the request, said Jack, local football would surely progress.

“The problem is that TTFA is not interested in tapping into that knowledge. You have all these players here—the only players that have ever gone to a World Cup final—and you haven’t used it (their knowledge). They (TTFA) went on a trip the other day overloaded with staff. Sheldon Phillips brought his dad (Lincoln Phillips) on board as goal keeping coach.

“No disrespect to Lincoln Phillips who had a great playing career and good coaching career, but it is time for the younger brigade to get involved. So far, they have been unwilling to utilise these players who were part of the most successful team of T&T’s history,” Jack said.

Hislop, an ESPN football commentator and newly appointed Fifa influential International Football Association Board (IFAB) board member said, too often, local football and the financing of it is focused on the top tier of our game, in particular, the national team.

“I have been critical in the past. For years, when World Cup comes about there’s a lot of shouting and screaming and howling about the national team. How much money the Government, the corporate sector or whoever it maybe is putting behind the national team to qualify for the next World Cup. I have been very critical of that approach. As a fan, I am equally animated every four years when it comes around. But in all honesty, I have always felt that for us to consistently threaten to qualify for the World Cup, we have to take a long term view or our game and the development of it,” he said.

Hislop added, “Our planning for World Cup 2018 should have started a decade ago. I think the development and this announcement buys into that thinking.

“We have to start developing. We have to start preparing our young athletes at the earliest possible level, because I feel it’s such a steep learning curve and we are already at a disadvantage to most nations simply because of our country’s size and the player pool that a population of 1.5 million can afford. We have to do other things and I think this is a significant step in that direction,” he said.
https://guardian.co.tt/sport/2014-11-17 ... sroot-plan

Walkover for Sea Lots

By Marlene Augustine Wednesday, November 19 2014

A walkover will finally be built for Sea Lots residents, nearly two years after a woman and her two daughters died crossing the Beetham Highway to get to the waterfront community in Port-of- Spain.

An agreement to construct the walkover was reached between Works and Infrastructure Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan and Deputy Mayor of Port-of-Spain Keron Valentine yesterday, and the project will be treated with urgency.

Valentine announced the decision in a statement yesterday.

Sea Lots residents have been crying out for the walkover, ever since Haydee Paul and her daughters, Shakira and Akasha, were killed after being run over by a car on the highway on February 24, 2013.

Although pedestrian crossing signals were installed near the Central Market and Port-of-Spain lighthouse, residents still risked getting struck by motorists.

In the statement, Valentine said a visit by the Minister to the area proved to be a success as Rambachan indicated funding for the walkover has already been allocated. It is to be located near the Central Market.

Hayden Phillip, director of the Programme for Upgrading Road Efficiency, which falls under the ministry, has assured the designs for the walkover will be completed by November 19, for the Port-of-Spain Council to give final approval for a portion of the Central Market to be used to accommodate the walkover.

In return, Valentine assured the Minister the Port-of-Spain City Council will meet in an emergency session to ensure all necessary clearances required for the space will be made available for the project. The Deputy Mayor said a formal request has to be made to the Council along with the proposed design, but he was happy that, at the end of the day, residents and commuters will be safer.

However, spokesman for the Sea Lots community, Kenroy Dopwell, was not so optimistic about the plan when Newsday broke the news to him yesterday. He said residents were not consulted and felt the walkover would be too far away from Sea Lots.

“I was able to get a brief look at the drawings of the walkover, and according to what I saw on the drawings, the walkover is going almost 120 metres heading east from the traffic lights. When you take the measurements, it is almost down by Bhagwansingh (hardware) area. I don’t see how this will serve the people of Sea Lots,” he said.

Dopwell said residents will have to cross from the market and walk west along the highway.

“I don’t think it will bring any relief for the residents in Sea Lots because the place in which they intend to build the walkover is not for us, it’s more like for the people in the vicinity of Bhagwansingh. When the walkover is placed there, people coming from the (Priority) Bus Route area who use the crossing at the traffic lights, they will now have to walk east to take the walkover to walk back west, that is total madness,” Dopwell said.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,203138.html

A Government for ALL. Fixing the numerous issues the PNM has ignored! 8-)

Postby 16 cycles » November 19th, 2014, 10:30 am

hope they make allocations for machinery in and out of the port /west that uses that stretch of the road....

Postby desifemlove » November 19th, 2014, 10:27 pm

I ent no UNC, but I must commend Mrs. Kamla/Dr. Suruj for commencing construction on de Sealots walkover.

http://www.103fm.net/sea-lots-to-get-lo ... -walkover/

So Kamla doing a ting for people who vote PNM for longest while, and Dr. Rowley and de fat lady who MP for de area ent do nutten (when Dr. Krowley was Housing Minister and had position to advance dis...) And Krowley does say only ting built being in Penal hehe.... Same argument for de Oropune walkover....Manning and Krowley didn't care bout lil chirren getting bounce in de most terrible and inhumane ways, but Mrs. Kamla delivering. 8-)

civicman

Postby civicman » November 20th, 2014, 12:09 am

Propaganda?
Any one who drive around south trinidad
clearly seeing the upgrades from the years of neglect.
As is always say is only who driving east west feel nun going on
an is about time damn time.

Bleh bleh bleh sheep sheep sheep

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 12:20 am

Jah bless PP for recent upgrades in South and curse dem nasty stinking dutty racist PNM for years of neglect in the southland.

Shame on dem PNM

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 20th, 2014, 7:19 am

Crackpot wrote:
Crackpot wrote:This naked Propoganda thread is the premier example of why this gov't and its lackees and mouthpieces will soon be gone :| But in the meantime....

Postby Habit7 » November 20th, 2014, 8:04 am

While you all congratulating the government for something they havent done yet (par for the course #yourgovernmentworkingforyou) no walkover was built for Sea Lots because they are squatting on prime land for port development. The PNM started plans for reconstruction of housing in the East POS area and development of new how housing that would provide a better solution for Sea Lots than propping up a shanty town. The UNC in opposition oppose this and inveigle residents to demand exorbitant prices for their homes.

Secondly, when the gov't said before that a walkover could not be built, were they lying?

Postby pete » November 20th, 2014, 8:12 am

They're building the walkover closer to NP/Bhagwansinghs. I guess it's not really for Sea Lots but for the employees and customers of the companies operating in that area. Sea Lots people just have to not be lazy and walk to either traffic light to cross the road.

One big achievement for the area is the opening of the third lane heading east. Much quicker to get out of town now. :)

Postby Habit7 » November 20th, 2014, 8:32 am

pete wrote:One big achievement for the area is the opening of the third lane heading east. Much quicker to get out of town now. :)

Take a bow Suruj, before Stacy try stop the good thing you have going ;)

Postby UML » November 20th, 2014, 9:36 am

Habit7 wrote:While you all congratulating the government for something they havent done yet (par for the course #yourgovernmentworkingforyou) no walkover was built for Sea Lots because they are squatting on prime land for port development. The PNM started plans for reconstruction of housing in the East POS area and development of new how housing that would provide a better solution for Sea Lots than propping up a shanty town. The UNC in opposition oppose this and inveigle residents to demand exorbitant prices for their homes.

Secondly, when the gov't said before that a walkover could not be built, were they lying?

PNM and their PROPAGANDA so weak...lemme rip yuh apart!!

how long have they been "squatting"? Why didnt the PNM do anything about removing them when they WERE squatting....they NOW have rights to the land so they are technically NOT squatting and are legitimate owners according to the law because the PNM left the issue UNADDRESSED for so many years!!!

a walkover could not be built because there was no AVAILABLE land at the location....if you read you will learn that they have agreed on taking part of the central market to facilitate the walkover.

Postby Habit7 » November 20th, 2014, 9:51 am

Squatters are those who illegally occupied State Lands prior to January 01, 1998 and who applied for regularization on or before October 27, 2000. Many in Sea Lots residents do not fall in this category. They are not legitimate. The problem was not left addressed. Housing was planned and on verge of execution which the PP has been inactive on. Plus part of the Sea Lots area was to be use for the Rapid Rail. Under PP the Sea Lots residents have not hope of improvement and we will lose important land for the country.

Furthermore, spokesman for the Sea Lots community, Kenroy Dopwell said "it is total madness" to build a walkover there and say that it is serving the Sea Lots residents.

Postby sliderz1 » November 20th, 2014, 11:01 am

PNM made attempts to move these people to further develop the a port in that area?

Postby Habit7 » November 20th, 2014, 11:22 am

sliderz1 wrote:PNM made attempts to move these people to further develop the a port in that area?

Postby sliderz1 » November 20th, 2014, 11:25 am

no political party will have the balls to move them though.

there wont be enough old tyres to burn

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 12:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:While you all congratulating the government for something they havent done yet (par for the course #yourgovernmentworkingforyou) no walkover was built for Sea Lots because they are squatting on prime land for port development. The PNM started plans for reconstruction of housing in the East POS area and development of new how housing that would provide a better solution for Sea Lots than propping up a shanty town. The UNC in opposition oppose this and inveigle residents to demand exorbitant prices for their homes.

Yeah continue to develop POS and leave South and San do as a Undeveloped dump.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 20th, 2014, 1:01 pm

Crackpot wrote:

Postby desifemlove » November 20th, 2014, 3:02 pm

Habit, if PNM had a majority, how could Panday/UNC stop it? jus relocate dey to somewhere else...

and Zoom, if south getting developed, how come most bad floods is still in South? And how come Chaguanas still looking mashup, when I thought it was UNC too? Or roads for Penal cos it UNC in Kamla's constituency?

Postby desifemlove » November 20th, 2014, 3:06 pm

They didn't, they said it's not as viable cos of water mains in that vicinity, and it funny PNM didn't do nutten to help its base voters.... And your point, did Manning say this as PM? If this fact, or just conjecture/assumption on your part?

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 3:41 pm

desifemlove wrote:Habit, if PNM had a majority, how could Panday/UNC stop it? jus relocate dey to somewhere else...

and Zoom, if south getting developed, how come most bad floods is still in South? And how come Chaguanas still looking mashup, when I thought it was UNC too? Or roads for Penal cos it UNC in Kamla's constituency?

I dont expect you know the history of south since you are jonny come lately immgrant.

Penal, barrackpore ,woodland and debe are natural swamp lands. It will always have floods once the land exceeds the water table . The flooding situation have improved since work has been carried out. PNM cared jact sheit about south for since 1956.

The name Penal was given to the that part of south land cause it was once a Penal colony in early 1800s where other island prisoners worked the land before Injuns came.

As for Chaguanas it will was better when it was a sleepy injun village, it was more orderly and less crime but then the PNM started to bring in their ppl to voted pad and things got worst.

Same happens in south Tompson Village, alot of PNM ppl from Laventille live there and crime has risen and getto life is the norm.

Postby Habit7 » November 20th, 2014, 4:40 pm

For some ppl development is a box drain and a paved road. For others development is a plan from dirt road to full services supplied. PP seems like their idea of development is the former.

I like the latter, and if I can show you a plan with an architectural design for the Sea Lots area and you ask me if it is conjecture, it looks like we are talking past each other.

Postby desifemlove » November 20th, 2014, 4:46 pm

Yet downtown Chag is a mess, which was UNC for longest while even if now is ILP/Jack. Same wit Charlieville and Felicity...... And I passed through St. Helena de other day wit rubbish on de side, mash up roads, Dr. Glenn's ting, ent? Dr. Glenn's ah PNM and St. Helena is all Afros now? Jus wondering why Mrs. K does select which UNCs to fix up...

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 5:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:For some ppl development is a box drain and a paved road. For others development is a plan from dirt road to full services supplied. PP seems like their idea of development is the former.

I like the latter, and if I can show you a plan with an architectural design for the Sea Lots area and you ask me if it is conjecture, it looks like we are talking past each other.

yeah thats all PNM ever do is to talks plans and do nothing.
You can show all you like but it never happens.
Moruga still waiting on its fishing port as promised by Eric Williams since 1962.

Postby desifemlove » November 20th, 2014, 5:16 pm

Yet PNM planned yuh beloved south highway, de interchange at Grand Bazaar, and well all UNC plans iz PNM's dusted down and de-mothballed, ent?