:: The official TOOLS thread ::

MonsterPower

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby MonsterPower » November 8th, 2012, 4:37 pm

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Stanley-42-470-48-Inch-Impact-Level/dp/B0002OAFG8/ref=lh_ni_t

nice level and can be used as a straight edge for doing woodwork etc
shouldnt cost more than 100.00 landed!!
i might order 1

if u serious we could order +1

Postby X_Factor » November 8th, 2012, 6:06 pm

i ordered one that night...
should get it by saturday or monday

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Does anyone know any hardware places that sell rhs steel and willing to cut in shorter pieces ?
Looking to buy only a couple lengths and don't want the hassle of transport etc.

Postby X_Factor » November 8th, 2012, 8:31 pm

most places will sell u it, but u have to cut it urself
buy it, go in a corner measure and cut it up how you like
i did that a couple time in bhags trincity

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 8th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Go to a smaller hardware and they might at least lend you a hacksaw.

Walk with your grinder and beg for some current.....did that once and it worked.

Postby pioneer » November 8th, 2012, 9:51 pm

yeah bhags let's you cut your chit up...chain up one of the workers with some change and they might help you out

but they have to check it before you cut it

Postby X_Factor » November 8th, 2012, 10:03 pm

from personal experience, its best to walk with ur own hacksaw and measuring tape

i borrowed a hacksaw once from a lil hardware and end up buying a blade to use on it

i need to get some drill bits to replace some cheap ones that aint cutting it again...

what u guys using?

Postby gt4tified » November 9th, 2012, 2:35 am

Just FYI peeps...even if I'm a little late. Tracmac has a Divali sale on all Husqvarna eqpt. Last day for sale is on Monday. I picked up a 15" chainsaw for $1500.00 yesterday!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 9th, 2012, 7:33 am

X_Factor wrote:from personal experience, its best to walk with ur own hacksaw and measuring tape

i borrowed a hacksaw once from a lil hardware and end up buying a blade to use on it

i need to get some drill bits to replace some cheap ones that aint cutting it again...

what u guys using?

I bring in all my drill bits, as with all my tooling. 130* Split point cobalt high helix flutes. TiN coating for steel, bright finish for aluminum. Look for USA, French or Israeli made.

The brand I use is Morse they will last you a very long time. I use them primarily in steel and aluminum on a CNC setup.

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 9th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Bosch Blue Granite masonry bits.

Looking at a Drill Dr.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 9th, 2012, 4:53 pm

nobody gonna cut it for u but they will lend u a hack saw

many times i building or working on something & run short of a piece of lumber\steel & it dont make sense paying bhags $70 to drop 1 length right by me so i walk with my hack saw , measuring tape , masking tape to bind d cut pieces together , news paper to wrap d steel\lumber & a piece of cloth to wipe my dutty hands when i done ... :lol:

Postby X_Factor » November 9th, 2012, 6:31 pm

the worst fackin ting is when u lookin for something that you know you have and cant find it!!
cant seem to find the charger for a lil cordless drill i have!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 9th, 2012, 6:51 pm

nahhh..the worst is looking for something you THINK you have but really don't.

It's really messed up. :oops:

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » November 9th, 2012, 6:56 pm

folks where can I get a good air compressor to buy locally? (60-80gal)

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 9th, 2012, 7:21 pm

For that size, i would say FT Farfan or Tool Store. They not going to be cheap though.

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » November 9th, 2012, 7:28 pm

^^^will check those places out...what are the good brands though? seeing some stuff out here that ive never heard of before

NR8

Re: RE: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby NR8 » November 9th, 2012, 7:33 pm

^^^ FT Farfan advertised a sale via their powerseller account. Supposed to end tomorrow

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express

Postby X_Factor » November 10th, 2012, 12:29 pm

saw a husky 60gal for 7000 today in that tool place by the aranguez roundabout

if anyone wants odd sizes in sockets ---home store has a 40% off on a set of mintcraft brand

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 10th, 2012, 12:38 pm

Postby X_Factor » November 10th, 2012, 1:57 pm

those clamps, is it adjustable so that if you wanna cut a 2ft piece of board it will work as well?
i've never seen or used one so im asking cause it does look handy!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 10th, 2012, 2:36 pm

Yeah, there is an adjuster in the back so you can adjust the width to suit.

However, I believe two clamps and a piece of straight stock would be faster. Because if you have to clamp several different widths like when making a speaker box, you'd have to adjust the clamp to the width for every different width. Whereas with a straight piece and 2 clamps there's no width adjustments to make. Also a straight edge and clamps would also be useful in rips for greater than 4ft as opposed to this.

I ordered these instead:
http://www.amazon.com/Irwin-5464-Mini-Q ... quick+grip

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 10th, 2012, 3:01 pm

for yrssssss i been using spring clamps & a 4ft level or long straight edge ...

Postby X_Factor » November 10th, 2012, 3:04 pm

^if u ordering through skybox....good luck!!
bought that last yr it cost me more than 400 landed

but the clamp force for its size is pretty impressive, i use it with a 4.5ft piece of 1.5" x1 aluminum as the straight edge

saw videsh using these and he says it works good as well
http://www.harborfreight.com/12-inch-ba ... 96214.html

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 10th, 2012, 3:20 pm

Ouch, will let you know how much it costed. :/
I have one of those bar clamps, but I find when tightening, the screw movement of the adjustment turns the wood out of place. So I only use it for holding things down to the bench.

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » November 10th, 2012, 6:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:saw a husky 60gal for 7000 today in that tool place by the aranguez roundabout

if anyone wants odd sizes in sockets ---home store has a 40% off on a set of mintcraft brand

how good is husky?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 11th, 2012, 7:48 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:...The brand I use is Morse they will last you a very long time. I use them primarily in steel and aluminum on a CNC setup.
CNC setup... any pix of the CNC machine used?

Strugglerzinc wrote:Looking at a Drill Dr.
Yup, me too. Postponed for a while though. More important "auto body" toys coming in right now. 8-)

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 11th, 2012, 8:02 am

NR8 wrote:Guys L & DG has a sale on now fro Divali and they have a Black & Decker TM550 hammer drill for $400.
Is this a good model for the price? It would mostly be used once in a blue moon for making some small holes in concrete walls to hang picture frames, run PVC brackets, etc. Would this suit my needs?

open it up and regrease the front bearing.
shelled the front bearing in mine and cannot get the bearing new,(from hte US) as this model is only for Latin america. Could not even get a replacement from all those places that sell bearings in south.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 11th, 2012, 8:21 am

Galleyoda wrote:folks where can I get a good air compressor to buy locally? (60-80gal)
Hi Galleyoda. What will you use it for the most? If it's for any "air hog" tools (like spray painting, media blasting etc.) IMHO your best (and CHEAPEST) bet is eBay.
BTW for "air hog" use DON'T buy a single-stage unit. Their "specs" (c.f.m. and psi) are usually exaggerated for marketing purposes.
Sanctifier wrote:IMHO the most important things to look for are...
2-stage operation, cast-iron cylinders, at least 14 c.f.m @ 90 p.s.i, etc.
The best (most expensive) brands are Quincy, Ingersoll-Rand, Comp-Air (Kellog) etc.
Other good brands are - Eaton, Dayton/SpeedAir etc.

I bought a used Kellog 5hp, 2-stage, 80 gal vertical unit... and Arrow Refrigerated Air Dryer (both in great condition) a few years ago... for less than 33% of "new" retail price (including shipping.)
Image Image
No regrets... especially since prices have gone up another 35-40% since then.
BTW a new, local compressor was over TT$40k (5 years ago) Image... I paid less than $13k for BOTH (including shipping, eCourier delivery fees, duty & VAT.) 8-)

This may be promising (phone or email questions)... Link--> Quincy PLT-5 Compressor.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on November 11th, 2012, 7:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Galleyoda

Postby Galleyoda » November 11th, 2012, 8:45 am

great info....will check out ebay....i will be using the compressor to try my luck with media blasting :)

Postby gt4tified » November 11th, 2012, 9:54 am

Galleyoda wrote:great info....will check out ebay....i will be using the compressor to try my luck with media blasting :)

Good brands = Husky, PorterCable
Better brand = Quincy