El Barça es mes que un club!

Re: El Barca es mes que un club!

Postby RASC » May 17th, 2010, 10:31 am

No Cesc as we already have two VERY similar players in Xavi and Iniesta, why do we need a third? Keep Toure as he adds the muscle/speed and height we desperately need. No more short,small players please. We need a strong holding midfielders and yaya is perfect for that slot. We can interchange between the young sergio and himself. No problem. We need that height and intimidating presence in there.

Cesc 5'9" 175
Xavi 5'7" 150?
Iniesta 5'7" 150?
Toure 6'3" 200+
Busquets 6'2" 200+

Henry is heading to the MLS. I think it's the perfect career move for him. He has won it all, great retirement plan IMHO. The lifestyle, the money and much more relaxed for his family(less media hounding and pressure) Great move!

I like Bojan, Maxwell and Pedro. The core will remain ,and please drop Dani Alves!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 17th, 2010, 12:35 pm

How nobody commenting on the pic?

Postby noshownogo » May 17th, 2010, 12:42 pm

I named Toure because he insist that he's 90% certain he moving on. Alves productivity has been disappointing but i think he'll be there next season.

red5FWD

Postby red5FWD » May 17th, 2010, 7:37 pm

The only person that should leave is Henry and no one else.
They should bring in David Villa IF HE WANTS TO COME, he will provide some more goals and we will have fire power on the bench no matter who starts.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 17th, 2010, 8:10 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:How nobody commenting on the pic?

Haha...ignorance is bliss........what the eye don't see, the heart can't grieve!!

If it was a chelsea or manu pic....yuh woulda see how much picong it was going to generate.

Then again....some Barca men probly still ripping down posters off their wall.... :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2010, 8:22 pm

it's about as gay as neville kissing scholes... :lol:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 17th, 2010, 8:45 pm

mitch wrote:it's about as gay as neville kissing scholes... :lol:

not even remotely the same....neville do that on the field as an emotional reaction to a dramatic winner...hell, I woulda kiss neville fuh kissin scholes for scoring that goal...

um not really eh...ah jess sayin... :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 17th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Haiiiii guys!

Umm can someone clarify what time is kickoff for uefa on saturday? Thanks.

JBL

Postby JBL » May 18th, 2010, 11:49 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Haiiiii guys!

Umm can someone clarify what time is kickoff for uefa on saturday? Thanks.

2:30 pm

Postby RASC » May 18th, 2010, 12:16 pm

noshownogo wrote:I named Toure because he insist that he's 90% certain he moving on.

Where did you read that?

Postby noshownogo » May 18th, 2010, 1:56 pm

^^"Yaya Toure's agent claims that the player is 90 per cent likely to leave Barcelona this summer."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528, ... 18,00.html

Postby Morpheus » May 18th, 2010, 5:12 pm

.......and please drop Dani Alves!

^^That's it right there....

Postby X_Factor » May 18th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Balotelli from inter would be a decent add on....his pace and strength would be great...

who would u all choose to replace alves?

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 18th, 2010, 7:56 pm

If we lose Yaya it will be a huge blow to the side. Seems like his agent is pushing for the move more than he his. Club might sell him just so they don't have to deal with his idiot of an agent and all the drama he is stirring up.

JBL

Postby JBL » May 18th, 2010, 8:35 pm

X_Factor wrote:who would u all choose to replace alves?

good question

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 18th, 2010, 11:01 pm

pioneer wrote:a fig tree

lol...but truth is he is one of the BETTER (but nowhere close to Best) right backs...next person I could see is Sergio Ramos to fill in as a good right back (Hardly likely), but his quality has dropped recently IMO. Thought the twins Fabio and Rafael may be a good long term addition to any squad, but they haven't done as well as many would have hoped...and Barca isn't really in the habit of buying/introducing too may players at once to upset the squad.

Its an either way with Balotelli, cuz he performs sometimes, but is always a loose cannon on and off the field. Messi is KING! somehow poetic that he equaled fat Ronaldo's record.

Postby mero » May 18th, 2010, 11:38 pm

shottah_crew wrote:
pioneer wrote:a fig tree

lol...but truth is he is one of the BETTER (but nowhere close to Best) right backs...next person I could see is Sergio Ramos to fill in as a good right back (Hardly likely), but his quality has dropped recently IMO. Thought the twins Fabio and Rafael may be a good long term addition to any squad, but they haven't done as well as many would have hoped...and Barca isn't really in the habit of buying/introducing too may players at once to upset the squad.

Its an either way with Balotelli, cuz he performs sometimes, but is always a loose cannon on and off the field. Messi is KING! somehow poetic that he equaled fat Ronaldo's record.

i honestly think he is on a d biggest shitongs in football... 0 discipline.. wild jump kick kinda fowls d man does be getting... no thank u, i rather Alves any day
and i think Danni is a sorta necessary evil on Barca, he certainly brings up the tempo of the game and had ridiculous speed and fitness.. though he does pulls real ballsbag sometimes,lol
I also don't think we'd suffer tremendously without Toure as well, yea he's raw strength but we'll survive if he does in fact leave...
Was hoping those Arshavin rumours were true though :( great potential and once again youth,, i think with Barca he could unleash his full potential as a devastating striker

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » May 19th, 2010, 12:26 am

Arshavin is 28 tho...but he's bloomed late, his best performances came in Euro 2008 and he's struggled at Arsenal but for a few moments of brilliance..largely underwhelming. Can't really see him leaving Arsenal having been Wenger's only real big money deal of recent, they would want to keep hold.

I think Alves can be more effective as a winger rather than a full back as Dunga has been using him for Brazil...but that's more out of necessity than want as he can't displace Maicon who is the better defender by miles.

Agree...Toure is dispensable IMO, once the core remains Barca will be good for at least 4-5 years with the team built around players like Messi and Xavi, especially too with good young players like Pedro coming through..

Postby mero » May 19th, 2010, 1:23 am

Arshavin so old? hmm

i totally agree with u, once Barcelona keeps their foundation players such as iniesta, puyol, valdes, messi and especially the legend chameleon eyes, most of the others are quite dispensable quite frankly...Xavi contract up to 2014 as well i believe..great
i wonder who would really be Barca's newest striker?? hope they get back someone as prolific as Eto'o or Hendrik Larsson... that would be epic

kevcam

Postby kevcam » May 19th, 2010, 8:10 am

So David Villa confirmed. Up front crowded now but that good, let Zlatan work hard and show that he deserves to be here. It would be a fight between Pedro and Bojan to get decent playing time with Pedro having the edge IMO.

As much as Alves crosses really frustrate me the rest of his play is good. When the ball is on d ground he links good with Messi/Pedro, when he loses the ball he fights hard to win it back and he has stamina like dat. The only thing is he sometimes gets caught out trying to run back to defend.

This showed in the last few games Barca played, as they were good without having Zlatan up front (so Alves was not really doing crosses and he played good 1-2 football and provided assists.)

If Toure goes we will survive. We have to start seeing what the younger players can do.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 19th, 2010, 8:32 am

Like I said, Ramos quality has dropped and Alves plays good football at times. The couple games I watched this season he is almost always an option when they want to spread the play around. While his crosses do need some work, w/o Zlatan/Henry on the field there are few on the team that is gonna out jump the large defenders...but his game otherwise isn't that bad.

As far as playing another 4-5years, I don't know maybe alves and Iniesta. Sure we have some young players but I don't know if Abidal, Puyol and Xavi might still be there in that time cuz they already hit the 30 bridge and I ent looking forward to seeing Barcelona become no AC Milan...

Zlatan has to work for his pick now with David Villa and things just got interesting as Arsenal has put a tag of £50m on Cesc's head after he asked to leave. Problem is Toure doesn't want to go Arsenal, cuz of better deals from Man city etc.

Question is, will they pay it?

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 19th, 2010, 10:24 am

ETA on Villa, Friday 13:30 once he passes his medical in the morning.

Wonder what shirt number he'll get? Maybe with Henry of to the MLS, then 14?

Postby X_Factor » May 19th, 2010, 10:46 am

maybe Cesc is comin in for Iniesta because his form and injuries for the past season did leave a gap in barca's midfield..too much work had to be done by xavi and when teams locked off messi it didnt really hav anyone else to fill that gap
and maybe they might bring cesc incase the same happens again in the future

JBL

Postby JBL » May 19th, 2010, 11:59 am

pioneer wrote:i say 3 words and u write 2 paragraphs

[/barcaboy]

hating when ur team only wins one trophy for the season.. hahahahahahaaaa

kevcam

Postby kevcam » May 19th, 2010, 12:04 pm

Nice interview with the technical secretary Txiki below.

http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/noticies/futbol/temporada09-10/05/19/n100519111094.html

The Technical Secretary has a high opinion of the Spanish international striker but has no plans to offload two of the current strikers: “Ibra’s not for sale…Bojan is definitely staying”.

Now that the curtain has come down on Barca’s season, the focus of attention has turned to the backroom staff and their preparations for 2010-2011. Txiki Begiristain talks us through some of the issues occupying his mind in an exclusive interview with Barca TV and www.fcbarcelona.cat

¿Have you made your plans for next season yet?

"Yes, yes. With Pep. It’s really important. He’s definitely staying next season and he’s involved in all the planning. It’ll depend on financial aspects but we’re confident and we’ll keep at it. All decisions are taken and supported by Pep”.

Does the squad need many changes

"Not many, but it’s our job to keep looking for improvements. In some areas we’re not performing as well as last year and so they have to be improved”.

Does David Villa have a Barca profile?

"Yes, like Leo combining the position of centre forward or cutting in from the right wing. He‘s one of those players who make good diagonal runs, who use space well and give the team depth.. David Villa has this profile”.

Cesc says that if he leaves Arsenal he wants to come to Barca. That’s a first step.

"It’s good news. But what really counts here is Arsenal and their decision. Remember that he’s a really important player for them. And we have to respect that. Sometimes, players don’t get what they want because they are bound by contracts. The fact that he says that he wants to come to Barca is a sign that we’re doing a good job here. It’s great news and I think that Cesc has to come to Barca some time or the other. I don’t know when but I get the impression that he’s a Barca type of player and would have a great time here. Some time or the other he has to come. I hope it’s as soon as possible. But we have to respect Arsenal’s wishes and his contract”.

Will any of the reserves make the move up to the first team squad?

"Not directly. The youngsters we develop here have to play. What we want is for the player to combine training with the first team but playing for Barca Atletic. Jonathan and Thiago are two candidates for this role”.

Let’s talk about some of the protagonists of this season. Has Messi reached his ceiling?

"It’s difficult to ask any more of him. His stats are impressive. It would be ideal next season if Messi didn’t score as many goals that the others made up for it with their contributions. This year, in the end, Ibra scored a lot of goals and so did Pedro. And Bojan also got a lot of goals towards the end. But if we believe that Messi has to score 47 goals for Barca to be champions then we’re going badly. The main thing is that the contribution from the rest is more effective and that way we’ll take some of the pressure off Leo. It wouldn’t be fair to ask more of him. He’s had an incredible season. He’ll win it all again”.

Piqué has also had a splendid year. Comparing him to Franz Beckenbauer isn’t such an exaggeration, is it?

"And more so after an excellent season the year before. You’re never sure if you’ll be able to maintain the standard. But he has and he’s consolidated his place in the centre of the back line and we’re really happy. Also about his decision to wait for Barca and for the Club’s decision to sign him”.

Has Marquez become a victim of the competition for places in the centre of the defence?

“You have to remember something about Marquez. Last year he had an injury that kept him out of the finals but he had an amazing season. When Rafa Marquez had a great season we won everything. And at the same time, Piqué joined us, Puyol was in great form and Milito made his comeback. So at the end it wasn’t easy to keep a place in the team. But as always he behaved fantastically. But the thing is we’re talking about a Barca that wants to win the lot so it’s not easy to play. Nobody’s guaranteed a place”.

Why hasn’t Chigrinski been a success in his first season?

"For the same reasons. Because it’s very difficult. 'Puyi' is the captain and is first choice in the Spanish national team. Gerard has had two excellent seasons and doing better than that is difficult. We have to have a full squad with a lot of players. What it doesn’t mean is that whoever doesn’t play is a bad player. That’s always a risk. People tend to label it as a mistake, as a player who isn’t any use. But that’s not so. Who’s got a better pairing than ‘Puyi’ and Piqué? Who’s better than a Marquez who had such a great season? Who’s better than a fully fit Milito? It’s very difficult to outdo all of that. That doesn’t mean you’re no good. Chigrinski is 22; he’s got time to grow. And there’s something he’s got in his favour: his attitude is extraordinary, his behaviour in the changing room is fantastic, he’s much liked by his team-mates. We’ll see if he’s able to grow and compete with these players”.

Did you expect Pedro to take off like that?

"He’s really taken off. What I did see very clearly is that since last year he has made a big contribution every time he played. His performances have been brilliant in one particular way: he’s scored in every important match. Not only in every competition but also the decisive goals. In fact we’re talking about last season, about the 26 goals scored by Henry, one of the best players in the history of the English Premier League. He had a great season and was a key player in winning the treble. And now Pedro has scored 23 goals. It’s been amazing”.

Now that we’re speaking about Henry, is his future away from the Camp Nou?

"To some extent it’s a decision that a few players will have to take, probably including Thierry. We’re delighted with his behaviour. He’s a great player. As we were saying about Marquez, we have to remember the treble. We have to be aware of the role played by every single player in the squad and that’s where Henry has to decide. He has to ask himself, What do I want to be. Am I happy in this role? That’s the role he has to play. It’s more up to him if he wants to stay here or leave”.

Ibra has scored 21 goals this season. Has he fulfilled the initial expectations?

"We can’t just look at the last month. We have to asses what he’s done since the beginning. He had a great run in the middle of the season. Then he had a few difficulties and injury problems. As always it’s the manager who has to decide who’s best and he finished the season not playing very much. But it’s his first season and we have to be optimistic. Ibra isn’t for sale. He brings a lot to the team. We dreamed of having him and we want him to stay. But as always he has to be happy. He has to be comfortable in the squad and he also has to have his say”.

Will Bojan definitely continue?

"Definitely. He’s had his difficulties. Messi is scoring goals, Pedro is getting in there and scoring 23 goals, Ibra makes runs from deep. Bojan has his difficulties but he’s only 19. He’s patient and we are even more so. We’re very patient. I’m pleased he’s been patient because he could be the Barca nº 9 very soon”.

And Touré?

"An extraordinary and important player. The question is how he sees things. The role he has to accept. We’re counting on him for next season but the thing is the players have to accept their position. Busquets, Xavi, Iniesta, Keita are all playing fantastically well. In the end you have to face up to the competition and you may not play as much as you would imagine. The player has to be the first to admit that. If they do that’s great for us. If they don’t accept it and want to discuss it, we have an obligation. We’ll never keep a player here who doesn’t want to be here”.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 19th, 2010, 12:05 pm

Iniesta needs to ketch himself cuz Xavi doesn't have alot of years playing at that level, so unless Inista picks himself up and remains fit he mite be seein either the bench or the door! Not big fans of Keita or Busquets (though they get the job done!) so Cesc is a welcome additon for esp as a long term replacement for Xavi.

Btw, who is Pios side?

kevcam

Postby kevcam » May 19th, 2010, 12:40 pm

shottah_crew wrote:
Btw, who is Pios side?

Whoever is winning at the time (except Barca) so that he can keep himself in the football threads.

Gone from Man U to Inter as soon as Man U get knock out. If Inter did not win d league or reach CL final I don't know who would have been his 3rd side :D . Might have jumped on the Bayern trail.

Postby noshownogo » May 19th, 2010, 12:49 pm

I fully endorse Bojan remaining on the team, I really think as he gets older and more experienced, he and Messi can create havoc for any defense. Glad to hear that he has the possibility to become the main striker for the squad.

When asked about Touré you can sense the uncertainty in the response with regards to his future with the team. Clearly playing time for Touré is his issue and I can understand from both sides. If he wants to start games and its not currently possible with this squad, then I suppose he has to do what's best for himself.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 19th, 2010, 1:44 pm

Then there is the lure of Man City...Yaya was supposed to be on his way to Arsenal as a part trade for Cesc, but Man City seems to be interested as well and not offering the small money wages that Cheap Wenger offering, plus he mite find it alot easier to break into the Man City squad. I think it is known that Yaya won't stay because of the competition for his position, but you have to be Politically Correct these days or you can end up with another Eto'o situation on your hands and bad press.

I hope we get can secure the Cesc deal b4 World Cup cuz after Spain wins, we may not be able to afford him!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 19th, 2010, 2:18 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:O rly?