vaiostation wrote:^^^ Not from petro but I know some well informed people working there.
From what I've been told is that they want to cut the majority of the temp people so maybe around close to about 2xxx. I heard that they will begin to pool workers together. An example would be to have all the electrical men in one area instead of have them spread out to different areas. It will basically work like this, all electricians in one department, if it have a job they will send the required amount of workers, at that point they will be able to see how many people they really need for that specific department and cut the unnecessary workers and reduce overstaffing. This same principal will continue to other departments such as Mechanical, operations etc.
Also a good bit of the unessential admin staff will more than likely get let go.
They will bring in a large number of contractors to fill the void. It will be cheaper since you don't gotta pay no benefits and other things.
Remember all of this is speculative at the moment until the audit is complete, plus we're not sure how the union might react.
sinister_14 wrote:vaiostation wrote:^^^ Not from petro but I know some well informed people working there.
From what I've been told is that they want to cut the majority of the temp people so maybe around close to about 2xxx. I heard that they will begin to pool workers together. An example would be to have all the electrical men in one area instead of have them spread out to different areas. It will basically work like this, all electricians in one department, if it have a job they will send the required amount of workers, at that point they will be able to see how many people they really need for that specific department and cut the unnecessary workers and reduce overstaffing. This same principal will continue to other departments such as Mechanical, operations etc.
Also a good bit of the unessential admin staff will more than likely get let go.
They will bring in a large number of contractors to fill the void. It will be cheaper since you don't gotta pay no benefits and other things.
Remember all of this is speculative at the moment until the audit is complete, plus we're not sure how the union might react.
Hmmmm 2xxx plus wey...by the ending of this year only 50% of trinidad gonna be employed....pressure.....but was hearing they need to hire almost 200 ops cause as far as i heard 100 ops gonna retire cause they reach d age and they have 100 vacancy rite now....is this true??
vaiostation wrote:sinister_14 wrote:vaiostation wrote:^^^ Not from petro but I know some well informed people working there.
Hmmmm 2xxx plus wey...by the ending of this year only 50% of trinidad gonna be employed....pressure.....but was hearing they need to hire almost 200 ops cause as far as i heard 100 ops gonna retire cause they reach d age and they have 100 vacancy rite now....is this true??
From what I've heard they really want to cut close to half.
It is true that a lot of men in ops going to retire soon, as well as in other departments. These ads for ops men that was recently up, all of the planning for this was done since 2015-2016 so the company was indeed planning ahead. If a man hadda get through fair an square now is probably ya best chance, ya just gotta hope it have room left over after all the inside men done get through, cause the amount of men done panicking inside petro them just trying to go ops cause it permanent just to save they ass.
sinister_14 wrote:vaiostation wrote:sinister_14 wrote:vaiostation wrote:^^^ Not from petro but I know some well informed people working there.
It is true that a lot of men in ops going to retire soon, as well as in other departments. These ads for ops men that was recently up, all of the planning for this was done since 2015-2016 so the company was indeed planning ahead. If a man hadda get through fair an square now is probably ya best chance, ya just gotta hope it have room left over after all the inside men done get through, cause the amount of men done panicking inside petro them just trying to go ops cause it permanent just to save they ass.
But in order for them to get into that dept..they hadda be qualified and we all know them fellas them inside they ent have cxc most of them....cause i know almost 20 permanent men who ent finish secondary school and have good jobs there....cause they had links to pull them in....
sinister_14 wrote:So yesterday a friend of mines and my self went to personally hand in our resume at petrotrin HR...before entering the building a guy came outside...i ask him if its here they are handing in resume for RFO he said yes...he now handed in his....NOTE: this guy is of African decent.....on entering the office i asked where can i put these resume for RFO...THEY TOLD US TO APPLY ONLINE THEY NOT ACCEPTING ANY RESUME FOR REFINERY OPS HERE.....I WAS SHOCKED....IS IT BECAUSE THAT BOTH OF US ARE INDIAN???...they did not take our resume.....an they took the guy one who left 5min before....AND THE BOTH FEMALES EMPLOYEES WHO TOLD US THAT WERE OF AFRICAN DECENT...is this the manner in which these ppl conduct company business???...also i talked to a few of my other friends whole handed in their resume that same day....they said they had no problem they took our resume....NOTE MY OTHER FRIENDS ARE OF AFRICAN DESCENT....what you fellow trinituners have to say about that...ALSO TAKE IN TO CONSIDERATION THAT MY FRIEND AND I WHO WENT TO APPLY FOR THAT REFINERY OPS JOB WE ARE WELL QUALIFIED AND ARE TOP NOTCH OPS BOTH ON PAPER WORK AND IN FIELD AND DCS...WHAT ATTRACTED US WAS THE BENEFITS THAT PETROTRIN HAS FOR EMPLOYEES.....so i guess that if u do get your resume in make sure your last name is...JOHN...SMITH...PATRICK...ETC....NOT....harry...seepaul...or balkission...you will not have a chance...my friend....
Helena_Victor wrote:Hi do you all know if the Petrotrin Operator Apprenticeship programme is for males only?
tr1ad wrote:Helena_Victor wrote:Hi do you all know if the Petrotrin Operator Apprenticeship programme is for males only?
petrotrin supposed to be equal opportunity
Helena_Victor wrote:Hi do you all know if the Petrotrin Operator Apprenticeship programme is for males only?
trinidrift wrote:Nope
the only easy day was yesterday
sinister_14 wrote:So guy i got word today petro start calling in men to see their certificates.....anyone inside here get call...??
trinidrift wrote:Nope. Anyone know if cgcltt start calling yet?
the only easy day was yesterday
Helena_Victor wrote:I had a feeling that they may not be hiring females but they need to state that in d ad.. Anyway that should change because why hire female process engineers n not operators??
trinidrift wrote:I remember a couple years back I met a woman working upstream offshore that couldn't even open the doors. She only got the job because she was lack of a better word f@*king the boss and some supervisors on the platform
vaiostation wrote:sinister_14 wrote:vaiostation wrote:sinister_14 wrote:vaiostation wrote:^^^ Not from petro but I know some well informed people working there.
But in order for them to get into that dept..they hadda be qualified and we all know them fellas them inside they ent have cxc most of them....cause i know almost 20 permanent men who ent finish secondary school and have good jobs there....cause they had links to pull them in....
I personally know some men who got through in petrotrin without cxc, but they were very well trained crafts men and they knew men in high places to pull them in as well, I believe now hr is actually verify your certificates so they have to infact have the qualifications, but I'm not sure if it will overlooked if you have relevant experience. To me ops is to important of a department to be playing the friends and family game.
I did read the internal job advertisement and it did say you need at least 3 years experience with your diploma and cxc though.