.::The Official Nokia Thread::.

original_lollybob

Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby original_lollybob » March 21st, 2014, 10:30 am

im gonna have to disagree with u there ^^

i think WP apps are sometimes way above the standard of ios and android..

eg. first party instagram app is normal, standard... 3rd party app 6tag is hands down MILES better than then original

i do agree with you that some designers dont subscribe to the metro language and create some ios/android looking apps which dont look as good on WP.

ESPNFC
TUNEIN
WAZE
TWITTER OFFICIAL
etc etc

all work fine and look great to me...

but this whole phone ecosystem is really a highly subjective argument

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » March 31st, 2014, 10:42 pm

Can anyone help me unlock a nokia lumia 520 thats locked to at&t, Anyone knows where can do it and avg cost?

Average

Postby Average » April 1st, 2014, 9:08 am

unlockthatphone.com
You need to input the IMEI and then you'll have an idea of the cost.

.::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 1st, 2014, 9:20 am

Should get my samsung i930 today, first windows phone so pretty excited to get drawn away from iOS (maybe)

I saw in the marketplace people complained about the whatsapp being outdated/problematic, anyone could say if they still experience issues with it?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 1st, 2014, 11:10 am

^
wa is a pain on wp 7.5

on wp 8 its pretty normal and updated fairly reguarly... the next update currently in beta will bring custom chat backgrounds

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 1st, 2014, 12:02 pm

Nice

Can I expect any skydive benefits?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 1st, 2014, 1:50 pm

OneDrive now... and its integrated into everything... photos uploaded automatically (if u turn it on), office and onenote saved there... most apps that do lists will save to skydrive

backup...

normal cloud storage behaviour

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » April 2nd, 2014, 6:29 am

After four years on android I came cold turkey over to WP just because I was bored of android and for no other reason. Kitkat is absolutely fantastic and the power and capability of the platform is immense.

That said, it took a while for me to get used to the limitations of WP. As someone above me said, many apps are present on the platform but feel very incomplete compared to the android versions. This isn't an indictment of the platform itself but just lazy development. As light and efficient as kit Kat stock is, it still feels kinda bloated compared to WP which runs fast and free even on just a dual core/1gb ram combo.

Can't wait to see how 8.1 performs on my device.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » April 2nd, 2014, 8:41 am

Average wrote:unlockthatphone.com

1-10 business days :/. Anywhere else you know can do it faster? like locally or another website?

Average

Postby Average » April 9th, 2014, 9:09 am

Carbon12 wrote:
Average wrote:unlockthatphone.com

1-10 business days :/. Anywhere else you know can do it faster? like locally or another website?

Google some others and make sure to check the payment methods. Personally, the wait time is small ting because there are times I got my codes in 20 mins and others in 2 or 3 days.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » April 10th, 2014, 9:06 am

Got my lumia black update this morning.....anyone else upgraded? Lumia 920

Postby mero » April 10th, 2014, 10:18 am

How so late? Who is your original carrier? I got my black update a few months ago iirc

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 10th, 2014, 10:33 am

i havent gotten black either... digicel never updates

i had to get amber manually as well..

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » April 10th, 2014, 12:12 pm

With Digicel, apparently the update was waiting on approval and was pending for our region. Didnt realise other people got it before. Not seeing a big difference yet, with the exception of Beamer

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 10th, 2014, 12:31 pm

Looking to get another windows device as a secondary line.

Would like to return to nokia, I only need something for calls, texts, whatsapp, fb, email, basically a device that can run all major messaging forums without the need for all the bells and whistles.

What you guys recommend? I have about $1000 budget.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 10th, 2014, 1:05 pm

520 hands down

its like the windows version of an ipod touch...

load up all your music and social apps and u got a brilliant media player for <$1000

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » April 10th, 2014, 2:18 pm

Get developer unlocked. Its free. 8.1 is coming out on Monday 14th, a available to all devices currently running wp8.

Vice8200

Postby Vice8200 » April 10th, 2014, 4:08 pm

but when can us nexus 4 users be able to flash wp8.1 to our phone?, that was one of the things Microsoft said

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » April 10th, 2014, 4:09 pm

Vice8200 wrote:but when can us nexus 4 users be able to flash wp8.1 to our phone?, that was one of the things Microsoft said

Microsoft never said this. It will never happen, note even unofficially.

Vice8200

Postby Vice8200 » April 10th, 2014, 6:11 pm

yea they said Android users could flash 8.1 on their device once they meet the specs, but duel booting was not allowed, an on Microsoft's phone spec area it did say the nexus 4 was compatible..... ask yuh pardna google

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 11th, 2014, 12:08 pm

no sir

they were 'asking' android manufacturers to port WP to their existing devices.

now that wp8.1 has been released with on screen buttons and for free... it will become a lot easier for OEMs to use WP on existing hardware

Vice8200

Postby Vice8200 » April 11th, 2014, 6:07 pm

yup

Postby mero » April 29th, 2014, 10:50 am

Any Lumia guys try hard resetting their phone to improve on battery life? Not too satisfied lately with my battery life at and I'm considering this option.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 29th, 2014, 11:22 am

^^did u do wp8.1?

battery life has been a little worse since...

Postby mero » April 29th, 2014, 5:14 pm

Yea I did but since ever my phone battery was never great. Now it just seems to be dying quite a bit faster. On the Battery performance app, I'm losing 22% an hour with average browsing and WhatsApp.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » April 29th, 2014, 8:18 pm

since i upgraded the 1020 to 8.1 ive noticed some improvement in battery life.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 29th, 2014, 8:54 pm

WA is a stink battery hog

ive never had great battery life on my 820... my 625 has very impressive life however

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » October 15th, 2019, 12:55 am

Resurrection!
Great for the layman.
https://youtu.be/ixVpIt264xk