Mountain Biking

VK-Sportsman

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 10th, 2014, 4:22 pm

I reaching aboretum carpark for 7:15am. Will wait till Trinibajan finishes the tracking station run (around 7:30) and we head into the trails as a group. TRD12 should be there also.

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2014, 4:48 pm

Tracking station is very steep,
If you are over 170lbs it will be pressure

But still worth the effort
Just find the right gar to not kill your legs and take your time and power up with smooth pedal motion and not a hard grinding gear.
Dont spin the pedals hurriedly and uncordinated

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 10th, 2014, 5:03 pm

hey guys

Anyone knows if we pay vat and or duty on bike parts like say brakes?

Thinking of getting some Avid BB7 brakes from Amazon. Heard they are the best in the world and easiest to adjust and maintain. Taking this opportunity to thinker around with my bike and do some upgrades. I researched these promax brakes and from the forums its generally a low quality brakes hence why the bike was so cheap at $4k. It is said if I had bought a Nevada 1.5 for $4800 that comes with Hayes Mech brakes it would be much better.

But not as good as spending the 4k for this 1.6 and then buying some avid BB7 and upgrading myself. SO I suppose I should look at this as a good thing LOL

The brakes work ok I suppose for now. But soon as the 5 month warranty done and if it still gives problems I ordering my new brakes

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 10th, 2014, 5:10 pm

if you are looking at riding trails in the near future upgrade if not then don't rush unless necessary

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 10th, 2014, 5:37 pm

nah not trails is just for regular commuting I got to love cycling now since I losing weight.

But these promax are cheap brakes and can't align themselves for too long ever so often you always find yourself adjusting them and doing something.

But for the question do we pay vat and or duty on bike brakes? I bought a saddle and did not pay any tax

Edit I seeing here no Duty

http://www.csfcouriersltd.com/customs_taxes.html

But says 15% vat yet I never pay vat on bike parts. Except my bike lights Hmmmm

bgh

Postby bgh » January 10th, 2014, 5:53 pm

My ride from yesterday....
1389390780180.jpg

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 10th, 2014, 6:33 pm

yuh coming tomorrow?

bgh

Postby bgh » January 10th, 2014, 7:00 pm

I would like to but I don’t wake up that early on the weekend... lol.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 10th, 2014, 7:04 pm

lol I hear yuh

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 5:16 am

who is meeting me to hit the tracking station ?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 5:51 am

Besides the fact that I am afraid, I won't won't make it up in time for when you planning to leave.
So I will link for the trail for now and next chance I will try it

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 5:54 am

cool b

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 11th, 2014, 7:05 am

Who here for d trail? Jugs reach car park.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 7:07 am

which car park

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 7:13 am

Golf course or Arbetoreum? Where to meet. Almost there.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 7:14 am

arbet

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 7:24 am

K. I was to park by Samaan park or drive in? I by the entrance to Covine river trail. By the no entry sign

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 7:32 am

who here I by the arbet carpark with vk

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 7:33 am

I on a dirty fuji an vk on a white specialized in

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 7:35 am

I by the road entrance by Samaan park. Putting together my bike. Silver lancer. And I haven't the foggiest who to look for. Real people down here.

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 11th, 2014, 7:41 am

I'm by a redlancer orange sleeveless

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 11:56 am

how was it this morning ?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » January 11th, 2014, 12:45 pm

We did south bank into northbank. Lol I was bun yes :lol: Then hit macqueripe beach and tried the tracking station climb. I have to start going there more often to get my fitness level back up.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 12:59 pm

cool next time I will be there to do some more trails

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 4:23 pm

Next time I will hit the tracking station. The slope of the road not that bad. More importantly it would be a lot of fun coming back down.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 4:26 pm

ur gonna need new brakes when ur done

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » January 11th, 2014, 4:31 pm

Coming down the tracking station was nice, got my bike up to 30mph and backed off. May go again tomorrow morning.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 4:39 pm

alyuh brave with them rim brakes

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Fella coming down a hill is the bet part of riding uphill. And before disc brakes that was the brakes people used. Once you adjust properly you on like boil corn.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 11th, 2014, 11:57 pm

well true