.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby K74T » August 19th, 2015, 9:21 pm

Buh u does hide regular when u gettin e-bellars right through behbeh.

Postby UML » August 19th, 2015, 9:25 pm

K74T wrote:Buh u does hide regular when u gettin e-bellars right through behbeh.

Das wah ah talking bout!!!

Le frothments Le beatup me loveeeeeeee

We red and ready from the cutass we getting from the PPG :lol:

Postby K74T » August 19th, 2015, 9:35 pm

Le fgt

Postby rfari » August 19th, 2015, 10:07 pm

I was listening to the meeting over the radio. Whats up with the 5min speeches by the reps?

Another thing. I didn't catch the name of the speaker, but the person said that before 2010 only 10% of ppl in rima had a pipeborne supply? Now it's over 80%? Really?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 19th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Mustbe referring to squatters in Arima.

Postby rfari » August 19th, 2015, 10:22 pm

Hadda be. But where? Before 2010, the two major squatter zones that were regularised by LSA were racecourse, ackbarali and mendez drive. Dunno where else. Unless its developments that sprung up in the last year

Postby RASC » August 19th, 2015, 10:23 pm

Well they said over 83% (approx 1 million people) of the nation had NO PIPE BORNE WATER...
So the Arima statistic falls right in line with PP logic8-)

Postby rfari » August 19th, 2015, 10:26 pm

See that's why I like to listen to all sides. I listen to all the offerings of the major political parties. And sometimes u hear something that doesnt quite make sense. Only for others to repeat it.

Postby bluefete » August 19th, 2015, 11:47 pm

rfari wrote:
rfari wrote:Any idea when the next UNC meeting is? Kinda bored of listen to kamala repeat the same script every monday. Hoping to hear contributions from candidates

What candidates you talking 'bout bai?

You forget is "KAMLA2015" or what?

Postby bluefete » August 19th, 2015, 11:50 pm

UML wrote:Yuh think Conrad Enil will get a Senator position in the PPG government?

Ah see Mariano Brown also questioning the PNM actions of bringing in foreign speakers to criticise your country.

Like he want to jump ship and join Conrad Enil.

#seeingthelight

Anyone heard their address? They clearly didn't research T&T. Sounded like we living in Somalia.

Mariano and conrad come just like Inshan Ishmael - Political opportunists.

God help us if PNM wins and Mariano becomes Finance minister.

Postby rfari » August 19th, 2015, 11:56 pm

bluefete wrote:
rfari wrote:
rfari wrote:Any idea when the next UNC meeting is? Kinda bored of listen to kamala repeat the same script every monday. Hoping to hear contributions from candidates

True. 5 mins per candidate. Heard some generic plans but nothing stood out.
bluefete wrote:
UML wrote:Yuh think Conrad Enil will get a Senator position in the PPG government?

Ah see Mariano Brown also questioning the PNM actions of bringing in foreign speakers to criticise your country.

#seeingthelight

Anyone heard their address? They clearly didn't research T&T. Sounded like we living in Somalia.

I can't speak for enil but Mariano calls a spade a spade. We have to get past the old days of categorising knowledgeable ppl into political parties based on their commentary and criticism.

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2015, 12:07 am

rfari wrote:
bluefete wrote:
rfari wrote:

True. 5 mins per candidate. Heard some generic plans but nothing stood out.
bluefete wrote:

#seeingthelight

I can't speak for enil but Mariano calls a spade a spade. We have to get past the old days of categorising knowledgeable ppl into political parties based on their commentary and criticism.

I agree with you there but check Mariano's history of management in Barbados!

Postby rfari » August 20th, 2015, 12:16 am

Spill the beans bluefete

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2015, 1:05 am

by Barbados Free Press | November 25, 2007 · 5:03 pm

Mariano Browne Accused Of Fraud By Caribbean Commercial Bank Ltd. and RBTT Bank

mariano_browne

Has Extensive Connections With Barbados Government and Elites

Trinidad & Tobago’s new Minister in the Ministry of Finance has been accused of fraud by his former Barbados-based employer.

According to the Trinidad and Tobago Express (link here), a civil lawsuit filed in Supreme Court in Barbados in 2004 says Mariano Browne “breached his fiduciary duty” by doing all kinds of nefarious activities including…

– Making unathorised payments to himself and others.

– Purchasing an unauthorised car for a “senior staffer” Cheryll Drakes using the bank’s funds. Apparently Browne liked Ms. Drakes a lot!

– Paying unauthorised and undocumented “bonuses” to himself and other staff.

– Removing and destroying a laptop computer with the bank’s business records on it. (Gotta get rid of that evidence, ya know!)

– Activities euphemistically called “accounting irregularities”.

Browne and his lawyer Alair Shepherd say its all a big misunderstanding. They say that Browne was hard done by during some business dealings with the bank.

Other companies and persons are mentioned in the lawsuit including…

– MB Investments Inc (Mariano Browne’s company)
– Bank owner at the time CLICO
– CL Financial
– Andre Monteil
– Bank of Butterfield
– PriceWaterhouseCoopers (a Canadian accounting firm)
– Fraudulent payments to law firm of Clarke, Gittens & Farmer
– Central Bank of Barbados
– Barbados Coast Guard relocation project
– New Barbados Judicial Center
– Government of Barbados, which provided a “letter of comfort” to Browne during some of the suspected fraudulent business dealings.

chief-justice-david-simmons-ccj

Lawsuit Was Hidden By The Barbados Court – Did Chief Justice Simmons Know?

Even though the public is only now learning of the lawsuit against Browne, we learned today that this lawsuit was actually filed in the Supreme Court of Barbados in 2004.

How is it that such a major lawsuit involving government projects and major financial institutions, businesses and law firms could remain secret for three years?

This would have taken the knowledge and co-operation of the Barbados Judicial system.

Dear readers, we at BFP are not lawyers, so maybe we’re wrong here – but it seems to us that keeping this lawsuit secret from the public and shareholders would have taken the participation and direction at the highest levels of government and the courts. Did Chief Justice Sir David Simmons know of this? If yes, what does that say about our courts? If he didn’t know about it, what else is going on in the Barbados courts that is secret?

We don’t expect any answers from Simmons and the government – for the Chief Justice and the Government are two arms of the same body.

Reprint of Trinidad & Tobago Express Article on next page…

From the Trinidad & Tobago Express (link here)

CLOUD OVER NEW MINISTER

Bank sues Mariano Browne for embezzlement
Special investigation by Camini Marajh cmarajh@trinidadexpress.com

Sunday, November 25th 2007

Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s new Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Mariano Browne has been accused of financial impropriety and corporate misbehaviour by his former employer, the Bridgetown-based Caribbean Commercial Bank Ltd (CCB), now RBTT Bank Barbados Ltd.

A civil lawsuit filed in the Supreme Court in Barbados in July 2004 by CCB’s new owner, RBTT Bank and its previous-owner, CLICO Holdings Barbados Ltd, claims that Browne, the former president and CEO of CCB, breached his fiduciary duty and the bank’s rules and procedures by, among other things:

– Making unauthorised travel payments to himself and other senior management staff
– Paying bonuses and interim bonuses to senior management staff including himself in an ad hoc and irregular manner without adequate documentation and/or Board approval and failing to make the necessary tax deductions
– Purchasing a 2003 four-door Honda CR-V for Bar$101,400.75 for senior staffer Cheryll Drakes which exceeded the approved limit by Bar$36,400.75
– Removing and destroying a company lap-top computer hard drive and
– Committing accounting irregularities related to a Bar$39.5 million bond issue which caused financial harm to the bank. The two corporate giants are seeking some Bar$8 million in damages.

Reached in Barbados on Friday, Browne denied all of the allegations contained in the court papers filed against him and his company, MB Investments Inc and deferred comment to his lawyer Alair Shepherd. In Browne’s defence, Shepherd held that his client “did no more or no less than previous heads of the bank” and that Browne was in fact following “the procedure adopted by previous managers” when he approved bonus payments.

Shepherd said when Browne went to CCB in January 2002, the bank had: “No cash, was making losses, had a poor loan portfolio and owed the Central Bank of Barbados money.”

He told a story of a loss-making CCB coming to profit under the management of Browne, who, he said, has “always felt hard-done by, in circumstances where he had taken the bank from a loss-making position to a position where CLICO, its shareholder, was in a position where it could make a substantial profit on sale.”

According to Shepherd, relations between Browne and his former employer soured after CLICO allegedly reneged on a lock down agreement to sell its shareholding in CCB to a Brown-engineered management buy -out.

But the CLICO and RBTT court pleadings denied claims of an agreement to a management buy out and, instead, accused Browne of claiming a travel allowance of Bar$9,767.19 for personal travel to Bermuda in October 2003 for the specific purpose of facilitating the sale of CCB to the Bank of Butterfield, Browne’s employer up until a week ago.

Shepherd said he was “not at liberty” to reveal the identities of the persons who made up the consortium for the management buy-out put together by Browne on a question of whether Butterfield was a financer to the deal.

Court papers said that Browne made a private trip to Bermuda without the knowledge and or approval of the board. Shepherd confirmed that his client sought an injunction against CLICO to prevent that company from finalising a deal with RBTT but in the end things turned on the construction and interpretation of a CL Financial/Andre Monteil agreement letter.

The prevailing view in Barbados, according to Shepherd, was that the Monteil agreement was not enforceable since CCB was a wholly-owned CLICO Holdings Barbados subsidiary and the requisite board approval had not been obtained.

The former CLICO-owned bank, then in negotiations with RBTT, terminated Browne’s contract in January 2004 and gave him a Bar$800,000 payout. But in court filings, following a forensic audit by a Canadian team of accountants from the firm, PriceWaterhouseCoopers, RBTT/ CLICO is demanding repayment of the Bar$800,000 which they contend was paid “in error pursuant to the contract for services as a result of breaches of contract.”

The forensic report allegedly found that Browne overstated commissions on financial transactions and engaged in accounting irregularities. According to the court documents, Browne authorised the processing of bonds issued by the bank in the amount of Bar$39,583,179.70 in connection with a Coast Guard relocation project without the investment receiving the requisite Central Bank approval in accordance with the Financial Institutions Act.

The lawsuit claims that he proceeded to issue zero-coupon certificates of interest in the bonds without the related trust deed and other documents required to facilitate project financing. There were also claims that the investment company had not been properly established.

In Browne’s defence, Shepherd said while the lawsuit referred to a lack of government guarantee, his client had a letter of comfort from the Barbados government. He countered that “a certain amount of urgency” was imposed upon the bank by the Government of Barbados. And while he conceded that: “Monies were, accounting-wise dealt with and paid without tidying up of full documents,” the same thing was done with the judicial centre and there was no howl of protest.

The court papers, however, contend that Browne was responsible for the sale of certificates, purportedly issued by the bank, in a security which did not exist. There were claims that his negligence caused “actual economic damage to the Bank.”

The lawsuit also held him responsible for entries (in the financial records) purporting to be arranger’s fees and commissions earned on the certificates.

The lawsuit contend that Browne and his company in fact received year-end bonuses from overstated commissions. The court documents said that the issue of zero coupon bonds without proper or lawful authorisation made the bank liable to interest payments to investors on bonds amounting to some Bar$1.8 million and legal fees of Bar$101,964.18 to the law firm of Clarke, Gittens & Farmer

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com ... rbtt-bank/

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2015, 1:07 am

by BFP | December 16, 2007 · 9:18 pm

Mariano Browne Fraud Allegations Take A Political Twist

Will The Barbados Courts Be Predisposed To Favour Mariano Browne?

Today, the Trinidad & Tobago Express is taking a look at the politics and political connections behind the Mariano Browne fraud allegations. Barbados Opposition DLP leader David Thompson is acting as lawyer for one of the interested parties – RBTT/CLICO.

On the other side of the case, the T&T Express newspaper is calling Mariano Browne “a financial supporter and close associate of Barbados Prime Minister Owen Arthur and his Barbados Labour Party (BLP)…”

Hmmmm…. makes us wonder who the “silent beneficiaries” of the whole aborted bank deal were to be if Mariano Browne had been successful in pulling it off without, ahem, “problems”.

Oh well, Browne doesn’t have to to worry – In the long term in any Barbados court action Mariano Browne is sure to have the secret support of an old BLP friend: former Barbados Attorney General and now Chief Justice David Simmons. (photo immediately above)

Here is an excerpt from the Trinidad and Tobago Express article The Mariano Browne Saga…

Insiders say a lot of the personal hostilities between some of the principal players in this continuing corporate feud are not unrelated to political loyalties both here and in Barbados…

On the Barbados end of the business, Leroy Parris, Chairman of CLICO Holdings Barbados and reputedly, a bitter enemy of Browne, is said to be a close friend of Opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) leader, David Thompson.

Thompson is listed as one of the attorneys in the joint RBTT/CLICO Barbados lawsuit filed against Browne for alleged financial impropriety and corporate misbehaviour at CCB.

On the flip side, Browne is said to be a financial supporter and close associate of Barbados Prime Minister Owen Arthur and his Barbados Labour Party (BLP). Browne last week insisted that he had only a “professional relationship” with the Barbados leader.

He also maintained much of his earlier claims made in court pleadings in his failed bid to block the 2004 sale of CCB to local banking giant, RBTT-mainly that CCB and CL Financial reneged on an agreement to sell the bank to him.

The Barbados High Court and Court of Appeal found otherwise. The ownership structure of the CLICO-owned bank and the contention that Andre Monteil was not authorised to sell the bank was a substantive issue that figured in the court’s final ruling in favour of Leroy Parris and CCB.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com ... cal-twist/

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2015, 1:10 am

Friday 15th February, 2008

RBTT, Clico settle Browne matter

By Gail Alexander

The Barbadian court matter between Minister in the Ministry of Finance Mariano Browne and Clico Holdings’ Barbados bank—now owned by RBTT Barbados—is headed for an amicable out-of-court settlement.

Yesterday, Suresh Sookoo, RBTT’s group chief executive officer, confirmed that issues between RBTT (Barbados) and Clico in Barbados had been resolved.

He said all funds due to RBTT from Clico in the matter had been settled.

“And, therefore, we have no further interest in the matter before the courts,” Sookoo added.

A Clico source said the company was writing its lawyers, instructing them to also withdraw legal action.

RBTT had been conjoined in action against Browne after RBTT in Barbados purchased Clico’s Barbados bank, known as the Caribbean Commercial Bank (CCB).

Browne was CEO of the CCB.

Before RBTT’s move to buy Clico’s bank, Browne initiated legal action in January 2004 against the CCB’s parent company Clico.

After RBTT bought Clico’s Barbados bank later in 2004, RBTT became conjoined in that issue, RBTT noted.

There was a countersuit against Browne in July 2004— Clico (Barbados) and RBTT (Barbados) against MB/Mariano Browne.

The matter dealt with RBTT seeking payment of funds after it bought the Clico bank.

Now that those funds have been paid, RBTT has no further interest in the matter.

Yesterday, Sookoo made it clear RBTT faced no political pressure in the matter.

Contacted on Wednesday morning, officials at Clico (Barbados) also confirmed “things have been happening.”

But they declined to give a direction.

Leroy Parris, CEO of CLico Holdings’ (Barbados), declined comment on the issue, saying:

“Talk to RBTT. I’m not getting involved in that.”

Sources involved in the matter said the developments signal the end of the issue in time.

Lawyers for all parties now have to complete the final part of the process, they said.

Browne: Good sense will prevail

Contacted on the developments yesterday, Browne said: “I expected that the matter would have been settled, it was just a matter of when.

“It never should have been in this position in the first place. I’m glad if it is heading this way since it would have been difficult to maintain it. There was always the supposition on my part that it would have been discontinued.

“The moral of the story is that good sense will prevail,” Browne added.

Browne’s interests in the matter are being represented by Barbados attorneys Alair Sheppard.

Browne said he had has answered all the allegations made against him in the public domain and elsewhere.

Prime Minister Patrick Manning defended Browne in December when the issue of legal action against the minister was aired.

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... ews11.html

Postby rfari » August 20th, 2015, 1:43 am

Interesting. First time hearing about this.

Postby zoom rader » August 20th, 2015, 1:57 am

rfari wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Fari they suppsed to be in arima tonite.....thats why rain falling

:D dey shoulda come rima 3 weeks ago yes
rfari wrote:

I still waiting on that Clown PNM candidate in San Do east to pass round again by me.

As you say that, when last have you or any of the UNC supporters listened to a growley address?

I can't account for the other good UNC/PP citizens.
For me I listened to Rowley " Discussion " in Sando West and was not amused.
San Do West is a different class of ppl.

Why hold a discussion in Sando West and not San Do East, is it that San Do east is not as intellectual and affluent as San Do West ppl. Laventille could do with a PNM discussion.

I suspect San Do East is now a marginal. Lots of folks not happy with Mitchell.
Mitchell came around by me and greeted only one half of the street. Where I live the other side of the street falls in another constituency, he blanked greeting those folks which are die hard PNM. Some of those folks blue vex.
Then came along the COP candidate that walked along both sides of our street and greeted folks. The UNC rep did the same, which I did not see as I was not home at that time but my PNM neighbours told me.

Rowley is a hindrance to PNM. PNM is viewed as a hostile party and is not citizen friendly. You can't even approach them and ask them real questions.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 20th, 2015, 2:14 am

I see unc making a walk thru gopie trace Tuesday . They walking everywhere and talking to everyone.

No big music truck and thing. Just a Mike saying come and meet the girl. I ain't even know her name. Rell organized. Limited traffic. Bess

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2015, 4:58 am

Political analyst Zoom Rader Says:

He suspects San Fernando East is now a marginal because one the candidates didn't come to his side of the street.

Hmmm such insight, such knowledge, many analytics and data. Good-PP victory Sando East!

Postby zoom rader » August 20th, 2015, 6:43 am

RASC wrote:Political analyst Zoom Rader Says:

He suspects San Fernando East is now a marginal because one the candidates didn't come to his side of the street.

Hmmm such insight, such knowledge, many analytics and data. Good-PP victory Sando East!

Learn to read what I wrote, I said the PNM candidate did not greet the other side of street which falls in another constituency

It shows how much this PNM candidate cares about non constituency citizens. The good PNM folk did notice this. Even Manning would stop and greet a few on the otherside.

This clown Mitichell even falled to understand that his aspiring constituency has new boundaries added to San Do east which are Indo populated areas. He already diss these ppl

PNM failed to help Manning maintain San Do east with its needs. Lot of folks looking very closely at the neglect by the PNM.

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2015, 6:51 am

Indo people being Victimised again?

Do tell us more!

Postby zoom rader » August 20th, 2015, 7:13 am

RASC wrote:Indo people being Victimised again?

Do tell us more!

This time is San Do East ppl. You won't know of these problems as u too busy in cold breeze and studying Gay rights

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2015, 7:15 am

Well tell us more of their victimisation... Since I don't know:(

Postby Redman » August 20th, 2015, 7:17 am

RASC wrote:Well they said over 83% (approx 1 million people) of the nation had NO PIPE BORNE WATER...

I would like to see the on and off balance sheet debt of WASA in 2009 and now.
I would like to see what the volume of water supplied by WASA in 09 was vs now.

I would like to see what his 'new found' supply cost us to acquire.

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2015, 7:25 am

Redman wrote:
RASC wrote:Well they said over 83% (approx 1 million people) of the nation had NO PIPE BORNE WATER...

I would like to see the on and off balance sheet debt of WASA in 2009 and now.
I would like to see what the volume of water supplied by WASA in 09 was vs now.

I would like to see what his 'new found' supply cost us to acquire.

Facts and figures aren't part of their vocabulary.
Just inflate and pander to the masses. Instant success in their eyes.

100 schools built is another classic number.
Do people actually buy this stuff?

Postby dougla_boy » August 20th, 2015, 7:38 am

i pass last night by the meeting...was no big setta crowd....so i eh know what head UML tryna push....

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 20th, 2015, 7:59 am

rfari wrote:I was listening to the meeting over the radio. Whats up with the 5min speeches by the reps?

Another thing. I didn't catch the name of the speaker, but the person said that before 2010 only 10% of ppl in rima had a pipeborne supply? Now it's over 80%? Really?

If is one thing this government is good at,it is laying pipe. I believe the above statistics are true.....

http://www.trinicenter.com/Raffique/Oct/pipers.htm

"Boasting of his achievements as Public Utilities Minister, Ganga told the UNC faithful that he was the first minister with that portfolio who “dropped pipe all over the country”. To capitalise on the sexual connotation, he added that he “dropped pipe in Kamla’s constituency, plenty pipe”. He invited the audience to ask Kamla if he was not correct.

When she came to the microphone, Kamla took Ganga’s lewd suggestions several steps further. Yes, she said, Ganga did “drop pipe in Siparia”. But she couldn’t tell “the size of the pipe” although the “pressure of the water” was good. And to underscore the lewdness while attempting to preserve her character, she added that the “only pipe I know about is Dr Bissessar’s pipe”, referring to her husband. So now there was no question as to what kind of “pipe” was being discussed as a main item on the UNC platform.

Really, for a woman who is held in high esteem by supporters and non-supporters of the UNC, Kamla has disappointed, big time too. Critics of the UNC Government will not have been surprised at Ganga’s crudeness, that being the least of his sins since he came to office almost five years ago. Having been elevated from an obscure ex-NARite activist to Prime Minister Basdeo Panday’s “Inner Cabinet”, he has been responsible for negotiating controversial deals like the Innercob/InnCogen estate and the desalination plant. He has also become quite wealthy, thanks to his ministerial job and his wife’s high-level income at Point Lisas (as he himself explained sometime ago).
"

Postby pete » August 20th, 2015, 8:05 am

Hey thanks for that 15 year old flashback.

Postby K74T » August 20th, 2015, 8:57 am

Throwback Thursday in full effect.