Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 7:23 pm

that is true......

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 12th, 2013, 9:49 pm

alright decided im gonna actually water cool my system now,
After fighting up trying to get myself a descent air cooler locally to no avail.
ive decided just to make the jump to water and bring something in.
what system you all recommend not looking to break records if i can get my 3570k to like 5ghz then i'm happy at that. i have room for a large radiator on the top of my case a twin 140mm setup if needed not much room to cool my gpu's though,
they dont like to be oced anyway so not really a concern.
will a big setup be that much better than the likes of the corsair range?
i have had a h80 before and was very impressed with it.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 10:25 pm

Post Ur case and budget let me build a loop for u. Oh and wat u plan 2 cool.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 12th, 2013, 11:12 pm

The newer AIO units are actually pretty good compared to a custom loop. Check out the swiftech h220 which is an aio unit but expandable meaning you can add xtra blocks/rads, price is not bad too @$140us.
But building your own loop is more fun and you have a ton of options. A 5Ghz OC I think would require a delid. Should cool the gpu also

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 13th, 2013, 1:40 am

i dont agree with you about the AIO matching/compare up to a custom loop...if that is your experience i think you are doing something wrong, or correct me if i am mistaken.
as for the delid that ppl do on IVY. i feel sorry for them. that is stressful!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 13th, 2013, 9:18 am

Not saying they're better than but rather a decent alternative for modest OC. Price/performance is good imo and better than air. Using a 620 temporarily and it maintaining my 4.5 OC real nice. But sandy oc real easily, if I were to push my chip even further my custom loop would def be the better way to go.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 13th, 2013, 9:26 am

OK got ya!

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 14th, 2013, 10:09 am

I really don't want to delid frankly it scares me. I am at 4.3 ghz right now on the stock cooler hits around 65deg in prime so I am sure 4.5/4.6 is possible on good air so I am hoping water will bring close to 5.
My gpu's have always ran cool never needed any extra cooling other than 120mm coolermaster case fans,
I have a sapphire 2gb 5870 eyefinity 6 version and a sapphire 1gb 5870 normal model.
My case is a coolermaster centurion

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 14th, 2013, 10:19 am

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2013, 1:36 pm

I think my next build will be along the lines of a mini-itx or micro atx type setup. I always like the small form factor and have 0 interest in overclocking and with ssds becoming affordable and optical drives going out, I say why not.

Would you guys recommend an i5 like the 4570 (its around 200usd) as opposed to the i7s? Is it worth spending the $100+ more? Because up to now I can still crank out 30+fps on medium to high detail on new games with my e8400.
And will a 460GTX 1GB be a bottleneck for a new system using such a core and say 16GB DDR3 RAM?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 14th, 2013, 3:42 pm

Think ive found the layout for if/when i do get that 630 case.
only difference will be my single gpu, single D5, a rx360 uptop and a rx240 infront.

The tubing looks like it could be kept simple enough so i wont bother with acrylic. I feel i might make a mess of the bending :( :(

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 14th, 2013, 4:35 pm

chilled watercooling + copper water lines + oil submerged

I wanna do a build like that

also, is it possible to spray paint a motherboard?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 14th, 2013, 5:50 pm

M_2NR wrote:I think my next build will be along the lines of a mini-itx or micro atx type setup. I always like the small form factor and have 0 interest in overclocking and with ssds becoming affordable and optical drives going out, I say why not.

Would you guys recommend an i5 like the 4570 (its around 200usd) as opposed to the i7s? Is it worth spending the $100+ more? Because up to now I can still crank out 30+fps on medium to high detail on new games with my e8400.
And will a 460GTX 1GB be a bottleneck for a new system using such a core and say 16GB DDR3 RAM?

The 4570 will give ya similar performance @ stock speeds vs the 4670k so yea is a good buy. The i7s would more suit you if you plan to use alot of multi threaded programs. Your gpu would be a bottleneck seeing as you would have a more powerful cpu & wouldn't be able to utilize it's full potential. Look into the 760, should be a nice upgrade

2NR Smurf wrote:Think ive found the layout for if/when i do get that 630 case.
only difference will be my single gpu, single D5, a rx360 uptop and a rx240 infront.

The tubing looks like it could be kept simple enough so i wont bother with acrylic. I feel i might make a mess of the bending :( :(

Thas a neat build, acrylic is all for looks anyway so yea if ya find it not necessary doh bother with it. Not like getting better performance or anything.
But I betcha as you get more into watercooling ya might end up changing your mind :smile:
ruffneck_12 wrote:chilled watercooling + copper water lines + oil submerged

I wanna do a build like that

also, is it possible to spray paint a motherboard?

Yea as long as is non conductive paint. I wouldn't chance it on a expensive mobo tho.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 14th, 2013, 6:08 pm

Ollour, real deals on Steam everyday. doh stick.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 14th, 2013, 7:26 pm

meeeen ha no credit cyard :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 14th, 2013, 10:24 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Think ive found the layout for if/when i do get that 630 case.

DID a build today in a NZXT Switch 810 today for a friend. Well watercool it. Will see if i get pics for you!

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2013, 10:28 pm

Thanks iM. Only programs I use are autocad and a few design ones also CS6 suite but more photo/vectors than video. Of course games as well. I don't think ill be utilizing that i7 at all. I think ill keep the 460 for a bit if I do upgrade. I don't plan to right now. May be in September. Ideally I want to wait until GTA V to release :lol: last time I caved and bought my pc before IV and that game/port was horrid.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 14th, 2013, 11:37 pm

M_2NR wrote:Thanks iM. Only programs I use are autocad and a few design ones also CS6 suite but more photo/vectors than video. Of course games as well. I don't think ill be utilizing that i7 at all. I think ill keep the 460 for a bit if I do upgrade. I don't plan to right now. May be in September. Ideally I want to wait until GTA V to release :lol: last time I caved and bought my pc before IV and that game/port was horrid.

GTA V hasn't been yet confirmed for Microsoft Windows

Postby M_2NR » July 15th, 2013, 4:39 am

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 15th, 2013, 5:19 am

Saints Row > GTA

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 15th, 2013, 8:24 pm

M_2NR wrote:http://www.pcgamer.com/2013/05/01/gta-5-pc-release-date

Seems like a long wait :(

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 16th, 2013, 9:45 pm

Hey Guys... Can Anyone Give Me A Little Help On Building A 'Simple Gaming PC'... Nothing To Extreme...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=517307

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 17th, 2013, 8:25 am

-Roach- wrote:Hey Guys... Can Anyone Give Me A Little Help On Building A 'Simple Gaming PC'... Nothing To Extreme...

You buying the parts here

Postby 16 cycles » July 17th, 2013, 8:28 am

for the water cooled rigs....what's the draw on current for all that paraphernalia?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 17th, 2013, 9:11 am

16 cycles wrote:for the water cooled rigs....what's the draw on current for all that paraphernalia?

Not much, the pump and fan are the only thing that draws power.

Say between 10-40w for the pump. The swiftech MCP-655 for example draws only 24w.

Fans variable from a fraction of a watt each to a few watts depending on model.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 17th, 2013, 9:16 am

anyone?

searchingone wrote:Anyone know where I could get one of these locally?

http://www.ambery.com/expctotvvico1.html

Sham's had but they are out of stock and don't know when they'll get again..

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 17th, 2013, 9:42 am

fred1266 wrote:
-Roach- wrote:Hey Guys... Can Anyone Give Me A Little Help On Building A 'Simple Gaming PC'... Nothing To Extreme...

Yep...

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 17th, 2013, 10:19 am

-Roach- wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

Yep...

Supertech has some sweet combo deal

Postby Ted_v2 » July 19th, 2013, 5:11 pm

Right. Hear my problem

My pc sound isn't working. The icon on the bottom of the home screen shows noting isn't connected however my sound system is connected.

I tried different cables. Tried the sound system on my tablet and it works perfectly but not on the pc. It isn't being recognized.

It was working perfectly for almost 6 months. But yesterday I connected back my scanner usb and I shaked the wire and it stopped working. The Internet also stopped working but it troubled shooted and started working properly

I checked the driver for updates and nothing. Even plugged in my headphones and noting.

HELP ME.