COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 104 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » May 11th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Still no one wearing masks though

There is no evidence to support the use of cloth masks in community settings (WHO).

People are seriously over-estimating how much protection a cloth mask gives them. Yes, it would be better if they used masks, but mask-use is hardly as important as social distancing and handwashing. Two of those three things have data behind them. One was invented to reduce the demand for surgical/N95 masks.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 11th, 2020, 2:00 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

There is no evidence to support the use of cloth masks in community settings (WHO).

People are seriously over-estimating how much protection a cloth mask gives them. Yes, it would be better if they used masks, but mask-use is hardly as important as social distancing and handwashing. Two of those three things have data behind them. One was invented to reduce the demand for surgical/N95 masks.

And for businesses to make $ on the pretense that cloth masks will help

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Friends,

I think you all are expecting wayyyy to much from your countrymen.

#findingcovid

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2020, 2:19 pm

This is a job well done by the government we are the only country that has squashed covid completely

Postby aaron17 » May 11th, 2020, 2:29 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is a job well done by the government we are the only country that has squashed covid completely
If carnival was in January, would it have been disasterous?

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2020, 2:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:i see plenty masks with valve for exhale
that means a positive mask wearer could still easily spread germs

yeah i seeing that too- they do make breathing easier and less moisture builds up- but MOH should inform ppl about this
N95 masks were not recommended. Cloth was recommended.

---------
Port-of-Spain, April 5th, 2020: Based on ongoing local and international research into the spread and treatment of COVID-19, the Ministry of the Health continuously updates its public health protocols as new scientific evidence emerges.

One significant recent development has been the recommendation from the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) supporting “wearing cloth face coverings in public settings”.

In this regard, the Ministry of Health advises the general population that, once they are out in public. cloth masks (including homemade masks) should be used as a part of the full range of personal protection measures that should be adopted to reduce the spread of COVID-19.

It should be noted that cloth masks are recommended for use by the public. As previously stated, surgical masks and N95 masks should be left for use by health care workers.

The Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, advised the public of this development during the Ministry of Health’s virtual media conference on Saturday 4th April, 2020.

The public is therefore advised of the following guidelines for the use of masks:

Persons should wear masks once they go out in public

Persons must also follow all the other personal protection guidelines:

o   Stay at home

o   Wash your hands properly with soap and water or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer

o   Cover your coughs

o   Avoid touching your face

o   Avoid close contact with people who are ill

o   Sanitize surfaces that are touched often

o   Practice social distancing.

The use of a mask alone will not reduce the risk of getting COVID-19.

Cloth masks (including homemade masks) are recommended for use by the public. Surgical masks and N95 masks are reserved for use by healthcare workers

The wearing of masks is highly recommended in areas of high foot traffic (e.g. supermarkets, pharmacies, hardware stores, banks)

Persons must follow the recommended procedures for the use of masks, including sanitizing hands before putting on and after removing masks. Cloth masks should also be washed and dried thoroughly before re-use.

When to wear masks at home

The public is also advised that the consistent use of masks at home is recommended for every member of the household in the following instances,:

o   If a family member believes that they have been exposed to COVID-19

o   If someone in the home has COVID-19 symptoms.

The Ministry of Health will continue to update the public on all new recommendations regarding the appropriate public health measures to combat the spread of COVID-19.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/ministry ... d-covid-19

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2020, 2:41 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

The use of cloth masks has been studied for pandemic use for 100 years.

Any kind of mask offers mitigation if it is properly fitted. Many studies say that masks help, many say that they don't. It is parameter dependent.

----------

2013 Aug 7

Testing the efficacy of homemade masks: would they protect in an influenza pandemic?

Davies A1, Thompson KA, Giri K, Kafatos G, Walker J, Bennett A.

Author information

Abstract

OBJECTIVE:

This study examined homemade masks as an alternative to commercial face masks.

METHODS:

Several household materials were evaluated for the capacity to block bacterial and viral aerosols. Twenty-one healthy volunteers made their own face masks from cotton t-shirts; the masks were then tested for fit. The number of microorganisms isolated from coughs of healthy volunteers wearing their homemade mask, a surgical mask, or no mask was compared using several air-sampling techniques.

RESULTS:

The median-fit factor of the homemade masks was one-half that of the surgical masks. Both masks significantly reduced the number of microorganisms expelled by volunteers, although the surgical mask was 3 times more effective in blocking transmission than the homemade mask.

CONCLUSION:

Our findings suggest that a homemade mask should only be considered as a last resort to prevent droplet transmission from infected individuals, but it would be better than no protection.

PMID: 24229526 PMCID: PMC7108646 DOI: 10.1017/dmp.2013.43

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24229526

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 3:00 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young- ... PgwRhYga5s

In a nutshell Mr. Young stated that people caught eating by roadside vendors can be charged by the police... eating outside falls under what criminal offense? While i understand the need for social distancing this pandemic should be no excuse to violate my himan rights... if u wanna do that call a SOE and stop scaremongering

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2020, 3:13 pm

elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s

In a nutshell Mr. Young stated that people caught eating by roadside vendors can be charged by the police... eating outside falls under what criminal offense? While i understand the need for social distancing this pandemic should be no excuse to violate my himan rights... if u wanna do that call a SOE and stop scaremongering

5 (1) f and g:

Postby Gladiator » May 11th, 2020, 3:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is a job well done by the government we are the only country that has squashed covid completely

So why are we still hiding inside?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 3:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:
elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s

5 (1) f and g:

I should have taken my time and read the article fully before just reading what was being said on social media... i was of the assumption that you could not eat outside in totality... even if you 100 feet away from the vendor once u eating outside u can get charged... in reading the article i see that he did mention just by roadside vendors... also would you be able to tell me if this was always in the regulations or something they added on after the fact as i could still remember people eating by doubles vendor before the total lockdown in April

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2020, 3:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

You must be lacking common sense because it's been almost 2 months now that I and many others have been saying masks aren't there to protect you. It's there to limit the spread if you have it.

Even a freaking cheap ass single ply toilet paper in front your mouth will work in limiting air droplets from your mouth.

That is the reason people need to wear masks, effectively the same reason you block your mouths when you cough.

I cannot explain it any simpler. If everyone wears f*cking mask we could literally go back to a normal life.

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2020, 4:04 pm

elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

5 (1) f and g:

I should have taken my time and read the article fully before just reading what was being said on social media... i was of the assumption that you could not eat outside in totality... even if you 100 feet away from the vendor once u eating outside u can get charged... in reading the article i see that he did mention just by roadside vendors... also would you be able to tell me if this was always in the regulations or something they added on after the fact as i could still remember people eating by doubles vendor before the total lockdown in April

f was in effect before, not sure about g

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2020, 4:17 pm

1st we thought well is don't affect young adults- turns out it does (blood clots)
then we thought well at least children are spared- not so much

is this thing mutating?

https://www.nbcnewyork.com/investigations/kawasaki-disease-up-to-5-ny-children-dead-85-sickened-by-rare-covid-related-illness/2411571/

Up to 5 NY Children Dead, 93 Sickened by Rare COVID-Related Illness
New York City issued an initial health alert early last week after identifying more than a dozen children in city hospitals with the rare illness; now up to 93 cases have been identified statewide. Five children have died
By Melissa Russo • Published 5 hours ago • Updated 4 hours ago

What to Know
New York state health officials are investigating 93 children who may have been diagnosed with a recently identified illness associated with COVID-19 that some doctors are referring to as "pediatric multi-system inflammatory syndrome"

Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Sunday two more deaths are waiting confirmation, which would bring related deaths to five
Doctors say in some cases, kids are taking up to 6 weeks after exposure to the virus to present with symptoms of this illness

New York may have as many as 93 cases of children presenting with a new pediatric multi-system inflammatory syndrome likely linked to COVID-19. At least three children have died, and two more deaths are under investigation, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced.

Cuomo previously confirmed the deaths of two boys in New York City and Westchester County, as well as a teenager in Suffolk County. Details on the two most recent fatalities weren't immediately available.

A complication of the coronavirus the state had not even acknowledged a week ago, this new condition is now being seen across the country and is striking newborns and teenagers alike.

"As it turns out, these children happened to have the COVID antibodies, or be positive for COVID, but those were not the symptoms they showed when they came into the hospital system," Gov. Cuomo said Saturday.

The New York State Dept. of Health is working in partnership with the CDC to develop national criteria for the health departments and hospital systems in the 49 other states to help them identify, track and respond to help children exhibiting symptoms, Gov. Cuomo said. Doctors in the state say children are not presenting with symptoms until 4 to 6 weeks after exposure to the virus.

"This is every parent's nightmare, right?" Cuomo said, adding that the state is investigating additional child deaths and will conduct further studies to better understand the illness.

A 5-year-old boy died in New York City Thursday, the first child identified by the state to die from inflammatory syndrome brought on by COVID-19 complications.

New York City confirmed the syndrome's presence in at least 38 children over the weekend. On Monday, Dept. of Health Commissioner Dr. Oxiris Barbot said an additional 12 cases were under investigation and would be reportable in the coming days.

"If [your child has] a fever, their energy level is off, their appetite is off, they're developing a rash, their lips look extra red, their tongue is looking extra red, those I think are the early signs that we want parents not to discount them and say 'oh they'll be better tomorrow' but to reach out to your pediatrician, have that conversation and then do the testing if your pediatrician thinks its indicated," Dr. Barbot advised.

News 4 New York's Melissa Russo interviews Dr. Steven Kernie, chief of pediatric critical care at Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital in Manhattan, on the new inflammatory illness striking kids with coronavirus.

How to Identify the Symptoms Early
So what are the symptoms of pediatric multi-system inflammatory syndrome? The NYC Health Department said that children had a fever, and more than half reported having rashes, abdominal pain, vomiting or diarrhea. While it has been considered a direct symptom of COVID-19, less than half of the pediatric patients in the city displayed any shortness of breath.

Any child that shows symptoms relating to Kawasaki disease or toxic shock syndrome should be seen by a doctor as soon as possible, as the health department said early recognition and a pediatrician's referral to a specialist are essential, including admission to critical care units if necessary. Beginning treatment quickly can help prevent end-organ damage and other long-term problems, Demetre Daskalakis, the Deputy Commissioner of Disease Control with the New York City Health Department, said in the city's medical alert.

Dr. Newburger suggests that any parent who finds their child to have a high fever and "seems unwell" should call their pediatrician and seek medical attention.

Mount Sinai Hospital previously confirmed reports by NBC New York that they are seeing the new and unusual COVID-19 related illness in several pediatric patients, up from just two on April 28. The hospital’s chief of pediatric critical care issued a warning to parents to be on the lookout for certain symptoms.

In a statement, Dr. George Ofori, Pediatric Critical Care Director at Mount Sinai Kravis Children’s Hospital said, "Some of the cases that we are currently treating entered our care presenting with symptoms such as abdominal pain, vomiting, diarrhea, and a low-grade fever. Others presented first with a rash, conjunctivitis, and/or cracked lips.”

Dr. Ofori said some patients have developed heart problems and low blood pressure that led to shock. He explained that some had been diagnosed with COVID-19 2-3 weeks before these symptoms developed.

"Whether the underlying condition is COVID-19 or the body’s response to COVID-19 is not known at this time. While it is too early to definitively say what is causing this we believe it is important to alert the public as to what we are seeing," he said.

A different source told NBC New York some of these children had no previous underlying health conditions.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 11th, 2020, 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2020, 4:22 pm

elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

5 (1) f and g:

The 21 March 2020 order (No. 2) only restricted seated dining.

The "violates my human rights" and "violates my constitutional rights" is a recent dog whistle that has appeared on social media.

Nearly every nation has a department of health and nearly every nation has clauses and conditions in law that allow the suspension of (some) basic human rights when the greater social good requires protection because of disease, war, famine, or social unrest. It is for this reason that prisons are lawful. A state of emergency is not necessary because a worldwide pandemic is known to exist and those existing laws are now relevant.

The special restrictions of quarantine and isolation are nothing new. They are simply not nearly as common because of the reduction in widespread disease outbreak.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 5:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

5 (1) f and g:

f was in effect before, not sure about g

Thanks for the information... it is greatly appreciated... i think i read that some new ammendments came into effect in May

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 5:42 pm

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

5 (1) f and g:

The "violates my human rights" and "violates my constitutional rights" is a recent dog whistle that has appeared on social media.

Nearly every nation has a department of health and nearly every nation has clauses and conditions in law that allow the suspension of (some) basic human rights when the greater social good requires protection because of disease, war, famine, or social unrest. It is for this reason that prisons are lawful. A state of emergency is not necessary because a worldwide pandemic is known to exist and those existing laws are now relevant.

The special restrictions of quarantine and isolation are nothing new. They are simply not nearly as common because of the reduction in widespread disease outbreak.

My entire irk has been that the government and TTPS has made it seem like some of their policies...like the stay at home order... was law... and if caught outside for reasons not listed in the stay at home order you could have been fined or jailed... that has since been corrected after much backlash from the law community... i have no qualms with having legal movement restrictions to prevent the spread of covid... what i have a problem with is misinformation... bending the truth and using scaremongering techniques to do things outside of the legal remit... that has been my issue with some of these restriction policies... we are part of a democracy... and in any democracy their are human rights... people died for these rights that we enjoy today... we should not allow people to tranple on these rights unless they do so with the right legal ammendments... otherwise we are communist state... not only in TnT are people finding fault with the application of these covid restrictions... and just like in TnT many international governments are being taken to court for overextension of these restrictions... again i am not advising nor saying that current government restrictions are wrong... i am just saying misleading, scaremongering and unequal application of these restrictions are wrong... for instance a few people got arrested a few weeks ago for attending a funeral... while i dont agree with what happeneded there i understand why the TTPS did so as those individuals exceeded the 5 member group restriction... what i have a problem with is that in a similar funeral where a brother and sister died in a botched home entry/hit their were photos of said funeral on social media showing scores of people... but their were no articles of people in said funeral being arrested or charged... anyway that is a topic for another discussion

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 5:55 pm

like yuh accusing gg of scaremongering

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2020, 5:58 pm

Was in pos and curepe today.
Not a single taxi driver wearing a mask.
Probably 2 out of 10 people on the road wearing masks
Went to several businesses today to do deliveries and probably 1 in 10 ppl have on masks

Went rbl grand bazaar and they have a handwashing sink inside the bank. The security making sure you wash your hand. The staff have a shield straight across separating the staff from customers but the staff have no masks or gloves.....so....your money that you handing them still contaminating them not so? If they not sanitizing between each customer

Postby paid_influencer » May 11th, 2020, 6:47 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:If everyone wears f*cking mask we could literally go back to a normal life.

no, we could not. That false sense of security is exactly what the MoH warned against when they made the recommendation to wear cloth masks.

I wear a mask when I go outside. But I wear the mask with the understanding it is an accessory to protection and not protection in itself. Social distancing and handwashing are the only proven tools we have against this virus.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 11th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Remember to brush yuh teeth or pop a lil mint or joe gum before yuh put on yuh mask.

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2020, 7:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Was in pos and curepe today.
Went to several businesses today to do deliveries and probably 1 in 10 ppl have on masks

Went rbl grand bazaar and they have a handwashing sink inside the bank. The security making sure you wash your hand. The staff have a shield straight across separating the staff from customers but the staff have no masks or gloves.....so....your money that you handing them still contaminating them not so? If they not sanitizing between each customer

i think masks should be mandatory under the Ordinance for any taxi driver as social distancing is not possible especially in those small taxis even with 50% capacity.

as for the public at large i myself noticed some not ppl wearing masks, some wearing it on dey chin (doh know what purpose dat serving), 1 person in Massy had one strap of the mask on the other side off and the mask hanging off they face :roll:

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2020, 8:02 pm

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

5 (1) f and g:

My entire irk has been that the government and TTPS has made it seem like some of their policies...like the stay at home order... was law... and if caught outside for reasons not listed in the stay at home order you could have been fined or jailed... that has since been corrected after much backlash from the law community... i have no qualms with having legal movement restrictions to prevent the spread of covid... what i have a problem with is misinformation... bending the truth and using scaremongering techniques to do things outside of the legal remit... that has been my issue with some of these restriction policies... we are part of a democracy... and in any democracy their are human rights... people died for these rights that we enjoy today... we should not allow people to tranple on these rights unless they do so with the right legal ammendments... otherwise we are communist state... not only in TnT are people finding fault with the application of these covid restrictions... and just like in TnT many international governments are being taken to court for overextension of these restrictions... again i am not advising nor saying that current government restrictions are wrong... i am just saying misleading, scaremongering and unequal application of these restrictions are wrong... for instance a few people got arrested a few weeks ago for attending a funeral... while i dont agree with what happeneded there i understand why the TTPS did so as those individuals exceeded the 5 member group restriction... what i have a problem with is that in a similar funeral where a brother and sister died in a botched home entry/hit their were photos of said funeral on social media showing scores of people... but their were no articles of people in said funeral being arrested or charged... anyway that is a topic for another discussion

TTPS has had loitering laws on the books for many years. Loitering (vagrancy) is spending time in a public space without apparent purpose or a private space without permission.

I believe that what you may actually be talking to is the perceived loss of personal freedoms due to the authorities. Government isn't taking away your rights, the disease is. This is a normal reaction - and sometimes we need someone to blame.

The fact is that the economy has slowed, jobs have disappeared, the future is uncertain, and we may soon see one million Covid-19 deaths.

As it stands, a $200 fine or 30 days confinement is the punishment for breaking the loitering laws. For those not charged, you got a blight but they risked their own health and the health of others.

Sleeping/loitering in public 

Sleeping or loitering in public? You could be given a $200 fine or imprisoned for up to one month if you don't have a good enough reason for doing so.

Under the Section 64 (1) of the Summary Offences Act: "A person committing any of the offences mentioned below in this section may be deemed an idle and disorderly person, and shall be liable to a fine of two hundred dollars, or to imprisonment for one month—

(c) any person found sleeping or loitering in or under any building, including any open outhouse, verandah, gallery, passage, or gateway, or in any vehicle or vessel, without leave of the owner, occupier or person in charge thereof, or on or under any wharf, quay, jetty, bridge, footway, or in any street or other public place, and not giving a good account of himself".

https://www.looptt.com/content/10-thing ... and-tobago

These eleven suspects were subsequently charged with the offence of gathering in a public place where the number of persons gathered exceeded five persons, in accordance with Regulation 3 (1) (b) of the Public Health [2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)] (No. 9) Regulations, 2020.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/a ... da110.html

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2020, 8:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:

i think masks should be mandatory under the Ordinance for any taxi driver as social distancing is not possible especially in those small taxis even with 50% capacity.

as for the public at large i myself noticed some not ppl wearing masks, some wearing it on dey chin (doh know what purpose dat serving), 1 person in Massy had one strap of the mask on the other side off and the mask hanging off they face :roll:

u all can still stay home.

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2020, 8:59 pm

Lots of chin masks and forehead masks though .

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2020, 10:14 pm

And now the Elon Musk downward spiral continues.

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/05/11/cars ... index.html

Tesla and Elon Musk reopen California facility, defying orders meant to stem coronavirus spread

(CNN Business)Tesla (TSLA) CEO Elon Musk escalated his standoff with county officials in California on Monday as he announced that the automaker would be "restarting production today against Alameda County rules."

The decision follows the executive's sharp Twitter outbursts in recent weeks objecting to state lockdown orders meant to stem the spread of the novel coronavirus. In a tweet on Monday, Musk said he would be at the factory, "on the line with everyone else."
"If anyone is arrested, he tweeted, "I ask that it only be me."
Musk has argued that restrictions put in place by Alameda County closing non-essential businesses, where Tesla's Fremont factory is based, are overly aggressive and unconstitutional. On Saturday, the company filed a federal lawsuit against the county. Musk has also threatened to relocate Tesla's manufacturing out of California.
In a statement Monday afternoon, county officials said they are negotiating with Tesla on a plan to reopen the plant more fully.
"We continue to move closer to an agreed upon safety plan for reopening beyond Minimum Basic Operations by working through steps that Tesla has agreed to adopt," the Alameda County Public Health Department said in a statement. "These steps include improving employee health screening procedures and engaging front-line staff on their concerns and feedback regarding safety protocols."
Musk has won support from some in the Trump administration. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin told CNBC on Monday that California's government should work harder to reopen the local economy.
"He's one of the biggest employers and manufacturers in California, and California should prioritize doing whatever they need to do to solve those health issues so that he can open quickly or or they're going to find, as he's threatened, he's moving his production to a different state," Mnuchin said.
But speaking to reporters on Monday, Gov. Gavin Newsom deferred to county officials, saying each county is reopening according to conditions on the ground.
"Again, it's county-led enforcement," he said. Still, Newsom said he had "great reverence" for Tesla and its founder and said he had spoken to Musk "a number of days ago."
In response, Musk tweeted: "Thank you Governor Newsom!"
Newsom added that he expects the county to allow Tesla to reopen by "as early as next week," based on his understanding of interactions between the company and local officials.
Tesla didn't immediately respond to a request for comment.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 11th, 2020, 10:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:And now the Elon Musk downward spiral continues.

Tesla and Elon Musk reopen California facility, defying orders meant to stem coronavirus spread

(CNN Business)Tesla (TSLA) CEO Elon Musk escalated his standoff with county officials in California on Monday as he announced that the automaker would be "restarting production today against Alameda County rules."

The decision follows the executive's sharp Twitter outbursts in recent weeks objecting to state lockdown orders meant to stem the spread of the novel coronavirus. In a tweet on Monday, Musk said he would be at the factory, "on the line with everyone else."
Musk has argued that restrictions put in place by Alameda County closing non-essential businesses, where Tesla's Fremont factory is based, are overly aggressive and unconstitutional. On Saturday, the company filed a federal lawsuit against the county. Musk has also threatened to relocate Tesla's manufacturing out of California.
In a statement Monday afternoon, county officials said they are negotiating with Tesla on a plan to reopen the plant more fully.
"We continue to move closer to an agreed upon safety plan for reopening beyond Minimum Basic Operations by working through steps that Tesla has agreed to adopt," the Alameda County Public Health Department said in a statement. "These steps include improving employee health screening procedures and engaging front-line staff on their concerns and feedback regarding safety protocols."
Musk has won support from some in the Trump administration. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin told CNBC on Monday that California's government should work harder to reopen the local economy.
"He's one of the biggest employers and manufacturers in California, and California should prioritize doing whatever they need to do to solve those health issues so that he can open quickly or or they're going to find, as he's threatened, he's moving his production to a different state," Mnuchin said.
But speaking to reporters on Monday, Gov. Gavin Newsom deferred to county officials, saying each county is reopening according to conditions on the ground.
"Again, it's county-led enforcement," he said. Still, Newsom said he had "great reverence" for Tesla and its founder and said he had spoken to Musk "a number of days ago."
Newsom added that he expects the county to allow Tesla to reopen by "as early as next week," based on his understanding of interactions between the company and local officials.

He wants to tank his stock?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 11th, 2020, 10:29 pm

The state said Tesla can open, and the county attempted to override the state and said they cannot open. That is like the MP for your area trying to override a directive from the PM

Postby Gladiator » May 11th, 2020, 11:14 pm

Kronik wrote:

The state said Tesla can open, and the county attempted to override the state and said they cannot open. That is like the MP for your area trying to override a directive from the PM

Actually its quite different in the US. The Governor has more say as to what happens in the state than the federal Govt...

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2020, 12:01 am

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

u all can still stay home.

i is an essential- can work from home some days but sometimes i have to go out- also we have to eat so grocery runs every week or 2 is a must- although we now have the option of ordering some kfc/pizza but dat might be rare.