2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby Habit7 » April 2nd, 2024, 12:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yeah I was fully subscribed to squatuniversity even before the injury. But I am getting a lot of help now from lowbackability as well.

Steel in my right leg and gunshot injury to my left arm.
I can't lift heavy anymore. So I go for more sets and higher reps. Presently on a measly 65lbs bench press.
Can do much heavier weights with dead lifts etc but I can't trust my arms to hold heavy weights if it's gonna fall on my chest if it fails.

At least you have a cool excuse. Gunshot injury trumps everything.

hindian wrote:Guys, I want to jump on the fitness train as a 43 year old male 6’1” but I dunno how to start. Currently at 270 lbs. I want to set a realistic goal for myself to lose some weight but not sure how. I’m naturally muscular but married life and stress eating messed me up bad lol. I used to be 210lbs and I was most comfortable with myself at that weight. Any advice on how and where to start?

Use My FitnessPal app to count your calories. Then use a calorie calculator to understand how much calories you need to cut based on your height and weight. This is your primary way to lose weight, your diet.

WRT to exercise, Stronglifts 5x5 app is a great app for beginners. 5 of the fundamental compound exercises that you will need for the rest of your exercise live. Start with low weight and progressively overload and you are good to go.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 2nd, 2024, 1:59 pm

Nice. Thanks for the replies fellas. I neglected to mention that I have a left torn bicep muscle I got from a previous job. How will that affect any weight training I may have to do? I was told to consult a doctor for him/ her to advise.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 2nd, 2024, 2:10 pm

Truth is, most doctors have 0 experience with lifting and would tell you avoid anything strenuous altogether. Same for physical therapists. They are seeking your interest on avoiding injury altogether.

A torn bicep is still very serious, and you'll have to be extremely cautious with any exercises that put the bicep in a loaded stretched position, such as the bottom of a chinup, the bottom of a bicep curl, and deadlifting with mixed grip where that arm is underhanded.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 4th, 2024, 2:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:Use My FitnessPal app to count your calories. Then use a calorie calculator to understand how much calories you need to cut based on your height and weight. This is your primary way to lose weight, your diet.

WRT to exercise, Stronglifts 5x5 app is a great app for beginners. 5 of the fundamental compound exercises that you will need for the rest of your exercise live. Start with low weight and progressively overload and you are good to go.

Good advice here.

On another note, why are Trinis so averse to Tyson chicken? A lot of times, when a restaurant is advertising on Facebook, the first comment (and several others below) is 'Daiz Tyson/foreign chicken or wah?'

I bought the case of their leg quarters in Pricesmart a couple times as well as the local boneless/skinless thighs (also Pricesmart), but thinking about switching up to whole chickens instead because the the leg quarters have a lot of fat which doesn't help much which my fat loss journey and prices on the case as well as the boneless thighs have gone up to a point where it's ridiculous.

The only thing with whole chickens is tracking macros for meal prep with different chicken cuts but that's relatively minor...how do you all manage your protein?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 4th, 2024, 8:07 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Use My FitnessPal app to count your calories. Then use a calorie calculator to understand how much calories you need to cut based on your height and weight. This is your primary way to lose weight, your diet.

Good advice here.

On another note, why are Trinis so averse to Tyson chicken? A lot of times, when a restaurant is advertising on Facebook, the first comment (and several others below) is 'Daiz Tyson/foreign chicken or wah?'

I bought the case of their leg quarters in Pricesmart a couple times as well as the local boneless/skinless thighs (also Pricesmart), but thinking about switching up to whole chickens instead because the the leg quarters have a lot of fat which doesn't help much which my fat loss journey and prices on the case as well as the boneless thighs have gone up to a point where it's ridiculous.

The only thing with whole chickens is tracking macros for meal prep with different chicken cuts but that's relatively minor...how do you all manage your protein?

Tyson frozen chicken tastes freaking horrible compared with fresh butchered meat which cheaper. Tyson cheap in bulk and easier to deal with for restaurants but quality is sheit.

Even if you buy 3-4 chickens, butcher, clean, batch and freeze it will taste better when uou meal prepping.

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2024, 8:57 pm

if you want lean meat you can get imported chicken breast from malabar and other wholesalers
that’s what them gyro guys use

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » April 6th, 2024, 11:50 am

Joshie23 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Going to start back soon. Going for weight loss first. Through intermittent fasting and calorie counting. Lost about 20lbs so far. Down to a 32 inch waist.

Not expecting any major muscle gain at my age.

Good job bro!!...keep it up. 20 lbs is no easy feat!

Technically, you can lose fat and build muscle at the same time (body recomposition), but the absolute best programme is...the one you can follow. Once you're comfortable (relatively, because we know the sacrifices designed to make/keep us healthy, aren't necessarily going to be comfortable/cushy), you'll be more inclined to be consistent.

Not sure of your age, but after 30, T-levels start to drop...but, it's still possible to get yoked, I guess, with proper nutrition, training and sleep.

Mid 40's
And with my job eating properly is hard. And sleep is difficult with the work hours and shift work.

I can understand the sleep for sure, especially with shifts. For meals though..meal prep is the way to go.

I was asking 2NRs how they meal prep and get their protein in though...because trying to feed a family of 5 while hitting 190-200g protein daily is an expensive endeavour.

INHUMAN wrote:on a side note. since most of us meatheads are age able folks now, did anyone look into TRT? Any info on insurance coverage, cost and clinics that offer such?

What do your levels look like?? I know some say TRT is technically 'natty' so I'm not hitting from that angle, but have you tried to improve diet, sleep quality, etc. before hitting it?
You do not need that much of protein... maybe abit more in a deficit but aminos are the building blocks. What does muscle comprise off? water. carbohydrate...hydrate. glycogen. get where im going? dont sweat the minute. if u wanna gain, be in a surplus, if u wanna lose, deficit. these magazines pedalled by arnold and weider sold junk volume training with lack of intensity as if the magic supps weren't enough.

as for trt, uk with modern life and typical a trini male, hormones, stress and cortisol levels are wack. if be surprised if i wasnt on the low end. once u manipulate hormones, u ain't natty anymore.

Recently adopted Mentzers thought process and techniques. Feels so much better than what i been doin all along. in n out the gym in 1hr. 1-2 sets, 3-4 exercises. 3x a week is fine for lifting with cardio on off days. Anyone tried or trying this approach as well?

Postby MG Man » April 9th, 2024, 3:16 pm

rollingstock wrote:5'7" tall
Present weight

IMG_20240330_205617.jpg

Arms at a measly 15" for now.

Just that bit of belly fat that is being a pain to get rid off.

nice
I was as low as 185 in 2019, down from 220
Since covid, I've been stuck around 195, because diet gone to sht. I was on strict meat and veg but since lockdown, I back to eating junk, soft drinks etc. Really been struggling with the sugar cravings. It's worse than when I quit eating junk in 2019
Still pumping 5 days a week plus riding / hiking most sundays, so so part of he extra weight is a bit of muscle mass, but mostly belly

Hardest thing for me was cutting off coca cola.
If I do have to drink something sweet I'll drink a cran water.

I realise now though that after cutting off sweets, sweet stuff tastes much sweeter than before.

the struggle is real, esp giving up coca cola
I use the cranwater trick too, and club soda with a dash of bitters
But the sweet tooth still getting the better of me these days

Postby rollingstock » April 9th, 2024, 8:20 pm

When the craving get too bad. I'll drink a glass bottle cokes. It's only 250ml so less sugar by volume. But that's a once in a blue moon kind of thing.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » April 12th, 2024, 1:09 am

just cut down 4 dubbs slight. yolo

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 18th, 2024, 2:55 pm

I don't know if I can post this here, but I looking for a cable for a Weider 1200 exercise station. Anybody know where I might be able to check for that or where might have?

TobagoAK

Postby TobagoAK » June 18th, 2024, 3:54 pm

hindian wrote:Nice. Thanks for the replies fellas. I neglected to mention that I have a left torn bicep muscle I got from a previous job. How will that affect any weight training I may have to do? I was told to consult a doctor for him/ her to advise.

https://stronglifts.com/stronglifts-5x5/

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2024, 3:10 pm

why are women more impacted by obesity? the 'body positivity' movement have anything to do with that?

https://www.fox5atlanta.com/news/obesity-rate-drops-40-overall-rising-among-women-cdc-says

and it's no small difference either- it twice as much!

https://thehill.com/policy/healthcare/4895852-alarming-severe-obesity-is-climbing-in-the-us-see-who-is-most-affected/

The U.S. obesity rate is about 40 percent, according to a 2021-2023 survey of about 6,000 people. Nearly 1 in 10 of those surveyed reported severe obesity, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found. Women were nearly twice as likely as men to report severe obesity.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2024, 3:45 pm

no problem now
ozempic avail locally $5k a jook monthly
not sure if it is mrna based

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 25th, 2024, 3:58 pm

It have some people who don't look visually fat and is obese eh. So doh feel you ain't have it if you looking thin.

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2024, 4:03 pm

pugboy wrote:no problem now

only the 1% women cud afford that- and here i was thinking it too expensive to just eat healthily :roll:

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2024, 4:05 pm

DMan7 wrote:It have some people who don't look visually fat and is obese eh. So doh feel you ain't have it if you looking thin.

visceral fat u mean?

Postby nervewrecker » February 8th, 2025, 2:18 pm

Any gyms have a pool you can use?

Preferably one open 24/7

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2025, 6:52 pm

maybe the setup by cascades hotel
which might be far for you

nervewrecker wrote:Any gyms have a pool you can use?

Preferably one open 24/7

Postby nervewrecker » February 8th, 2025, 7:45 pm

Or anywhere with a pool self you can acquire membership to use on a regular basis

Postby alfa » February 8th, 2025, 8:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Or anywhere with a pool self you can acquire membership to use on a regular basis

PAP club is reopened to the public. There is a pool there

Postby nervewrecker » February 9th, 2025, 6:20 am

alfa wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Or anywhere with a pool self you can acquire membership to use on a regular basis

Doh make joke.
Anyone can go?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 9th, 2025, 7:08 am

you guys into fittness and weight loss, i thinking about switch flour /rice over to beans such as channa souse or boil and fry blackeye with a salad and meat. will this help me send down the belly?

matix

Postby matix » February 9th, 2025, 7:33 am

alfa wrote:

Doh make joke.
Anyone can go?

Membership

Postby nervewrecker » February 9th, 2025, 9:06 am

matix wrote:
alfa wrote:

Doh make joke.
Anyone can go?

Membership
Usual usual like before?

matix

Postby matix » February 9th, 2025, 12:12 pm

matix wrote:
alfa wrote:

Doh make joke.
Anyone can go?

Membership
Usual usual like before?

Yup, gym, pool, tennis, golf, squash. Price depends on what you wanna have access to.

Postby alfa » February 9th, 2025, 12:34 pm

matix wrote:
alfa wrote:

Doh make joke.
Anyone can go?

Membership
Usual usual like before?

A lil birdie tell me forest club get bought out by a private entity to. Meen know how true

Postby redmanjp » February 10th, 2025, 8:37 pm

pugboy wrote:no problem now

ppl going blind from dat tho

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-14380795/ozempic-patients-blind-doctors-effect.html

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » April 15th, 2025, 2:25 pm

Hop on the sarm slide or tren train bros

Postby MG Man » April 15th, 2025, 2:40 pm

screwbash wrote:you guys into fittness and weight loss, i thinking about switch flour /rice over to beans such as channa souse or boil and fry blackeye with a salad and meat. will this help me send down the belly?

meat and grass
nothing else
that is very effective