PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

rocknrolla

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby rocknrolla » May 29th, 2013, 2:31 pm

yeah i consider samsung to be noobs in the business when compared to the likes of companies that have been making various storage devices and memory masters like kingston. i good.. yall let me know how the samsungs go.. i would be interested in it's performance and longevity reviews. but for now ill just be observing samsing's performance based on other ppl's reviews and the statistics in their faulty units coming off the production line and unto the shelves.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 29th, 2013, 2:39 pm

not really

based on reviews from users corsair has higher fail rates than samsung..

but to each their own..im not arguing..just stating the facts i read. they could be wrong too.. but my cousin's samsung going since day one strong..no complains. crucial in my pc going 2 yrs easy...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 29th, 2013, 2:49 pm

I could be wrong....doesnt samsung manufacture and supply the nand flash used in alot of these other brands?

couple that with the fact that the rest of the components in their SSDs, hardware and sotfware, are built entirely in house should mean good things for reliability. It was one of the selling points that convinced me to go with a 128GB 830 series for my OS drive.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 29th, 2013, 3:17 pm

what's the warranty like on samsung products tho? kingston gives 3yrs and lifetime replacement warranties.
i not saying they bad, im just saying theyre relatively new.. at least to me.. and ive been in the pc business a while.. so i just would observe them for a while before i give them my money.

but i run my pcs in beast mode, they never shut down and always working. so i need parts that can take a beating. kingston has never let me down with memory modules. still have working kingston pc3200 memory and if it ever fails i can get it replaced for free by kingston. customer service is very important.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 29th, 2013, 3:57 pm

Most SSDs come with a 3yr warranty. Been running a 64GB 830 series since July 2012, solid performer but that system is lightly used. My corsair force gt tho been using that hard since Nov 2011, still as fast as the day I bought it.

If ya trust in kingston get one of their ssd thas all, they've gotten great reviews

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 1st, 2013, 9:17 pm

Will 2 5400RPM 2.5" drives in raid 0 outperform one 7200RPM 3.5" drive?

one drive is a seagate, the other is a WD
both is 160GB with almost similar specs

Postby ismithx » June 1st, 2013, 9:52 pm

rocknrolla wrote:yeah i consider samsung to be noobs in the business when compared to the likes of companies that have been making various storage devices and memory masters like kingston. i good.. yall let me know how the samsungs go.. i would be interested in it's performance and longevity reviews. but for now ill just be observing samsing's performance based on other ppl's reviews and the statistics in their faulty units coming off the production line and unto the shelves.

dude do you even examine memory devices and look at the manufacturer names... there are many chips with samsung on it...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 1st, 2013, 11:23 pm

that might be so, but theyre still a jack of all trades. i prefer companies that aim to deliver on specialization rather than just bulk manufacture generic stuff. it might have a samsung chip here and there in the devices and hardware types i go for, but the company behind it would be one specializing in designing that type of device. one known for a track record of pursuing excellence and devices with the combination of features i need.

look how many samsung s3s had memory problems with the chips failing for both dram and flash.. samsung chips. specializing companies might use samsung chips, but tested chips passing a standard the specializing companies set for their products. not the generic extra cheap chips that samsung might try to use to reduce cost.. chips that didnt sell etc.

from what ive seen, companies that try to grab at multiple industries to create everything in house sacrifice quality.. always. because they can supply all the parts themselves, they use those parts and save money while other companies would choose the best parts from various companies to put in their product. i prefer that. buying stuff like that is what i believe have me with everything i bought 10yrs ago still working like the day i first bought it.

if we talkin displays, then samsung is a top name in that business for me. fones i think is motorola spot and theyre the only company that produced a fone that met my specific needs in every way. no other fone on the market meets my needs in this particular combination as the xt894. yeah it's got a samsung dram chip, but the flash is by hynnix, motorola wouldve had a reason for selecting a chip other than samsung to also fill the flash slot. and just like all other the fone has not one hijink.. not one. no bugs, stalling, weirdness whatsoever.

it's the buying style that works for me time tested. i have to read reviews and assess a company and it's development and products for a while before i rely on them. the few times i threw that to the wind was epic failure.. went with an evga videocard instead of an asus and it burn out in 2 months. get a hitachi harddrive (them in the business long too).. well 1tb can fail for no reason in 6 months. samsung hdd fail. in fact, all my newer hdds fail and my old seagates are what running strong. then still i have to review a company productivity over time to make sure i not looking to buy from them at a time when they cost-cutting. even specializers.

im just not ready to buy a samsung hard drive, a samsung fone, samsung ddr3 or a samsung videocard etc. each of those has it's bosses in that field. when i see ppl with 5 and 10yr old S4's working with all the original parts.. then ill say, samsung made some good fones. not before.

Postby M_2NR » June 1st, 2013, 11:26 pm

Shhhhh Samsung are noobs :lol:

Next thing they say Lays chips better than Foxconn.

Guys, thoughts on Haswell? Seeing the latest anandtech review of the 5200, it looks promising. Comparable to a 650M nvidia.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 1st, 2013, 11:47 pm

Chiney wrote:not really

based on reviews from users corsair has higher fail rates than samsung..

but to each their own..im not arguing..just stating the facts i read. they could be wrong too.. but my cousin's samsung going since day one strong..no complains. crucial in my pc going 2 yrs easy...

see 2 yrs is small ting. i have harddrive on in pc 24/7 for 5/6 yrs straight without shutting down only rebooting and it still workin. that is harddrive.

just saying i observing them, cuz to me they are very young in the business even tho ive only been in IT for 15yrs. ive seen what good companies look like and had enough time to compare good products and generic products. to me it's only recently that samsung has been saturating the market with products in every category. i wouldnt choose samsung ddr3 over kingston hyperx ddr3 for example. to me there's just no competition there lol

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 2nd, 2013, 1:36 am

Saw Haswell official launch today, which board you recommend i get was thinking of Asus but haven't seen any demos for the new Z87, I only considered Asus because i find they Z77 were the best

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2013, 3:43 am

Building a system with the Z87 deluxe and 4770K as soon as I get it for a customer we will see how that goes .

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2013, 11:39 am

I think my next board is not going to be Asus. My current p5q-e gives me a headache. I think if I'm buying a new main board it'll be msi or gigabyte. I'm leaning to msi.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 2nd, 2013, 11:46 am

M_2NR wrote:I think my next board is not going to be Asus. My current p5q-e gives me a headache. I think if I'm buying a new main board it'll be msi or gigabyte. I'm leaning to msi.

Go Gigabyte.

Better/more features for the price.

A lot of MSI boards i have/had were picky with RAM brands/video card models, the gigabyte boards i own works with anything.

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2013, 11:48 am

HCCA wrote:
M_2NR wrote:I think my next board is not going to be Asus. My current p5q-e gives me a headache. I think if I'm buying a new main board it'll be msi or gigabyte. I'm leaning to msi.

Go Gigabyte.

Better/more features for the price.

A lot of MSI boards i have/had were picky with RAM brands/video card models, the gigabyte boards i own works with anything.
i was hoping you'd reply :lol: thanks. Ill definitely consider them.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 2nd, 2013, 12:55 pm

Guys would you consider a R.A.T 7 or Ouroboros an upgrade over a G9 ??

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 2nd, 2013, 2:20 pm

asus high end boards are picky with ram as well. u just have to look at the memory compatibility list or if u find a ram u like see if it's on the list for that board. asus highend stuff is usually pretty tough and last 5 years easily. mine is the a8n32sli, which is still considered a top gaming board today. i can tell u it's a tough board since it takes a beating. if it was used by a regular user who only uses it for a few hrs each day itd probably still be working 10-20 yrs later.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2013, 8:33 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Will 2 5400RPM 2.5" drives in raid 0 outperform one 7200RPM 3.5" drive?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 2nd, 2013, 8:40 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Will 2 5400RPM 2.5" drives in raid 0 outperform one 7200RPM 3.5" drive?

Yes it will.

RAID 0 (stripe array) with 2 or more drives will outperform any single drive.

Have 2 x 500gb and 2 x 1Tb drives in raid 0 personally and they fly.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 2nd, 2013, 9:03 pm

WD Caviar Blacks???

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2013, 9:30 pm

if anyone of your interested

CHEAP Asus Maximus V, Intel i7 3770K , GeForce GTX 550Ti, Corsair 32 GB DDR3

Also considering selling 1 of my 3 EVGA Titan overkill 8-)

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 3rd, 2013, 2:38 am

firstchoicett wrote:if anyone of your interested

what the price on the asus package and is it new or used?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 3rd, 2013, 6:43 am

rocknrolla wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:if anyone of your interested

what the price on the asus package and is it new or used?

Tuner price 6500 brand new

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 3rd, 2013, 11:31 am

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CRJ ... PDKIKX0DER

that the board i planning to buy with my i5 4670k, what you guess think also what ram should i get was thinking Corsair vengence but i see alot of people using G skill

Postby ismithx » June 3rd, 2013, 12:29 pm

M_2NR wrote:Shhhhh Samsung are noobs :lol:

Guys, thoughts on Haswell? Seeing the latest anandtech review of the 5200, it looks promising. Comparable to a 650M nvidia.

haswell gonna be nice for all them win8 tablets rocking core i5's

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 3rd, 2013, 2:40 pm

M_2NR wrote:Shhhhh Samsung are noobs :lol:

i think...... they will be keeping it..no major upgrade from my current CPU..

so.... i had my 3930k at 4.7ghz...sold that..

got back a 2600k...loving it...nice price...good performance..

i will wait for their next big socket release...

just my thoughts 8-)

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 3rd, 2013, 2:46 pm

i am a bit torn between anxiety to get the crosshair v with amd fx8350 cpu ..or waiting for kaveri at the end of the year. as far as im concerned the fx8350 would meet all my needs in a 32gb ram setup. but im worried that the kaveri boards and processors might come out at the same price ill pay for the fx now.. plus with the release of kaveri, current hardware could get a priceslash up to half current price.

i think i just talked myself into waiting while typing this.. lol if all else fails ill still get fx8350 setup at a much lower cost. still depends on what sale comes for july 4th and rest of the summer lol

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 3rd, 2013, 11:29 pm

rocknrolla wrote:i am a bit torn between anxiety to get the crosshair v with amd fx8350 cpu ..or waiting for kaveri at the end of the year. as far as im concerned the fx8350 would meet all my needs in a 32gb ram setup. but im worried that the kaveri boards and processors might come out at the same price ill pay for the fx now.. plus with the release of kaveri, current hardware could get a priceslash up to half current price.

i think i just talked myself into waiting while typing this.. lol if all else fails ill still get fx8350 setup at a much lower cost. still depends on what sale comes for july 4th and rest of the summer lol

I have a set up like this for sale board CPU and ram 4500

legend

Postby legend » June 6th, 2013, 2:17 pm

hey guys
looking for some fibre optic cable
any body knows of companies that retails these, single and multimode

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » June 7th, 2013, 9:10 am

^^ have a networking place in Curepe on the Southern main road right after Rocky's hardware they may have

Tappin pon meh GS4