COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 103 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 7th, 2020, 10:27 pm

Once the Govt could handle the KFC crowd, allyuh could handle anything.

Lets open up and let irresponsible Trinis be our guinea pigs. The sooner we know whats out there the better.

Boom, cant wait for the reopen.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2020, 10:36 pm

where is corona in the country? where are the spots to avoid?

Penguin

Postby Penguin » May 7th, 2020, 11:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
carluva wrote:So fellas, especially those with the inside intel, what's the vibe for what the govt will announce on Sunday?

500+ community tests seems quite low given our population size and other testing ratios done elsewhere in the world.

Are we looking at some relaxing of rules come 16-May and a "reopening of the economy" (of sorts) come 18-May?

I think the Government's logic is only open up until we have no new cases, therefore they can cover their ass and say it wasn't there fault if a Covid-19 breakout ever occurs.

Now, cases 115 and 116 were community spread and they haven't determined how those two got it, at least not to my knowledge. That means there are at least two secret cases who spread it to 115 & 116. If things 'open' up slowly from May 15th we don't know if the persons responsible for infecting 115 & 116 are still contagious (unlikely as they might be asymptomatic and should be over it by then), but we don't know how much people they spread it too during this Lockdown.

Also, given that there was some small community spread detected, we don't know to what extent yet. Hence the waiting we are in right now.

Additionally, we are not detecting cases well right now. We are testing at one of the lowest rates in the world right now, and Ian Allen and company have scared away most people for going in for testing.

So honestly, we have no idea if it's safe to open up slowly on May 15th, or lockdown further. But lockdowns especially now when things are not bad, aren't necessary and are probably doing much more harm to our future.

I feel we don't need no lockdown. All over the world had much worse covid cases and them easing up lockdowns already. I doh feel we have covid otherwise it would have had rel case already.

The lockdown work, time to get back to normal.

Postby Les Bain » May 7th, 2020, 11:16 pm

sMASH wrote:where is corona in the country? where are the spots to avoid?

I inside source on a Whatsapp voice note say is anywhere outside yuh house boundary.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2020, 11:45 pm

Les Bain wrote:

I inside source on a Whatsapp voice note say is anywhere outside yuh house boundary.

data to support it?

Postby MaxPower » May 8th, 2020, 12:22 am

Hello sMASH,

No one knows bro, could be anywhere.

This is why we need to open up now and let Trinis show us where it is.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 8th, 2020, 12:23 am

The country will more or less start its return to normalcy from the 15th. Like I mentioned in another thread, life as we know it will change where social distancing measures will be in effect for a long time and the necessary OSH adjustments at workplaces will be rolled out. For those worrying about traffic dont worry, many people now have WFH options now and school may not be opening until September.

So San Fernando people and beyond, come May 18th, you dont need to wake up at 3am to head to pos on a morning, you have an extra hr or so. That said, it's safe to set your alarm for 4am.

West people, you all can get up at 6am and take your time to head to the office. East people, the valsayn interchange will ease things up for you, so you get an additional hr to sleep.

The IIFS is operational and expect the demerit points system to make its debut as well.

Republic Bank and First Citizens Bank branches would slowly be reopening which started already. WASA and T&TEC has already opened some of its customer service centers with revised hours. Lastly, some TTPOST offices and services resumed operations since Wednesday gone.

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2020, 12:33 am

Hello sMASH,

No one knows bro, could be anywhere.

This is why we need to open up now and let Trinis show us where it is.

other countries doing testing.
but hey, if thats the PNM way... gotta go where the data guides...

Postby Les Bain » May 8th, 2020, 2:12 am

sMASH wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

data to support it?

Odd request, but here you go.
Han Sulu Star Wars.jpeg

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2020, 6:56 am

i am lieutenant Data, and i support this post.

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 7:23 am

this week brazil infection rate getting out of control, we have to hope venezuela don’t catch on like them

Postby K74T » May 8th, 2020, 7:39 am

20200508_073859.jpeg
FB_IMG_1588937909280.jpeg

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 8th, 2020, 9:59 am

This morning had the most traffic I've encountered since the lockdown. Was driving 40 from coming off the highway straight till the cross crossing interchange. I think whatever the govt says about life from monday, people still going to come out in their numbers to do their business.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 8th, 2020, 11:21 am

So now heard from a source in the medical field that the reason why positive cases aren't going up is because the samples being submitted to CARPHA are getting rejected due to the swabs being expired so the test would be compromised.... so the samples submited numbers would go up but the samples are not tested..... If true then we may not be out of the woods just yet

Postby goalpost » May 8th, 2020, 11:30 am

Always thought it was weird that one of the stats given on the daily press release was samples submitted rather than, as an example, no. of tests done.

Similarly, a lot of these samples being taken in the last few days have not probably been tested yet.

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2020, 11:38 am

Let them add a new field: number of tests compromised/ rejected?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 8th, 2020, 11:42 am

^Time to bring out the tin foil hat... also why is the CMO and Minister of Health talking about a second wave? If tests so far show we have the situation more or less contained... and borders to remain closed... then what is this talk about a second wave? Is it that the number of cases and infections are being misrepresented

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2020, 11:47 am

Test the Venez by the coast dey..you bound to have a case.
I think forcing the population may be in session one day...just like how China did it.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 8th, 2020, 12:04 pm

Musical Doc wrote:So now heard from a source in the medical field that the reason why positive cases aren't going up is because the samples being submitted to CARPHA are getting rejected due to the swabs being expired so the test would be compromised.... so the samples submited numbers would go up but the samples are not tested..... If true then we may not be out of the woods just yet

If true, trinidad really isn't a real place yes

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2020, 12:07 pm

so what about the community testing that they said weeks ago going to ramp up? and carpha not doing these ones so they don't have the same strict criteria

KM_2NR

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 102 discharged in T&T

Postby KM_2NR » May 8th, 2020, 12:11 pm

death365 wrote:Who else feeling like this week they go extend to 31st May?

Hopefully , in work for the first time in a few days and i forgot how annoying my coworkers are.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 8th, 2020, 12:25 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:So now heard from a source in the medical field that the reason why positive cases aren't going up is because the samples being submitted to CARPHA are getting rejected due to the swabs being expired so the test would be compromised.... so the samples submited numbers would go up but the samples are not tested..... If true then we may not be out of the woods just yet

If true, trinidad really isn't a real place yes

This is the case in the US as well , if the US doesn't have infrastructure to test properly you expect T&T to , in any case the test literally less that .01% of the population , the need to ramp up testing before they thing of opening up especially since the last two cases were domestic not imported.

Tinfoil hat time.

There was an incident whereby , "Germany-says-china-sought-to-encourage-positive-covid-19-comments" ,

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-heal ... SKCN2280JW ,

China's role locally is major but the average citizen would't see it , besides Chinese groceries , Chinatown bla bla but China's presence locally is significant.

The People's Republic of China has opened in Maraval its largest embassy in the English-speaking Caribbean region
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 71c00.html

I just think if China would try to influence a superpower like Germany this way , what sorta influence will they have locally in terms of the rona?

Additionally i need sleep .

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2020, 1:21 pm

There was an incident whereby , "Germany-says-china-sought-to-encourage-positive-covid-19-comments" ,

trotman comments in other words

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2020, 1:25 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/zoom-classes-interrupted-by-porn/article_a51d18ec-9147-11ea-a035-8f20aee54a34.html

Zoom classes interrupted by porn
Elizabeth Williams May 8, 2020

THE Child Protection Unit of the Police Service is investigating why online classes on video communication platform Zoom at a school in Tobago West were interrupted by pornographic material.

The children of Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Ayanna Webster-Roy, had their classes disturbed by the incidents, the minister said. The Express was told the pupils participating in the classes are from different schools as part of secondary school Zoom sessions.

The pupil who is alleged to have placed the pornographic materials is in form two.

Webster-Roy expressed disgust about the incident in a Facebook post.

The Minister said: “Forgive my rant post this morning, but some parents need to get a grip of their children. My daughters have both experienced interrupted online classes because some child either putting up pornography on the shared screen or playing hard porn movies in the background so that the entire classroom is disrupted! I don’t know about some of you all parents, but you see me, I want my children to learn eh!

“For goodness sake, teach your children that the rights some of them demand have equally important and corresponding responsibilities! Please check up yuh pickney dem!”

Asked to comment on the matter, members of the Child Protection Unit in Tobago confirmed the matter is actively engaging their attention and a list of pupils and teachers within the Zoom sessions is being complied.

The Children’s Authority is also looking at the incident.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 8th, 2020, 1:30 pm

^ i cant believe tobago people voted for this woman... what has she done for tobago people since winning GE for Tobago East? I wonder if they will send her up again

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2020, 1:55 pm

i realize plenty ppl eh taking it on anymore

i pass by curepe taxi stand this morning, eh see a single driver wearing a mask

went massy on the highway by trincity, they eh giving no hand sanitizer, no compulsory hand washing anymore, they eh forcing people to wear masks either. had this idiot who was buying rotisserie chicken, pick up every single rotisserie chicken and put it back down before deciding he eh want that again

went websource, the staff eh wearing any masks

went c3 to deliver some items, probably half the people not wearing masks

and no where enforcing their hand washing routine anymore

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 8th, 2020, 2:00 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i realize plenty ppl eh taking it on anymore

i pass by curepe taxi stand this morning, eh see a single driver wearing a mask

went massy on the highway by trincity, they eh giving no hand sanitizer, no compulsory hand washing anymore, they eh forcing people to wear masks either. had this idiot who was buying rotisserie chicken, pick up every single rotisserie chicken and put it back down before deciding he eh want that again

went websource, the staff eh wearing any masks

went c3 to deliver some items, probably half the people not wearing masks

and no where enforcing their hand washing routine anymore

C3 open? or Just JTA?

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2020, 2:03 pm

yeah my bad JTA,
but i think the digicel and homestore is open as well

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2020, 2:07 pm

taxi is the biggest risk as u in a small confined space and if AC on/windows closed worse yet- anyone coughing there infecting everyone else and u can't move away in a moving vehicle- they should make the masks mandatory for at least drivers- think about it- they are in very close contact with dozens of ppl (or over a hundred ppl if 7 seater) per day- they could be infected even if they have 0 symptoms.

and when the country open back up there will be much more passengers.

Postby K74T » May 8th, 2020, 2:07 pm

20200508_140616.jpeg