The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » March 17th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Could get an s2 for just a little more, don't give yourself that headache.

Postby M_2NR » March 17th, 2013, 9:58 pm

Exactly. S2 on eBay for 289.99 I think. Besides the screen it's a great phone.

Postby nemisis » March 17th, 2013, 10:37 pm

Unless he taking conquests pics the screen resolution is adequate

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 17th, 2013, 10:43 pm

X2 on the S2. That Ace is headache with internal memory running out. Plus the S2 is tons better in every other aspect.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 17th, 2013, 10:45 pm

M_2NR wrote:Exactly. S2 on eBay for 289.99 I think. Besides the screen it's a great phone.

Doh be on meh screen nah bigman :cry: :cry: :cry:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 17th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Exactly. S2 on eBay for 289.99 I think. Besides the screen it's a great phone.

Doh be on meh screen nah bigman :cry: :cry: :cry:

:lol::lol::lol: how everybody on ur screen so

Postby Ted_v2 » March 17th, 2013, 11:14 pm

Liking a s2 for the longest while :ugeek:

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 9:01 am

CBharath wrote:
RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:
RASC wrote:
CBharath wrote:
you could justify a cell for 4k? as a tool?

Alot of persons are now using their cellphones as all in one devices. No longer does one have to carry around a cell, laptop,camera and a tablet when going to meetings or dealing with clients.

A well healed/spec'd cellphone can handle the majority of those every tasks during the day.

Take for example a real estate agent...can locate listings, directions, take photos of the listings, email to client, call contractor to fix impending issues, then show or project these images to the client on a Monitor later. To an agent, that 4K is WELL worth it.

What field do you work in CBharath ??

you is a real estate agent ?

No why?

better than an ass just bawlin yuh fackin cheap. i not saying you cant use it as a tool but for the ppl that talking here, they cant really justify that price. hell, i had a minix10 that was doing everything i wanted in a compact form that fitting in the center console in the rolla. (woodwork , car maintenance etc minus a larger screen). i wanted men who have the 4k+ phone to say if they could justify the purchase .

I'll bite.

Lemme see...
Calls for one.
Emails. Very important.
Light office editing. I don't do much of that in my line anymore anyway.
VPN into the company domain.
Use telnet or ssh (up to my mood) to work on the cisco stuff.
RDP to workstations or the servers for support.
Camera for pictures to write scopes for the more physical projects.
And that's on the road.
If I'm home on the couch and the laptop's "over there", I'll use the S3 for that stuff at home as well.
And I got this 2 weeks ago. Imagine what more I'll do in 2 months. This isn't a toy. And this is no compromise at all. No slow down, no run around. So telling me that I coulda go with a cheaper option is useless. Had an ipad but at the time I bought it, they didn't offer 4g, so I bought the wifi version. Fail on my part there, shoulda just wait.
The HTC touch pro I had before was also fail for me, even though supastar did a lot with his HTC.

BTW, If I made a higher salary, I didn't need to justify buying a toppa android to you baytch.

Postby stev » March 19th, 2013, 12:17 am

Samsung Galaxy Note and S2 to Receive Android 4.2.2, Galaxy S3 and Note 2 to Receive Android 5.0

According to a Samsung insider, the OEM is currently making plans to upgrade certain devices to the upcoming Android 5.0 operating system. From what was reported, it looks like the Galaxy S3 and Galaxy S4 can expect to see it, as well as the Galaxy Note 2, Galaxy Tab 10.1, and Galaxy Note 8.0. Android 5.0, which is rumored to be named Key Lime Pie, should be unveiled at this year’s Google I/O event in May.

As for which older devices are getting the bump up to Android 4.2.2, the list is pretty impressive. There is the Galaxy S3 mini, the Galaxy S2 and most of its variants, the OG Galaxy Note, and a ton of other non-top tier devices.

http://www.droid-life.com/2013/03/18/sa ... droid-5-0/

Postby Rooki3 » March 19th, 2013, 12:30 am

who playing real racing 3

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 19th, 2013, 5:24 am

CBharath wrote:
stev wrote:isn't polycarbonate shatterproof compared to normal plastic?

by the way....i can see people paying much more than 4k for a phone....people that will actually use it as a "tool" as Sky said....and not just buy it to show off that they got the latest.

wait....i now realize i pay 4k for the Motorola Droid...bt then again it was a month after it was released....goin in 4 or 5 years now. lol

even if you using it as a tool i'm very sure it wouldnt go over 2k

my Droid 4 is 5k and totally worth it to me

portable mp3 player
8mp camera
and fone mixed into one device so idont have to carry multiple devices.
has a qwerty slide out keyboard to run like a laptop.
got network diagnostic tools and linux desktop on my fone runs like a laptop

to think id pay 800 for a camera another 800 on an mp3
3000 on a laptop for network diagnostics
the money just piling up and those are inferior brand prices on those items with lower build quality.

wired to my car for automotive diagnostics and monitoring with obdii bluetooth
gps navigation with waze to go places ive never gone before on my own.
fits in my pocket
looks stylish sleek and is very durable

id say..money well spent.. especially if it lasts me at least 5 years
can repair it myself so that shouldnt be a problem

lost or stolen.. no problem.. can track it remotely.

money well spent for a longterm convenience and requirements

as a musician i need my music, so all my mp3s are id3 tag configured to scroll the lyrics in time with songs im listening to like karaoke (love this feature, took some work but worth it)
plus with multiple instrument related apps for learning and practice, instrument tab playing etc

books ive got tonnes of great books in a beautiful library on moonreader+
alarm clock for work

forum management and realtime updates on my email and contacts anywhere any time
night vision camera enabled
camcorder
flash light for the dark and it real bright with a good throw distance
news updates without having to go hunting

dont play games on my fone besides online chess and poker to pass time

no wastage here. i use every single feature on my fone. sure i forgot some off the list with all my specialized apps.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 19th, 2013, 5:27 am

turbotusty wrote:
CBharath wrote:

by the way....i can see people paying much more than 4k for a phone....people that will actually use it as a "tool" as Sky said....and not just buy it to show off that they got the latest.

wait....i now realize i pay 4k for the Motorola Droid...bt then again it was a month after it was released....goin in 4 or 5 years now. lol

portable mp3 player
8mp camera

the money just piling up and those are inferior brand prices on those items with lower build quality.

fits in my pocket

as a musician i need my music, so all my mp3s are id3 tag configured to scroll the lyrics in time with songs im listening to like karaoke (love this feature, took some work but worth it)
plus with multiple instrument related apps for learning and practice, instrument tab playing etc

alarm clock for work

forum management and realtime updates on my email and contacts anywhere any time
camcorder

no wastage here. i use every single feature on my fone. sure i forgot some off the list with all my specialized apps.

Hmmm men really consider everything when they buying a phone!! Otherwise thats a reall nice set up yuh have there man well done

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 19th, 2013, 5:48 am

moto just released ICS update so will have that running very soon. supposed to make it run faster and enable new features..

almost forgot to include the fm radio feature.. is level power 102 on a morning and 95 in the evening.

yeah i really thought it thru. was waiting for years for an all in one device to meet those requirements. before that i ran on a metoo for years that i cud only use in speakerfone mode lol

Postby stev » March 19th, 2013, 2:02 pm

@ turbotusty...does that phone have a vagina too? :P :lol:

nah i just kidding....great setup....like how u listed everything u needed and chose a device to get everything done (and stuck with it).

u running everything stock? or u got SD card partitions with virtual memory, custom roms etc?

....i still using the droid 1 by the way :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 19th, 2013, 3:18 pm

error above.. moto just released jellybean update.. already have ics.

about stock, i dont trust custom roms so yeah it's stock, but i cleaned it down myself, debloated and removed all verizon apps and other crap so it boots 400mb free memory out of 840mb. basically i created my own custom rom from the stock with careful step by step debloating.

ive got 16gb internal storage and a 32gb memorycard installed with support for up to 64gb microsd, altho i have my sdcard configured for the partitions on link2sd i dont use the sdcard partition, theres just no need.. linux/bt5 is installed on my internal memory and my mp3z etc on microsd.. phone didnt need busybox installed as it has a supported kernel for rooting etc. that was a pleasant surprise.

the next feature is how i setup my microsd, it has hidden partitions for booting a pc with pc diagnostic tools as a bootable flashdrive- hirens boot cd, windows xp install etc.

i really just have to move around with one device for work and leisure.. just wish it was dual sim.

Postby stev » March 19th, 2013, 3:47 pm

very nice!!! i like how u have partitions for booting a PC. feel i might sprang that idea from u :P

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 19th, 2013, 8:13 pm

Figured out how to get the new WhatsApp to run on my WiFi only Nexus 7 :D

Anyone wants to know how, I'll post a tutorial

Postby RASC » March 19th, 2013, 8:15 pm

Random Thought...if the S4 is the beast that it is, can you imagine the Note III

5.7 screen? Bigger Battery? 1080P?

Postby stev » March 19th, 2013, 9:06 pm

RASC wrote:Random Thought...if the S4 is the beast that it is, can you imagine the Note III

5.7 screen? Bigger Battery? 1080P?

Note III = Godzilla

as for the early benchmarks (S4 US Version 1.9GHz Quad Core) not 8 core international version

Samsung's Galaxy S4 Is Twice As Fast As The iPhone 5

Samsung's new flagship Galaxy S4 phone will have the fastest processor available when it launches this spring, according to benchmark tests.
A benchmark is a series of standard tests that gauge how fast a mobile device's processor is. The benchmarking software assigns a numerical value to the device based on how it performed. The higher the number, the better.
Android Authority was able to perform a benchmark test on the Galaxy S4 during Samsung's big launch event last week. As a follow up, John Poole of Primate Labs performed the same test on several other leading phones and published the results.
In this case, the Galaxy S4 received a benchmark of 3,163. The iPhone 5 got a 1,596, meaning the GS4 is about twice as fast. The GS4 is also twice as fast as Samsung's last flagship phone, the Galaxy S III.

http://www.businessinsider.com/samsung- ... z2O2OtzYKp

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 19th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Note III is rumored to have a 6.3" screen, some people may need to get bigger pockets.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 19th, 2013, 9:40 pm

Note III will be a laptop in your pocket.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 19th, 2013, 9:51 pm

im afraid of the bigger screen on the note series.

I find the S3 and S4 screen size much more compact and adequate.

That being said the note has way better battery life.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 19th, 2013, 10:35 pm

ive been liking this phone from asus. padfone 2 and padfone infinity. been around for about a year, doubles as a tablet with attachable keyboard to tranform into a laptop.

www.gsmarena.com/asus_padfone_infinity-5328.php

Postby stev » March 19th, 2013, 10:47 pm

been checking out the HTC One....it definitely has to be the best looking phone ever created.

waiting to see some more benchmarks.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 20th, 2013, 7:48 am

^^ sweet looking phone!

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 20th, 2013, 8:34 am

just updated my d4 to jellybean and rooted.. now the real work begins.. going for a total recustomization from factory reset. this is going to take a while.. but im back on tapatalk lol

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 20th, 2013, 10:26 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Figured out how to get the new WhatsApp to run on my WiFi only Nexus 7 :D

I have it running on mine , with a titanium backup from my experia

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 20th, 2013, 10:30 am

turbotusty wrote:
CBharath wrote:

portable mp3 player
8mp camera

fits in my pocket

alarm clock for work

camcorder

This was the answer I was looking for .

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 20th, 2013, 10:56 am

CBharath wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Figured out how to get the new WhatsApp to run on my WiFi only Nexus 7 :D

I have it running on mine , with a titanium backup from my experia

Allyuh have it running on both devices at the same time?

Postby stev » March 20th, 2013, 12:45 pm

been discovering a lot of articles talking about recent HTC overheating and power loss issues...anyone here have an HTC and could shed some light on the matter? are u experiencing this?