The official tropical weather thread 2020

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2019

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2019, 11:04 am

^ yes that stall and slow forward speed will mean even more devastation for the Bahamas

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2019, 11:57 am

Active
two_atl_5d0.png

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2019, 1:24 pm

Dorian is now a 295kph monster! :shock:

TCUAT5 Hurricane Dorian Tropical Cyclone Update NWS National Hurricane Center Miami FL AL052019 1245 pm EDT Sun Sep 01 2019 ...CATASTROPHIC CATEGORY 5 DORIAN MAKES LANDFALL ON ELBOW CAY IN THE ABACOS... Data from an Air Force Reserve Hurricane Hunter aircraft and satellite data indicate that Dorian has made landfall at 1240 pm EDT (1640 UTC) in Elbow Cay, Abacos. The winds have increased to 185 mph (295 km/h) with the minimum central pressure falling to 911 mb (26.90 inches). This is a life-threatening situation. Residents there should take immediate shelter. Do not venture into the eye if it passes over your location. Hazards: - Wind Gusts over 220 mph - Storm Surge 18 to 23 feet above normal tide levels with higher destructive waves These hazards will cause extreme destruction in the affected areas and will continue for several hours. SUMMARY OF 1245 PM EDT...1645 UTC...INFORMATION ---------------------------------------------- LOCATION...26.5N 77.0W ABOUT 5 MI...10 KM E OF GREAT ABACO ISLAND MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS...185 MPH...295 KM/H PRESENT MOVEMENT...W OR 275 DEGREES AT 8 MPH...13 KM/H MINIMUM CENTRAL PRESSURE...911 MB...26.90 INCHES

Postby aaron17 » September 1st, 2019, 1:40 pm

Place rel hot dread.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2019, 1:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:Dorian is now a 295kph monster! :shock:

TCUAT5 Hurricane Dorian Tropical Cyclone Update NWS National Hurricane Center Miami FL AL052019 1245 pm EDT Sun Sep 01 2019 ...CATASTROPHIC CATEGORY 5 DORIAN MAKES LANDFALL ON ELBOW CAY IN THE ABACOS... Data from an Air Force Reserve Hurricane Hunter aircraft and satellite data indicate that Dorian has made landfall at 1240 pm EDT (1640 UTC) in Elbow Cay, Abacos. The winds have increased to 185 mph (295 km/h) with the minimum central pressure falling to 911 mb

(26.90 inches). This is a life-threatening situation. Residents there should take immediate shelter. Do not venture into the eye if it passes over your location. Hazards: - Wind Gusts over 220 mph - Storm Surge 18 to 23 feet above normal tide levels with higher destructive waves These hazards will cause extreme destruction in the affected areas and will continue for several hours. SUMMARY OF 1245 PM EDT...1645 UTC...INFORMATION ---------------------------------------------- LOCATION...26.5N 77.0W ABOUT 5 MI...10 KM E OF GREAT ABACO ISLAND MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS...185 MPH...295 KM/H PRESENT MOVEMENT...W OR 275 DEGREES AT 8 MPH...13 KM/H MINIMUM CENTRAL PRESSURE...911 MB...26.90 INCHES

Mia residents counting their blessings atm...this was totally different a few days ago
155815.png

Postby bluefete » September 1st, 2019, 2:06 pm

Earlier today in the Bahamas

Postby matr1x » September 1st, 2019, 2:22 pm

mero wrote:
matr1x wrote:After how south was mistreated after Bret, I would one of these to pass north. ALL of north.
Read over yuh posts nah dumb dumb Nal1ni. Yuh illiteracy on full display again.

Go suck an egg.

Also, I keep telling you, I don't want to be friends with you. Creep

Postby Dizzy28 » September 1st, 2019, 6:01 pm

Dorian is the 2nd most powerful hurricane ever to make landfall in the Atlantic. And it is still growing.

Unreal.

Postby De Dragon » September 1st, 2019, 6:14 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Dorian is the 2nd most powerful hurricane ever to make landfall in the Atlantic. And it is still growing.

Unreal.

I had to beat a somewhat hasty retreat from Celebration, Osceola County which is adjacent to Brevard County where the mandatory evacuations are taking place, a day earlier than I had planned to, as I didn't want to get jammed up in case they closed the airport there.

Postby maj. tom » September 1st, 2019, 6:24 pm

Dorian now 295km/h sustained winds, gusts up to 360 km/h!!!!!!!
Katrina was 280 km/h for reference.
Many people probably died in the Bahamas already. :( What a terror nightmare to live through for so many hours.

Well Mr. Trump, here's your Global Warming back with a vengeance!

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2019, 6:34 pm

18-23 feet!

STORM SURGE: A life-threatening storm surge will raise water levels
by as much as 18 to 23 feet above normal tide levels in areas of
onshore winds on the Abaco Islands and Grand Bahama Island. Near
the coast, the surge will be accompanied by large and destructive
waves.

wing

Postby wing » September 1st, 2019, 6:38 pm

maj. tom wrote:Dorian now 295km/h sustained winds, gusts up to 360 km/h!!!!!!!
Katrina was 280 km/h for reference.
Many people probably died in the Bahamas already. :( What a terror nightmare to live through for so many hours.

Well Mr. Trump, here's your Global Warming back with a vengeance!
Yet Matrix and others wishing for this....

Postby maj. tom » September 1st, 2019, 6:48 pm

There is no roof on this island that can survive that force of rain and wind buffeting for the many hours Dorian has been over the Bahamas, and I am sure of it! Wood doors are going to split and crack, and glass windows completely shattered. And then the wildly fluctuating pressure loads inside a Cat 5 may even collapse some masonry walls. One day we may not be so lucky, given the trends of the warming ocean.

This is what the Saffir-Simpson scale says about a Cat 5 (249+ km/h):
Catastrophic damage will occur. Large amounts of windborne debris will be lofted into the air. There is a very high risk of injury or death to people and animals due to flying and falling debris. Almost all mobile homes will be destroyed. A high percentage of frame homes will be destroyed, with total roof failure and wall collapse. A high percentage of industrial buildings and low-rise apartment buildings will be destroyed. Complete collapse of older metal buildings can occur and most unreinforced masonry walls will fail which can lead to building collapse. Nearly all windows will be blown out of high-rise buildings- falling and broken glass will pose a significant danger. Nearly all commercial signage and fences will be destroyed, almost all trees will be snapped or uprooted and power poles downed. Fallen trees and power poles will isolate residential areas. Power outages will last for weeks to possibly months, long-term water shortages can be expected, and most of the area will be uninhabitable for weeks or months.
http://www.hurricanescience.org/society ... ept%201989.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2019, 6:51 pm

and in some local news.

i was saying that it would work temporarily, during dry season, until a proper bridge is built... but not for no rainy season.

https://www.103fm.tt/news/maracas-baile ... OZjldHPp94

103.1fm wrote:Maracas Bailey Bridge closed
By
News Room -
August 31, 2019

The bailey bridge along the North Coast Road in Maracas at the 11.5 km mark is now closed.
The Ministry of Works and Transport says this has been done due to further land slippage along the slope.
That bridge was installed last year due to serious land slippage, which occurred after heavy rainfall.
The Ministry did not say how long the bridge will be closed for, however it indicated that single lane traffic is currently in effect at the site.
Motorists are being asked to reduce speed and proceed with caution and observe all signs when driving through this area.
Also, comply with instructions from Police Officers on site to facilitate a safe and orderly flow of traffic.

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2019, 6:56 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2019, 7:42 pm

Video shows the devastation left behind after Hurricane Dorian passed through the northern Bahamas

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2019, 7:45 pm

NOAA Hurricane Hunter aircraft inside the eye of Hurricane Dorian. you can see the distinct eye-wall.

f41e8790-0af8-431e-bfa8-7f2b69d9f17e.jpg

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2019, 9:17 pm

^ imagine blazing sun in d eye, then suddenly out of nowhere 185mph winds and rain!

and how on earth are those hurricane hunters safe flying into a Cat. 5 hurricane :shock: i suppose they have to stay strictly in the eye, and fly in a circular direction to enter or exit

Postby maj. tom » September 1st, 2019, 9:37 pm

There are videos on YouTube that show Hurricane Hunter missions. They're scary but those men have the training to deal with it.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 1st, 2019, 9:54 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Dorian is the 2nd most powerful hurricane ever to make landfall in the Atlantic. And it is still growing.

Unreal.

Imagine, the little tropical storm that we were watching a few days ago, wondering if it would have dipped south and given Tobago a 'lil tush' as we say colloquially, bypassed us, walked up the Caribbean as a weak enough TS/Cat. 1 hurricane, to become a monster that she currently is... currently matching an 84-year old record.

On that note, she's not second..she's actually tied for the strongest hurricane to make landfall, with the Labour Day Hurricane.......84 years ago. Imagine this storm is stronger than Irma. Stronger than Maria. Katrina. Ivan. Andrew. Matthew. Names that even those of us who hate weather/geography will never forget..and she's just sauntering over the Bahamas. One can't even begin to imagine a minute of >300 km/h wind alone....far less for 24 to 30 hours of it, WITH torrential rainfall... :(

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2019, 10:16 pm

Dorian is not a boy name hoss???

Joshie23 wrote:

Unreal.

Imagine, the little tropical storm that we were watching a few days ago, wondering if it would have dipped south and given Tobago a 'lil tush' as we say colloquially, bypassed us, walked up the Caribbean as a weak enough TS/Cat. 1 hurricane, to become a monster that she currently is... currently matching an 84-year old record.

On that note, she's not second..she's actually tied for the strongest hurricane to make landfall, with the Labour Day Hurricane.......84 years ago. Imagine this storm is stronger than Irma. Stronger than Maria. Katrina. Ivan. Andrew. Matthew. Names that even those of us who hate weather/geography will never forget..and she's just sauntering over the Bahamas. One can't even begin to imagine a minute of >300 km/h wind alone....far less for 24 to 30 hours of it, WITH torrential rainfall... :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2019, 10:21 pm

Bahamas Prime Minister: "Today is the worst day of my life"

As Abaco continued to be pounded by Hurricane Dorian, a catastrophic category 5 storm, Prime Minister Dr. Hubert Minnis cried as he described today as the “worst day of his life” and expressed hope that those who refused to evacuate will survive the storm.

“This is probably the most sad and worst day of my life to address the Bahamian people,” he said during a press conference at the headquarters of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

“As a physician I’ve been trained to withstand many things, but never anything like this.

“We’re facing a hurricane… one that we’ve never seen in the history of The Bahamas, with wind velocity as high as 180 mph, with gusts in excess of 200 mph.”

He noted that Bahamian homes are built to withstand winds of up to 150 mph.

“So this will put us through a test that we’ve never confronted before,” he continued, adding that storm surges are projected to be as high as 20 feet.

“This is a deadly storm and a monster storm.”

Minnis issued an evacuation order to residents in vulnerable areas on Friday. He pleaded with residents again on Saturday to leave their homes. He noted today that many people did not heed his warnings.

“I can only say to them, that I hope this is not the last time they will hear my voice and may God be with them.”

According to the National Hurricane Center’s 12:45 p.m. advisory, Dorian made landfall in Elbow Cay, Abaco, at 12:40 p.m.

“The winds have increased to 185 mph with the minimum central pressure falling to 26.90 inches,” the advisory said. “This is a life-threatening situation. Residents there should take immediate shelter. Do not venture into the eye if it passes over your location.”

Minnis said the conditions in Abaco has deteriorated significantly.

“Marsh Harbour area of Abaco parts of it [are] already underwater,” he said. “In some areas you cannot tell the difference as to the beginning of the street, versus where the ocean begins. They are being hit by the brunt of the storm.”

Videos and photos posted to social media show several flooded communities.

“Grand Bahama, those individuals in the western area, this is your last warning to move to the central area of Freeport,” he said.

When asked about rescue efforts, Minnis said, “Winds of 180 mph, if I ask you tomorrow to go and rescue those people, would you go?”

“I don’t think anybody is that fool to go there, nor would I subject their lives to that. Especially when individuals were warned repeatedly to move.”

He said he expects teams to be in a position to move into Abaco by Wednesday.

It is unclear how many people did not evacuate or the numbers of people that are calling for help.

https://thenassauguardian.com/2019/09/0 ... f-my-life/

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2019, 10:29 pm

Albaco island getting wipe out :(

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 1st, 2019, 10:32 pm

Gladiator wrote:Dorian is not a boy name hoss???

Joshie23 wrote:

Unreal.

Screenshot_20190901-222406__01.jpg

If that helps you sleep better tonight. If you also want to nitpick over the claim that Dorian is or isn't the strongest, yes other storms have had much lower pressures. But in terms of sheer wind speed, yes, he/she/it is.

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2019, 11:07 pm

Chill nah hoss....I never say nutten about no Sher speed and wind pressure and thing.... Just thought it was a boy storm and not a girl storm.

Joshie23 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Dorian is not a boy name hoss???

Joshie23 wrote:

Unreal.

Screenshot_20190901-222406__01.jpg

If that helps you sleep better tonight. If you also want to nitpick over the claim that Dorian is or isn't the strongest, yes other storms have had much lower pressures. But in terms of sheer wind speed, yes, he/she/it is.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2019, 12:56 am

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 2nd, 2019, 12:56 am

Gladiator wrote:Chill nah hoss....I never say nutten about no Sher speed and wind pressure and thing.... Just thought it was a boy storm and not a girl storm.

I'm cool. It was just a little off-putting that in light of the strength and thus imminent destruction that some are facing as we speak, the gender (mis)appropriation stood out the most to you. Oh well.

Postby hydroep » September 2nd, 2019, 1:33 am

Postby mero » September 2nd, 2019, 6:19 am

Dorian moving at 1mph over Bahamas still.

Daiz real licks yes

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 2nd, 2019, 10:11 am

Joshie23 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Dorian now a CAT 5, just imagine people in its path are praying for their lives and illiterates like Dumdar back in Trinidad chanting “we need the rains”.

Agreed. 'We NeEd ThE rAiNs' my foot. All we got last year October was rain..no TD..no TS..no hurricane..just rain..and that didn't turn out too well. Old people knew what they were saying when they told us to 'make sure your brain is loaded before you shoot your mouth off'. Let me see anyone enjoy a nice long bath or put clothes to wash after anything resembling a Category 2 storm passes over Trinidad.

so many sheltered brought upsies