WASA Thread ...

Re: WASA Thread ...

Postby alfa » March 5th, 2024, 1:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Hose ban in effect from tonight !

We in 2024 and still rationing water: Progress

Wow I can’t believe the govt hasn’t found a solution for El Niño yet.

You have to be a special kind. El nino affecting the entire region but hose ban in Trinidad alone

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 5th, 2024, 1:59 pm

Kamla again smh

Postby Habit7 » March 5th, 2024, 3:36 pm

alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

You have to be a special kind. El nino affecting the entire region but hose ban in Trinidad alone

In Trinidad and Tobago, the average daily consumption per capita is estimated at 82 gallons per day, as compared to an average of 46 gallons per day used regionally,
https://www.ima.gov.tt/2021/03/26/valui ... ity-water/

Therefore if T&T residential users consume almost twice the regional average and there is an El Niño effect in the Southern Caribbean. Won't the island using the most amount of water per capita, all while paying the cheapest tariff, be the first one to sound the alarm of high water consumption during low rainwater input?

Or I am just special because I am factoring in meteorology and water consumption statistics.

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2024, 3:40 pm

Did WASA announce the water levels in the reservoirs? Cyah be taking drastic action like hose ban for 4 months without justification.

Brb going and hose down car b4 ban.

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2024, 3:57 pm

i use 3000 gallon yesterday to out some bush fire yes

pressure

Postby alfa » March 5th, 2024, 4:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:
alfa wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

In Trinidad and Tobago, the average daily consumption per capita is estimated at 82 gallons per day, as compared to an average of 46 gallons per day used regionally,
https://www.ima.gov.tt/2021/03/26/valui ... ity-water/

Therefore if T&T residential users consume almost twice the regional average and there is an El Niño effect in the Southern Caribbean. Won't the island using the most amount of water per capita, all while paying the cheapest tariff, be the first one to sound the alarm of high water consumption during low rainwater input?

Or I am just special because I am factoring in meteorology and water consumption statistics.

You forgot to mention the 50 percent loss in ttransmission due to aged infrastructure not to mention every year wasa complaining of harsh dry season but do nothing to mitigate. You forgot to mention that even in the rainy season places still complain of lack of water. But yeah a hose ban will fix all of that or at least give the govt someone to blame in lieu of. Look the UNC neighbor using a hose to water lawn so no wonder the area seeing trouble for water since Eric Williams was in power.

Postby Habit7 » March 5th, 2024, 4:52 pm

Cool story bro. It would still be a matter of time until our regional neighbours announce similar water restrictions. Nevertheless, we get the water service we pay for.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 5th, 2024, 5:06 pm

You all forgot to factor in we are oil and gas based. Petrochemical plants use an immense amount of water each day.

Sent from my SM-A145M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2024, 5:11 pm

If wasa fix all their leaks, we wouldn't even need a ban...then again pnm promising water for all since 1958...doh expect much

wing

Postby wing » March 5th, 2024, 9:04 pm

DMan7 wrote:Kamla again smh
Correction... Kamla and Phil

Postby Habit7 » March 5th, 2024, 9:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If wasa fix all their leaks, we wouldn't even need a ban...then again pnm promising water for all since 1958...doh expect much

While leaks have been a perennial problem, WASA has done significant work to reduce the leaks nationally https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wasa-fi ... 53f775ae74

But I will file that along with the other simplistic solutions people believe can solve multifactorial problems, such as:
"T&TEC wont need to increase tariffs if state agencies pay their debt"
"If all box drains are cleaned then there will be no flooding"

But WASA may have other issues than leaks. Low rainfall, overstaffing, low tariffs, high consumption and many more are the uncomfortable issues that if we start dealing with it there will be public pushback.

Postby redmanjp » March 6th, 2024, 1:44 am

WASA should implement a metering system. You waste a tonne of water through leaks u pay a tonne on your bill. Have a neighbor who tank overflowing but they eh even home. This same one had left a garden tap on twice already and i had to turn it off.

Last year another neighbour main buss and water was gushing - they also wasnt home at the time- i went and turn off their main valve.

And this is only my street. Could only imagine how much other ppl in the area wasting water.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 6th, 2024, 7:32 am

I paying metered rates....have no problem paying for what I use. Sadly that's not going to happen across the board.

Postby bluefete » March 6th, 2024, 9:05 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I paying metered rates....have no problem paying for what I use. Sadly that's not going to happen across the board.

Many years ago, survey was done about metering in T&T.

Results showed that over 90% of people did not want meters.

Sometimes, you have to be a dictator for the greater good.

Postby bluefete » March 6th, 2024, 9:08 am

Habit7 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If wasa fix all their leaks, we wouldn't even need a ban...then again pnm promising water for all since 1958...doh expect much

While leaks have been a perennial problem, WASA has done significant work to reduce the leaks nationally https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wasa-fi ... 53f775ae74

But I will file that along with the other simplistic solutions people believe can solve multifactorial problems, such as:
"T&TEC wont need to increase tariffs if state agencies pay their debt"
"If all box drains are cleaned then there will be no flooding"

But WASA may have other issues than leaks. Low rainfall, overstaffing, low tariffs, high consumption and many more are the uncomfortable issues that if we start dealing with it there will be public pushback.

Why would people push back on things that would make WASA more efficient? Because the politicians do not care about efficiency. They only care about votes.

If 1,000 people build homes on a river bank, the politicians would tell WASA to run pipelines for them because that is a voting bank right there.

Unplanned development has also crippled WASA for the same reasons. WASA's inefficiencies translates to $millions in someone's pockets - regardless of whichever government is in power.

Postby Habit7 » March 6th, 2024, 9:42 am

There was a pushback on metering https://www.cnc3.co.tt/wasa-promises-co ... -exercise/
Cutting workforce https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 5a09a9e320
Increasing tariffs https://newsday.co.tt/2023/10/30/padara ... s-in-2024/

There is no single issue that will fix WASA. There are multiple and it takes tremendous political will because ideally, everybody wants unmetered pressurised water, 24/7 at a fixed tariff that is one of the lowest in the world. Anything less than that is unfair.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2024, 9:48 am

metering will be a massive costly exercise to do
no govt willing to bite the bullet and spend that money, can imagine the bobol money involved with contractors to do the meter installation
they might actually lose money if they put in meters
i know at my office we pay a commercial rate and use a fraction of what we are billed for

they really need to put in meters though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 6th, 2024, 11:13 am

I hover around 17-20 cubic m for my cycle...and I does do all kinda thing but I'm sure there is no wastage
Screenshot_20240306-110922.png

Postby Dizzy28 » March 6th, 2024, 11:21 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hover around 17-20 cubic m for my cycle...and I does do all kinda thing but I'm sure there is no wastage

The average water use for a person is 60 gpd in the US and 82gpd in TT.
17m3 is around 4,500 gallons and that for 3 months.

How much people live in your household bruv?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 6th, 2024, 11:34 am

None of the sheit that PNM7 is telling you is the real reason for water woes.

WASA simply does not know how much water is in their dams and there is less and less every year!
Every year the dams get more and more silted up so the entire bottoms are liquid mud so the dams hold less and less water every year.

It's like having a glass with a measuring tape attached at the side to measure the water and every year you put more and more mud into it and then fill it with water to the brim. Once it's filled to the brim you can read off the measuring tape and say that it is full, but the reality is that most of that is mud covering the bottom that you can't see.

And that's how WASA operates. They just watch their levelling staffs(measuring tapes) and say yeah...the dams full of water bring the media to take pictures of how deep the water is.....when in fact they full of mud with just a little water on top.

The problem is that it's very difficult to desilt these dams and local contractors don't have the skills to do these things coupled with the fact that this benefits management at WASA and politicians.

There was a lecturer at the university who was going to do the study for them for FREE to tell them the true capacities of the dams about 10-15 years ago and the lecturer started but WASA refused to continue. Even back then they were really bad so I can imagine how bad they are now.

And none of this I'm telling you is some kinda fancy science...it's basic common sense.

So for allyuh journalist trolls reading this the next time WASA call allyuh to show allyuh how high or low the water is ask them when last they had the dams desilted,by whom and how they know what their levelling staffs are measuring is actually accurate? They need to do something like a hydrographic survey using echo sounders to tell them the true depths of the water then calculate the volume of water in the dams.
Do a little research and ask the tough,correct questions.

death365

Postby death365 » March 6th, 2024, 11:43 am

ill just like to remind people that the desal plant can produce water for all of trinidad

much like money - TTD and USD the issue is a distribution one not a lack of resources

Postby Habit7 » March 6th, 2024, 11:43 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hover around 17-20 cubic m for my cycle...and I does do all kinda thing but I'm sure there is no wastage

82 gallons per day = 0.310404 m3 per day

17m3 = 54.8 days

He is using below the average TT user. But I am not understanding the rate though because I believe it is $2.09 per m3. I don't understand how he is paying $1300 a cycle with 17m3 use.

Postby Habit7 » March 6th, 2024, 11:58 am

Skanky wrote:None of the sheit that PNM7 is telling you is the real reason for water woes.

WASA simply does not know how much water is in their dams and there is less and less every year!
Every year the dams get more and more silted up so the entire bottoms are liquid mud so the dams hold less and less water every year.

One man's simplistic solution to everything is repair all the leaks. Another man is desilt all the dams.

Other drinking water comes from desalination, well groundwater, rivers and dams. Even if dams were 100% desilted we are at a higher of depletion with low rainfall and increased evaporation. Nobody is saying desilting of the dams is not an issue, however it is not the only issue.

Postby alfa » March 6th, 2024, 12:22 pm

pugboy wrote:metering will be a massive costly exercise to do
no govt willing to bite the bullet and spend that money, can imagine the bobol money involved with contractors to do the meter installation
they might actually lose money if they put in meters
i know at my office we pay a commercial rate and use a fraction of what we are billed for

they really need to put in meters though

How does metering even work efficiently? If they install a meter in your yard what's stopping someone from installing a buried bypass line and valve?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 6th, 2024, 12:31 pm

Lol 3,
4-5 loads to wash on weekends
Wash vehicles
Wash down front, back and both sides of meh yard
Cook every other day
And well all the other regular activities that require water.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 6th, 2024, 12:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:

82 gallons per day = 0.310404 m3 per day

17m3 = 54.8 days

He is using below the average TT user. But I am not understanding the rate though because I believe it is $2.09 per m3. I don't understand how he is paying $1300 a cycle with 17m3 use.

You not understanding the bill, that $1300 is a credit amount. I put $ on my bill every month. The rate is $1.87 per cubic m.

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2024, 12:56 pm

Cantmis wrote:You all forgot to factor in we are oil and gas based. Petrochemical plants use an immense amount of water each day.

Sent from my SM-A145M using TriniTuner mobile app
That's why we have desalcott. Desalcott is really for them, we does get the extras so we can't be watching what is them own and want it..

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2024, 1:00 pm

death365 wrote:ill just like to remind people that the desal plant can produce water for all of trinidad

much like money - TTD and USD the issue is a distribution one not a lack of resources
Iirc was 40mgd, has it changed?

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2024, 1:24 pm

bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I paying metered rates....have no problem paying for what I use. Sadly that's not going to happen across the board.

Many years ago, survey was done about metering in T&T.

Results showed that over 90% of people did not want meters.

Sometimes, you have to be a dictator for the greater good.
Because some places leave the pipe open, don't have a float system to cut off when tanks full and will have it overflowing for days sometimes. Why will they ever want a meter? There is no consequence for wasting water. Even where I live people do this. A float system is not their responsibility and it's an added expense to them.

Postby maj. tom » March 6th, 2024, 1:28 pm

Meanwhile I getting a literal trickle in my pipe, taking 1/2 hour to fill a gallon paint bucket. I probably send a dozen reports and complaints and emails and WASA eh do sheit to fix it. But I get the wasa bill yesterday though! Yes I welcome metering but how the thief, waste and corruption will pass?