Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Re: Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Postby De Dragon » April 20th, 2020, 12:31 pm

88sins wrote:daxt0r mentality = #foreveratenant
But to besides all d ole talk, it have PLENTY young people that, for want of their own way and playing adult, jump outta themselves and leave their parents home to go pay rent, or even more common their parents fed up of them sitting home scratching, smoking weed all day, forever on a block, with zero movement towards anything constructive. Then they move out/get put out, they bawling when they realize renting ain't as nice as what they see on tv. Some humble themselves and move back home, but many burn that bridge on the way out.

I does tell ppl, if yuh renting and you can pay yuh rent, do so and be glad you can. Because they extremely lucky they renting in Trinidad where ppl still somewhat relaxed. In some countries, if the landlord find out today you lost your job today, you getting a eviction notice tonight on the door.

QFT, too many of these dummies want to coast a scene with new car, brands, clubbing, and they're renting and eating Crix to "afford" it. :lol: :lol:

Postby rspann » April 20th, 2020, 12:51 pm

DeDragon , free groceries by all major dealers . Just walk in, take what you want ,don't pay .

Postby Redman » April 22nd, 2020, 10:21 am

Let me leave this right here
Screen Shot 2020-04-22 at 10.21.07 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-04-22 at 10.21.07 AM.png (64.74 KiB) Viewed 5481 times

Postby rspann » April 22nd, 2020, 3:55 pm

I'm curious as to why someone would want to lock themselves in an apartment and gazette paper the windows , turn off lights ,change their phone and live like a rat .

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » April 22nd, 2020, 4:17 pm

rspann wrote:I'm curious as to why someone would want to lock themselves in an apartment and gazette paper the windows , turn off lights ,change their phone and live like a rat .

I does wonder how this man get a wife

Postby K74T » April 22nd, 2020, 6:52 pm

Feeling azeetated, are ye?

Postby maj. tom » April 23rd, 2020, 8:17 am

Debe HDC 'landlord': I did not evict them

The inside of the HDC Wellington Gardens, Debe house. - Marvin Hamilton

The man at the centre of a controversy over the subletting of a house in Debe has denied that he evicted a family because they could not pay their rent as a result of the stay-at-home measures to reduce the spread of the covid19 virus.

The three-bedroom house at Wellington Gardens is subject to a rent-to-own agreement with the Housing Development Corporation (HDC). The HDC does not allow tenants to sublet homes.

The official tenant said on Wednesday: "I never told them to leave. No one pressured them.

"Because of the pandemic, I understand their situation.

"We were shocked when we saw the article. We tried to help them to get a place to stay, and now they are making all types of allegations."

The woman, a 25-year-old mother, took to social media to complain against the landlord and her posts went viral. She said she was looking for a place to live, and called on the public for help. Newsday later highlighted her plight.

The man, who asked to remain anonymous, also denied threatening the woman who is part of the family of five.

But he now wants the family out of his house. He lives nearby in a property owned by his wife, he said.

Speaking at his home, he told Newsday: "Police came here last night (Tuesday) about it.

"I never made any threats. I have nothing against these people. I have never quarrelled or cursed them. We always had a good relationship. So I cannot say what brought this on."

Asked if he had been renting the property for the past four years, as the woman claimed, he responded, "It was for about two and a half years.

"Right now, I am stressed and just want this to go away.

"No one from HDC has contacted me."

Speaking at the house, the woman, who also requested anonymity said she is a domestic worker, but has not been working since the stay-at-home measures were implemented.

She said she lives with her husband, a salesman, and their three children, eight, seven and three.

Before the pandemic, she and her husband were planning to open a food outlet, and she said a supermarket owner gave them a chiller. Because the family has fallen on hard times, she said she sold it to get money for food.

"I am not working, and neither is my husband right now...I needed the money; I cannot let my children go hungry. People gave us food hampers. I do not have much in the house."

In the past, she said, she herself used to give to people in need.

"A lot of people know me because I do a lot of charity work. I host a Christmas treat, I donate items to flood victims and other things.

"I never expected that I would have been in this situation."

She said she was never late on rent payments and had not missed one until this month, because of the pandemic.

On Monday she reported to Barrackpore police that the landlord had threatened her.

She said, "He told me if he gets into trouble with the HDC, he will find me and deal with me. He said if he loses the house, it will be trouble. That is a threat."

HDC officials, she said, visited and interviewed her.

"They are handling everything. They also told me to stay in the house, and they are investigating...

"I do not know how this situation will play out and I am hoping we get a house."

For her safety and that of the family, she said, the children have been staying elsewhere with relatives.

Housing Minister Edmund Dillon could not be reached for comment.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/23/debe-h ... vict-them/

Postby K74T » April 23rd, 2020, 8:40 am

OP back in the bay

Postby rspann » April 23rd, 2020, 8:41 am

Nah , he posting on other threads .

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » April 23rd, 2020, 6:41 pm

Anybody?
FB_IMG_1587682017655.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » April 25th, 2020, 9:06 am

Debe 'landlord': I lost my house while trying to help people

Hoping to share his side of the story, the licensee of a Housing Development Corporation (HDC) house in Wellington Gardens, Debe, has visited the corporation's Port of Spain office to meet with officials.

However, he did not get to speak to anyone.

Speaking to Newsday in Debe, he said an HDC security officer told him on Friday that the office was closed because of the covid19 pandemic.

The "landlord," who asked to remain anonymous, has been accused of subletting the house to a family. He lives in a nearby property owned by his common-law wife.

On Thursday, an HDC representative served him with an eviction notice.

He said, "No one came and took a statement from me.

"I lost my house while trying to help people.

"The man handed me the letter yesterday (Thursday) and left."

He said he tried to speak with the HDC representative, who responded, "Take it to the higher authorities."

The man repeated, "No one from HDC has spoken to me for my side of the story. I have never missed a payment to the HDC."

On Thursday the HDC issued a statement saying it had decided to issue the notice after an investigation, which found both parties culpable.

The HDC has given the tenants –a couple and their three children – permission to stay at least for two months, after which it will do an assessment.

The release said the HDC has a "zero-tolerance position" on subletting, and that all HDC agreements "provide for the termination of the tenancy, if the tenant breaches these terms."

The 25-year-old mother of the family of tenants took to social media last weekend to complain about the landlord, and her posts went viral. She also accused him of threatening the family.

She said the landlord was evicting them because they could not afford to pay rent this month as a result of the pandemic.

Newsday later highlighted their plight.

She is a domestic worker, but has not been working since the stay-at-home measures were implemented, and her husband is a salesman.

On Friday, she declined to comment when Newsday visited the house.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/24/debe-l ... lp-people/

Postby Dizzy28 » April 25th, 2020, 11:24 am

^HDC houses were given out in a lot of cases to people based on criteria other than needs. So much are being rented whilst the waiting list grows.

This is good and that man should lose all title to the house in the long run. Furthermore a comprehensive audit should be done. Offer people who subletting HDC houses a guarantee they cannot be thrown out and let them come forward as whistle blowers.

Postby rspann » April 25th, 2020, 11:27 am

They should give the same people he evicting . They could use the rent to pay the mortgage.

Postby The_Honourable » April 25th, 2020, 12:06 pm

She name omar too :lol:

Rep. Omar’s Bill Would See Feds Seize Rentals If Landlords Try to Collect Rent During Virus 'Emergency'

https://www.mrctv.org/blog/rep-omars-bi ... ent-during

Postby 88sins » April 25th, 2020, 12:24 pm

rspann wrote:They should give the same people he evicting . They could use the rent to pay the mortgage.

Take win for a sensible solution.
Problem is tho, govt bodies not used to finding solutions with basic common sense as a part of the equation.

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2020, 2:57 pm

Rowley begging landlords to have a heart.

RedVevo whey yuh.

Like he was reading this thread orrr?

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2020, 2:58 pm

So if the landlord only source of income is one apartment- he/she must starve?

Rowley and dem could talk, oui. Dem money running at the end of the month. Corona or no corona.

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2020, 4:25 pm

good opportunity for all those u subleasing to use that same story and get the HDC tenant out of the picture. even if the original HDC tenant is telling the truth, subletting is not allowed, and he violated. and if he living in a next house, he really dont need the HDC... he played his hand and lost. hard luck.

if ur not living in the house and ur subletting, gtfo.

Postby zoom rader » April 25th, 2020, 5:03 pm

bluefete wrote:Rowley begging landlords to have a heart.

RedVevo whey yuh.

Arse wari wicked

Postby 88sins » April 25th, 2020, 6:49 pm

bluefete wrote:Rowley begging landlords to have a heart.

RedVevo whey yuh.

Chief toolum head and fassness all worries could beg all they want
Last time I checked private property owners can feel free to do whatever they want with their property and that includes rent it out and demand their rent on time. Neither he nor his little beedy-eyed minions have any authority over private citizens controlling their property or or their enforcement of lawful binding contracts they may be in.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 26th, 2020, 7:31 am

"You will have seen the Government taking steps to protect you and your family and your community, and in so doing, those actions of the Government would have deprived persons of their jobs, persons who were living from pay cheque to pay cheque, basically as we say, hand to mouth.

"By the actions to protect all of us, they would have lost their ability to sustain themselves and their families. Have a heart. If they were your tenant before the virus, then for God's sake, see them as somebody who was working for you, to pay your rent and you would do yourself no benefit in the long run, if you take the position that if they can't pay you now, you would put them in the street."

He said this situation would not be forever, and if, "You are required to accept a reduced rent for the period, then that is your contribution in this fight."

Rowley said to the landlords, "I am sure landlord, that you are in a better position than the family that will go on the street with no place to sleep and no food, that should be your contribution."

Rowley FTW for being a secret follower of d thread, ah wonder if he does browse anonymous or have a user :drinking:

Postby 88sins » April 26th, 2020, 8:46 am

So, The Chief Toolumhead want landlords to "have a heart"
so what they spposed to do with their stomach? put it in a cupboard?

And what pleas is he making to these tenants that IF their lanlords shows some leniency in demanding the rent due? I notince he not saying "when things normalize you MUST pay yuh arrears & doh run out & leave the ppl place while yuh stll owing rent"

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 9:02 am

Raid the HSF to help with rental assistance and food grants and then say to the landlords have a heart . So where the money you promised the people ? The supermarkets must have a heart too ? Yet boasting that no projects going to be cancelled .

Postby Redman » April 26th, 2020, 9:22 am

That is a pretty hateful response to what the man actually said.

Postby zoom rader » April 26th, 2020, 10:03 am

Redman wrote:That is a pretty hateful response to what the man actually said.
Why don't you give out free rental on your property?

Postby Redman » April 26th, 2020, 10:46 am

Yes ZR you would have that attitude.
No surprise.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 11:48 am

What's hateful about it ? He said they would help so why the need to ask the land lord to ease up? What about food? If they don't get the grant ,how they buying food?

Postby zoom rader » April 26th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Redman wrote:Yes ZR you would have that attitude.
No surprise.
It's my property, I worked and paid many loans,.maintenance and mortages. I never asked any goverment for help in buying and building my estates.

For your PNM prime minister to make this asinine statement is totally unacceptable.

What is he doing with our HSF? If any he needs to stop giving our money away to 1% and feeding PNM ppl contracts.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 12:57 pm

rspann wrote:

What's hateful about it ? He said they would help so why the need to ask the land lord to ease up? What about food? If they don't get the grant ,how they buying food?

The only thing could make you say that is the word raid. The problem I have though, is not using the HSF as a cushion for the situation we're in but using it for the wrong reason. Help was promised to the needy and the first thing is start by giving an unnecessary contract to four wealthy security companies .
Crime hasn't risen ( if anything it should be lower ) and you try to give multimillion dollar contracts that don't benefit the helpless in society. Statements have also been made that planned projects are not going to be stopped . Why is it that grants haven't realed the most vulnerable yet ? Go check Inshan Ismael page you'll get an idea of what I mean.

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2020, 1:02 pm

He also said people getting paid to stay home . He not in touch with the reality that many, many people home have no income at all . Small business owners and their workers , employees all over home without pay , only a section , mostly govt employees home with pay . THAT is a hateful statement .