What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

pjfred

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby pjfred » March 23rd, 2016, 7:58 pm

Hey raise the price on everything, that way it will stabilize the..... Then again according to the IMF we are not in a recession and they wondering why we stagnant. Hmmm kamla cause everything!

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 23rd, 2016, 10:36 pm

Rasc where ya? Tell us your beloved Party's plan.

Postby sMASH » March 24th, 2016, 9:23 am

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Now you concerned about paying back loans?

The concern is taking mega loans that burden us for decades for unwanted, unnecessary vanity projects. This rail has already cost $500 million, and not a foot of track has been laid.
5% of the $10b project cost, not bad.

Given that logic, I going to save we some more money. We goin and do a wind fArm project estimated at $55bn. I spending $500m, and then change my mind. So I have saved the country $54.5bn.
Genius.
Last edited by sMASH on March 24th, 2016, 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » March 24th, 2016, 10:01 am

sMASH wrote:Given that logic, I going to save we some more money. We goin and do a wind fArm project estimated at $55bn. I spending $500m, and then change my mind. So I have saved the country $54.5bn.
Genius.

I dont know which one more wrong, your maths or your info. A wind energy study for $153m was commissioned studying 12 sites. If that is 5% of project costs, then 100% of project cots will be $3b not $55b.

http://www.looptt.com/content/153m-wind-energy-study

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 24th, 2016, 10:30 am

Wind doh really save money. Commercial wind farms are dependent on government subsides.

Postby De Dragon » March 24th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Given that logic, I going to save we some more money. We goin and do a wind fArm project estimated at $55bn. I spending $500m, and then change my mind. So I have saved the country $54.5bn.
Genius.

I dont know which one more wrong, your maths or your info. A wind energy study for $153m was commissioned studying 12 sites. If that is 5% of project costs, then 100% of project cots will be $3b not $55b.

You wanna talk logic? :lol:
"Logicicize" this, why after spending said 500 mil, is there to be another multi-million dollar feasibility study?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 25th, 2016, 7:31 am

drchaos wrote:Yeah diesel will be a few cents more than super. Colm sticking ... why have consultation? just end the damn ting.

Yup this will make premium users feel lil better.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 25th, 2016, 7:35 am

Pirate wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Daran wrote:
EmilioA wrote:The PNM's plan seems to be to pass on as much cost to the regular citizen as possible in the short term. And hope that oil prices rise before the next election so they could do a tax cut right before.
(The UNC's plan of course was to borrow and steal. )
If oil prices dont rise the PNM's plan will lead to a stalled economy, with inflation , unemployment and low production.
OTOH the UNC would have led us to Greece with massive debts and a complete inability to repay and finally the loving arms of the IMF.

So you're saying PP's solution would have been to spend like crazy, deny there's a recession and ensure everyone carry on like normal. Then they'd hopefully await a rise in oil prices to repay debts.
Whereas, PNM's strategy is austerity and await a rise in oil prices.
I'm not economist but PP's strategy seems far smarter.

I take you dont know what happened to Greece ? Borrowing is addictive.

The problem is that after all these austerity measures, the savings will go towards the rapid rail!
Wait a couple years and see...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

So mammy and daddy saying it have no money to buy enough food cuz they want to buy a nice car in the next few years. Wish I had different parents.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby desifemlove » March 25th, 2016, 8:46 am

rowley want a plan?:

- abolish VAT
- have a two tax bands. anybody earning under $6000 pays no tax, 6000 to 20000 pays 20%, 20000 and above pays 35%.
- all businesses of any size pay %15 of profits
- property tax based on house size. no other taxes period.
- enterprise zones in town, diego, tunapuna, arima, grande, chaguanas, couva, sando, princes town, debe, penal, pt. fortin, for any tech/creative industry/firm. start-ups and established firms will pay NO corporation tax, up until they export $100000 in goods/services, and then they will only pay 10% on profits.
- all economic policies will match a pre-designed plan. unemployment under 6% all the time, gdp growth at 5% per year, and a trade surplus of 5% per year with only 80% of that in non-energy products.
- regeneration of town, arima, sando, chaguanas downtowns. new buildings, shops, pavements, and attractions.

and to change the culture:

- implement whistleblower act. any person accused of corruption in public office gets minimum 20 years in jail, no parole.
- install cameras on all highways, anybody ketch speeding pays $1000 fine, if dat ent pay, 2 years jail.
- no pissing on side of road. if medical condition, OK, but even then don't drive when de urge comes. if de man healthy, fine of $8000 a time, if dat ent pay, jail for 10 years.
- no public littering, fine of $1000 a pop, even for kids, parents must pay
- legalise all drugs, export dope/pot products to countries where it legal.
- have licensed steel pan, carnival schools around the world to teach carnival.

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2016, 2:23 am

^^^ Rowley already has enough two dollar saving plans without your help.

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2016, 6:36 am

Who will decide how your house will be charged? Let vat remain, and implement a land tax. The vat will accommodate however luxurious or austere your living conditions are, and even if you have inherited or building or buying.
It is unfair to charge people every year for a one time purchase, imagine if people have a decent job and build their good home and then loose their job...

If u you g to charge people for relieving them selves on the sides of roads, provide alternatives for them to stay within the law. That would mean public rest rooms, properly maintained. It would be for the benefit of the country but incur a high cost.

If you want to license the use of pan... to a school with a limited budget, I think they would sell their pans. Pan is a novelty sound not a mainstay.
Last edited by sMASH on March 26th, 2016, 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » March 26th, 2016, 7:32 am

Habit7 wrote:
Genius.

You wanna talk logic? :lol:
"Logicicize" this, why after spending said 500 mil, is there to be another multi-million dollar feasibility study?

Source?

Postby desifemlove » March 26th, 2016, 2:35 pm

sMASH wrote:Who will decide how your house will be charged? Let vat remain, and implement a land tax. The vat will accommodate however luxurious or austere your living conditions are, and even if you have inherited or building or buying.
It is unfair to charge people every year for a one time purchase, imagine if people have a decent job and build their good home and then loose their job...

If u you g to charge people for relieving them selves on the sides of roads, provide alternatives for them to stay within the law. That would mean public rest rooms, properly maintained. It would be for the benefit of the country but incur a high cost.

If you want to license the use of pan... to a school with a limited budget, I think they would sell their pans. Pan is a novelty sound not a mainstay.

public restrooms aren't common in other countries. if push comes to shove, they use a bush or woodland. it's a lack of education/training involved, and being socially encouraged. for pan i mean set up schools overseas to teach pan, under tt licence. or a pan school, get over from overseas.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » March 26th, 2016, 2:40 pm

There plan is to blame kamla for everything they can't do.

Postby desifemlove » March 26th, 2016, 6:06 pm

De Dragon wrote:^^^ Rowley already has enough two dollar saving plans without your help.

haha..lulz..dont' like opinions...cool.

Postby De Dragon » March 30th, 2016, 11:29 am

desifemlove wrote:
De Dragon wrote:^^^ Rowley already has enough two dollar saving plans without your help.

haha..lulz..dont' like opinions...cool.

No, it isn't that at all, but like the present Government all these 2-3 dollars plans will never amount to the billions that are required to make up for the shortfall in revenue. Also who is going to enforce a pee in public ban, littering fines? These things require that things be put in place to encourage people to use them like restrooms, bins etc.

Postby TRAE » March 31st, 2016, 9:28 am

This is the wastage that they plan for

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160330 ... al-in-town
People's National Movement Senator Foster Cummings wants a Spiritual Shouter Baptist cathedral to be constructed in Port of Spain.
Speaking at the St Ann's Church of Spiritual Meta­physics for yesterday's Spiritual Shouter Baptist Liberation Day celebrations in McBean, Couva, Cummings said the Shouter Baptist community needs to have their own space for worship in the capital city.

PRIME Minister Dr Keith Rowley says the ruling People's National Movement (PNM) plans to construct a building in honour of the party's founder, the late prime minister Dr Eric Williams.

To be called the Eric Williams Memorial Building, it is to be built next to the PNM’s Balisier House headquarters in Port of Spain.

Its construction is to coincide with the PNM’s upcoming 60th anniversary.

Speaking during a function in honour of Spiritual Baptists on Thursday, Dr Rowley said: “We ask you to bless and sanctify the ground which would be built and the edifice. I announce it very close to the day when Dr Williams passed. I say to the (PNM) General Council, when we build this building on the site, we name it the Eric Williams Memorial Building. We acknowledge the man who created the PNM for us to follow.

"We will build on the contribution of those who went before. Costs are not high and the generosity of the people will get the thing over in the time of difficulty. Continue to bless and sanctify the ground on the month of March.”

http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/PNM-to-erect ... 66041.html

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2016, 9:49 am

^^^If you read the first article you will see the actual min. of culture said that that was the first time she ever heard of that request.

And in your second article it says "We will build on the contribution of those who went before. Costs are not high and the generosity of the people will get the thing over in the time of difficulty."
So no taxpayer funds.

Postby TRAE » March 31st, 2016, 10:31 am

Habit7 wrote:^^^If you read the first article you will see the actual min. of culture said that that was the first time she ever heard of that request.

And in your second article it says "We will build on the contribution of those who went before. Costs are not high and the generosity of the people will get the thing over in the time of difficulty."
So no taxpayer funds.

is there ever a time that they dont use taxpayer funds?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 31st, 2016, 11:24 am

So wait GORTT going to build thiz thing with private money?

If they already have funding why they need GORTT?

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2016, 11:59 am

Habit7 wrote:^^^If you read the first article you will see the actual min. of culture said that that was the first time she ever heard of that request.

So no taxpayer funds.

:lol: :lol: :lol: Le naivete
Like Guanapo church eh? Just sneak it in some other project's cost?

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2016, 1:10 pm

It is not about naivete, it is about having an informed opinion based on fact, not rumshop talk.

Like how I am yet to receive a response to the request for a source from your post above viewtopic.php?f=4&t=654396&start=660#p9118411

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2016, 2:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:It is not about naivete, it is about having an informed opinion based on fact, not rumshop talk.
Like how I am yet to receive a response to the request for a source from your post above viewtopic.php?f=4&t=654396&start=660#p9118411

Oh yes I forgot, God Rowley proclaim it, so it must be so :roll: :roll:
http://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=& ... T9Hk_XlfYg
From the IDB rep to Trinidad no less!

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2016, 2:53 pm

So you believe Rowley when he states his intention to build the structure, but you lock off and go into anti-Rowley mode when he clearly states private source of its financing? Then you claim your precedent is another project where after the last 5 years and $1.4B in legal fees, no proof of govt funding was found by the PP?

Where in that article says "there to be another multi-million dollar feasibility study" as you stated earlier?

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2016, 4:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:So you believe Rowley when he states his intention to build the structure, but you lock off and go into anti-Rowley mode when he clearly states private source of its financing? Then you claim your precedent is another project where after the last 5 years and $1.4B in legal fees, no proof of govt funding was found by the PP?

Where in that article says "there to be another multi-million dollar feasibility study" as you stated earlier?

Read again, but try to take the balisier outta yuh eye. It seems like private funding in PNM speak means that we still do not have to pay it back :roll: Yes our money will not be spent but a loan will still have to be repaid, and with a gross revenue shortfall, then that money will very likely still have to go to contribute to servicing the loan. Aslo you seem to believe that the IDB is a charitable organization that will charge no interest. The burner in all this is that the Government will likely run this, so it will never realistically make a profit making it all the more inane an idea.

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2016, 4:40 pm

Bermudez said after receiving a request recently from the Office of the Prime Minister, the IDB had just begun preparing a study offering various mass transit options for metropolitan Port-of-Spain and its surrounding communities.

Our transportation options study will be based on the IDB’s extensive experience in developing these kinds of projects in other parts of the region, such as bus rapid transit, high-speed rail and subway systems,” Bermudez said.
In case as usual yuh want to play like yuh eh seeing................

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 31st, 2016, 4:50 pm

When bankers appear...hold onto yuh wallet with both hands...

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2016, 5:05 pm

Miktay wrote:When bankers appear...hold onto yuh wallet with both hands...

No, PNM/IDB building it with rainbows and candy.................

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 31st, 2016, 5:19 pm

What happened the last time IDB/World Bank lent us money to develop infrastructure?

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2016, 5:48 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:What happened the last time IDB/World Bank lent us money to develop infrastructure?

Do tell.