T&TEC & WASA rate increase coming?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2023, 2:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ I'm betting you love AC?

One tip is to use a fan in conjunction with AC, put the fan facing you and increase AC temp. The wind chill effect of the fan will keep you just as cool at a higher AC temp.

And don't have AC running in an unoccupied room unless you turn up the temp to perhaps 28C.
24k use in the night alongside 2 12k inverters
Whole house LEDs...

Have 2 12k in office hardly use(prob 1 time per week for about 2 3 hrs)

Living room 36k and 24k use every other day for 3 4 hrs

During day enough lights thru windows so no setta lights using.. Gas stove gas dryer(use 1 - 2 timer per week)
and pool pump on 12hrs cycle low amperage

Regular household daily fridge inverter freezer etc

I really not seeing that kinda kwh draw

Meter display not working and requested a replacement already and ill calculate myself total when new meter is installed

Comparing my bill to other family members with alot more "online" running items daily and we are almost same bill sometimes even more

Now not counting the last 2-3 months as the units was running regularly with the kinda heat we had fan wasn't cutting it.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 26th, 2023, 7:28 am

P-een-eme made it seem as if they givethm with an increase in minimum wage that can only be described as diarrhea to the people, and then when distracting their followers they take it back and then some by cranking your a55crack open to make YOU pay their liabilities to T&Tec.

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2023, 8:16 am

impsbert coming to tax attic ceiling extractor fans soon

what size area is the ceiling that this fan operating on?

Chimera wrote:my living room ac giving trouble a lil while now, been difficult to get someone to check it because everyone busy installing new units, called about 4-5 diff places and no one show up even up to now

you know the place so hot these days with the radiant heat coming through the ceiling that inside just completely sweltering and you cant even stay inside the house

anywho, over a month ago i installed a extractor fan between the ceiling and the roof and that sucking out the heat and while before this you simple couldnt be in the living room without the AC, it eh even bothering me again because the living room generally cool all the time now

so look into it

i ended up buying a proper temperature gun and when the fan is on during the extreme heat of the day it drops the indoor temperature 2-3 degrees

https://amzn.to/3s7N3LI

a 65 watt extractor fan- 12 inch

death365

Postby death365 » October 28th, 2023, 4:17 am

This provides a clearer picture or understanding of the increased cost
RDT_20231028_041530146112588432763035.jpg

Postby bluefete » October 28th, 2023, 11:46 am

DMan7 wrote:I does only pay around $150 for the bi-monthly. Don't use as much electricity as other people, I realized since I started using A/C more often the bill goes up considerably looking at the daily bar chart on TTEC customer portal.

You cooking with coal pot and solar energy or what?

Yuh using ice box too? $150.00 bi-monthly? You hadda be a batchie!

ORRRRR - Yuh living in one ah dem PNM areas where de guvament does pay yuh bills fuh you.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 28th, 2023, 12:38 pm

You see dais the thing, people who accustomed using electricity for all kinda things can't comprehend when someone is just using electricity very conservatively. Uncle Blue like you does run ya A/C whole day or what? Plus if you have more than one unit running thats rel trouble. Allya need to learn to live conservatively on electricity but I fear it might be too late for some people who are accustomed to a certain lifestyle.

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2023, 1:10 pm

i know somebody who went to participate in a trade conference in jamaica
he say aircon was only turned on half hour before show started
never turned in day before when they were setting up

Postby Chimera » October 28th, 2023, 2:05 pm

you can't compare other persons bills to yours, you alone could decide what you can do with and without

look i have 12-15 100W and up led security lights around my property and i feel like i need more still, i can't do without in my opinion because I need to see what going on very easily.
a lil while now my streetlight rotten and fall off the post in front my house, i spend about 3 months behind ttec trying to get it remedied and no luck

night before i put up two 80w led dust to dawn on the post near to where the streetlight was

while someone else might find one outside light shouldn't be on too much.

like a sunday when i home and doing plenty yard work, i does have my bedroom ac on all day full blast because every hour or so i need to pass tru that bedroom and take in that cool air to refresh and relax a 10 minutes

everybody know what they need to be comfortable,

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2023, 2:06 pm

DMan7 wrote:You see dais the thing, people who accustomed using electricity for all kinda things can't comprehend when someone is just using electricity very conservatively. Uncle Blue like you does run ya A/C whole day or what? Plus if you have more than one unit running thats rel trouble. Allya need to learn to live conservatively on electricity but I fear it might be too late for some people who are accustomed to a certain lifestyle.
Dude, laventille and Beetham jumper illegal electrical connections and pay nothing.

Red mis government dear not shut them down

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2023, 8:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:I does only pay around $150 for the bi-monthly. Don't use as much electricity as other people, I realized since I started using A/C more often the bill goes up considerably looking at the daily bar chart on TTEC customer portal.

ORRRRR - Yuh living in one ah dem PNM areas where de guvament does pay yuh bills fuh you.
I honestly feel people pay different rates based on where they live.

Gastly does not live far from me, he lives in a nice area. Bill high. I live in a "PNM till ah dead" kinda ghetto area and bill small.

There are remote controlled solar lights with batteries that can run for up to 3 days on a daily charge. They can run at 100% brightness or a percentage all night, different percents all night or at a percentage until the motion sensor picks up something and it goes to 100%. Motion sensor is a wide angle sensor.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 29th, 2023, 8:34 pm

I see people still can't fathom that you don't need to use much electricity in your daily life to survive. Once you live conservatively your electrical bill will be low. You don't have to be "cooking in coal pot" or "living in PNM areas" to have lower electrical bills. You all are overthinking it.

matix

Postby matix » October 29th, 2023, 9:19 pm

DMan7 wrote:I see people still can't fathom that you don't need to use much electricity in your daily life to survive. Once you live conservatively your electrical bill will be low. You don't have to be "cooking in coal pot" or "living in PNM areas" to have lower electrical bills. You all are overthinking it.

Well oh wise one, why not educate us. Teach us your ways

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 29th, 2023, 9:20 pm

One does not simply teach common sense. Common sense supposed to be common.

matix

Postby matix » October 29th, 2023, 9:29 pm

DMan7 wrote:One does not simply teach common sense. Common sense supposed to be common.

You’re on a forum where tuners share information to benefit each other.

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2023, 9:31 pm

We actually do have a coal pot and use it regular. It's some of the best food you can get. Roti don't taste the same made on a stove and so does bbq on gas grill.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2023, 9:38 pm

cf58dc73-86ab-4794-a7b0-adc6f47e64ab.jpg

Postby teems1 » October 29th, 2023, 9:42 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:cf58dc73-86ab-4794-a7b0-adc6f47e64ab.jpg

I like this transparency.

Every time a road gets paved, a sign should go up with the cost and who won the bid.

Postby bluefete » October 29th, 2023, 10:47 pm

DMan7 wrote:You see dais the thing, people who accustomed using electricity for all kinda things can't comprehend when someone is just using electricity very conservatively. Uncle Blue like you does run ya A/C whole day or what? Plus if you have more than one unit running thats rel trouble. Allya need to learn to live conservatively on electricity but I fear it might be too late for some people who are accustomed to a certain lifestyle.

I remember dozens and dozens of years ago, an economics professor talking about how much he quarrels when he got home and all the lights were on in the house for Casper. He used to let his family know he was not subsidizing the electricity company.

Now, I am the one walking around taking off ac and lights and quarreling.

My T&TEC bill was manageable until "de family" wanted ac put in. Inverter type something or the other. TTEC bill went up by about 40%. It falls within an average range for years so it was manageable.

But I seriously wish I could get it down to about $150.00 every two months. The good thing though is that entrepreneurs can claim up to 75% of their TTEC bill as expenses if operating from home.

But yeah, I does real quarrel sometimes about the bill. LOL.

Postby bluefete » October 29th, 2023, 10:48 pm

teems1 wrote:

Every time a road gets paved, a sign should go up with the cost and who won the bid.

Never happen in a PNM or UNC lifetime. ROFL.

Postby bluefete » October 29th, 2023, 10:50 pm

bluefete wrote:

Gastly does not live far from me, he lives in a nice area. Bill high. I live in a "PNM till ah dead" kinda ghetto area and bill small.

There are remote controlled solar lights with batteries that can run for up to 3 days on a daily charge. They can run at 100% brightness or a percentage all night, different percents all night or at a percentage until the motion sensor picks up something and it goes to 100%. Motion sensor is a wide angle sensor.

Had an aunt living in Mt. Lambert. TTEC bill high like that with no ac in the home. For years, she tried to find out what was causing it. Even rewired house, bill was still high. Never found out the cause.

Postby MaxPower » October 29th, 2023, 11:02 pm

2024 Carnival costume and fete sales remain unaffected.

Postby bluefete » October 29th, 2023, 11:08 pm

MaxPower wrote:2024 Carnival costume and fete sales remain unaffected.

Exactly!

Postby zoom rader » October 30th, 2023, 3:37 am

teems1 wrote:

Actually some countries do that but not to that extent

Postby zoom rader » October 30th, 2023, 3:45 am

bluefete wrote:

Had an aunt living in Mt. Lambert. TTEC bill high like that with no ac in the home. For years, she tried to find out what was causing it. Even rewired house, bill was still high. Never found out the cause.
It's most likely a faulty meter.

I had an issue like this and repeatedly complained to TTEC. They tried to deny it but I started to talk in electrical terms and then they looked at it. They replaced with a new meter.

One Tennant had another faulty meter with same issue but this time is under read the power usage.

Postby nervewrecker » October 30th, 2023, 6:12 am

Plenty people have faulty electrical as well. Too much racket, bribe and ratch work. A guy I knew has a bill of about $700.00 and he get shocked from his AC body outside when he touch it. The body live. When you have issues like earth fault and tracking, your bill will be high of course.

Postby MaxPower » October 30th, 2023, 8:25 am

nervewrecker wrote:Plenty people have faulty electrical as well. Too much racket, bribe and ratch work.

Too much third world uneducated Trini workmanship

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2023, 9:53 am

bluefete wrote:Had an aunt living in Mt. Lambert. TTEC bill high like that with no ac in the home. For years, she tried to find out what was causing it. Even rewired house, bill was still high. Never found out the cause.

I'm seriously considering an energy monitor that goes on the main panel - that way i can track what is using the most power and try to manage it better
like this https://amzn.to/3QdItDL

c7884f90-b85d-453c-8627-9e8ae49fd7c9.jpg

e8dfe3d3-cc23-4b6d-a54f-e4d1930bcd0e.jpg

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2023, 10:55 am

that real cool. would you be allowed to wire something like that into your main panel though

i have a issue at my store a while now where if you touch one of my 5 ton AC condensors you does get shocked

someone installed a new ac upstairs in the building and since then my breaker does trip if i put on that 5 ton ac, never was bothered to figure out what was going on as the 5 ton is a part of the building thats been empty a while now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2023, 11:28 am

Chimera wrote:that real cool. would you be allowed to wire something like that into your main panel though

i have a issue at my store a while now where if you touch one of my 5 ton AC condensors you does get shocked

someone installed a new ac upstairs in the building and since then my breaker does trip if i put on that 5 ton ac, never was bothered to figure out what was going on as the 5 ton is a part of the building thats been empty a while now

You should get an electrician to check that out. Might be the breaker is too small for the appliances on the circuit and/or a ground fault.

But yes all this energy monitor does is clamp on to the wire on each circuit breaker. No wires to cut or splice as the sensors use induction like this clamp meter - it just goes around the existing wire:
Amprobe-AMP-210-Clamp-Meter-1.jpg

No hazard
It also does not need to be pinpoint accurate either - just to show you which circuits are getting the biggest draw so you know if it's your dryer, water heater, ac unit or something else that's using the most electricity so you can manage it better.

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2023, 11:33 am

or form that diagram i thought it hadda wire in
you read the 1 star reviews on it?