Numb3r4 wrote:It probably is better to be in opposition right now especially with the other wise gloomy financial outlook. Especially since none of them actually have a descent financial plan for the economy.
Let's face it the current plan assumes we can generate the lost income from taxes, no way, people will just not spend, albeit not drastically but their will be a drop in personal expenditure.
Recently the finance minister said that they are expecting the price of oil to go up.....really....that is not the future we should be planning for....is he assuming that the price will increase due to seasonality demand? If that is the case then he should also account for the excess Iranian oil that will be going on the market and adding to the glut of oil......
Worst yet they will have to make tough decisions regarding Petrotrin, what are they going to do, lay of the contract workers? That isn't enough they gonna have to make profound readjustments to the employee benefits packages. How will the union handle this? How will the employees/retirees handle it? Many of the retirees have banked their entire retirement on that pension, effectively the company has to pay them despite not producing any new value. Tough decision.
bluesclues wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:It probably is better to be in opposition right now especially with the other wise gloomy financial outlook. Especially since none of them actually have a descent financial plan for the economy.
Let's face it the current plan assumes we can generate the lost income from taxes, no way, people will just not spend, albeit not drastically but their will be a drop in personal expenditure.
Recently the finance minister said that they are expecting the price of oil to go up.....really....that is not the future we should be planning for....is he assuming that the price will increase due to seasonality demand? If that is the case then he should also account for the excess Iranian oil that will be going on the market and adding to the glut of oil......
Worst yet they will have to make tough decisions regarding Petrotrin, what are they going to do, lay of the contract workers? That isn't enough they gonna have to make profound readjustments to the employee benefits packages. How will the union handle this? How will the employees/retirees handle it? Many of the retirees have banked their entire retirement on that pension, effectively the company has to pay them despite not producing any new value. Tough decision.
you see with that statement i had to watch colm sideways. it seems now that he is intending to hoodwink the population with such a silly statement. he must be the only person expecting the price of oil to go up.
but is not that nuh. he tusty to get that rapid rail going. reminds me of how tusty kamla was to build the point fortin highway through d swamp. so now he stand up on the podium and tell a blatant lie even he dont believe, to sell his pipe dream.
i heard it and i thought. how stupid do u think we are? again, such kamla-esc behaviour.
zoom rader wrote:bluesclues wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:It probably is better to be in opposition right now especially with the other wise gloomy financial outlook. Especially since none of them actually have a descent financial plan for the economy.
you see with that statement i had to watch colm sideways. it seems now that he is intending to hoodwink the population with such a silly statement. he must be the only person expecting the price of oil to go up.
but is not that nuh. he tusty to get that rapid rail going. reminds me of how tusty kamla was to build the point fortin highway through d swamp. so now he stand up on the podium and tell a blatant lie even he dont believe, to sell his pipe dream.
i heard it and i thought. how stupid do u think we are? again, such kamla-esc behaviour.
Colm and the PNM did hookwink the popuation bro, they voted for dat so the PNM popuation will have to deal with it.
Wait till the real budget come in march and Vat bussing on normal food. The PNM prime minster done say he want his PNM ppl eating more local, plant blue food with no meat.
bluesclues wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:It probably is better to be in opposition right now especially with the other wise gloomy financial outlook. Especially since none of them actually have a descent financial plan for the economy.
eliteauto wrote:is this real life?
zoom rader wrote:PNM has only been in office for one month and already we have seen they are back to their old ways.
They are even worst than before, they are more arrogant and blatantly showing it.
These new MP behaves as if junior sec over and they ready for fight cause a lil injun step on their shoes.
Imbert I used to have high regards for and he's turns out to be a jackass.
Only the Minister of Energy and the PNM Prime Minister showing some decorum .
The rest on the Government side are gutter trash .
Casper23 wrote:zoom rader wrote:PNM has only been in office for one month and already we have seen they are back to their old ways.
They are even worst than before, they are more arrogant and blatantly showing it.
These new MP behaves as if junior sec over and they ready for fight cause a lil injun step on their shoes.
Imbert I used to have high regards for and he's turns out to be a jackass.
Only the Minister of Energy and the PNM Prime Minister showing some decorum .
The rest on the Government side are gutter trash .
ZR hush your stink mouth, is that decorum as well?
De Dragon wrote:Maxie Cuffie seem to want to join the arrogant Minister list bad bad!
eliteauto wrote:is this real life?
Numb3r4 wrote:Apparently when she "Opened it" it was more like a soft opening.....it was probably for show more than anything else.
They still had to staff it apparently the then Minister of Health had a plan to do so, however as they left office before it remains incomplete.
From what I understand the hospital is supposed to be staffed with a Chinese staff for the initial period of operation until the locals take it over, that is the Fmr. Minister of Health's plan is put into action.
So technically the hospital needs to be completed and the PNM administration has to make a decision.
Numb3r4 wrote:Don't we have to pay back the loan?
Bezman wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:Don't we have to pay back the loan?
The terms and conditions have never been revealed. It could be a trade for gas and oil, could be a trade for land, could be for future contracts. Not really clear and I'm sure it will be revealed soon we hope. Our kids kids will prob be paying it off.
China has been investing heavily globally in developing nations for gas and oils deals along with development contracts.
RASC wrote:Investigation shall be run... The truth will be exposed soon.
Whistle blower legislation coming also... Flights to Panama ram out apparently.
Well seems like Dr Khan is a duncy PNMite because he gave other reasonsDaran wrote:Lord have mercy the dunciness of the PNMites show everyday and Imbert and company play allyuh like a flute.
There is no such thing as a full 'turnkey' financed project. So while the hospital project may be financed by the Chinese, allocations have to be made for ancillary costs such as local project support/management and ground support, training, HSE, legal issues, clean up etc.
Khan: $239m to start hospital project
Rhonda Krystal Rambally
Published: Monday, October 19, 2015
Finance Minister Colm Imbert needs to learn the details of a government to government loan, Barataria/San Juan MP Dr Fuad Khan said yesterday. The opposition parliamentarian has accused the new adminstration of trying “to stink up” the Couva Children’s Hospital, a flagship project of former People’s Partnership government.
“Imbert makes it look as though we took money and was spending it wildly and so on and I find that to be very dishonest and stupid,” Khan said. He was responding to comments made by the minister during the Standing Finance Committee meeting on Saturday. Imbert said he planned probe $239 million spent on the hospital which was supposed to be a fully-funded project by the Exim Bank of China.
However, Khan said international loans operated on a 15 per cent/85 per cent arrangement, where the lender provides 85 per cent of the total cost. He Exim Bank loaned the T&T government 85 per cent of $1.5 billion for the hospital and “at the end of the day” the project cost about $1.9 billion for construction and equipment.
“When I first entered the ministry, I researched how government to government loans run so I understand,” he said. “They may know we spent $239 million but they don’t know it’s based on the 15 per cent.” Khan said calculations would show that 15 per cent of $1.5 billion was around $240 million and those funds were used up front to get the project underway.
“Loans from China take about a year more to come through, so while it was being processed, the last administration used its 15 per cent to develop the infrastructure around the area,” he explained.
Khan said if he had been at Saturday’s session, he would have dealt with it then.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... al-project